#ISTE17 Congress: Under the sign of the "maker" movement

At the 2017 Congress of the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE), “makerspaces” workshops, design thinking and creative chaos are on the menu!

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Our collaborator participates in the annual congress of the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE). Digital fabrication workshops (makerspaces), design thinking and creative chaos are on the menu!

La conférence de l’International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) 2017 se déroule à San Antonio, au Texas.The establishment and daily management of digital manufacturing workshops (makerspaces) in schools is a recurring theme at the conference of theInternational Society for Technology in Education (ISTE), which runs June 24-28 in San Antonio, Texas. This year, it welcomes more than 21,000 delegates representing more than 8,000 schools in 70 countries. The ISTE annual congress, it's big, very big!

Steven hauk, deputy principal of an elementary school in the state of New York, also presented a training workshop on the reasons motivating the establishment of these creative spaces in schools, which are often set up in libraries, classroom corners or in premises specially designed for this purpose. Essentially, for him, the movement maker in education is to facilitate learning outside the rigid constraints of study programs and traditional school organizations. It is therefore about giving students access to the best tools, whether technological or not, and using them wisely to carry out complex and authentic tasks.

 

Digital manufacturing and thought design

The digital manufacturing workshops allow a creative and collective construction of school content through an approach similar to that of the thought design :

  • Targeting the problem: what complex situations deserve our attention and why? What are the sub-issues?
  • Constrain the problem: much as the approach of " agile leadership», We focus on a problem or a facet of a problem.
  • State solution ideas: we generate possible solutions and only choose one.
  • Prototype: we build our idea. We give it a shape and this shape becomes a solution that can be improved.
  • Provide feedback: ask others for their opinion on their prototype.
  • Re-prototyping and perfecting: we make the necessary modifications and we perfect our solution.
  • Communicate and disseminate: we communicate our solution and we highlight it thanks, among other things, to social media.

In short, digital manufacturing workshops allow the development, among other things, of a tolerance for ambiguity and flexibility at the basis of building a significant capacity for adaptation. In fact, this is inevitable since you never know what will be learned: the learning process is therefore more important than the final product.

 

An essential "creative chaos"

Jad Abumrad, host of Radio Lab show, a popular “podcast” show on curiosity, told us about his approach by presenting his recording studio as a laboratory for creation and reflection. Through various samples of his multiple sound universes, the speaker reassured the congressmen: the chaos is indeed existing and it is essential, so much that it seems preferable to the order which normally reigns in the classes of Western schools. "Nothing is ready until it ceases to be reasonable!" », He believes.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in humanities education (1999), a master's degree in history teaching (2003) and a master's degree in educational management (2013). He is currently a doctoral student in school administration. He specializes in change management in schools as well as in educational leadership. He is also interested in 21st century skills to be developed in education. He holds a managerial position in a public primary school and gives lectures on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in the school environment as well as on the professionalization of teaching. He took part in educational expeditions to France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book “Le change en milieu scolaire québécois” with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the school of the 21st century with the same publisher. He frequently collaborates with L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and school administrators as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Congrès #ISTE17 : Sous le signe du mouvement « maker »

Publié le :

Au congrès 2017 de l’International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE), ateliers «makerspaces», pensée design et chaos créatif sont au menu!
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Notre collaborateur participe au congrès annuel de l’International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE). Ateliers de fabrication numérique (makerspaces), pensée design et chaos créatif sont au menu!

La conférence de l’International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) 2017 se déroule à San Antonio, au Texas.L’implantation et la gestion quotidienne des ateliers de fabrication numérique (makerspaces) en milieu scolaire est une thématique récurrente à la conférence de l’International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE), qui se déroule du 24 au 28 juin à San Antonio, au Texas. Cette année, on y accueille plus de 21 000 congressistes représentant plus de 8 000 écoles dans 70 pays. Le congrès annuel de l’ISTE, c’est gros, très gros!

Steven Hauk, directeur adjoint d’une école primaire de l’état de New York, y a d’ailleurs présenté un atelier de formation sur les raisons motivant l’implantation de ces espaces de création dans les écoles, lesquels sont souvent aménagés dans les bibliothèques, des coins de classes ou dans des locaux spécialement prévus à cet effet. Essentiellement, pour lui, le mouvement maker en éducation consiste à faciliter les apprentissages hors des contraintes rigides des programmes d’étude et des organisations scolaires traditionnelles. Il s’agit donc de donner aux élèves l’accès aux meilleurs outils, qu’ils soient technologiques ou non, et de les utiliser à bon escient pour réaliser des tâches complexes et authentiques.

 

Fabrication numérique et pensée design

Les ateliers de fabrication numérique permettent une construction créative et collective de contenus scolaires à travers une démarche s’apparentant à celle de la pensée design :

  • Cibler le problème : quelles situations complexes méritent notre attention et pourquoi? Quels sont les sous-problèmes?
  • Circonscrire le problème : un peu comme le suggère l’approche de « leadership agile», on se concentre sur un problème ou une facette d’un problème.
  • Énoncer des idées de solution : on génère des pistes de solution et on n’en choisit qu’une seule.
  • Prototyper : on fabrique notre idée. On lui donne une forme et cette forme devient une solution qui est perfectible.
  • Offrir de la rétroaction : on demande l’opinion des autres sur son prototype.
  • Re-prototyper et parfaire : on y amène les modifications nécessaires et on perfectionne sa solution.
  • Communiquer et diffuser : on communique sa solution et on la met en valeur grâce, entre autres, aux médias sociaux.

Bref, les ateliers de fabrication numérique permettent le développement, entre autres, d’une tolérance à l’ambigüité et d’une flexibilité à la base de l’édification d’une importante capacité d’adaptation. En fait, cela est inéluctable puisqu’on ne sait jamais ce qui sera appris : la démarche d’apprentissage a donc plus d’importance que le produit final.

 

Un « chaos créatif » essentiel

Jad Abumrad, animateur de l’émission Radio Lab, une populaire émission en « podcast » sur la curiosité, nous a parlé de sa démarche en présentant son studio d’enregistrement comme un laboratoire de création et de réflexion. À travers divers échantillonnages de ses multiples univers sonores, le conférencier a rassuré les congressistes : le chaos est bien existant et il est essentiel, tellement qu’il semble préférable à l’ordre qui règne normalement dans les classes des écoles occidentales. « Rien n’est à point avant que cela ne cesse d’être raisonnable! », estime-t-il.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!