ADVERTISEMENT

In France, one in three teachers would use digital textbooks

A study carried out on behalf of the Savoir Livre association, a group made up of the main publishers of textbooks, indicates that in France, nearly one in three teachers would use digital textbooks.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

A study carried out on behalf of the association Know Book, a group made up of the main publishers of school textbooks, indicates that in France, nearly one in three teachers would use digital textbooks.

The study, carried out with more than 15,000 teachers by the firm TNS Sofres and mentioned in The world, indicates that the number of teachers using digital textbooks doubled between 2011 and 2014. The proportion of primary sector teachers using them is estimated to be around one in five. In colleges and high schools (secondary / CEGEP), this proportion would climb to two in five.

For various reasons, the use of digital textbooks seems to be more widespread in certain fields of study and certain disciplines. History and mathematics are among the disciplines in which the use is relatively high.

The results of this survey also show that, although open to the use of digital resources, including digital textbooks, teachers still feel interested in the paper format. In fact, 85 % of the respondents indicated that they did not wish to completely abandon paper as part of their teaching.

The technical difficulties linked to the use of technologies, the sometimes high costs of acquiring or updating this type of resources and the problems linked to the issue of copyright are reasons cited by teachers for explain why they are using it restricted.

While several teachers use digital textbooks for training purposes and as educational supplements, fewer teachers use them for evaluation purposes. To increase the use of these manuals and develop their full potential, it is believed that work will have to be done in terms of their evaluation potential and to provide meaningful feedback.

The main results of the survey are presented in a document entitled " The uses of digital resources in 2014. Main changes since 2011 ".

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Dominic Leblanc
Dominic leblanc
A graduate in sociology, Dominic Leblanc is an educational advisor in the Programs and Educational Development Department of the Cégep régional de Lanaudière in L'Assomption.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

En France, un enseignant sur trois utiliserait les manuels numériques

Une étude réalisée pour le compte de l’association Savoir Livre, un regroupement composé des principaux éditeurs de manuels scolaires, indique qu’en France, près d’un enseignant sur trois aurait recours aux manuels numériques.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Une étude réalisée pour le compte de l’association Savoir Livre, un regroupement composé des principaux éditeurs de manuels scolaires, indique qu’en France, près d’un enseignant sur trois aurait recours aux manuels numériques.

L’étude, menée auprès de plus 15 000 enseignants par la firme TNS Sofres et mentionnée dans Le Monde, indique que le nombre d’enseignants utilisant les manuels numériques a doublé entre 2011 et 2014. La proportion d’enseignants du secteur primaire y ayant recours serait d’environ un sur cinq. Dans les collèges et les lycées (secondaire/cégep), cette proportion grimperait à deux sur cinq.

Pour différentes raisons, l’utilisation des manuels numériques semble davantage répandue dans certains champs d’études et certaines disciplines. L’histoire et les mathématiques figurent parmi les disciplines dans lesquelles l’utilisation est relativement importante.

Les résultats de cette enquête montrent aussi que, bien qu’ouverts à l’utilisation de ressources numériques, dont les manuels numériques, les enseignants se sentent toujours intéressés par le format papier. En effet, 85 % des répondants ont indiqué qu’ils ne désirent pas abandonner totalement le papier dans le cadre de leur enseignement.

Les difficultés techniques liées à l’utilisation des technologies, les coûts parfois élevés de l’acquisition ou de la mise à jour de ce type de ressources et les problèmes liés à la question des droits d’auteurs représentent des raisons évoquées par les enseignants pour expliquer pourquoi ils en font une utilisation restreinte.

Si plusieurs enseignants se servent des manuels numériques dans un objectif formatif et sous forme de compléments pédagogiques, ils sont toutefois moins nombreux à les utiliser à des fins d’évaluation. Pour accroître l’usage de ces manuels et développer leur plein potentiel, il est à penser qu’un travail sera à effectuer sur le plan de leur potentiel évaluatif et à effectuer des rétroactions significatives.

Les principaux résultats de l’enquête sont présentés dans un document intitulé « Les usages des ressources numériques en 2014. Principales évolutions depuis 2011 ».

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Dominic Leblanc
Dominic Leblanc
Diplômé en sociologie, Dominic Leblanc est conseiller pédagogique au Service des programmes et du développement pédagogique du Cégep régional de Lanaudière à L'Assomption.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :