Projects to promote female leadership and entrepreneurship in the digital world

The COlab organization, located in Lac-Saint-Jean, has implemented several projects aimed at getting girls more interested in digital technology over the past few months. The projects are designed to foster female leadership and entrepreneurship. We spoke with the organization's director of digital entrepreneurship and innovative paths, Josée Gauthier.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The COlab organization, located in Lac-Saint-Jean, has implemented several projects aimed at getting girls more interested in digital technology over the past few months. The projects are designed to foster female leadership and entrepreneurship. We spoke with the organization's director of digital entrepreneurship and innovative paths, Josée Gauthier.

"While too many girls are still disinterested in all things science and technology in high school, we want to approach these topics differently so that they discover a world of possibilities. Everything is done through the contextualization of projects. We have chosen to focus on leadership and entrepreneurship," says Josée Gauthier.

Created in 2018 by the College of Alma, the COlab social innovation and digital culture s mission is to initiate, experiment and support technology appropriation projects by developing the digital capacities and skills of companies and communities. The organization's premises include a Fab Lab, a co-creation room, a data experimentation laboratory and an immersive studio. The center offers services to various clienteles, including youth.

In recent months, COlab has organized cohorts of young women to learn about scientific entrepreneurship: The Clever Ones for college and university students and The Ambitious for high school students. Les Ambitieuses is a virtual course for high school girls in the Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean region, lasting 15 weeks and lasting one hour per week.

A journey of engagement for Aboriginal girls is also offered in partnership with the community of Mashteuiatsh. During the course, they have the opportunity to participate in a prototyping workshop and to digital creation inside the Fab Lab.

Pedagogical content for all Quebec teachers

In parallel with these regional projects, the COlab is in the midst of producing various pedagogical contents that will be accessible to all teachers in the province. Initially, a toolbox, which will contain capsules and exercises, will help demystify artificial intelligence and contextualize it by relating it to learning areas.

In addition, in collaboration with the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec and the Centre de services scolaires du Lac Saint-Jean, the organization carries out eight immersive reality capsules to contextualize theoretical notions related to STIAM (science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics) for female high school students. Both projects were supported by the NovaScience program of the Quebec Ministry of Economy and Innovation.

Finally, the COlab has just received funding under phase 3 of the federal government's CodeCAN program. Various interactive contents will be developed by May 2023 according to thematic blocks (programming/coding, cloud computing, data science, cybersecurity and digital arts) and will be made available on an online platform.

"Once again, the project will be aimed primarily at young girls to help them discover careers related to STEAM and digital technology. We want to contribute to increasing the representation of women in these fields," says Ms. Gauthier.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Des projets pour favoriser le leadership et l’entrepreneuriat féminin dans le monde numérique

L’organisme COlab, situé au Lac-Saint-Jean, a mis en place plusieurs projets visant à intéresser davantage les filles au numérique au cours des derniers mois. Les projets sont conçus de façon à favoriser le leadership et l’entrepreneuriat au féminin. Nous en avons discuté avec la directrice de l’entrepreneuriat numérique et parcours innovants de l’organisme, Josée Gauthier.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

L’organisme COlab, situé au Lac-Saint-Jean, a mis en place plusieurs projets visant à intéresser davantage les filles au numérique au cours des derniers mois. Les projets sont conçus de façon à favoriser le leadership et l’entrepreneuriat au féminin. Nous en avons discuté avec la directrice de l’entrepreneuriat numérique et parcours innovants de l’organisme, Josée Gauthier.

« Alors que les filles sont encore trop nombreuses à se désintéresser de tout ce qui touche les sciences et la technologie au secondaire, nous voulons aborder ces thèmes autrement pour qu’elles découvrent un monde de possibilités. Tout passe par la contextualisation de projets. Nous avons choisi de miser sur le leadership et l’entrepreneuriat », indique Josée Gauthier.

Créé en 2018 par le collège d’Alma, le COlab innovation sociale et culture numérique a pour mission d’initier, d’expérimenter et d’accompagner des projets d’appropriation des technologies en développant les capacités et les compétences numériques des entreprises et des collectivités. Les locaux de l’organisme regroupent notamment un Fab Lab, une salle de cocréation, un laboratoire d’expérimentation sur les données et un studio immersif. Le centre offre des services à différentes clientèles, dont les jeunes.

Au cours des derniers mois, le COlab a organisé des cohortes de jeunes femmes pour les amener à découvrir l’entrepreneuriat scientifique : Les Astucieuses pour les étudiants de niveaux collégial et universitaire et Les Ambitieuses pour les élèves du secondaire. Les Ambitieuses est un parcours virtuel destiné aux filles de niveau secondaire de la région du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean, d’une durée de 15 semaines, à raison d’une heure par semaine.

Un parcours de mobilisation des jeunes filles autochtones est aussi offert en partenariat avec la communauté de Mashteuiatsh. Au cours du parcours, elles ont l’occasion de participer à un atelier de prototypage et de création numérique à l’intérieur du Fab Lab.

Contenu pédagogique pour tous les enseignants du Québec

Parallèlement à ces projets régionaux, le COlab est en pleine production de différents contenus pédagogiques qui seront accessibles à l’ensemble des enseignants de la province. Dans un premier temps, une boîte à outils, qui contiendra des capsules et des exercices, permettra de démystifier l’intelligence artificielle et de la contextualiser en la mettant en relation avec les domaines d’apprentissage.

De plus, en collaboration avec l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec et le Centre de services scolaire du Lac Saint-Jean, l’organisme réalise huit capsules en réalité immersive pour contextualiser des notions théoriques relatives aux STIAM (sciences, technologies, ingénierie, arts et mathématiques) auprès des étudiantes de niveau secondaire. Ces deux projets ont reçu l’appui du programme NovaScience du ministère de l’Économie et de l’Innovation du Québec.

Finalement, le COlab vient de recevoir du financement dans le cadre de la phase 3 du programme CodeCAN du gouvernement fédéral. Divers contenus interactifs seront développés d’ici mai 2023 selon des blocs thématiques (programmation/codage, infonuagique, science des données, cybersécurité et arts numériques) et seront rendus disponibles sur une plateforme en ligne.

« Encore une fois, le projet s’adressera principalement aux jeunes filles afin de leur faire découvrir des carrières en lien avec les STIAM et le numérique. Nous souhaitons contribuer à l’augmentation de la représentation des femmes dans ces domaines », fait valoir Mme Gauthier.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :