ADVERTISEMENT

Day 8 of the Quebec - Finland Expedition: the dropout of the teachers

Day 8 of the Quebec-Finland expedition: While we are led to believe that everything is rosy in Finnish education, a chance meeting with a teacher ready to reorient himself lifts the veil on a problem that is known to us in Quebec: dropping out teachers.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Our collaborator Marc-André Girard is on an educational expedition to Finland and documents it here!

The dropping out of teachers early in their careers has always been a topic of interest to me. It has been a hot topic in Quebec for a long time and it has caused much ink to flow for at least twenty years.

At the same time, we perceive the Finnish education system to be a perfect and inspiring system, so I was quick to question various directions about this phenomenon: does it exist in Finland? In the facts, 23 % of Finnish teachers drop out of the profession at some point in their careers. I had not planned to approach this subject directly with the teachers I met, but the subject imposed itself. Indeed, a teacher who asked me to respect anonymity expressed that he was undertaking studies parallel to the baccalaureate in order to open the doors for a possible career change. I was surprised to hear this and asked him to explain to me the bottom of his mind and his career plan.

Basically he's been a teacher for seven years. He has the impression of having walked around the garden. He describes, rightly or wrongly, that he is finishing a cycle of seven years and that, with this feeling, starting a new cycle of seven years somewhat upsets him. He doesn't see himself completing five seven-year cycles in a 35-year career. As he claims, if for many, the routines of the teaching are meant to be comforting, he needs more stimulation and challenges. He needs challenges that his profession can't seem to provide him with.

Six months from the end of his first cycle, I ask him: how does he see his second cycle? Recently her life has changed. He's a dad and he wants to take more time for himself and his family. It is interesting to note that work-family balance also seems to be important for Finnish teachers. In retrospect, he feels that his early years were spent preparing for his lessons, putting together teaching materials and developing teaching approaches. He will continue to improve all this, but the big thing being done, he wants to focus on something else, because he considers himself to be at the forefront of educational approaches. What he qualifies as the “stone age” of certain directions or fellow teachers and makes him despair.

I immediately refocused the discussion: is it really a "stone age" or rather, his perception of a gap between his practices and those of his colleagues? Is it that much worse than that, or is it his vision of the issue that is too micrometric? From a systemic point of view, has there been progress in recent years? Perhaps he has progressed faster than his colleagues, it is quite possible, but is the divide in teaching practices so pronounced? Failing to have been able to obtain answers to these questions, I hope to have been able to sow the seeds of reflection!

Teacher dropout: a professional tragedy

In my opinion, dropping out of teachers is a professional tragedy. I wonder about what can be put in place to reduce it, even if I suspect that it can never be zero. This issue concerns all education stakeholders.

At the local Quebec level, administrators and teachers are concerned about the phenomenon and measures have been implemented in several schools. At the regional level, the service centers have also implemented more “universal” measures in their territory. At the national level, the trade union centers and the Ministry of Education have looked into the problem, just as the faculties of education improve teacher training year after year, bearing in mind the existence of the gap between training and practice. Beyond all these measures and knowing full well that everyone is putting their shoulder to the wheel, if I can trust what the Finnish teacher tells me, there are other avenues to explore.

Obviously, he complains about the number of students in his class which is constantly increasing. According to him, 25 students is a large group and it struggles to meet everyone's needs. He teaches in high school, so, smirk, I told him there were many more students in Quebec or Canadian classes, but for him, Finland's drop in PISA tests is mainly due to this. phenomenon. There is also the paperwork that weighs heavily on the shoulders of Finnish teachers.

Why raise these complaints? For two reasons: on the one hand, it is all very well to idealize Finland, the fact remains that all is not always rosy in education in this country. Second, the source of our worries often comes from our own vision. It is rare that everything is to our taste in our profession, whether in Quebec, France or Finland and whether in education or in another field. There will always be irritants. A macrometric lens allows us to grasp the problem as a whole, in its system, rather than isolating the problems from what causes them and decontextualizing them, to interpret them according to our perceptions.

Advancement in the profession and international collaboration to fuel motivation

Also, we must consider the possibilities of advancement for teachers. The profession may seem hopeless for many. Indeed, not all teachers aspire to become educational advisers or school administrators. What else can they do? What can they dream of? What to aspire to? France has set up a interesting system of advancement in the profession. Maybe we can be inspired by it?

Collaboration between teachers and between schools also acts as a motivation. The idea of collaborating with one's own colleagues, but also with colleagues from other schools in Quebec, Canada or internationally is certainly stimulating professionally and at the same time allows the establishment of a growth mentality.

For example, for school Ounasrinteen Koulu of Rovaniemi, international collaboration is one of the aims of the educational project, determined by the management together with the teachers. Next April, if the pandemic situation improves, it is expected that around fifteen teachers from the school will go to the United Arab Emirates for a week of professional exchange and, in turn, the school. welcomes UAE nationals for another week later in the year.

Going to be inspired by the practices of others to shed light on our own is not only inspiring, but it allows us to find new ways to transform and transform our practice and our school. Professional opportunities allow you to push your limits and broaden your horizons. And when we do, it is the horizons of our students that we can broaden at the same time!

To track the shipment:

Facebook page : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter: https://twitter.com/magirard
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

You can also contribute to the financing of the Expedition (until December 22): https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(Editor's note: The École branchée is happy to be a media partner of this expedition! Note that we are not, however, associated with the fundraising campaign.)

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in social studies education (1999), a master's degree in history education (2003), a master's degree in education management (2013) and a doctorate in education (2022). He specializes in school-based change management and educational leadership. He is also interested in the 21st century competencies to be developed in education. He is a principal in a public high school and gives conferences on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in schools and the professionalization of teaching. He has participated in educational expeditions in France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book "Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois" with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the 21st century school with the same publisher. He is a frequent contributor to L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and principals as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement. He is a recipient of the Régent-Fortin 2022 scholarship awarded by ADERAE for the significant contribution of his doctoral studies to the development of practice and knowledge in educational administration.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Jour 8 de l’Expédition Québec – Finlande : le décrochage des enseignants

Jour 8 de l'expédition Québec-Finlande : Alors que nous sommes portés à croire que tout est rose en éducation finlandaise, une rencontre fortuite avec un enseignant prêt à se réorienter lève le voile sur une problématique qui nous est connue au Québec : le décrochage des enseignants.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard effectue une expédition pédagogique en Finlande et la documente ici!

Le décrochage des enseignants au début de leur carrière a toujours été un sujet qui m’intéresse. C’est un sujet chaud au Québec depuis longtemps et cela a fait couler beaucoup d’encre depuis au moins une vingtaine d’années.

En parallèle, nous percevons le système éducatif finlandais comme étant un système parfait et inspirant, alors je me suis empressé de questionner diverses directions à propos de ce phénomène : existe-t-il en Finlande? Dans les faits, 23 % des enseignants finlandais décrochent de la profession à un moment ou à un autre de leur carrière. Je n’avais pas prévu d’aborder directement ce sujet auprès des enseignants rencontrés, mais le sujet s’est imposé par lui-même. En effet, un enseignant qui m’a demandé de respecter l’anonymat a exprimé qu’il entreprenait des études parallèles au baccalauréat dans le but de s’ouvrir des portes pour un éventuel changement de carrière. J’ai été surpris d’entendre cela et je lui ai demandé de m’expliquer le fond de sa pensée et son plan de carrière.

Essentiellement, il est enseignant depuis sept années. Il a l’impression d’avoir fait le tour du jardin. Il décrit, à tort ou à raison, qu’il termine un cycle de sept années et que, avec cette impression, recommencer un nouveau cycle de sept années l’indispose quelque peu. Il ne se voit pas mener cinq cycles de sept années dans une carrière s’échelonnant sur 35 ans. Comme il le prétend, si pour plusieurs, les routines de l’enseignement se veulent réconfortantes, lui a plutôt besoin de stimulation et de défis. Il a besoin de défis que sa profession ne semble pas pouvoir lui procurer.

À six mois de la fin de son premier cycle, je le questionne : comment envisage-t-il son second cycle? Récemment, sa vie a changé. Il est papa et il veut prendre plus de temps pour lui et sa famille. Il est intéressant de noter que la conciliation travail et famille semble aussi être importante pour les enseignants finlandais. En rétrospective, il estime que ses premières années ont été dévouées à la préparation de ses cours, au montage de matériel didactique et au développement d’approches pédagogiques. Il continuera à bonifier tout cela, mais le gros étant fait, il souhaite se concentrer sur autre chose, car il s’estime à l’avant-garde des approches pédagogiques. Ce qu’il qualifie « d’âge de pierre » de certaines directions ou collègues enseignants et le désespère.

J’ai aussitôt recentré la discussion : est-ce vraiment un « âge de pierre » ou plutôt, sa perception d’un décalage entre ses pratiques et celles de ses collègues? Est-ce si pire que cela, ou est-ce sa vision de la problématique qui est trop micrométrique? D’un point de vue systémique, y aurait-il eu du progrès depuis quelques années? Peut-être a-t-il progressé plus rapidement que des collègues, c’est fort possible, mais est-ce que la fracture des pratiques enseignantes est si prononcée? À défaut d’avoir pu obtenir des réponses à ces questions, j’espère avoir pu semer des graines de réflexion!

Le décrochage enseignant : une tragédie professionnelle

À mon sens, le décrochage des enseignants est une tragédie professionnelle. Je me questionne sur ce qui peut être mis en place pour le diminuer, même si je me doute qu’il ne pourra jamais être nul. Cette problématique interpelle tous les acteurs de l’éducation.

Sur le plan local québécois, les directions et les enseignants sont préoccupés par le phénomène et des mesures sont mises en place dans plusieurs écoles. Sur le plan régional, les centres de services ont aussi mis en place des mesures davantage « universelles » sur leur territoire. Sur le plan national, les centrales syndicales et le ministère de l’Éducation se sont penchés sur la problématique, tout comme les facultés d’éducation améliorent la formation des maîtres une année après l’autre en ayant en tête l’existence du décalage entre la formation et la pratique. Au-delà de toutes ces mesures et sachant pertinemment que tous mettent l’épaule à la roue, si je me fie à ce que l’enseignant finlandais me dit, il y a d’autres pistes à explorer.

Évidemment, il se plaint du nombre d’élèves dans sa classe qui augmente sans cesse. Selon lui, 25 élèves, c’est un grand groupe et il peine à combler les besoins de chacun. Il enseigne au secondaire, alors, rictus en coin, je lui ai dit qu’il y avait bien plus d’élèves dans les classes québécoises ou canadiennes, mais pour lui, la chute de la Finlande dans les tests PISA est essentiellement attribuable à ce phénomène. Il y a aussi la paperasse qui pèse lourd sur les épaules des enseignants finlandais.

Pourquoi relever ces complaintes? Pour deux raisons : d’une part, on a beau idéaliser la Finlande, il n’en demeure pas moins que tout n’est pas toujours rose en éducation dans ce pays. Deuxièmement, la source de nos soucis vient souvent de notre propre vision. Il est rare que tout soit à notre goût dans notre profession, que ce soit au Québec, en France ou en Finlande et que ce soit en éducation ou dans un autre domaine. Il y aura toujours des irritants. Une lentille macrométrique permet de saisir la problématique dans son ensemble, dans son système, plutôt qu’en isolant les problèmes de ce qui les cause et de les décontextualiser, pour les interpréter en fonction de nos perceptions.

L’avancement dans la profession et la collaboration internationale pour nourrir la motivation

Aussi, il faut considérer les possibilités d’avancement pour les enseignants. La profession peut sembler sans issue pour plusieurs. Effectivement, ce ne sont pas tous les enseignants qui aspirent à devenir des conseillers pédagogiques ou des directions d’école. Que peuvent-ils faire d’autre? À quoi peuvent-ils rêver? À quoi aspirer? La France a mis en place un système intéressant d’avancement dans la profession. Peut-être peut-on s’en inspirer?

La collaboration entre les enseignants et entre les écoles agit aussi à titre de motivation. L’idée de collaborer avec ses propres collègues, mais aussi avec des collègues d’autres écoles au Québec, au Canada ou à l’international est certainement stimulante professionnellement et permet, du même coup, l’instauration d’une mentalité de croissance.

À titre d’exemple, pour l’école Ounasrinteen Koulu de Rovaniemi, la collaboration internationale est l’une des visées du projet éducatif, déterminée par la direction de concert avec les enseignants. En avril prochain, si la situation pandémique s’améliore, il est prévu qu’une quinzaine d’enseignants de l’école se rendent aux Émirats arabes unis pour une semaine d’échange professionnel et, qu’à leur tour, l’école accueille les ressortissants émiriens pour une autre semaine plus tard dans l’année.

Aller s’inspirer des pratiques des autres pour éclairer la nôtre, c’est non seulement inspirant, mais cela nous permet de trouver de nouvelles façons de se transformer et de transformer notre pratique et notre école. Les opportunités professionnelles permettent de repousser ses limites et d’élargir ses horizons. Et quand nous y parvenons, ce sont les horizons de nos élèves que nous pouvons élargir du même coup!

Pour suivre l’expédition :

Page Facebook : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter : https://twitter.com/magirard
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok : https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

Il vous est aussi possible de contribuer au financement de l’Expédition (jusqu’au 22 décembre) : https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(NDLR : L’École branchée est heureuse d’être partenaire média de cette expédition! Notez que nous ne sommes toutefois pas associés à la campagne de financement.)

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :