ADVERTISEMENT

Help young girls discover science and technology for free

The Girls, Break the Codes! was held on Sunday, November 25 with a science and technology discovery program for girls aged 7 and over.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

The organism Growing up Without Borders organize the event Girls, break the rules! for young girls aged 7 and over in the major cities of the province. A project that follows on from already existing initiatives aimed at promoting scientific, digital and technological fields.

The event consists of a tour of seven cities, where dozens of young girls will be introduced to the world of science and technology. On the program: Saguenay in November 2018, Sherbrooke, Trois-Rivières, Quebec, Montreal and Gatineau from January 2019 to February 2020.

In order to encourage girls to take an interest in these areas where female representation is low, they will be able to experiment free of charge in each city with techno, scientific and digital themed activities. The activities will be supported by professionals who will come to share their experiences in order to discuss the possibilities of future careers. The young girls will thus be able to interact with professional women while stimulating their interest in techno thanks to concrete workshops.

The event is part of the Educ @ TIC 3.0 project led by Grow sans Frontières, and carried out with funding from the Government of Quebec, the Government of Canada, and Telus Community Investment MD Montreal.

A first in Saguenay

The first meeting was held on Sunday, November 25 in the city of Saguenay, in collaboration with the Sirius Saguenay astronomy club and Ubisoft Saguenay.

On this occasion, they were able to experiment for free with technological, scientific and digital themed activities: virtual reality headset, manufacture of personalized stickers with vinyl cutting, creation of video games, etc. Ubisoft Saguenay professionals shared their experiences in order to awaken career possibilities in the participants.

"They will therefore be able to interact with experts, then measure their interest in technology thanks to stimulating and enriching workshops", explains Anne Wibaux, training and project manager in digital education at Grow without limits.

About Grow without limits
Grow sans Frontières is a charity that has existed since 2003 and which aims to improve access to technologies for all. To do this, it promotes digital education among young people in order to equip them in a world dominated by digital technology. He is also part of the Montreal Girls & Code Movement. Through it, he strengthens his will to work for the integration of young girls into the world of techno. It is an initiative that is close to his heart!

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Faire découvrir gratuitement les sciences et les technologies aux jeunes filles

L’événement Les filles, déjouez les codes! s'est tenu le dimanche 25 novembre avec un programme de découverte des sciences et des technologies destiné aux jeunes filles de 7 ans et plus.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

L’organisme Grandir sans Frontières organise l’événement Les filles, déjouez les codes! pour les jeunes filles de 7 ans et plus dans les grandes villes de la province. Un projet qui s’inscrit dans le prolongement d’initiatives déjà existantes visant à promouvoir les domaines scientifiques, numériques et technologiques.

L’événement consiste en une tournée de sept villes, où plusieurs dizaines de jeunes filles seront initiées à l’univers des sciences et des technos. Au programme : Saguenay en novembre 2018, Sherbrooke, Trois-Rivières, Québec, Montréal et Gatineau de janvier 2019 à février 2020.

Afin d’inciter les filles à s’intéresser à ces domaines où la représentativité féminine est peu élevée, celles-ci pourront expérimenter gratuitement dans chaque ville des activités à thématique techno, scientifique et numérique. Les activités seront appuyées par des professionnelles qui viendront partager leurs expériences afin d’évoquer les possibilités de carrières futures. Les jeunes filles pourront ainsi interagir avec des femmes professionnelles tout en stimulant leur intérêt pour les technos grâce à des ateliers concrets.

L’événement s’inscrit dans le cadre du projet Educ@TIC 3.0 porté par Grandir sans Frontières, et réalisé grâce aux financements du Gouvernement du Québec, du Gouvernement du Canada, et Telus Investissement communautaire MD Montréal.

Une première au Saguenay

Le premier rendez-vous s’est tenu le dimanche 25 novembre à ville de Saguenay, en collaboration avec le club d’astronomie Sirius du Saguenay et Ubisoft Saguenay.

À cette occasion, elles ont pu expérimenter gratuitement des activités à thématique technologique, scientifique et numérique : casque de réalité virtuelle, fabrication d’autocollants personnalisés avec la découpe vinyle, création de jeux vidéo, etc. Des professionnelles d’Ubisoft Saguenay ont partagé leurs expériences dans le but d’éveiller chez les participantes des possibilités de carrière.

« Elles pourront donc interagir avec des expertes, puis mesurer leur intérêt pour les technos grâce des ateliers stimulants et enrichissants », explique Anne Wibaux, chargée de formation et de projet en éducation numérique de Grandir sans Frontières.

À propos de Grandir sans Frontières
Grandir sans Frontières est un organisme de bienfaisance qui existe depuis 2003 et qui a pour but d’améliorer l’accès aux technologies pour tous. Pour ce faire, il fait la promotion de l’éducation numérique auprès des jeunes afin de les outiller dans un monde dominé par le numérique. Il fait aussi partie du Mouvement montréalais Les Filles & le code. Par celui-ci, il renforce sa volonté d’œuvrer pour l’insertion des jeunes filles dans le monde des technos. C’est une initiative qui lui tient à cœur!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :