ADVERTISEMENT

Look out: the artificial intelligence that's changing education is here, and you need to look at it today

A new artificial intelligence app is likely to have a major, near-term impact in education. Launched at the beginning of December 2022, ChatGPT seems to be very efficient to answer simple questions, but also more complex ones - and it works in French too. It will force all the actors of the education sector to rethink their way of doing things, and quickly! We explain what it is and why you should be interested in it.  

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

A new artificial intelligence app is likely to have a major, near-term impact in education. Launched at the beginning of December 2022, ChatGPT seems to be very efficient to answer simple questions, but also more complex ones - and it works in French too. It will force all the actors of the education sector to rethink their way of doing things, and quickly! We explain what it is and why you should be interested in it.  

Who is ChatGPT?

ChatGPT is an artificial intelligence application that allows you to chat with a robot in a natural way, developed by the company OpenAI. All you have to do is register for free on the site to start a conversation with the robot (ask it questions of all kinds, in fact). 

Since the application is still in beta stage, users are warned that some answers may be inaccurate or incomplete. Nevertheless, by asking a few simple questions, one quickly comes to the conclusion that its efficiency is already impressive, even formidable. It is also possible to indicate your appreciation of the answer offered (thumbs up or thumbs down) in order to "contribute to the research" and help it become even more efficient.

Here is an example of a question we asked him. 

Why should we be interested?

The release of the application has caused a stir in the school world. Immediately, one thinks of the opportunities for plagiarism that have just been multiplied tenfold. For the past few years, teachers have been asked to avoid "googleable questions" to prevent plagiarism. With ChatIA, they will have to go even further in the complexity of the tasks asked to their students to avoid that some use it to complete their school work...

In a video presented on TikTokMath teacher Sylvain Duclos wants to inform his colleagues everywhere about the application and call on them to be vigilant. To those who would criticize him for talking about it on a platform widely used by young people, he replies that if students are likely to quickly spot the application and try to use it, schools must take an interest now. The technology is there; "you don't want your students to get to it before you do," he says. 

You don't want your students to benefit before you do!

Sylvain Duclos, teacher

He then presents a mathematical problem successfully solved by artificial intelligence and the writing of a detective story composed by it. 

He therefore invites reflection on potential changes in teaching practice to accommodate the availability of the tool: circulating in the classroom to observe students' screens during tasks performed with electronic devices, modifying the nature of the tasks requested, and adding to this a focus on creativity. "Classical assessment has just been redefined. It will require even more diversity in learning traces and asking students interview questions to validate their understanding."

The reactions are numerous, as much on its publication TikTok as on its inclusion on Facebook in the ICT in Education group.

@sylvainduclos2 Chat GPT, the artificial intelligence of OpenAI #education #intelligence #artificial #ai #plagiarism #profsurtiktok ♬ original sound - Sylvain Duclos | Prof 🔢

What if it's an opportunity?

Moreover, rather than fearing the development of the application, shouldn't the academic world seize the opportunity to review certain practices? In any case, artificial intelligence will continue to gain in efficiency until the launch of another even more powerful application; ChatGPT being only the first truly general public manifestation of the democratization of artificial intelligence, as as mentioned in the magazine The Verge.

Critical thinking skills are at the top of the list of new priorities for both students and teachers. The answers provided by the application are certainly impressive, but it should not be forgotten that they will not always be completely correct. This can lead to awkward situations on both sides. In addition, the level of language used can be a clue to the teacher as to whether or not cheating has occurred. In the example on nomadism and sedentarism presented above, the level of language seems too strong for an elementary student, for example. 

Here is an example of a story we asked ChatGPT to write. If the result is certainly correct and without spelling mistakes, it might have lacked some substance to meet all the criteria of an evaluation grid. Note also the presence of the word "marshmallows" which is not used in Quebec, unlike the word "marshmallow". 

The importance of thinking differently about assessment has gained in popularity with the arrival of this new application. The triangulation of evidence of learning, which many teachers have already put forward, may become a must. Collecting written work is no longer enough; observing students in action and having conversations with them to validate learning makes sense. The winter 2022-2023 issue of École branchée magazine is entirely about this subject.

An example proposed by the RÉCIT National Service, Arts Domain

For its part, the National Service of RÉCIT, arts field, has tested using ChatGPT to invent characters and dialogues or creative proposals. The conclusion: the tool will be very useful for teachers who need to quickly generate ideas and texts. So here is a positive use.

See the product tutorial: 

But... it's not always perfect!

In conclusion, to put things in perspective, we asked him at the chatbot what impact École branchée has on education. It is noticeable that she did not fully grasp the reference to our organization (although she was not far from it!). The answer is still interesting.

And finally, here's what you would have read if the artificial intelligence had written this journalistic article about ChatGPT and its impact on the education world. She must be overloaded right now, because she never finished! 

In addition

Suggestions for further reading

Some of the feedback we have received about ChatGPT: 

The discussion in the ICT in Education Facebook group

Professor Mélanie Tremblay has tested this on the topic of evidence in education. Here is the result.

And the answer to the question: How can I prevent students from cheating with ChatGPT?

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Attention : L’intelligence artificielle qui change l’éducation est arrivée et vous devez vous y intéresser aujourd’hui

Une nouvelle application d’intelligence artificielle risque d’avoir un impact majeur et à court terme en éducation. Lancée au début du mois de décembre 2022, ChatGPT semble redoutablement efficace pour répondre à des questions simples, mais aussi plus complexes - et il fonctionne en français de surcroît. De quoi obliger tous les acteurs de l’éducation à revoir leurs façons de faire, et rapidement! On vous explique ce qu’elle est et pourquoi il faut s’y intéresser.  

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Une nouvelle application d’intelligence artificielle risque d’avoir un impact majeur et à court terme en éducation. Lancée au début du mois de décembre 2022, ChatGPT semble redoutablement efficace pour répondre à des questions simples, mais aussi plus complexes – et il fonctionne en français de surcroît. De quoi obliger tous les acteurs de l’éducation à revoir leurs façons de faire, et rapidement! On vous explique ce qu’elle est et pourquoi il faut s’y intéresser.  

Qui est ChatGPT?

ChatGPT est une application d’intelligence artificielle qui permet de discuter avec un robot de manière naturelle, développé par la société OpenAI. Il suffit de s’inscrire gratuitement sur le site pour entamer une conversation avec le robot (lui poser des questions de tout genre, en fait). 

Puisque l’application est toujours au stade « beta », on prévient l’utilisateur qu’il se pourrait que certaines réponses soient inexactes ou incomplètes. N’empêche, en posant quelques questions simples, on en vient rapidement à la conclusion que son efficacité est déjà impressionnante, voire redoutable. Il est d’ailleurs possible de signifier son appréciation de la réponse offerte (pouce en haut ou pouce en bas) afin de « contribuer à la recherche » et l’aider à devenir plus efficace encore.

Voici un exemple de question que nous lui avons posé. 

Pourquoi s’y intéresser?

La mise en ligne de l’application a causé un émoi dans le monde scolaire. Tout de suite, on pense aux occasions de plagiat qui viennent d’être décuplées. Depuis quelques années, le personnel enseignant est invité à éviter les « questions googlables » pour contrer le plagiat. Avec ChatIA, ils devront aller encore plus loin dans la complexité des tâches demandées à leurs élèves pour éviter que certains s’en servent pour compléter leurs travaux scolaires…

Dans une vidéo présentée sur TikTok, l’enseignant de mathématiques Sylvain Duclos souhaite informer ses collègues de partout au sujet de l’application et les appeler à la vigilance. À ceux qui lui reprocheraient d’en parler sur une plateforme abondamment utilisée par les jeunes, il répond que si les élèves risquent de repérer rapidement l’application et tenter de l’utiliser, les écoles doivent s’y intéresser dès maintenant. La technologie existe; « il ne faudrait pas que vos élèves en profitent avant vous! », lance-t-il. 

Il ne faudrait pas que vos élèves en profitent avant vous!

Sylvain Duclos, enseignant

Il présente ensuite un problème mathématique résolu avec succès par l’intelligence artificielle et la rédaction d’un récit policier composé par celle-ci. 

Il invite donc à réfléchir aux changements potentiels dans la pratique enseignante pour tenir compte de la disponibilité de l’outil : circuler dans la classe pour observer l’écran des élèves lors de tâches réalisées avec des appareils électroniques, modifier la nature des tâches demandées, et on ajoute à cela axer sur la créativité. « L’évaluation classique vient d’être redéfinie. Il faudra encore plus diversifier les traces d’apprentissage et poser des questions d’entrevue aux élèves pour valider leur compréhension. »

Les réactions sont nombreuses, autant sur sa publication TikTok que sur sa reprise sur Facebook dans le groupe Les TIC en éducation.

@sylvainduclos2 Chat GPT, l’intelligence artificielle de OpenAI #education #intelligence #artificielle #ai #plagiat #profsurtiktok ♬ son original – Sylvain Duclos | Prof 🔢

Et s’il s’agissait d’une opportunité?

D’ailleurs, plutôt que de craindre le développement de l’application, le monde scolaire ne devrait-il pas plutôt se saisir de l’occasion pour revoir certaines pratiques? De toute façon, l’intelligence artificielle continuera de gagner en efficacité jusqu’au lancement d’une autre application plus puissante encore; ChatGPT n’étant que la première manifestation véritablement grand public de la démocratisation de l’intelligence artificielle, comme le mentionne le magazine The Verge.

Le développement de l’esprit critique apparaît en tête de liste des nouvelles priorités, autant pour les élèves que les enseignants. Les réponses fournies par l’application sont certes impressionnantes, mais il ne faut pas oublier qu’elles ne seront pas toujours tout à fait juste. De quoi entraîner des situations gênantes d’un côté comme de l’autre. De plus, le niveau de langage utilisé peut représenter un indice pour l’enseignant qu’il y a eu tricherie ou non. Dans l’exemple sur le nomadisme et le sédentarisme présenté plus haut, le niveau de langage semble trop soutenu pour un élève du primaire, par exemple. 

Voici un exemple de récit que nous avons demandé à ChatGPT d’écrire. Si le résultat est certes correct et sans fautes d’orthographe, il aurait possiblement manqué un peu de substance pour répondre à tous les critères d’une grille d’évaluation. Notez également la présence du mot « marshmallows » qui n’est pas utilisé au Québec, contrairement au mot « guimauve ». 

Par ailleurs, l’importance de penser l’évaluation autrement vient de gagner en popularité avec l’arrivée de cette nouvelle application. La triangulation des preuves d’apprentissage qui était déjà mise de l’avant par nombre d’enseignantes et d’enseignants, risque de devenir un incontournable. Collecter des productions écrites ne suffit plus; le fait d’observer les élèves en action et d’avoir des conversations avec eux pour valider les apprentissages prend tout son sens. Le numéro d’hiver 2022-2023 du magazine École branchée porte d’ailleurs entièrement sur ce sujet.

Un exemple proposé par le Service national du RÉCIT, domaine des arts

Pour sa part, le Service national du RÉCIT, domaine des arts a fait le test en utilisant ChatGPT pour inventer des personnages et des dialogues ou des propositions de créations. La conclusion : l’outil pourra être très utile aux enseignantes et aux enseignants qui ont besoin de générer rapidement des idées et des textes. Voici donc une utilisation positive.

Voir le tutoriel produit : 

Mais… ce n’est pas toujours parfait!

En terminant, pour relativiser un peu, nous lui avons demandé au chatbot quel est l’impact de l’École branchée sur l’éducation. On remarque qu’elle n’a pas saisi complètement la référence à notre organisation (quoiqu’elle n’en n’était pas très loin!). La réponse est quand même intéressante.

Et finalement, voici ce que vous auriez lu si l’intelligence artificielle avait rédigé cet article journalistique au sujet de ChatGPT et de son impact sur le monde de l’éducation. Elle doit être surchargée en ce moment, car elle n’a jamais terminé! 

En complément

Suggestions de lecture pour aller plus loin

Quelques réactions que nous avons recensées au sujet de ChatGPT : 

La discussion dans le groupe Les TIC en éducation sur Facebook

La professeure Mélanie Tremblay en a fait l’essai sur le sujet des données probantes en éducation. Voici le résultat.

Et la réponse à la question : Comment empêcher les élèves de tricher grâce à ChatGPT?

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :