Posted in:

My internships came to my rescue

This is a story about the daily reality of Ariane who, after four years of study, wakes up one morning in September, a 4th year teacher. After an incoherent, confusing and despairing first week, a past reality saves her life: her practical training! The purpose of this text, proposed by a retired UQO professor, is to help teachers remember basic techniques!
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

You might also like:



Add to favorites (0)

After four years of study, Ariane is now a teacher in 4e year.

The following is a story submitted by Dr. Raoul Côté, retired professor of education at the Université du Québec en Outaouais (UQO).

It tells the daily reality of Ariane who, after four years of study, wakes up one morning in September, a teacher in 4e year. After an incoherent, confusing and despairing first week, a past reality comes back to life, brings her back to earth, saves her life: her practical training!

From that moment on, Ariane will allow us to follow her on a daily basis, to be privileged witnesses of her pedagogical learning in the field. Thus, beginners will be able to acquire a set of skills that are largely indispensable to teaching and learning, while teachers already in the field will have the opportunity to reappropriate them. We will see how she discovers the power of preamblethe majesty of the board, the fence-the importance of a model of disciplinethe reality of the various attitudes in the classroom, the effective use of examplesthe fundamental principles of the communicationthe reinforcing agents that are the variation of the stimulithe art of the question, the presentation and when to use it and the infinite probabilities of the reinforcement.


Finally (and I have cherished this dream for a long time) I will be able to take advantage, to good effect, of the multitudes of techniques, models and theories that have adequately described the act of teaching. Nevertheless, I ask myself the essential question:

How can I make my teaching interesting enough to promote and optimize my students' learning?

I admit quite candidly that these are my internships that came to my rescue.  Trainees and teachers at all levels will be able to appropriate or will reclaim the set of skills and know-how essential to teaching and learning.

The preamble          

Ethat helps to create a receptive state of mind

After a month of teaching, I was convinced of the paramount importance of always presenting before my actual lesson, a short situation anticipatory or an element trigger that would be used to engage students

  • a curiosity,
  • a taste for knowledge,
  • instant attention,
  • a receptive state

through an object, a video, a word or an image that leaves feel something interesting and essential coming soon.

Example : A short video clip from The Weather Network in preparation for a lesson on "time versus temperature."


The fence                 

Rear view mirror to see how far you've come

During my internships, my instructor often emphasized the importance of the last five minutes of a lesson, during which I should take the opportunity to "look in the rear-view mirror. Today, this allows me to see how far I have come, to give me a privileged moment to judge the pedagogical value of my teaching and to evaluate the level of learning of the class. At the same time, the student takes the opportunity to evaluate his or her level of learning and satisfaction with what he or she was supposed to have learned.

Example - How would you summarize this lesson for a student who was absent?


The perception of attitudes            

They are formed and modified

As I get to know my 4e year, I have a clearer understanding of their personal attitudes which allows me to harmonize my own behaviors with those in the class. I always keep in mind that the training Attitudes in human beings are the result of their learning, social patterns, direct experiences with others and the current situation. The changes of these attitudes over the years depend on the personality traits, beliefs and values of each individual.

I realize that the more sensitive and attentive I become to the attitudes that are form and this change in class, the more I can spot and recognize the signs

  • attention,
  • of boredom,
  • of interest
  • commitment,
  • of understanding,

which are expressed by

  • the direction of the look,
  • facial expressions,
  • the bright eyes,
  • spontaneous reactions
  • the movement

The example                 

The abstract idea often requires concrete illustration

During my training, one of the criteria of a good teacher was the pedagogical trend to use examples and demonstrations to make the concepts clearer. Today I can confirm that this skill is an effective way to keep students interested and engaged.

This is why I quickly understood the importance and benefits of using two techniques to promote learning.

1. The deductive technique (most frequently used in class)

a. As a first step, I state the idea to be discovered. The concept of "heat

b. I continue with hot water, matches, sunlight, etc.

c. I open the debate to know the common denominator between at and b.

d. I ask the class to provide other principles of heat.

2. The inductive technique

This technique dictates that I use the characteristics municipalities between a cup of hot water, the July sun, etc., to get the class to form inferences or some generalizations which lead to the notion of " heat ".

I would like to add that it is sometimes advantageous to use

  • Lanalogy simple, like comparing "the human heart to a pump".
  • The metaphor which suggests similarities such as "he's a real turtle
  • Our non-example which allows to understand some complex ideas.

The discipline*                      

The key to success in teaching

The first time I was in the former teacher's classroom, I realized that she had either inadvertently or deliberately left out a poster of three colored circles. I have been told by other teachers that these three colors define her model of discipline modeled after traffic lights. Green, yellow and red being carriers of messages not only known to all but with consequences.

Looking at my course notes, I quickly realized that I needed to establish procedures to pave the way for a more efficient and effective model discipline staff. We needed to create an environment that would ensure that all students were on the same page.

For lack of knowing another model, I decided that for the time being, this one would work for me and that my mantra would be to strive for a specific goal, namely the accountability of the student through :

  • regulations expressed in observable and measurable expectations that are understood by all and that guarantee the student's right to live in a climate conducive to learning and my right to teach in an environment conducive to effective teaching;
  • choice which on the one hand are based on knowledge of relevant information and on the other hand are based on clear and precise information of a given situation;
  • consequences withdrawn or given based on a given behavior. They should be constructive and supportive while aiming to change a behavior. 

*Côté, R. 2002, SOS Discipline, Éditions Nouvelles, Montréal
*Charles, C.M. 2009, Discipline in the Classroom: Models, Doctrines, and Conduct. De Boeck Supérieur.

See the following models:
Dreikurs: Discipline without tears
Ginott: Teacher and Child
Glasser: Waste-free schools (Reality Therapy)
Kounin: Discipline and group management in the classroom.
Redl and Wattenberg: Mental hygiene in Teaching


Stimulus variation      

The provocation of the senses

My generation gave rise to the smart phone, the internet, the computer, the cell phone, and all the social media. They are all part of my students' daily lives. In order to mitigate these multiple distractions I use a variety of reinforcing agents (stimuli) that will, I hope, be, activate the senses students and influence their behaviors.

For example :

  • I sometimes choose to move physically towards a particular student. This allows me to reduce the psychological distance between myself and the student and to capture and maintain the student's attention.
  • My movements of head and hands are dominant reinforcing agents.
  • My laugh and my eyebrow game are effective tools.
  • My various shades of voice serve to arouse interest.
  • My breaks Intentional, my teaching methods, my interaction styles as well as the appeal to various sensory channels can also be used for teaching.

Communication/teaching

Listening twice as much as talking

Among the multitude of skills involved in the act of teaching, I often come up against the art of communicationr for the simple reason that it is all done with words, sounds, gestures, signs and behaviours that can either help or hinder my relationship with my class. In order to master the art of communication I must accept certain unavoidable characteristics in my students, namely that some :

  • must hear to learn,
  • are stimulated by writings,
  • favour the concepts and applications
  • fuel to the demonstration followed by the practice.

With this in mind, here are my various ways of communicating with my students.

  • To avoid boredom, I get as far away as possible from the note reading.
  • "Everything is said, it is in the way ". 
  • The word has an efficiency index of 7 % versus the tone of voice at 43 %.
  • I do not spare the smile, the look, the signs of the head.  
  • Our sense of humor, planned breaks and silences are of paramount importance in my classroom.

I strive to Good listen by adopting the following "mantras".

  • Once I have said what I want to say, I make a break intentional to listen to and evaluate that the student has understood.
  • During his answer, I avoid this annoying habit of cutting him off.
  • I refrain from anticipating the end of his thought to add what comes to my mind.

Note : I learned the importance of the feedback which allows me to assess the level of understanding of the class and adjust my communication style accordingly.


The lecture  

A hypnotism session without a healer.

 At the Grade 4 level, the lecture is a valuable tool if it is used to:

  • Transmit of information
  • Strengthen a written document
  • Synthesize data
  • Fill in the class on expected outcomes
  • Transmit a sacred fire for a given theme or subject.

Advantages of the lecture

  1. Constitutes a way quick presentation.
  2. Allows you to go to your own pace in terms of control and time allocation.

Disadvantages of the lecture

It is not appropriate if:

  1. The information must be kept for a long time;
  2. The matter is complex;
  3. Students' abilities are inappropriate.

NOTE :

Given the phenomenal amount of information in favor or against the use of lecture, I remind you of two thoughts of wisdom.

According to Mark Twain:

"notes taken by your students during a lecture end up in their notebooks without going through the brain "

Donald Bligh wrote:

"Lecturing represents a view of education where the teacher, who knows everythingtransmits knowledge to students who don't know anything and who are therefore not supposed to have nothing worth contributing ".


The reinforcement                 

The probability of repetition

I am an avid cyclist. I train year round for long distance competitions. I know that in order to maintain the effort required by my training program, I need to be able to feel and see improvement or progress in order to maintain my motivation. My students are aware of my passion and they follow and encourage me. I hope you don't mind if I tell you that I take advantage of this by intentionally using events or schemes that may to increase the likelihood that this or that behavior will be repeated in my students!

I am paraphrasing from the professor's lecture notes who explained to us very clearly the truth behind reinforcement as used in the classroom.

"First I tended to simplify it by thinking that reinforcement involved 'offering a treat' for good behavior and 'taking away a treat' for bad behavior. Clearly, I was confusing "consequences" with "reinforcement."

Positive versus negative reinforcement 

We talk about reinforcement positive when the probability of review the desired behavior is increased because of the addition a "reinforcer" such as stickers, positive feedback, responsibility, time off.

We talk about reinforcement negative when the probability of review the desired behavior is increased because of the withdrawal of an "aversive reinforcer". This may include removing activities such as "pushing back a deadline, removing a supervision, removing a poor evaluation, or stopping some personal criticism.


The question               

A good question makes the answer difficult

I was surprised to learn during my training, that between 35 % and 50 % of class time was spent on the question, or between 300 and 400 uses per day, despite the computer and modern technology. Now, in actual practice, I can corroborate these statistics; questioning has become a significant part of my teaching.

I'll share with you the other surprises I've retained that are of paramount importance.

  • When I ask a question to the whole class, I engage the attention of 1/3 of the students... Guess what the 2/3 do?
  • At the beginning of my first year as a teacher,
    • I left only one second to the student to give his answer  
    • after which I repeated the question or
    • I will modified or
    • I posed a different or
    • I designated another student to respond or
    • to make matters worse, I was answering to my own question.
    • Today I hope I have changed. Only my students know this AND my paired teacher.
  • In addition, I have become accustomed to taking into account the waiting time normally required (3 to 5 seconds) so that the student has the necessary time to formulate his or her answer and give it to us.

I am still constantly discovering the importance of planning my lessons with the type of questions I ask, namely form:

1. Convergent

  • Knowledge. Who stated the theory of relativity?
  • Comprehension. Summarize the last chapter of...
  • Application. Why learn mathematics?

2. Divergent

  • Analysis What other options do you see?
  • Synthesis What would happen if...?
  • Evaluation In your opinion, is there a better way to...?

The table                 

A helpful icon since the 19the century

I still remember the great board green that marked me from my first days at St. Gertrude's school. I was 6 years old. Today I have learned to tame it and to use it to my advantage. It has become a medium which is used to put forward information essential and develop ideas as the situation progresses. The fact that it can be stable or removable provides an easy to see and use surface for the student.

To support learning with the board, I follow some essential rules. For example, there is no idea how dividing the board into zones can help students follow better. Practically my board looks like this:

  1. The evolution of the content is at the environment,
  2. Reminders and definitions to left,
  3. Details and explanations added to right,
  4. My writings evolve from the left to the right,
  5. My writing starts from the top down.

I would like to add that my travel never obstruct the text that imitates as much as possible a lined book is in CAPITALS to be visible to all and that my voice door to the students behind the classroom.


Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Some announcements

Publish a text too!

Our readers love to read about what's going on in the lives of teachers (and us too!)! Take the keyboard and publicize your educational project or share your ideas, tips and tricks via our Opinion and Testimonials sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Classé dans :

Mes stages sont venus à mon secours

Voici un récit qui relate la réalité quotidienne d'Ariane qui, après quatre années d’études, se réveille un bon matin de septembre, enseignante en 4e année. Après une première semaine incohérente, déroutante et désespérante, une réalité passée lui sauve la vie : ses stages pratiques! Le but de ce texte, proposé par un professeur retraité de l'UQO, est notamment de permettre aux enseignant(e)s de se remémorer des techniques de base!
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :



Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Après quatre années d’études, voilà qu’Ariane est enseignante en 4e année.

Voici un texte-récit qui nous a été proposé par Raoul Côté, Ph. D., professeur retraité en éducation à l’Université du Québec en Outaouais (UQO).

Il relate la réalité quotidienne d’Ariane qui, après quatre années d’études, se réveille un bon matin de septembre, enseignante en 4e année. Après une première semaine incohérente, déroutante et désespérante, une réalité passée renaît, la ramène sur terre, lui sauve la vie : ses stages pratiques!

À compter de ce moment, Ariane nous permet de la suivre au quotidien, d’être des témoins privilégiés de ses apprentissages pédagogiques sur le terrain. Ainsi, les débutantes et débutants pourront s’approprier un ensemble d’habiletés largement indispensable à l’enseignement et à l’apprentissage tandis que le personnel enseignant déjà en fonction aura l’occasion de se les réapproprier. On verra comment elle découvre la force du préambule, la majesté du tableau, la clôture-rétroviseur, l’importance d’un modèle de discipline, la réalité des diverses attitudes en salle de classe, l’usage efficace des exemples, les principes fondamentaux de la communication, les agents renforçateurs que sont la variation des stimuli, l’art de la question, l’exposé magistral et quand y recourir et les probabilités infinies du renforcement.


Finalement (et ça fait longtemps que je chéris se rêve) je pourrai profiter, à bon escient, des multitudes de techniques, de modèles et de théories qui ont décrit adéquatement l’acte d’enseigner. Je me pose néanmoins la question essentielle :

Comment rendre mon enseignement suffisamment intéressant pour favoriser et optimiser l’apprentissage de mes élèves?

J’avoue bien candidement que ce sont mes stages qui sont venus à mon secours.  Stagiaires et personnels enseignants, tous niveaux confondus, pourront s’approprier ou se réapproprier l’ensemble d’habiletés et de savoir-faire indispensables à l’enseignement et à l’apprentissage.

Le préambule          

Élément déclencheur qui contribue à créer un état réceptif

Après un mois d’enseignement, j’étais persuadée de l’importance primordiale de toujours présenter avant ma leçon proprement dite, une courte mise en situation anticipatoire ou un élément déclencheur qui servirait à susciter chez les élèves

  • une curiosité,
  • un goût de savoir,
  • une attention instantanée,
  • un état réceptif

grâce à un objet, une vidéo, une parole ou une image laissant pressentir quelque chose d’intéressant et d’essentiel à venir.

Exemple : Un court extrait vidéo de Météo Média en préparation d’une leçon sur le « temps versus la température. »


La clôture                 

Rétroviseur pour voir le chemin parcouru

Pendant mes stages, mon maître-associée mettait souvent l’accent sur l’importance des cinq dernières minutes d’une leçon pendant lesquelles je devais en profiter pour « jeter un regard dans le rétroviseur ». Aujourd’hui, ceci me permet de prendre connaissance du chemin parcouru, de m’offrir un moment privilégié pour juger la valeur pédagogique de mon enseignement et d’évaluer le niveau d’apprentissage de la classe. Du même coup, l’élève en profite pour évaluer son niveau d’apprentissage et son degré de satisfaction par rapport à ce qu’il était censé avoir appris.

Exemple — Comment résumeriez-vous cette leçon pour un étudiant qui était absent?


La perception des attitudes            

Elles se forment et se modifient

En connaissant davantage mes élèves de 4e année, je saisis plus clairement leurs attitudes personnelles ce qui me permet d’harmoniser mes propres comportements avec ceux de la classe. Je ne perds jamais de vue que la formation des attitudes chez l’être humainest le résultat de ses apprentissages, ses modèles sociaux, ses expériences directes avec autrui et de la situation courante. Les modifications de ces attitudes à travers les années dépendent des traits de personnalité, des croyances et des valeurs de chaque individu.

Je me rends compte que plus je deviens sensible et attentive aux attitudes qui se forment et se modifient en classe, plus je peux repérer et reconnaître les signes

  • d’attention,
  • d’ennui,
  • d’intérêt
  • d’engagement,
  • de compréhension,

qui sont exprimés par

  • le direction du regard,
  • les expressions faciales,
  • les yeux brillants,
  • les réactions spontanées
  • le mouvement

L’exemple                 

L’idée abstraite requiert souvent l’illustration concrète

Pendant ma formation, un des critères d’un bon prof était la tendance pédagogique d’avoir recours aux exemples et aux démonstrations afin de rendre les concepts plus clairs. Aujourd’hui je peux confirmer que cette habileté s’avère une façon efficace pour garder les élèves intéressés et engagés.

C’est pourquoi j’ai rapidement compris l’importance et les bénéfices d’avoir recours à deux techniques pour favoriser l’apprentissage.

1. La technique déductive (la plus fréquemment utilisée en classe)

a.   Comme première étape, j’énonce l’idée à découvrir. Le concept « chaleur »

b.   Je poursuis avec l’eau chaude, des allumettes, les rayons de soleil, etc.

c.   J’ouvre le débat à savoir le commun dénominateur entre a et b.

d.   Je demande à la classe de fournir d’autres principe de chaleur.

2. La technique inductive

Cette technique me dicte d’utiliser les caractéristiques communes entre une tasse d’eau chaude, le soleil de juillet, etc., pour amener la classe à former des inférences ou des généralisations qui aboutissent à la notion de « chaleur ».

Je tiens à ajouter qu’il est parfois avantageux de faire appel à

  • L’analogie simple, comme comparer « le cœur humain à une pompe ».
  • La métaphore qui suggère des ressemblances telles que « il est une vraie tortue »
  • Le non-exemple qui permet de comprendre certaines idées complexes.

La discipline*                      

La clé du succès dans l’enseignement

Dès ma première présence dans la classe de l’ancienne enseignante, je me suis rendu compte qu’elle avait oublié soit par inadvertance ou délibérément une affiche représentant trois cercles colorés. Je me suis fait dire par d’autres enseignantes que ces trois couleurs définissaient son modèle de discipline calqué sur les feux de circulation. Le vert, le jaune et le rouge étant des porteurs de messages non seulement connus de tous mais comportant des conséquences.

En consultant mes notes de cours j’ai rapidement compris que je devais établir des procédures claires et précises afin de paver le chemin vers un modèle personnel de discipline. Il fallait créer un milieu de vie qui garantirait que tous les élèves soient sur la même longueur d’onde.

À défaut de connaître un autre modèle, j’ai décidé que pour le moment, celui-ci m’irait et que mon mantra serait de chercher à atteindre un but précis, notamment la responsabilisation de l’élève à travers des :

  • règlements exprimés en attentes observables et mesurables, compris de tous, garantissant le droit de l’élève à vivre dans un climat favorable à son apprentissage et à moi  d’enseigner dans un milieu propre à un enseignement efficace;
  • choix qui d’une part reposent sur une connaissance d’informations pertinentes et d’autre part fonder sur des renseignement clairs et précis d’une situation donnée;
  • conséquences retirées ou accordées selon un comportement donné.  Elles doivent être constructives et aidantes tout en visant la modification d’un comportement. 

*Côté, R. 2002, SOS Discipline, Éditions Nouvelles, Montréal
*Charles, C.M. 2009, La discipline en classe : Modèles, doctrines et conduites. De Boeck Supérieur.

Voir les modèles suivants :
Dreikurs : La discipline sans larmes
Ginott : Teacher and Child
Glasser : Des écoles sans déchets (Reality Therapy)
Kounin : Discipline and group management in the classroom.
Redl et Wattenberg: Mental hygiene in Teaching


La variation des stimuli      

La provocation des sens

Ma génération a donné lieu au téléphone intelligent, à l’internet, à l’ordinateur, au cellulaire et à tous les médias sociaux. Ils font tous partie du quotidien de mes élèves. Afin d’atténuer ces multiples distractions je fais appel à une variété d’agents renforçateurs (stimuli) qui vont, je l’espère, activer les sens des élèves et influencer leurs comportements.

Par exemple :

  • Je choisis parfois de me déplacer physiquement vers un élève en particulier. Ceci me permet d’une part de réduire la distance psychologique entre moi et l’élève et d’autre part de capter et de maintenir l’attention de celui-ci.
  • Mes mouvements de tête et de mains sont des agents renforçateurs dominants.
  • Mon rire et mon jeu de sourcils sont des outils efficaces.
  • Mes divers tons de voix servent à éveiller l’intérêt.
  • Mes pauses intentionnelles, mes méthodes d’enseignement, mes styles d’interactions autant que l’appel aux divers canaux sensoriels peuvent aussi servir à l’enseignement.

La communication/enseignement

Écouter deux fois plus que parler

Parmi les multitudes d’habiletés de l’acte d’enseigner, je me butte souvent à l’art de communiquer pour une bonne et simple raison que le tout se fait avec des mots, des sons, des gestes, des signes et des comportements qui risquent de nuire ou aider à ma relation avec ma classe. Afin de maitriser l’art de communiquer je dois accepter certaines caractéristiques inévitables chez mes élèves à savoir que certains :

  • doivent entendre pour apprendre,
  • sont stimulés par des écrits,
  • favorisent les concepts et les applications
  • carburent à la démonstration suivie de la pratique.

En tenant compte de ces données, voici mes diverses façons de communiquer avec mes élèves.

  • Pour éviter l’ennui, je m’éloigne le plus possible de la lecture de notes.
  • « Tout se dit, c’est dans la manière ». 
  • Le mot comporte un indice d’efficacité de 7 % versus le ton de voix à 43 %.
  • Je ne ménage pas le sourire, le regard, les signes de la tête.  
  • Le sens de l’humour, les pauses et les silences planifiées prennent une importance capitale dans ma classe.

Je m’efforce de bien écouter en adoptant les « mantras » suivants.

  • Une fois que j’ai dit ce que je veux dire, je fais une pause intentionnelle pour écouter et évaluer que l’élève a compris.
  • Pendant sa réponse, j’évite cette fâcheuse habitude de lui couper la parole.
  • Je me retiens d’anticiper la fin de sa pensée pour ajouter ce qui me vient à l’idée.

Note : J’ai appris l’importance de la rétroaction qui me permet d’évaluer le niveau de compréhension de la classe et d’ajuster mon style de communication en conséquence.


L’exposé magistral  

Une séance d’hypnotisme sans guérisseur.

 Au niveau de la 4e année, l’exposé magistral s’avère un outil valable s’il sert à :

  • Transmettre de l’information
  • Renforcer un document écrit
  • Synthétiser des données
  • Renseigner la classe sur les résultats escomptés
  • Transmettre un feu sacré pour un thème donné ou une matière.

Avantages de l’exposé magistral

  1. Constitue une façon rapide de présentation.
  2. Permet d’aller à son propre rythme en termes de contrôle et de temps alloué.

Désavantages de l’exposé magistral

Il n’est pas approprié si :

  1. L’information doit être conservée longtemps;
  2. La matière est complexe;
  3. Les capacités des élèves sont inappropriées.

NOTE :

Étant donné la somme d’information phénoménale en faveur ou en défaveur de l’utilisation de l’exposé magistral, je vous rappelle deux réflexions de sages.

Selon Mark Twain :

« les notes prises par vos étudiants pendant un exposé magistral aboutissent dans leur cahier sans passer par le cerveau »

Donald Bligh écrivait :

« L’enseignement magistral représente une conception de l’éducation où l’enseignant, qui sait tout, transmet des connaissances aux élèves qui ne savent rien et qui sont donc censés n’avoir rien qui vaille à contribuer ».


Le renforcement                 

La probabilité de répétitions

Je suis une adepte de la course à vélo. Je m’entraîne donc à l’année en vue de compétitions longues distances. Je sais que pour maintenir les efforts que nécessite mon programme d’entraînement, je dois pouvoir sentir et constater des améliorations ou des progrès afin de maintenir ma motivation. Mes élèves sont conscients de ma passion et ils me suivent et m’encouragent. Vous ne m’en voudrez pas si je vous dis que j’en profite en ayant intentionnellement recours à des événements ou des stratagèmes qui risquent d’augmenter la probabilité que tel ou tel comportement se répète chez mes élèves!!

Je paraphrase les notes de cours du professeur qui nous a expliqué très clairement la vérité derrière le renforcement tel qu’utilisé en salle de classe.

« D’abord j’avais tendance à simplifier le tout en pensant qu’un renforcement supposait qu’on « offrait un bonbon » pour un bon comportement et qu’on « retirait un bonbon » pour un mauvais comportement. Il est évident que je confondais « conséquences » et « renforcement. »

Renforcement positif versus le renforcement négatif 

On parle de renforcement positif lorsque la probabilité de revoir le comportement souhaité est accrue à cause de l’ajout d’un « agent renforçateur » tel que des autocollants, des remarques positives, des responsabilités, du temps libre.

On parle de renforcement négatif lorsque la probabilité de revoir le comportement souhaité est accrue à cause du retrait d’un « agent renforçateur aversif ». On peut penser au retrait d’activités comme « repousser un échéancier, enlever une surveillance, retirer une mauvaise évaluation ou cesser certaines critiques personnelles.


La question               

Une bonne question rend la réponse difficile

J’ai été surprise d’apprendre pendant ma formation, qu’entre 35 % et 50 % du temps de classe était consacré à la question, soit entre 300 et 400 utilisations par jour, en dépit de l’ordinateur et de la technologie moderne. Maintenant, en pratique réelle, je peux corroborer ces statistiques; le questionnement a pris une place significative dans mon enseignement.

Je vous fais part des autres surprises que j’ai retenues et qui sont d’une importance capitale.

  • Lorsque je pose une question à l’ensemble de la classe, je mobilise l’attention de 1/3 des élèves… Devinez ce que le 2/3 fait?
  • Au début de ma première année comme enseignante,
    • je ne laissais qu’une seconde à l’élève pour donner sa réponse  
    • à la suite de quoi je répétais la question ou
    • je la modifiais ou
    • j’en posais une différente ou
    • je désignais un autre élève pour répondre ou
    • pour comble de malheur, je répondais à ma propre question.
    • Aujourd’hui j’espère avoir changé. Seul mes élèves le savent ET mon enseignante jumelée.
  • De plus je me suis habituée à tenir compte du temps d’attente normalement requis (de 3 à 5 secondes) pour que l’élève dispose du temps nécessaire pour formuler sa réponse et nous la donner.

Je découvre encore constamment l’importance de planifier mes leçons en tenant compte du type de questions que je pose, à savoir la forme :

1. Convergente

  • Connaissance.            Qui a énoncé la théorie de la relativité?
  • Compréhension.         Résumez le dernier chapitre de…
  • Application.               Pourquoi apprendre les mathématiques?

2. Divergente

  • Analyse                      Quelles autres options y voyez-vous?
  • Synthèse                    Qu’est-ce qui arriverait si…?
  • Évaluation                  Selon vous, existerait-il une meilleure façon de…?

Le tableau                 

Une icône serviable depuis le 19e siècle

Je me souviens encore du grand tableau vert qui m’a marquée dès mes premières journées à l’école Ste Gertrude. J’avais 6 ans. Aujourd’hui j’ai appris à l’apprivoiser et à m’en servir avantageusement. Il est devenu un médium qui sert à mettre de l’avant des informations essentielles et de développer des idées au fur et à mesure que la situation progresse. Le fait qu’il peut être stable ou amovible offre une surface facile à voir et à utiliser pour l’élève.

Pour favoriser l’apprentissage avec le tableau, je respecte certaines règles essentielles. Par exemple, on n’a pas d’idées comment le fait de diviser la surface du tableau en zones peut aider les élèves à mieux suivre. Pratiquement mon tableau prend l’allure suivante :

  1. L’évolution du contenu se trouve au milieu,
  2. Les rappels et des définitions à gauche,
  3. Les détails et les explications ajoutés à droite,
  4. Mes écrits évoluent de la gauche vers la droite,
  5. Mes écrits partent du haut vers le bas.

J’ajoute que mes déplacements n’obstruent jamais le texte qui imite le plus possible un livre ligné est en MAJUSCULES pour être visible à tous et que ma voix porte jusqu’aux élèves derrière la classe.


Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Quelques annonces

Publiez un texte vous aussi!

Nos lecteurs adorent lire sur ce qui se passe dans la vie des enseignant(e)s (et nous aussi!)! Prenez le clavier et faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées, trucs et astuces via nos sections Opinion et Témoignages! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée!

Recevez l'École branchée | Hebdo ainsi que la programmation de nos services chaque semaine!



À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.