What if we created the Quebec Network of Curious and Connected Grandparents in Education?

Luc Gendron, a committed grandfather, wants to form the Quebec Network of Curious and Connected Grandparents in Education. In the 21st century, grandparents are very active and have a whole range of skills that could be used to advantage in schools, especially in the digital realm," he says.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Add to favorites (0)

The image of grandma or grandpa lounging in front of the television, enjoying a well-deserved rest at the cottage, thinking only of traveling, tinkering or gardening, is one that persists for many. However, this image is outdated. Luc Gendron, a committed grandfather, wants to form the Quebec Network of Curious and Connected Grandparents in Education. 

"In the 21st century, grandparents are quite active and have a range of skills that could be used to advantage in schools, especially digitally," he says.

He himself has developed a unique expertise in international digital business since 1996. Since 2018, he has been actively involved with the members of the parents' committee of a school service center in Centre-du-Québec. Now that he is a grandfather, he is convinced that this expertise could be put to good use to accompany schools in the realization of digital projects.

"I am certainly not the only one in my situation. There are many people who are curious by nature and have been living in the tech world for a long time. They have something to bring to the schools as we seek to accelerate the development of digital skills. They could act as mentors to the Ministry of Education and school principals, while contributing to the development of digital skills in schools," he believes.

A network of grandparents

If it takes a village to raise a child, there is an essential and overlooked component missing from the Quebec education ecosystem: grandparents. At least that's what Mr. Gendron, who previously wrote a post on the the role of curious grandparents in education on his blog.

Today, he would like to create the Réseau des grands-parents curieux et branchés en éducation du Québec (Quebec Network of curious and connected grandparents in education), which could give their time to meet various needs in the school network. He is thinking about some of the people he works with; this former executive of a large company, this expert in emotional intelligence in business, an expert in international logistics, a management coach and even a former director general of the Centre interuniversitaire de santé et services sociaux (CIUSS). "The expertise of these people should be able to be showcased in the school environment."

According to his vision, their contribution could be as much with the students in the classroom as with the school service center managers. Planning meetings of the various boards, communication between the CSS and families, reflection on major issues and practices, etc.

He expresses his vision in a longer text which we publish in the Opinion section of École branchée. It asks the question: Do you know curious and connected grandparents who would like to contribute to culture and collective intelligence? Do you know school service center and school administrators who are curious to capitalize on their expertise?

He invites you to share this short survey to intercept grandparents (or other interested onlookers) who would like to participate in a regional or provincial meeting to further develop the network concept.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Et si on créait le Réseau des grands-parents curieux et branchés en éducation du Québec?

Luc Gendron, un grand-père engagé, souhaite former le Réseau des grands-parents curieux et branchés en éducation du Québec.« Au 21e siècle, les grands-parents sont bien actifs et possèdent toute une gamme de compétences qui pourraient être avantageusement utilisées dans les écoles, notamment au niveau numérique », affirme-t-il.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

L’image de la mamie ou du papi qui se bercent devant la télévision, qui profitent d’un repos bien mérité au chalet, qui ne pensent qu’à voyager, à bricoler ou à jardiner perdure pour plusieurs. Cette image serait pourtant dépassée. Luc Gendron, un grand-père engagé, souhaite former le Réseau des grands-parents curieux et branchés en éducation du Québec. 

« Au 21e siècle, les grands-parents sont bien actifs et possèdent toute une gamme de compétences qui pourraient être avantageusement utilisées dans les écoles, notamment au niveau numérique », affirme-t-il.

Il a lui-même développé une expertise unique en affaires numériques internationales depuis 1996. Depuis 2018, il s’implique activement avec les membres du comité de parents d’un centre de services scolaire du Centre-du-Québec. Maintenant qu’il est grand-père, il est convaincu que cette expertise pourrait être mise à profit pour accompagner les écoles dans la réalisation de projets numériques.

« Je ne suis certainement pas le seul dans ma situation. Il y a plusieurs personnes curieuses de nature qui vivent dans l’univers technos depuis longtemps. Elles ont quelque chose à apporter dans les écoles alors qu’on veut accélérer le développement des compétences numériques. Ils pourraient agir comme mentor auprès du ministère de l’éducation et des directions d’établissement, tout en contribuant au développement des compétences numériques dans les écoles », croit-il.

Un réseau de grands-parents

S’il faut tout un village pour élever un enfant, il manque une composante essentielle et ignorée dans l’écosystème d’éducation au Québec : les grands-parents. C’est du moins ce que croit M. Gendron, qui a déjà signé un billet sur le rôle des grands-parents curieux en éducation sur son blogue.

Aujourd’hui, il souhaite créer le Réseau des grands-parents curieux et branchés en éducation du Québec qui pourrait donner de leur temps pour répondre à différents besoins dans le réseau scolaire. Il pense à certaines personnes qu’il côtoie; cet ex-dirigeant d’une grande société, cette sommité en intelligence émotionnelle dans les entreprises, un expert en logistique internationale, un coach en gestion et même un ancien directeur général de Centre interuniversitaire de santé et services sociaux (CIUSS). « L’expertise de ces personnes doit pouvoir être mise en valeur dans le milieu scolaire. »

Selon sa vision, leur apport pourrait être autant auprès des élèves dans la classe qu’auprès des gestionnaires des centres de services scolaires. Planification des rencontres des différents conseils, communication entre les CSS et les familles, réflexion autour de grands enjeux et pratiques, etc.

Il exprime sa vision dans un texte plus long que nous publions dans la section Opinion de l’École branchée. Il pose la question : Connaissez-vous des grands-parents curieux et branchés qui souhaiteraient contribuer à la culture et à l’intelligence collective? Connaissez-vous des directions de centres de services scolaires et d’écoles curieuses de capitaliser sur leur expertise?

Il invite à partager ce court sondage pour intercepter les grands-parents (ou autres curieux intéressés) qui souhaiteraient participer à une rencontre régionale ou provinciale qui permettrait de pousser plus loin le concept du réseau.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :