ADVERTISEMENT

Innovation, creativity and entrepreneurship at CréaCamp Ottawa: part 4

On February 27, the CréaCamp Ottawa was held, organized in collaboration with the CEPEO. In this fourth article in the series, we introduce you to Pascal, facilitator of the Publish otherwise workshop.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

On February 27, the CréaCamp Ottawa was held, organized in collaboration with the ICE (innovation, creativity, entrepreneurship) team of the Eastern Ontario Public School Board. More than 50 education professionals of all levels from Quebec and Ontario came together to reflect, explore and deepen new pedagogical approaches.

As with all CréaCamps of the École branchée, at the start of the day, participants had to make a heartbreaking choice among the five workshops offered by the team of facilitators. This was mainly made up of pedagogical advisers and dynamic teachers from CEPEO with whom the École branchée had the opportunity to meet in order to share their vision of pedagogy, digital technology and innovation!

In this series of articles, we present to you the craftsmen of this CréaCamp.

Publish differently

This workshop was led by Joël Desjardins, teacher at the Marie-Curie public elementary school and by Pascal Lefebvre, educational advisor and responsible for digital learning platforms as well as innovation, creativity and entrepreneurship initiatives at CEPEO. Pascal is passionate about the efficient use of technology in the classroom, in all subjects and at all levels.

What led you to lead this workshop?

Pascal: In my past experiences, I have been called upon to create video tutorials for a set of provincial files. I quickly realized the efficiency of this medium. From the point of view of the teacher / trainer, it allows us to clone us in a way. My job was much more interesting as I was no longer caught repeating basic information or simple procedures. A picture is truly worth a thousand words! The time freed up could be invested in deeper tasks. At the same time, educational differentiation was gaining momentum in Ontario as well as an overhaul of evaluation via the policy. grow success and I saw it as a powerful tool to implement them. Video became a tool allowing teachers to differentiate in time and space (inverted class, hybrid class, etc.) and for students to be able to show their learning in another way.

Publishing differently, what does that mean?

Pascal: New technologies allow students to demonstrate their learning other than through writing. Although writing is essential to any creative project, it does not necessarily have to be the final object of the evaluation of learning. Technology, and particularly the creation of videos, allows great creativity and is now so accessible and integrated into the culture of the modern world that it is, in my opinion, a powerful tool for creating meaningful and authentic contexts for our students.

What do you notice in the students who participate in publishing projects?

Pascal: The freedom to express oneself greatly promotes student engagement. They get along and see each other. From there, they're much more critical of what they're producing. Another advantage of video is that video sharing platforms and the accessibility of this medium make it easier and simpler to have an audience other than the teacher for their work. They no longer produce just for the teacher, but for other audiences, which has an effect on their engagement.

What are the essential tools? Do you have any examples and inspirations to share?

Pascal: Since I saw the success of a morning announcements project in live video format on YouTube and the impact that this initiative had on the interest of the students, not only those who are working to create them. videos, but also those who need to pay attention (God knows that the announcements read on the intercom in the morning are particularly painful to listen to), I was interested in the video in a context larger than the classroom. I am currently wondering about the space that the students could take up at school. What are the components of school life occupied by adults that could be moved to students so that they can take ownership of school life and that school becomes their space? As for tools, the world of video games is rich in practices and tools for those who seek. OBS (free software) and Wevideo are the tools we favor for the moment.

What did you take away from your experience as a facilitator at CréaCamp?

Pascal: I really liked the format that lends itself to the clientele that we wanted to reach, namely innovative and creative teachers who are always looking for ways to improve the school life of their school, their class, their lessons.

What is your educational crush?

Pascal: The creativity demonstrated by the participants was my favorite of the day. From the video created by a teacher who will support her during her yoga workshop in APQ (20 minutes of daily physical activity in K-8 compulsory in Ontario) to the school tele-school project for the morning announcements. And this, only the first time they use the video! What will they do with it when they have tamed it with their students? I can not wait to see!

Learn more about the video creation in this mini-guide.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane is the editor of the École branchée online news feed. She has a bachelor's degree in international relations from the University of British Columbia as well as a master's degree in intercultural mediation from the University of Sherbrooke. She also acts as a communications advisor for the organization Idée Éducation entrepreneuriale.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Innovation, créativité et entrepreneuriat au CréaCamp Ottawa : partie 4

0

Le 27 février dernier se tenait le CréaCamp Ottawa organisé en collaboration avec l’équipe ICE (innovation, créativité, entrepreneuriat) du Conseil des écoles publiques de l’Est-ontarien. Plus de 50 professionnels de l’éducation de tous les niveaux provenant du Québec et de l’Ontario se sont réunis pour réfléchir, explorer et approfondir de nouvelles approches pédagogiques.

Comme à tous les CréaCamps de l’École branchée, les participants devaient en début de journée faire un choix déchirant parmi les cinq ateliers proposés par l’équipe de facilitateurs. Celle-ci était majoritairement constituée de conseillers pédagogiques et d’enseignants dynamiques du CEPEO avec qui l’École branchée a eu l’opportunité de s’entretenir afin de vous partager leur vision de la pédagogie, du numérique et de l’innovation!

Dans cette série d’articles, nous vous présentons les artisans de ce CréaCamp.

Publier autrement

Cet atelier était animé par Joël Desjardins, enseignant à l’école élémentaire publique Marie-Curie et par Pascal Lefebvre, conseiller pédagogique et responsable des plateformes d’apprentissages numériques ainsi que des initiatives en innovation, créativité et entrepreneuriat au CEPEO. Pascal est passionné par l’utilisation efficace des technologies en salle de classe, et ce dans toutes les matières et à tous les niveaux.

Qu’est-ce qui vous a menés à animer cet atelier?

Pascal : Dans mes expériences passées, j’ai été appelé à créer des tutoriels vidéo pour un ensemble de dossiers provinciaux. Je me suis rapidement rendu compte de l’efficience de ce média. Du point de vue de l’enseignant/formateur, ça permet de nous cloner en quelque sorte. Mon travail était beaucoup plus intéressant du fait que je n’étais plus pris à répéter des informations de bases ou des procédures simples. Une image vaut vraiment mille mots! Le temps ainsi dégagé pouvait être investi dans des tâches plus profondes. En parallèle, la différenciation pédagogique prenait de l’ampleur en Ontario ainsi qu’une refonte de l’évaluation via la politique faire croître le succès et j’y ai vu un outil puissant pour les mettre en œuvre. La vidéo devenait un outil permettant aux enseignants de différencier dans le temps comme dans l’espace (classe inversée, classe hybride, etc.) et aux élèves de pouvoir montrer autrement leur apprentissage.

Publier autrement, qu’est-ce que ça veut dire?

Pascal : Les nouvelles technologies permettent aux élèves de démontrer leur apprentissage autrement que par le biais de l’écriture. Bien que l’écriture soit essentielle à tout projet créateur, elle n’est pas obligée d’être nécessairement l’objet final de l’évaluation des apprentissages. La technologie, et particulièrement la création de vidéos, permet une grande créativité et est désormais tellement accessible et intégrée à la culture du monde moderne qu’il est, selon moi, un outil puissant pour créer des contextes signifiants et authentiques pour nos élèves.

Que remarquez-vous chez les élèves qui participent à des projets de publication?

Pascal : La liberté de s’exprimer favorise grandement l’engagement des élèves. Ils s’entendent et se voient. À partir de là, ils sont beaucoup plus critiques de ce qu’ils produisent. Autre avantage à la vidéo, les plateformes de partage de vidéo et l’accessibilité de ce média font en sorte qu’il est plus facile et plus simple d’avoir un auditoire autre que l’enseignant pour leurs travaux. Ils ne produisent plus uniquement pour l’enseignant, mais pour d’autres publics, ce qui a un effet sur leur engagement.

Quels sont les outils incontournables? Avez-vous des exemples et des inspirations à partager?

Pascal : Depuis que j’ai vu le succès d’un projet d’annonces du matin en format vidéo en direct sur YouTube et l’impact que cette initiative avait sur l’intérêt des élèves, non seulement ceux qui œuvrent à la création desdits vidéos, mais aussi ceux qui doivent y porter attention (Dieu sait que les annonces lues à l’interphone le matin sont particulièrement pénibles à écouter), je me suis intéressé à la vidéo dans un contexte plus large que la salle de classe. Je me questionne actuellement sur l’espace que les élèves pourraient prendre à l’école. Quelles sont les composantes de la vie scolaire occupées par les adultes qui pourraient être déplacées vers les élèves afin qu’ils puissent s’approprier la vie scolaire et que l’école devienne leur espace? Quant aux outils, le monde du jeu vidéo est riche en pratiques et en outils pour ceux qui cherchent. OBS (logiciel libre) et Wevidéo sont les outils que l’on privilégie pour l’instant.

Qu’est-ce que vous retenez de votre expérience de facilitateur au CréaCamp?

Pascal : J’ai beaucoup aimé le format qui se prête à la clientèle que l’on souhaitait atteindre, soit les enseignants innovateurs et créateurs toujours en quête de moyens pour améliorer la vie scolaire de leur école, de leur classe, de leurs cours.

Quel est votre coup de cœur pédagogique?

Pascal : La créativité démontrée par les participants aura été mon coup de cœur de la journée. De la vidéo créée par une enseignante qui lui servira d’appui lors de son atelier de yoga en APQ (20 minutes d’activité physique quotidienne en M-8 obligatoire en Ontario) au projet de télé scolaire pour les annonces du matin. Et ce, seulement à leur première utilisation de la vidéo! Qu’en feront-ils lorsqu’ils l’auront apprivoisé avec leurs élèves? J’ai hâte de voir!

Apprenez-en plus sur la création de vidéos dans ce miniguide.

Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :