Design thinking to rethink student engagement

During the month of November, more than thirty teachers took part in an extraordinary exercise in a school context. At the initiative of Collège Ste-Anne, teachers from several establishments participated in 3 design thinking workshops to conceptualize ideas aimed at fostering student engagement in the current situation.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

During the month of November, more than thirty teachers took part in an extraordinary exercise in a school context. At the initiative of the Collège Ste-Anne, teachers from several establishments participated in 3 design thinking to conceptualize ideas for fostering student engagement in the current situation. The École branchée also took part in these sessions at the invitation of the Colleague.

“We wanted to know the issues experienced by teachers since the start of the pandemic and after the start of the 2020 school year. 36 teachers have embarked on a creative process to find ways to make learning engaging for students in a distance education context, ”says Isabelle Senécal, director of educational innovation at Collège Sainte-Anne, who led this project.

The workshop of design thinking (or creative design process) was driven by The Factry, specializing in the management of ideation sessions that help organizations find solutions to the issues they encounter. During the 3 sessions of 2h30, each team was able to develop a main problem, imagine a concrete solution and submit it to the whole group. The animator of the Fracty, Alexandre Joyce, shared his experience with the teachers:

 “Animating a group of teachers is more difficult and easier at the same time. It is more difficult because I know that they will be attentive at the same time to the material than to the manner. The teachers not only learn the principles of creativity like divergence and convergence, but I knew they were attentive to my animation techniques too. What is easier is participation. Teachers are often extroverted people who get on board and participate easily. All of them have positive energy to share. "

As the current context requires, the discussions mainly focused on maintaining student engagement in a context of hybrid and distance education. How do you enable adolescents to participate more in discussions during online classroom activities? How to help them to engage in the tasks to be carried out? How can the teacher engage the students and maximize the interactions?

The discussions were rich in reflection for the teachers who were able to discuss their reality with colleagues and find attentive ears beyond the mere search for solutions linked to the workshop itself. At the end of the exercise, the participants left with several avenues to explore in their practices.


“Teaching is an excuse to connect with others. The current context forces us to reinvent the concept of relationship. "

A participant


Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article
10- Solve a variety of digital problems

To see the Framework.

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

Maryline Barrette Dubé
A graduate of a bachelor's degree in public communication, a “marketer” for more than 15 years, Maryline has been working to promote École branchée's activities and to publicize the organization's mandate since 2018. She is a devoted mother, an assumed epicurean. and IPA lover who, in her spare time, enjoys blog.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

Le « design thinking » pour repenser l’engagement des élèves

Au cours du mois de novembre, plus d’une trentaine d’enseignant(e)s se sont prêtés à un exercice hors de l’ordinaire dans un contexte scolaire. À l’initiative du Collège Ste-Anne, des enseignants de plusieurs établissements ont participé à 3 ateliers de design thinking pour conceptualiser des idées visant à favoriser l’engagement des élèves dans la situation actuelle.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Au cours du mois de novembre, plus d’une trentaine d’enseignant(e)s se sont prêtés à un exercice hors de l’ordinaire dans un contexte scolaire. À l’initiative du Collège Ste-Anne, des enseignants de plusieurs établissements ont participé à 3 ateliers de design thinking pour conceptualiser des idées visant à favoriser l’engagement des élèves dans la situation actuelle. L’École branchée a d’ailleurs pris part à ces séances suite à l’invitation du Collègue.

« Nous souhaitions connaître les problématiques vécues par les enseignants depuis le début de la pandémie et à la suite de la rentrée de 2020. 36 enseignants se sont engagés dans une démarche créative pour trouver des moyens de rendre l’apprentissage engageant pour les élèves dans un contexte d’enseignement à distance », indique Isabelle Senécal, directrice de l’innovation pédagogique au Collège Sainte-Anne, qui a mené ce projet.

L’atelier de design thinking (ou démarche de conception créative) était animé par La Factry, spécialisée dans la gestion de séances d’idéation qui aident les organisations à trouver des solutions aux enjeux qu’ils rencontrent. Au cours des 3 séances de 2h30, chaque équipe a pu élaborer une problématique principale, imaginer une solution concrète et la soumettre à l’ensemble du groupe. L’animateur de la Fracty, Alexandre Joyce, nous a d’ailleurs partagé son expérience avec les enseignants :

 « Animer un groupe de profs c’est plus difficile et plus facile à la fois. C’est plus difficile car je sais qu’il seront à la fois attentifs à la matière qu’à la manière. Les profs apprennent non seulement les principes de la créativité comme la divergence et la convergence, mais je savais qu’ils étaient attentifs à mes techniques d’animation aussi. Ce qui est plus facile c’est la participation. Les profs sont souvent des gens extravertis qui embarquent et participent facilement. Tous ont de l’énergie positive à partager. »

Contexte actuel oblige, les discussions ont principalement portées sur le maintien de l’engagement des élèves dans un contexte d’enseignement hybride et à distance. Comment permettre à des adolescents de participer davantage aux discussions lors des activités de classe en ligne? Comment les aider à s’engager dans les tâches à réaliser? Comment l’enseignant peut interpeller les élèves et maximiser les interactions?

Les échanges ont été riches en réflexion pour les enseignants qui ont pu discuter de leur réalité avec des collègues et trouver des oreilles attentives au-delà de la seule recherche de solutions liés à l’atelier lui-même. Au terme de l’exercice, les participants sont repartis avec plusieurs pistes à explorer dans leurs pratiques.


« Enseigner, c’est une excuse pour se mettre en relation avec les autres. Le contexte actuel nous oblige à réinventer le concept de relation. »

Une participante


Dimension(s) de la compétence numérique en lien avec cet article
10- Résoudre une variété de problèmes avec le numérique

Voir le Cadre de référence.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Maryline Barrette Dubé
Diplômée d’un baccalauréat en communication publique, « marketer » depuis plus de 15 ans, Maryline oeuvre au rayonnement des activités de l’École branchée et à faire connaître le mandat de l’organisation depuis 2018. C'est une maman dévouée, épicurienne assumée et amateure de IPA qui, dans ses temps libres, aime bloguer.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct