Vocabulary development strategies that join the AUC

Support the development and enrichment of the vocabulary of all its students without having to adapt for those with a learning disability: it is possible, according to Madeleine Fauteux and Pascale Campeau, and it is even beneficial for the teacher (e). Focus on Universal Design for Learning (UDL).

You might also like:

Support the development and enrichment of the vocabulary of all its students without having to adapt for those with a learning disability: it is possible, according to Madeleine Fauteux and Pascale Campeau, and it is even beneficial for the teacher (e). Focus on Universal Design for Learning (UDL).

interview: Stéphanie Dionne
text: Audrey Miller

As facilitators at CréaCamp axed on inclusive education, which took place in April 2019, Pascale Campeau, trainer at Druide informatique, and Madeleine Fauteux, orthopedagogue and educational consultant, offered the participants of their workshop various ideas for developing a comprehensive planning in connection with support for development and vocabulary enrichment. 

For Madeleine Fauteux, what is difficult about inclusion is finding reasonable and meaningful challenges for each of the students. In doing so, the teacher can make an overall planning for his class, without having to prepare a series of adaptations. According to her, it can make a major difference for the teacher, even allow him "to save his skin". This is why she strongly recommends favoring vocabulary development strategies that align with the Universal Design of Learning (UDL). 

An example: the evolving digital lexicon

As Pascale Campeau explains, during their day at CréaCamp, they worked to integrate different tools with their participants, including a more in-depth discovery of the Antidote software. Indeed, beyond its dictionary of definitions, it recalls that 8 others are within the reach of users to meet different needs. 

Madeleine Fauteux gives an example: students with special needs, just like others, can derive many benefits from building up an evolving lexicon. From the words in this lexicon, which they enrich over time, they can write sentences, find pictures to illustrate them, then develop their sentences, etc. The teacher can then use it regularly to help the students integrate and consolidate the new learning. In addition, when built using digital tools such as a simple Google Docs document, all this baggage can easily follow the learner in the event of a change of school, for example.

The pride of seeing young people succeed

Thanks to all this, the pride in seeing all the students succeed in enriching a text, proudly presenting it to their teacher, reading it and having others read it, is what constitutes a great source of inspiration and motivation for our two facilitators. Moreover, Madeleine Fauteux deplores that the tools available to young people, such as Antidote, are unknown and sometimes poorly understood in the community. 

Listen to the interview to find out more! To contact Pascale Campeau to find out more about the training offered by Druide informatique on the Antidote software.

Also: Teachers in Quebec and French-speaking Canada benefit from CADRE21's free online training on Universal Design for Learning (UDL)

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Stephanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne is director of development and partnerships, facilitator and speaker. It contributes to the influence of players in the education sector and its ecosystem. In addition, it supports parents, teachers and workers in a mentality of co-education in order to allow young people to become fulfilled citizens in the digital age.

Des stratégies de développement du vocabulaire qui rejoignent la CUA

mis à jour le :

Soutenir le développement et l’enrichissement du vocabulaire de tous ses élèves sans devoir faire d’adaptation pour ceux présentant un trouble d’apprentissage : c’est possible, selon Madeleine Fauteux et Pascale Campeau, et c’est même salutaire pour l’enseignant(e). Cap sur la conception universelle de l’apprentissage (CUA).

entrevue : Stéphanie Dionne
texte : Audrey Miller

En tant que facilitatrices au CréaCamp axé sur l’éducation inclusive, qui a eu lieu en avril 2019, Pascale Campeau, formatrice chez Druide informatique, et Madeleine Fauteux, orthopédagogue et consultante en éducation, ont proposé aux participants de leur atelier différentes idées pour développer une planification globale en lien avec le soutien au développement et à l’enrichissement du vocabulaire. 

Pour Madeleine Fauteux, ce qui est difficile dans l’inclusion, c’est de trouver des défis raisonnables et significatifs pour chacun des élèves. Ce faisant, l’enseignant(e) peut faire une planification globale pour sa classe, sans devoir préparer une série d’adaptations. Selon elle, ça peut faire une différence majeure pour le prof, voire lui permettre « de sauver sa peau ». C’est pourquoi elle recommande fortement de privilégier des stratégies de développement du vocabulaire qui rejoignent la conception universelle de l’apprentissage (CUA). 

Un exemple : le lexique numérique évolutif

Comme l’explique Pascale Campeau, pendant leur journée au CréaCamp, elles ont travaillé à intégrer différents outils avec leurs participants, dont la découverte plus approfondie du logiciel Antidote. En effet, au-delà de son dictionnaire de définitions, elle rappelle que 8 autres sont à la portée des utilisateurs pour répondre à différents besoins. 

Madeleine Fauteux donne un exemple : les élèves à besoin particuliers, tout comme les autres, peuvent retirer de nombreux bénéfices de se constituer un lexique évolutif. À partir des mots de ce lexique, qu’ils enrichissent au fil du temps, ils peuvent rédiger des phrases, aller chercher des images pour les illustrer, puis développer leurs phrases, etc. L’enseignant(e) peut ensuite y recourir régulièrement pour aider les élèves à intégrer et consolider les nouveaux apprentissages. De plus,  lorsqu’on le construit à l’aide d’outils numériques tels qu’un simple document Google Docs, tout ce bagage peut facilement suivre l’apprenant en cas de changement d’école, par exemple.

La fierté de voir les jeunes réussir

Grâce à tout cela, la fierté de voir tous les élèves réussir à enrichir un texte, le présenter fièrement à leur enseignant, le lire et le faire lire aux autres, c’est ce qui constitue un grande source d’inspiration et de motivation pour nos deux facilitatrices. D’ailleurs, Madeleine Fauteux déplore que les outils à la portée des jeunes, tels Antidote, soient méconnus et parfois mal compris dans les milieux. 

Écoutez l’entrevue pour en savoir plus!N’hésitez pas à contacter Pascale Campeau pour en savoir plus sur les formations offertes par Druide informatique à propos du logiciel Antidote.

Aussi : Les enseignants du Québec et du Canada francophone bénéficient de la formation en ligne gratuite du CADRE21 sur la conception universelle de l’apprentissage (C.U.A.)



ANNONCE FOURNIE PAR GOOGLE
NOTE : NOS ABONNÉS NE VOIENT PAS CES ANNONCES