ADVERTISEMENT

The redefinition of the role of cultural mediator of the teacher in the digital world

The development of large digital content distribution platforms has completely changed the relationship to culture. It is now said that Quebec culture is drowned in an ocean of international content. How can we promote our Quebec content? How can we make them discoverable by the greatest number of people? What if teachers had a role to play with young people?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

The development of large digital content distribution platforms has completely changed the relationship to culture. It is now said that Quebec culture is drowned in an ocean of international content. How can we promote our Quebec content? How can we make them discoverable by the greatest number of people? What if teachers had a role to play with young people?

"Teachers have always had a role to play as cultural brokers. Today, with the challenges associated with the digital world, this role is more important than ever. Indeed, teachers can help young people thwart the algorithms that constantly offer them the same content to view and to look critically at different objects of culture. They become mediators of elements of culture." 

This is what Annie Turbide and Marjorie Paradis, both from the RÉCIT National Service, Human Development Domain (RÉCIT PD), reminded us. They presented a workshop on the subject in the context of the Digital Day in Education held on November 4, 2022.

The mediator of elements of culture fully assumes his or her role as an interpreter, critic and transmitter of culture. 

Indeed, in the Professional Competencies Framework - Teaching ProfessionThe Quebec Ministry of Education's Competency 1, published in 2020, is to act as a mediator of elements of culture. In this role, teachers must: 

  • Introduce students to a variety of cultural references from the world's heritage;
  • make the meaning of cultural objects explicit and relevant;
  • weave links between the objects of culture, the disciplinary contents and the culture of young people; 
  • Stimulate critical thinking and reflexivity about culture.

Although not all school subjects open the same doors and offer the same contexts for dealing with cultural elements with young people, teachers must have a sensitivity to culture and the presentation of cultural objects in the classroom. Moreover, digital technology now offers new access to culture. It allows immediate access to youth culture, to visit international places of worship, museums, etc. 

Integrating Quebec culture into the classroom in six steps

"Consumer habits have changed and access to culture has multiplied; for better or worse for Quebec culture! Indeed, there are huge issues of discoverability for Quebec content on major digital content distribution platforms. Some content will never be discovered. This represents a real risk for cultural diversity. Let's not forget that algorithms treat all content the same way, regardless of where it comes from or where people watch or listen to it," says Annie Turbide.

What can teachers do to contribute to the discoverability of Quebec culture by young people?

1- Keep your planning flexible

  • Keeping moments to share elements of culture.
  • Make room for students' curiosity and feed your own curiosity.

2- Modeling modes of access to culture

  • Show different ways to access culture (e.g., present platforms that young people are less familiar with).
  • Redo the thread of a group research (e.g., to show the impact of algorithms on the discoverability of content).
  • Be concerned about copyright and discuss it with students. (Interactive Guide to School Copyright)

3- Get informed about current events

  • Follow what is happening in the cultural industry to discuss it in class (e.g.: Spotify, partner of ADISQ).
  • Use current events to discuss cultural issues in the classroom.
  • Cultivate your general culture.

4. Boost the ways in which culture is integrated into its planning

  • Use culture elements as a primer for some activities.
  • Build some activities around cultural elements.
  • Have students name their cultural references to make connections.

5- Contextualize the cultural benchmarks presented

  • Give students keys to understanding to go beyond trends on social networks. 
  • Contextualize certain phenomena and make connections to the past (e.g., Why did the song Baby, It's Cold Outside has been censored). 

6- Develop critical thinking about the digital world

  • Helping youth understand how online distribution platforms work. 
  • Question the young people on the place of Quebec culture in their lives, what they consume and how (and get away from the Quebec folk culture).
  • Subscribing to media that do not necessarily promote our basic ideas in order to outsmart the algorithms and open our horizons.

"As a mediator of cultural elements, the teacher must be aware of his or her influence on young people. He or she must act as a good pedagogue, be open and inclusive. However, it must be remembered that not all elements of culture are equal. We must learn to discern between youth culture, general culture and the culture of humanity. The presenters concluded by saying, "This will provide hours of discussion.

View their presentation >

To (re)see the presentation :

For further : 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

La redéfinition du rôle de médiateur culturel de l’enseignant dans l’univers numérique

Le développement des grandes plateformes de distribution de contenu numérique a complètement bouleversé le rapport à la culture. On dit maintenant que la culture québécoise se retrouve noyée dans un océan de contenus internationaux. Comment mettre nos contenus québécois en valeur? Comment les faire découvrir par le plus grand nombre? Et si le personnel enseignant avait un rôle à jouer auprès des jeunes?

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Le développement des grandes plateformes de distribution de contenu numérique a complètement bouleversé le rapport à la culture. On dit maintenant que la culture québécoise se retrouve noyée dans un océan de contenus internationaux. Comment mettre nos contenus québécois en valeur? Comment les faire découvrir par le plus grand nombre? Et si le personnel enseignant avait un rôle à jouer auprès des jeunes?

« Les enseignants ont toujours eu un rôle de passeur culturel à jouer. Aujourd’hui, avec les enjeux associés à l’univers du numérique, ce rôle est plus important que jamais. En effet, les enseignants peuvent aider les jeunes à déjouer les algorithmes qui leur proposent sans cesse les mêmes contenus à visionner et à poser un regard critique sur différents objets de culture. Ils deviennent des médiateurs d’éléments de culture. » 

C’est ce que rappellent Annie Turbide et Marjorie Paradis, toutes deux du Service national du RÉCIT, domaine du développement de la personne (RÉCIT DP). Elles ont présenté un atelier sur le sujet dans le cadre de la Journée du numérique en éducation qui s’est tenue le 4 novembre 2022.

Le médiateur d’éléments de culture assume pleinement son rôle d’interprète, de critique et de passeur de culture. 

En effet, dans le Référentiel de compétences professionnelles – Profession enseignante, publié en 2020 par le ministère de l’Éducation du Québec, la Compétence 1 est celle d’Agir en tant que médiatrice ou médiateur d’éléments de culture. Dans le cadre de ce rôle, le personnel enseignant doit : 

  • initier les élèves à une variété de repères culturels issus du patrimoine de l’humanité;
  • rendre explicite et pertinent le sens des objets culturels;
  • tisser des liens entre les objets de culture, les contenus disciplinaires et la culture des jeunes; 
  • stimuler à l’égard de la culture l’esprit critique et la réflexivité.

Bien que les disciplines scolaires n’ouvrent pas toutes les mêmes portes et n’offrent pas toutes autant de contextes pour traiter d’éléments culturels avec les jeunes, les enseignantes se doivent d’avoir une sensibilité pour la culture et la présentation d’objets culturels en classe. De plus, le numérique offre désormais de nouveaux accès à la culture. Il permet un accès immédiat à la culture des jeunes, de visiter des lieux de culte internationaux, des musées, etc. 

Intégrer la culture québécoise en classe en six étapes

« Les habitudes de consommation ont changé et les accès à la culture se sont multipliés; pour le meilleur et pour le pire pour la culture québécoise! Effectivement, il existe des enjeux énormes de découvrabilité pour les contenus québécois sur les grandes plateformes de distribution de contenu numérique. Certains contenus ne seront jamais découverts. Cela représente un véritable risque pour la diversité culturelle. N’oublions pas que les algorithmes traitent tous les contenus de la même façon, sans égard au lieu de provenance et au lieu d’écoute ou de visionnement des internautes », rappelle Annie Turbide.

Que peuvent faire les enseignants pour contribuer à la découvrabilité de la culture québécoise par les jeunes?

1- Garder une planification souple et flexible

  • Se garder des moments pour partager des éléments de culture.
  • Laisser place à la curiosité des élèves et alimenter sa propre curiosité.

2- Modéliser des modes d’accès à la culture

  • Montrer des chemins différents pour accéder à la culture (par ex. : présenter des plateformes que les jeunes connaissent moins).
  • Refaire le fil d’une recherche en groupe (par ex. : pour montrer l’impact des algorithmes sur la découvrabilité des contenus).
  • Avoir le souci du droit d’auteur et en discuter avec les élèves. (Guide interactif des droits d’auteur en milieu scolaire)

3- S’informer sur l’actualité

  • Suivre ce qui se passe dans l’industrie culturelle pour en discuter en classe (par ex. : Spotify, partenaire de l’ADISQ).
  • Tirer profit des enjeux liés à l’actualité pour discuter d’éléments culturels en classe.
  • Cultiver sa culture générale.

4- Dynamiser les façons d’intégrer la culture à sa planification

  • Utiliser des éléments de culture comme amorce à certaines activités.
  • Construire certaines activités autour d’éléments culturels.
  • Amener les élèves à nommer leurs repères culturels pour faire des liens.

5- Mettre en contexte les repères culturels présentés

  • Donner des clés de compréhension aux élèves pour aller plus loin que les tendances sur les réseaux sociaux. 
  • Remettre en contexte certains phénomènes et faire des liens avec le passé. (par ex. : Pourquoi la chanson Baby, It’s Cold Outside a-t-elle été censurée). 

6- Susciter l’esprit critique face à l’univers numérique

  • Aider les jeunes à comprendre le fonctionnement des plateformes de diffusion en ligne. 
  • Questionner les jeunes sur la place de la culture québécoise dans leur vie, ce qu’ils consomment et comment (et se sortir de la culture folklorique québécoise).
  • S’abonner à des médias qui ne promeuvent pas nécessairement nos idées de base afin de déjouer les algorithmes et d’ouvrir nos horizons.

« En tant que médiateur d’éléments de culture, l’enseignant doit avoir conscience de son influence sur les jeunes. Il doit agir en bon pédagogue, faire preuve d’ouverture et d’inclusion. Cependant, il ne faut pas oublier que tous les éléments de culture ne sont pas égaux. Il faut apprendre à discerner la culture jeunesse, la culture générale et la culture de l’humanité. De quoi alimenter des heures de discussions! », ont conclu les présentatrices.

Consulter leur présentation >

Pour (re)voir la présentation :

Pour aller plus loin : 

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :