ADVERTISEMENT

The official vocabulary of distance education and telecommuting

In order to promote the use of terms in French in the context of distance education and teleworking, the Office québécois de la langue française, in collaboration with the Translation Bureau of the Government of Canada, is offering an enhanced version of the Vocabulary of distance education and teleworking. 

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

What is the difference between "distance learning" and "online learning"? What is the definition of “bimodal course”? The new version of the Distance Learning and Teleworking Vocabulary contains the answers.

Over the past year and a half, several new vocabulary words and expressions have appeared in our daily lives. Distance education and telecommuting are still part of the reality for many people and the situation will continue despite the relaxations. 

In this context, and in order to promote the use of terms in French, the Office québécois de la langue française (OQLF), in collaboration with the Translation Bureau (BT) of the Government of Canada, offers an enhanced version of the Distance education and telecommuting vocabulary

This online tool, which contains nearly 200 concepts, has been enhanced with many additional terms and clarifications have been added to the definitions of certain concepts already present in the first version. For each term, the terminology file contains a definition, synonyms and equivalents in English.

Thus, the terms “face-to-face” and “distance” that we hear more and more often appear in the official vocabulary as synonyms of the phrases “ in class "(Or in the presence) and" remote ". 

Reverse pedagogy: Pedagogical method in which learners see, independently, the material before attending the course given by the teacher.

“The additions relate in particular to the emergence of new realities linked to the organization of work or to new technologies. For example, there are now terms related to videoconferencing software, such as mosaic, screen sharing or subgroup room. Other terms have been added to reflect new ways of organizing work or teaching, such as a la carte office, co-work at home, remotely monitored examination or right to disconnect », Indicates Stéfany Ranger of the OQLF.

The OQLF and the BT present information differently on their respective websites, but the terminological choices made are the same in the vast majority of cases, in order to help standardize the terms used. "The files of the Large terminological dictionary which make up this vocabulary are continuously updated, according to the needs or the evolution of concepts. In addition, new files are constantly added, in many sectors of activity, in order to reflect the emergence of new realities, ”notes Ms. Ranger.

Although French is increasingly present in the digital world, the use of adequate terminology remains an issue. Several initiatives promoting the francization of terms related to technologies are emerging each year in Quebec. For example, as part of a project funded by the OQLF, the Réseau Action TI offers its members various tools and services to help technology companies promote French.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le vocabulaire officiel de l’enseignement à distance et du télétravail

Afin de favoriser l’usage de termes en français dans le contexte de l'enseignement à distance et du télétravail, l’Office québécois de la langue française, en collaboration avec le Bureau de la traduction du gouvernement du Canada, propose une version enrichie du Vocabulaire de l’enseignement à distance et du télétravail. 

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelle est la différence entre « apprentissage à distance » et « apprentissage en ligne »? Quelle est la définition de « cours bimodal »? La nouvelle version du Vocabulaire de l’enseignement à distance et du télétravail contient les réponses.

Au cours de la dernière année et demie, plusieurs nouveaux mots de vocabulaire et expressions ont fait leur apparition dans notre quotidien. L’enseignement à distance et le télétravail font encore partie de la réalité pour de nombreuses personnes et la situation perdurera malgré les assouplissements. 

Dans ce contexte, et afin de favoriser l’usage de termes en français, l’Office québécois de la langue française (OQLF), en collaboration avec le Bureau de la traduction (BT) du gouvernement du Canada, propose une version enrichie du Vocabulaire de l’enseignement à distance et du télétravail

Cet outil en ligne, qui contient près de 200 concepts, a été bonifié de nombreux termes additionnels et des précisions ont été ajoutées aux définitions de certains concepts déjà présents dans la première version. Pour chaque terme, la fiche terminologique contient une définition, des synonymes et les équivalents en anglais.

Ainsi, les termes « présentiel » et « distanciel » que l’on entend de plus en plus souvent font leur apparition dans le vocabulaire officiel comme des synonymes des locutions « en classe » (ou en présence) et « à distance ». 

Pédagogie inversée : Méthode pédagogique dans laquelle les apprenants voient, de manière autonome, la matière avant d’assister au cours donné par l’enseignant.

« Les ajouts touchent notamment à l’apparition de nouvelles réalités liées à l’organisation du travail ou aux nouvelles technologies. On y trouve maintenant, par exemple, des termes liés aux logiciels de visioconférence, comme mosaïque, partage d’écran ou salle de sous-groupe. D’autres termes y ont été ajoutés pour rendre compte de nouvelles manières d’organiser le travail ou l’enseignement, comme bureau à la carte, cotravail à domicile, examen télésurveillé ou droit à la déconnexion », indique Stéfany Ranger de l’OQLF.

L’OQLF et le BT présentent les informations de manière différente sur leurs sites Web respectifs, mais les choix terminologiques effectués sont les mêmes dans la grande majorité des cas, ceci afin de contribuer à une normalisation des termes employés. « Les fiches du Grand dictionnaire terminologique qui composent ce vocabulaire sont mises à jour en continu, selon les besoins ou l’évolution des concepts. Par ailleurs, de nouvelles fiches sont constamment ajoutées, dans de nombreux secteurs d’activité, afin de rendre compte de l’apparition de nouvelles réalités », fait remarquer Mme Ranger.

Bien que le français soit de plus en plus présent dans l’univers numérique, l’utilisation d’une terminologie adéquate demeure un enjeu. Plusieurs initiatives favorisant la francisation de termes en lien avec les technologies voient le jour chaque année au Québec. Par exemple, dans le cadre d’un projet financé par l’OQLF, le Réseau Action TI offre à ses membres différents outils et services pour aider les entreprises technologiques dans la promotion du français.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct