ADVERTISEMENT

3 ideas for positive reinforcement and better transmission of emotions in distance learning

In the classroom, a teacher is expected to use positive reinforcement, gradually giving advice to move their students forward and giving feedback on their work. But now, with the distance, things get complicated. Here are three avenues drawn from personal experiences to improve this decisive point. A text by our collaborator Laurent Di Pasquale.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

After the establishment of an emergency distance education last spring, besides the material aspect, one of the main difficulties that we face now (and this, everywhere in the world) is the need to fully understand what true distance learning is.

Make no mistake, "real" distance education is prepared, scripted and is not limited to the simple sending of exercise files to its students followed by their correction. 

In the classroom, a teacher is expected to use positive reinforcement, gradually giving advice to move their students forward and giving feedback on their work. But now, with the distance, things get complicated. Here are three avenues drawn from personal experiences to improve this decisive point.

1. Regular feedback

Identify if the digital workspace or app you use for distance teaching offers an easy way to provide feedback to students. In most cases, the developers will have made sure to include this important point.

If the app offers automatic exercise feedback / correction, make sure students understand how to view it and how to leverage it to go further. 

For example, through the app FlipGrid : the teacher has the possibility of commenting on the answers of his pupils using short videos, while basing himself on evaluation criteria previously encoded in the application. 

Une image contenant capture d’écranDescription générée automatiquement
Creation of a "Topic" in FlipGrid 

2. Badges 

Does your digital workspace have a system of badges, of levels to reach? This type of system stimulates student motivation by making it fun to monitor the progress of learning, and can be used in class as well as at a distance. Lovers of Classcraft, for example, are familiar with the principle since the badges are part of its mechanism. 

For Microsoft Teams users, this feature is also present via the option "Praise", albeit to a lesser extent. Indeed, to be awarded a badge " Always find a solution ", for example, will provide that desired positive reinforcement.  

Praise Badges in Microsoft Teams 

3. The power of GIF

Where real face-to-face social contact makes it possible to convey a good number of emotions, distance education (and even more so in asynchronous mode) weakens the chemistry that settles between the teacher and his students. So don't underestimate the power of GIF (those moving images that speak for themselves) and smiley (emoticons). Admittedly, they will not replace your real smile, nor your little joke following an encouragement, but they will play on the communication codes of the pupils, in addition to making the digital interaction less “cold”. 

An example of GIF

To go further in order to understand what true distance learning is, we invite you to consult this publication from Laval University which summarizes the essential information and characteristics of this methodology.

Also consult here all the articles of the École branchée about distance education.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale is a secondary school human sciences teacher in Belgium and a digital-supported pedagogy trainer. He describes his pedagogy as being deeply positivist, human and innovative. Her first four years in special education forced her to show creativity and benevolence in her practices, in order to make students want to learn, despite their difficulties. He also helps his colleagues on a daily basis to develop their practices. This is what pushed him since September 2018 to open a Facebook page dedicated to Ed.Tech, where he publishes new tools to use, daily advice, and examples of innovative activities.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

3 idées pour faire du renforcement positif et mieux transmettre les émotions en enseignement à distance

En classe, on s’attend à ce qu'un enseignant utilise le renforcement positif, donnant graduellement des conseils pour faire progresser ses élèves et faisant des retours sur leur travail. Seulement voilà, avec la distance, les choses se compliquent. Voici trois pistes tirées d'expériences personnelles pour améliorer ce point décisif. Un texte de notre collaborateur Laurent Di Pasquale.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Après la mise en place d’un enseignement à distance d’urgence au printemps dernier, outre l’aspect matériel, l’une des principales difficultés auxquelles l’on fait face maintenant (et ce, partout dans le monde) est la nécessité de maîtriser pleinement ce qu’est le véritable enseignement à distance.

Qu’on ne s’y trompe pas, le « véritable » enseignement à distance se prépare, se scénarise et ne se limite pas au simple envoi de fichiers d’exercices à ses élèves suivi de leur correction. 

En classe, on s’attend à ce qu’un enseignant utilise le renforcement positif, donnant graduellement des conseils pour faire progresser ses élèves et faisant des retours sur leur travail. Seulement voilà, avec la distance, les choses se compliquent. Voici trois pistes tirées d’expériences personnelles pour améliorer ce point décisif.

1. La rétroaction régulière

Identifiez si l’espace de travail numérique ou l’application que vous utilisez pour enseigner à distance propose un moyen simple de donner de la rétroaction aux élèves. Dans la plupart des cas, les développeurs auront veillé à inclure ce point important.

Si l’application propose une rétroaction/correction automatique d’exercices, assurez-vous que les étudiants comprennent comment la consulter et comment s’en servir comme levier pour aller plus loin. 

Par exemple, via l’application FlipGrid : l’enseignant a la possibilité de commenter les réponses de ses élèves à l’aide de petites vidéos, tout en se basant sur des critères d’évaluation préalablement encodés dans l’application. 

Une image contenant capture d’écran Description générée automatiquement
Création d’un « Topic » dans FlipGrid 

2. Les badges 

Votre espace de travail numérique possède-t-il un système de badges, de niveaux à atteindre? Ce genre de système stimule la motivation de l’élève en rendant ludique le suivi de la progression des apprentissages, et peut s’utiliser en classe comme à distance. Les amateurs de Classcraft, par exemple, sont familiers avec le principe puisque les badges font partie de son mécanisme. 

Pour les utilisateurs de Microsoft Teams, cette fonctionnalité est également présente via l’option « Praise », quoique dans une moindre mesure. En effet, se voir décerner un badge « Trouve toujours une solution », par exemple, offrira ce renforcement positif recherché.  

Badges Praise dans Microsoft Teams 

3. Le pouvoir du GIF

Là où le véritable contact social en présentiel permet de faire passer bon nombre d’émotions, l’enseignement à distance (et encore plus en mode asynchrone) affaiblit la chimie qui s’installe entre l’enseignant et ses élèves. Ne sous-estimez donc pas le pouvoir du GIF (ces images animées qui parlent par elles-mêmes) et du smiley (émoticônes). Certes, ils ne remplaceront pas votre vrai sourire, ni votre petite blague à la suite d’un encouragement, mais ils joueront sur les codes de communication des élèves, en plus de rendre l’interaction numérique moins « froide ». 

Un exemple de GIF

Pour aller plus loin afin de comprendre ce qu’est le véritable enseignement à distance, on vous invite à consulter cette publication de l’Université Laval qui résume les informations essentielles et les caractéristiques de cette méthodologie.

Consultez aussi ici tous les articles de l’École branchée à propos de l’enseignement à distance.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale est professeur de sciences humaines au secondaire en Belgique et formateur en pédagogie appuyée par le numérique. Il décrit sa pédagogie comme étant profondément positiviste, humaine et innovante. Ses quatre premières années dans l’enseignement spécialisé l’ont obligées à faire preuve de créativité et de bienveillance dans ses pratiques, afin de donner envie aux élèves d’apprendre et ce malgré leurs difficultés. Il aide aussi quotidiennement ses collègues à faire évoluer leurs pratiques. C’est cela qui l’a poussé depuis septembre 2018 à ouvrir une page Facebook dédiée à l’Ed.Tech, où il publie des nouveaux outils à utiliser, des conseils quotidiens, et des exemples d’activités innovantes.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!