Posted in:

Original and professional musical productions at College Regina Assumpta

Fall 2021 marked the beginning of a collaboration between Station Clip, a school that offers training in music production, and Collège Regina Assumpta, a high school in Montreal that offers a major in music. This allowed students to create using professional software used by musicians around the world.
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

You might also like:

🚀
Add to favorites (0)

By Sophie Parenteau, communications manager at Station Clip

Fall 2021 marked the beginning of a collaboration between Station Clip, a school that offers training in music production, and Collège Regina Assumpta, a high school in Montreal that offers a major in music. This allowed students to create with professional software used by musicians around the world.

At the very beginning of the project, two music teachers from the College Regina Assumpta received a training course developed by Louis-Philippe Quesnel (teacher certified by Ableton) in order to master the basics of the software and to be able to teach it. Following this training, which took place over two days in the Clip StationThe two teachers quickly decided to share their new knowledge with their students.

Music production courses integrated into the school year curriculum

A total of ten music classes from the regular curriculum for each grade were replaced to make room for music creation workshops using Ableton Live software, a software used by music professionals around the world. A different theme was assigned according to their grade and the final objective was the same for all: to present an original composition at the tenth class! For example, the first year high school students were given the mission to pick an emotion at the beginning of the session and to let their musical creativity flow according to it.

Thus, Louis-Philippe Quesnel has had the pleasure of leading more than fifty workshops at all levels during the 2021-2022 school year.

Finally, to allow the students to take full advantage of the possibilities offered by the Ableton universe, the school has purchased ten Push2 (an electronic instrument designed by Ableton that allows for a hands-on, expressive, and integrated music-making experience with Live) for the classroom, as well as two complete and permanent stations installed in a music wing.

The creation of an after-school music component for all

Following the success of this project, an extracurricular component for all students at the school, including those not in the music program, was developed by the teachers themselves. In addition, a portion of the end-of-year show was devoted to the presentation of selected projects and some live performances.

Station Clip's primary objective in collaborating with Regina Assumpta College was to democratize music production: "It is imperative that as many young people as possible have the opportunity to experience something like this," say the members of the music production school.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Some announcements

Publish a text too!

Our readers love to read about what's going on in the lives of teachers (and us too!)! Take the keyboard and publicize your educational project or share your ideas, tips and tricks via our Opinion and Testimonials sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Classé dans :

Des productions musicales originales et professionnelles au Collège Regina Assumpta

L’automne 2021 a marqué le début d’une collaboration entre Station Clip, une école qui offre des formations en production musicale, et le Collège Regina Assumpta, un établissement secondaire de Montréal offrant une spécialisation en musique. Le tout a permis aux élèves de créer à l’aide d’un logiciel professionnel utilisé par des musiciens de partout dans le monde.
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

🚀
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Par Sophie Parenteau, responsable des communications chez Station Clip

L’automne 2021 a marqué le début d’une collaboration entre Station Clip, une école qui offre des formations en production musicale, et le Collège Regina Assumpta, un établissement secondaire de Montréal offrant une spécialisation en musique. Le tout a permis aux élèves de créer à l’aide d’un logiciel professionnel utilisé par des musiciens de partout dans le monde.

Au tout début du projet, deux enseignants de musique du Collège Regina Assumpta ont reçu une formation développée sur mesure par Louis-Philippe Quesnel (enseignant certifié par Ableton) afin de bien maitriser les bases du logiciel pour ensuite pouvoir l’enseigner. Suite à cette formation, qui s’est échelonnée sur deux jours dans le studio de Station Clip, au Mile-Ex à Montréal, les deux enseignants ont rapidement souhaité partager leurs nouvelles connaissances avec leurs élèves.

Des cours de production musicale intégrés au programme de l’année scolaire

Au total, dix cours de musique du programme habituel de chaque niveau ont été remplacés afin de laisser la place à des ateliers de création musicale à l’aide du logiciel Live de Ableton, un logiciel utilisé par les professionnels de la musique partout dans le monde. Un thème différent a été attribué selon leur année scolaire et l’objectif final était le même pour tous : présenter une composition originale au dixième cours! Par exemple, les élèves de première année du secondaire ont eu comme mission de piger une émotion en début de session et de laisser aller leur créativité musicale en fonction de celle-ci.

Ainsi, c’est plus de cinquante ateliers, tous niveaux confondus, que Louis-Philippe Quesnel a eu le bonheur d’animer durant l’année scolaire 2021-2022.

Finalement, pour permettre aux jeunes de profiter au maximum des possibilités offertes dans l’univers d’Ableton, l’école a fait l’acquisition de dix Push2 (instrument électronique conçu par Ableton et permettant une expérience de création musicale pratique, expressive et intégrée avec Live) pour la classe, ainsi que deux stations complètes et permanentes installées dans une aile de musique.

La création d’un volet musical parascolaire pour tous

Suite au succès de ce projet, un volet parascolaire pour tous les étudiants de l’école, y compris ceux ne faisant pas partie du programme de musique, a été élaboré par les enseignants eux-mêmes. De plus, une portion du spectacle de fin d’année a été consacrée à la présentation de certains projets sélectionnés et à quelques prestations Live.

L’objectif premier de Station Clip dans le cadre de cette collaboration avec le collège Regina Assumpta était de démocratiser la production musicale : « il faut absolument que le plus grand nombre de jeunes puisse avoir la possibilité de vivre une expérience comme celle-ci », estiment les membres de l’école de production musicale.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Quelques annonces

Publiez un texte vous aussi!

Nos lecteurs adorent lire sur ce qui se passe dans la vie des enseignant(e)s (et nous aussi!)! Prenez le clavier et faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées, trucs et astuces via nos sections Opinion et Témoignages! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée!

Recevez l'École branchée | Hebdo ainsi que la programmation de nos services chaque semaine!



À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.