ADVERTISEMENT

What should a child know about artificial intelligence?

An American task force is currently examining the type of knowledge preschool, elementary and secondary school students should have and the skills they should develop in connection with artificial intelligence.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

An American task force is currently examining the kind of knowledge preschool, elementary and secondary school students should have and the skills they should develop in relation to artificial intelligence (AI). 

Their goal is to establish guidelines for the development of future study programs, in addition to creating a directory of online resources that will assist educators. Their starting point: young people (and their teachers) must be better informed about the technologies with which they interact on a daily basis. Let's not forget that most cell phones are equipped with a voice assistant and there are several home devices with similar functionality.

 “There is a persistent lack of understanding of AI (West & Allen, 2018). We need to consider the role we play as AI researchers and educators in helping people understand the science behind our research, its limitations and potential impacts on society ”, do we read in the report translated into French by François Bocquet in the Watch book and promotion of research work on technologies in education.

The initiative is led by the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) and the Association of Computer Science Teachers (CSTA). It is inspired by the approach already carried out by the CSTA to establish national standards for teaching information from primary to secondary school (already in force), but specifically concerns "artificial intelligence, machine learning and robotics" . 

Before guidelines, big ideas

The working group has not yet released its guidelines, but it is refining the process by proposing five main ideas. 

  1. Computers perceive the world using sensors. 
  2. Agents maintain models / representations of the world and use them to “reason”. 
  3. Computers can learn from data. 
  4. Getting agents to interact comfortably with humans is a big challenge for AI developers. 
  5. AI applications can impact society, both positively and negatively. 

For each, the group puts forward skills and knowledge that preschool students should master, as well as for each cycle of primary and secondary. They are detailed in the report

A directory of resources in preparation 

Along with more theoretical work, the group is working on a repository of resources, which should "provide fun and inspiring ways to engage students in various aspects of AI, such as robotics, modeling and simulation, game and machine learning ”. 

Already, some resources are available, especially : 

  • Cognimates offers a set of Scratch extensions that provide access to speech generation, speech recognition, text categorization, object recognition and robot control APIs. 
  • Google has uploaded a series of AI experiments such as "Teachable Machine" (training a visual classifier) and "QuickDraw" (a neural network tries to guess what you are drawing). 

References

The report originally published in English. Touretzky, D., Gardner-McCune, C., Martin, F., & Seehorn, D. (2019). Envisioning AI for K-12: What Should Every Child Know about AI? Proceedings of the AAAI Conference on Artificial Intelligence, 33, 9795-9799. 

In addition, Carrefour education offers you Decodes algorithms, a series of initiation and reflection activities on algorithms and AI.


Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article
2- Develop and mobilize your technological skills

To see the Framework.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Qu’est-ce qu’un enfant devrait savoir sur l’intelligence artificielle?

Un groupe de travail américain se penche actuellement sur le type de connaissances que les élèves du préscolaire, du primaire et du secondaire devraient avoir et les compétences qu’ils devraient développer en lien avec l’intelligence artificielle.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Un groupe de travail américain se penche actuellement sur le type de connaissances que les élèves du préscolaire, du primaire et du secondaire devraient avoir et les compétences qu’ils devraient développer en lien avec l’intelligence artificielle (IA). 

Leur objectif est d’établir des lignes directrices en vue du développement de futurs programmes d’études, en plus de créer un répertoire de ressources en ligne qui aidera les éducateurs. Leur prémisse de départ : les jeunes (et leurs enseignants) doivent être mieux informés au sujet des technologies avec lesquelles ils interagissent au quotidien. N’oublions pas que la plupart des téléphones portables sont équipés d’un assistant vocal et qu’il existe plusieurs appareils domestiques dotés de fonctionnalités similaires.

 « On constate un manque persistant de compréhension de l’IA (West & Allen, 2018). Nous devons considérer le rôle que nous jouons en tant que chercheurs et éducateurs en IA pour aider les gens à comprendre la science derrière nos recherches, ses limites et ses impacts potentiels sur la société », lit-on dans le rapport traduit en français par François Bocquet dans le Carnet de veille et de valorisation des travaux de recherche sur les technologies dans l’éducation.

L’initiative est menée par l’Association pour l’avancement de l’intelligence artificielle (AAAI) et l’Association des professeurs d’informatique (CSTA). Elle est inspirée de la démarche déjà conduite par la CSTA pour établir les normes nationales d’enseignement de l’information du primaire au secondaire (déjà en vigueur), mais concerne spécifiquement « l’intelligence artificielle, l’apprentissage machine et la robotique ». 

Avant les lignes directrices, les grandes idées

Le groupe de travail n’a pas encore rendu publiques ses lignes directrices, mais il peaufine la démarche en proposant cinq grandes idées. 

  1. Les ordinateurs perçoivent le monde à l’aide de capteurs. 
  2. Les agents entretiennent des modèles/représentations du monde et les utilisent pour « raisonner ». 
  3. Les ordinateurs peuvent apprendre à partir des données. 
  4. Faire en sorte que les agents interagissent confortablement avec les humains est un défi de taille pour les développeurs d’IA. 
  5. Les applications de l’IA peuvent avoir un impact sur la société, tant positif que négatif. 

Pour chacune, le groupe avance des compétences et connaissances que les élèves du préscolaire devraient maîtriser, ainsi que pour chaque cycle du primaire et du secondaire. Elles sont détaillées dans le rapport

Un répertoire de ressources en préparation 

Parallèlement, aux travaux plus théoriques, le groupe planche sur un répertoire de ressources, qui devrait « fournir des moyens amusants et inspirants d’impliquer les élèves dans divers aspects de l’IA, tel que la robotique, la modélisation et la simulation, le jeu et l’apprentissage machine ». 

Déjà, quelques ressources sont proposées, notamment : 

  • Cognimates propose un ensemble d’extensions Scratch qui donnent accès à des API de génération de la parole, de reconnaissance vocale, de catégorisation de texte, de reconnaissance d’objets et de contrôle de robots. 
  • Google a mis en ligne une série d’expériences d’IA telles que « Teachable Machine » (formation d’un classificateur visuel) et « QuickDraw » (un réseau neuronal essaie de deviner ce que vous dessinez). 

Références

Le rapport originalement publié en anglais. Touretzky, D., Gardner-McCune, C., Martin, F., & Seehorn, D. (2019). Envisioning AI for K-12 : What Should Every Child Know about AI ? Proceedings of the AAAI Conference on Artificial Intelligence, 33, 9795-9799. 

En complément, Carrefour éducation vous propose Décode les algorithmes, une série d’activités d’initiation et de réflexion sur les algorithmes et l’IA.


Dimension(s) de la compétence numérique en lien avec cet article
2- Développer et mobiliser ses habiletés technologiques

Voir le Cadre de référence.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct