(France) Teaching with and digital training: two fundamental challenges for the coming decade

While the crisis has had the merit of putting schools back in the spotlight and demonstrating the potential of technological tools, much remains to be done to fully exploit their strengths. It is no longer just a question of allowing distance learning, but above all of promoting more effective learning.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

By Nicolas Bertrand, project manager at mc2i, digital transformation consulting firm and Isabelle Dubacq, operational unit director, public service expert at mc2i

A new world is emerging. The COVID-19 pandemic was not a revolution, but acted as a powerful catalyst for the upheavals generated by digital transformation. Already underway for several decades, the digital transformation of the education sector has been particularly accelerated. While the crisis has had the merit of putting schools back in the spotlight and demonstrating the potential of technological tools, much remains to be done to fully exploit their strengths.

The big digital shock of the education sector

In France, with the closure of schools and the generalization of distance education, the use of digital technology, put forward for several years by the Ministry of National Education and the creation in 2013 of a “digital public service”. educational ”, suddenly and massively imposed itself. 

In one 2019 report, the Court of Auditors pointed out the obstacles to the deployment of this service, despite strong public investments: insufficient connection of schools and establishments; inequalities in access to equipment; an abundant, but insufficiently organized supply of digital resources; teachers not always comfortable with pedagogy based on digital tools, for lack of sufficient training.

The pandemic has cruelly confirmed this diagnosis and highlighted the school divides that can be accentuated by the uncontrolled generalization of new technologies. Educational continuity has been ensured for students with personal computers, quiet workspaces and available parents; other students, already impacted by academic or social difficulties, have completely dropped out. The crisis has revealed and accelerated educational inequalities. The use of digital technology has benefited the most motivated students and the best supported, and dumped students in difficulty. Digital technology can, however, be a powerful tool in the fight against dropping out of school.

Support the development of the EdTech sector through massive investments

The crisis quickly gave rise to numerous initiatives in France, both in the public and private sectors. The market for technologies serving education and training, EdTech, has exploded with the suspension of face-to-face classes, and should maintain this dynamic over the long term, despite the return of students to classes. 

It is not only a matter of allowing distance learning, but above all of promoting more effective learning. Most of these new technologies have in common that they allow the personalization of learning, made possible by artificial intelligence techniques, as well as granting more autonomy to the learner, whose commitment is essential.

The United States and China have understood the considerable potential of these new technologies, in which they have invested heavily for several years, whether they concern schools, high schools, universities, or continuing education. 

In France, the crisis made it possible to overcome certain cultural or psychological reluctance, but start-ups sector are struggling to find a sustainable model. The recent awareness must translate into massive investments, the risk being that after this period of strong growth and the boost given by the crisis, these companies go under foreign flags, or find it difficult to resist against GAFAM and American and Chinese tools, in an increasingly globalized market.

The stake is not only economic. It is also a problem of digital sovereignty; learner data must be protected. They are valuable in more than one way: they make it possible to build models, to follow a progression, to analyze and understand errors, successes, to adapt a training course; they also nourish research and development work in education, facilitate the evaluation and development of teaching methods.

Train more in digital

If learning and teaching with digital technology, as a tool, is an essential issue for the coming decade, training at digital is in itself an emergency. All business sectors are becoming more and more dependent on digital technologies. Being trained in digital technology will be an essential asset in the future for practicing most professions, and even integrating socially:illectronism (digital illiteracy) today constitutes a real handicap in accessing certain services, and a new cause of social, cultural and economic inequality.

Real progress has already been made to introduce digital technology and computer sciences into initial training - high school teaching, creation of the CAPES and the computer science aggregation, etc. These efforts must be continued by generalizing the teaching of informatics at all levels of initial training and by forming a built whole. 

Useful clarification: this does not necessarily mean exposing children more to screens. It is possible to train the youngest without a screen in the logic and mechanisms of computer language with relatively little material (stickers, drawings, construction games, robots).

While the digital revolution is accelerating and successively transforming all sectors of activity (banking, distribution, media, health, etc.), the shortage of experts is worsening, as is the lack of diversity of profiles. Digital technology could however constitute a gigantic relay of growth and competitiveness for France.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

(France) Enseigner avec et former au numérique : deux enjeux fondamentaux pour la décennie à venir

Si la crise a eu le mérite de remettre l’école sur le devant de la scène et de démontrer le potentiel des outils technologiques, il reste beaucoup à faire pour en exploiter pleinement les atouts. Il ne s’agit plus seulement de permettre de suivre des cours à distance, mais surtout de favoriser un apprentissage plus efficace.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Par Nicolas Bertrand,  gestionnaire de projet chez mc2i, cabinet conseil en transformation numérique et Isabelle Dubacq, directrice d’unité opérationnelle, experte en service public chez mc2i

Un nouveau monde se dessine. La pandémie de COVID-19 n’a pas été une révolution, mais a agi comme un puissant catalyseur des bouleversements engendrés par la transformation numérique. Déjà amorcée depuis plusieurs décennies, la transformation numérique du secteur de l’éducation s’est trouvée particulièrement accélérée. Si la crise a eu le mérite de remettre l’école sur le devant de la scène et de démontrer le potentiel des outils technologiques, il reste beaucoup à faire pour en exploiter pleinement les atouts.

Le grand choc numérique du secteur de l’éducation

En France, avec la fermeture des écoles et la généralisation de l’enseignement à distance, le recours au numérique, mis en avant depuis plusieurs années par le ministère de l’Éducation nationale et la création en 2013 d’un « service public du numérique éducatif », s’est subitement et massivement imposé. 

Dans un rapport de 2019, la Cour des Comptes pointait les obstacles au déploiement de ce service, malgré de forts investissements publics : une connexion des écoles et établissements insuffisante; des inégalités d’accès aux équipements; une offre de ressources numériques abondante, mais insuffisamment organisée; des enseignants pas toujours à l’aise avec la pédagogie s’appuyant sur des outils numériques, faute de formation suffisante.

La pandémie a cruellement confirmé ce diagnostic et mis en lumière les fractures scolaires que peut accentuer une généralisation non maîtrisée des nouvelles technologies. La continuité pédagogique a été assurée pour les élèves disposant d’ordinateurs personnels, d’espaces de travail calmes et de parents disponibles; d’autres élèves, déjà impactés par des difficultés scolaires ou sociales, ont complètement décroché. La crise a révélé et accéléré les inégalités scolaires. Le recours au numérique a profité aux élèves les plus motivés et les mieux accompagnés, et largué les élèves en difficulté. Le numérique peut pourtant constituer un puissant outil de lutte contre le décrochage scolaire.

Accompagner l’essor du secteur EdTech par des investissements massifs

La crise a fait rapidement émerger de nombreuses initiatives en France, tant dans le secteur public que dans le secteur privé. Le marché des technologies au service de l’éducation et de la formation, l’EdTech, a connu une explosion avec la suspension des cours en présentiel, et devrait conserver cette dynamique sur le long terme, malgré le retour des élèves dans les classes. 

Il ne s’agit pas seulement de permettre de suivre des cours à distance, mais surtout de favoriser un apprentissage plus efficace. La plupart de ces nouvelles technologies ont en commun de permettre la personnalisation des apprentissages, rendue possible par des techniques d’intelligence artificielle, ainsi que d’accorder plus d’autonomie à l’apprenant, dont l’engagement est essentiel.

Les États-Unis et la Chine ont bien compris le potentiel considérable de ces nouvelles technologies, dans lesquelles ils investissent massivement depuis plusieurs années, qu’elles concernent les écoles, les lycées, les universités, ou la formation continue. 

En France, la crise a permis de passer certaines réticences culturelles ou psychologiques, mais les start-ups du secteur peinent à trouver un modèle pérenne. La prise de conscience récente doit se traduire en investissements massifs, le risque étant qu’après cette période de forte croissance et le coup de fouet donné par la crise, ces entreprises passent sous pavillon étranger, ou aient du mal à résister face aux GAFAM et aux outils américains et chinois, dans un marché de plus en plus mondialisé.

L’enjeu n’est pas seulement économique. Il s’agit aussi d’un problème de souveraineté numérique; les données des apprenants doivent être protégées. Elles sont précieuses à plus d’un titre : elles permettent de construire des modèles, de suivre une progression, d’analyser et de comprendre des erreurs, des succès, d’adapter un parcours de formation; elles nourrissent aussi les travaux de recherche et développement en éducation, facilitent l’évaluation et l’évolution des méthodes d’enseignement.

Former davantage au numérique

Si l’apprentissage et l’enseignement avec le numérique, comme outil, forment un enjeu essentiel de la décennie à venir, la formation au numérique constitue en elle-même une urgence. Tous les secteurs d’activités deviennent de plus en plus tributaires des technologies numériques. Être formé au numérique constituera demain un atout essentiel pour exercer la plupart des métiers, voire même s’intégrer socialement : l’illectronisme (illettrisme numérique) constitue aujourd’hui un réel handicap pour accéder à certains services, et une nouvelle cause d’inégalité sociale, culturelle et économique.

De réelles avancées ont déjà été réalisées pour introduire le numérique et les sciences informatiques au sein de la formation initiale – enseignements au lycée, création du CAPES et de l’agrégation d’informatique, etc. Ces efforts doivent être poursuivis en généralisant l’enseignement de l’informatique à tous les niveaux de la formation initiale et en formant un tout construit. 

Précision utile : il ne s’agit pas nécessairement d’exposer davantage les enfants aux écrans. Il est possible de former sans écran les plus jeunes à la logique et aux mécanismes du langage informatique avec relativement peu de matériel (gommettes, dessins, jeux de construction, robots).

Tandis que la révolution numérique s’accélère et transforme successivement tous les secteurs d’activités (banque, distribution, médias, santé, etc.), la pénurie d’experts s’aggrave, tout comme le manque de diversité de profils. Le numérique pourrait pourtant constituer un gigantesque relai de croissance et de compétitivité pour la France.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :