ADVERTISEMENT

The challenges of giftedness for schools and teachers

Following the Symposium on Giftedness, held on February 17, we are discussing with Normand Brodeur, Director of Innovation, Educational Development at the Federation of Private Educational Institutions (FÉEP), in order to understand how the school can better meet the needs of these students.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Following the Symposium on Giftedness, held on February 17, we are discussing with Normand Brodeur, Director of Innovation, Educational Development at the Federation of Private Educational Institutions (FÉEP), in order to understand how the school can better meet the needs of these students.

Who are the gifted students?

NB A gifted child is a child with a permanent firework display in his head. Very curious and possessing an excellent memory, he is often endowed with an abstract perception. By seeking answers, challenges, a gifted pupil can disorganize the class and be perceived as being "intense" by his teacher and his classmates. He needs to be fed, fed by their passion. It is also this "cry of the heart" that 4 students launched to the participants during the conference. 

Broadly speaking, the definitions of giftedness fall into three broad categories: advanced intellectual aptitude, boundless creativity, heightened emotivity and sensitivity. These students need support from school and their families just as much as a student with a learning or behavioral disability. Their needs are different because they are on the other end of the spectrum, but they are just as real. 

What do you think is the biggest challenge facing schools in this regard?

NB Long associated with elitism, giftedness is now recognized by schools which today understand the importance of supervising the gifted. On the other hand, the challenge is to identify giftedness in the student since it can be masked by behavioral disorders. These associated disorders are diagnosed by doctors. However, we speak of a manifestation of giftedness and not of a diagnosis. If giftedness is not identified, the student does not receive the intellectual stimulation necessary to develop to their full potential. Demotivation, school failure and dropping out can occur. 

Currently, the school is facilitating for gifted people whose passion is sport, music or the arts through concentrations and sport-study programs. Others use the “compaction” approach to counter the usual circular approach by adjusting the student's schedule to free them when they have achieved the desired knowledge. Some schools opt to concentrate learning over 6 months rather than over a year for gifted students. 

How can teachers better support gifted students? 

NB For the gifted, we speak of an action plan rather than an intervention plan. Skills enrichment can be included in this plan; the student is given additional or more complex tasks. Tools are available on the Web to enrich learning, in particular the Khan Academy.

Incorporating flexibility into teaching can also be a good way, for example asking a student to explain a math problem orally rather than in writing if they have calligraphy problems.

The FÉEP published last month a gifted guide, to consult without delay.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Maryline Barrette Dubé
Maryline Barrette Dubé
A graduate of a bachelor's degree in public communication, a “marketer” for more than 15 years, Maryline has been working to promote École branchée's activities and to publicize the organization's mandate since 2018. She is a devoted mother, an assumed epicurean. and IPA lover who, in her spare time, enjoys blog.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Les défis de la douance pour l’école et les enseignants

Suite au Colloque sur la douance, tenu le 17 février dernier, nous discutons avec Normand Brodeur, directeur Innovation, développement pédagogique à la Fédération des établissements d’enseignement privés (FÉEP), afin de comprendre comment l’école peut mieux répondre aux besoins de ces élèves.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Suite au Colloque sur la douance, tenu le 17 février dernier, nous discutons avec Normand Brodeur, directeur Innovation, développement pédagogique à la Fédération des établissements d’enseignement privés (FÉEP), afin de comprendre comment l’école peut mieux répondre aux besoins de ces élèves.

Qui sont les élèves doués?

N. B. Un enfant doué est un enfant qui a un feu d’artifice permanent dans la tête. Très curieux et possédant une excellente mémoire, il est souvent doté d’une perception abstraite. En cherchant à obtenir des réponses, des défis, un élève doué peut désorganiser la classe et être perçu comme étant « intense » par son enseignant et ses camarades. Il a besoin d’être alimenté, nourri par leur passion. C’est d’ailleurs ce « cri du coeur » que 4 élèves ont lancé aux participants lors du colloque. 

De façon générale, les définitions de la douance se regroupent en trois grandes catégories : une aptitude intellectuelle avancée, une créativité débordante, une émotivité et une sensibilité accrues. Ces élèves ont tout autant besoin du soutien de l’école et de leur famille qu’un élève aux prises avec un trouble d’apprentissage ou de comportement. Leurs besoins diffèrent, car ils se situent à l’autre bout du spectre, mais ils sont tout aussi réels. 

Quel est le plus gros défi des écoles à cet égard selon vous?

N. B. Longtemps associé à l’élitisme, la douance est maintenant reconnue par les écoles qui aujourd’hui comprennent l’importance d’encadrer les doués. Par contre, le défi est d’identifier la douance chez l’élève puisqu’elle peut être masquée par les troubles de comportement. Ces troubles associés sont diagnostiqués par les médecins. Toutefois, on parle de manifestation de la douance et non de diagnostic. Si la douance n’est pas identifiée, l’élève ne reçoit pas la stimulation intellectuelle nécessaire au développement de son plein potentiel. Démotivation, échec scolaire et décrochage peuvent survenir. 

Présentement, l’école est facilitante pour des doués dont la passion est le sport, la musique ou les arts grâce aux concentrations et aux programmes sport-études. D’autres utilisent l’approche de « compactage » pour contrer l’approche circulaire habituelle en aménageant l’horaire de l’élève pour le libérer lorsqu’il a atteint les connaissances voulues. Certaines écoles optent pour concentrer les apprentissages sur 6 mois plutôt que sur un an pour les élèves doués. 

Comment les enseignants peuvent-ils mieux accompagner les élèves doués? 

N. B. Pour les doués, on parle de plan d’action plutôt que de plan d’intervention. On peut inclure à ce plan l’enrichissement des compétences; on donne à l’élève des tâches supplémentaires à faire ou plus complexes. Des outils sont disponibles sur le Web pour enrichir les apprentissages, notamment la Khan Academy.

Intégrer la flexibilité dans l’enseignement peut aussi être un bon moyen, par exemple demander à un élève d’expliquer un problème de maths à l’oral plutôt qu’à l’écrit s’il éprouve des problèmes de calligraphie.

La FÉEP a d’ailleurs fait paraître le mois dernier un guide de la douance, à consulter sans tarder.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Maryline Barrette Dubé
Diplômée d’un baccalauréat en communication publique, « marketer » depuis plus de 15 ans, Maryline oeuvre au rayonnement des activités de l’École branchée et à faire connaître le mandat de l’organisation depuis 2018. C'est une maman dévouée, épicurienne assumée et amateure de IPA qui, dans ses temps libres, aime bloguer.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :