3 keys that should be found in any teaching plan during a pandemic

According to researchers, three themes should be part of the response plan to a context as uncertain as the one we live in: well-being, engagement and feedback (in class, as at a distance).

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

If your class were to move remotely overnight this year, is your plan ready? According to researchers from Texas, who studied the rapid turn of last spring, 3 keys should absolutely be found there to make it a success: well-being, engagement and feedback.

Researchers from Baylor University, in Texas, discussed with leaders from 112 schools in spring and summer 2020 and identified three themes on which schools should focus in their response plan to a context as uncertain as the one we are living in: well-being, engagement and feedback (both classroom and remote). Here they are in summary.

Well-being 

“Before focusing on academic content, the schools that did best (in spring 2020) are those that first looked after the well-being of teachers and students”. After all, well-being is the basis of the famous "Maslow's pyramid," which establishes a hierarchy of needs that every human would need to meet. Once well-being is achieved, readiness to learn would be promoted. For teachers, the researchers noted that well-being was established when they were regularly asked these two questions: "How are you?" And "What do you need?" ".

Commitment 

"Pupils don't learn if they're not motivated." Indeed, the researchers have identified what they call the 4Cs of academic motivation: content, collaboration, competition and creation. We will have the opportunity to detail them in a future article.

Used well, various digital tools can boost engagement and motivation (e.g. Nearpod and Pear Deck, which allow, among other things, to add interaction in an online presentation or to conduct icebreaker activities).

Feedback

Improvement comes through practice, but also through constructive feedback. Many tools aimed at increasing student engagement also provide immediate feedback. Whatever the application, it is recommended that teachers establish criteria for successful completion of an assignment with students. To be effective, these criteria include examples of what will be considered successful, as well as reasons why students would like to succeed or improve.

For more information, read the original article by Jonathan Becker, professor at Baylor University, on the Edutopia website.

In the end, these keys should also inspire the daily life of the class, whether it takes place at school or at a distance!

Other free digital tools that stimulate interaction and engagement are also available, including Edpuzzle, Thinglink, Genially. Also consult the guide Accessible tools for distance learning, from Carrefour Éducation.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

3 clés qu’on devrait retrouver dans tout plan d’enseignement en temps de pandémie

Selon des chercheurs, trois thèmes devraient faire partie du plan de réponse à un contexte aussi incertain que celui que nous vivons : le bien-être, l’engagement et la rétroaction (en classe, comme à distance).

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Si votre classe devait passer à distance d’un jour à l’autre cette année, votre plan est-il prêt? Selon des chercheurs du Texas, qui ont étudié le virage rapide du printemps dernier, 3 clés devraient absolument s’y retrouver pour en faire une réussite : bien-être, engagement et rétroaction.

Des chercheurs de Baylor University, au Texas, ont discuté avec des leaders provenant de 112 établissements scolaires au printemps et à l’été 2020 et ont identifié trois thèmes sur lesquels les écoles devraient miser dans leur plan de réponse à un contexte aussi incertain que celui que nous vivons : le bien-être, l’engagement et la rétroaction (en classe, comme à distance). Les voici en résumé.

Bien-être 

« Avant de s’intéresser au contenu académique, les écoles qui s’en sont le mieux sorti (au printemps 2020) sont celles qui veillaient d’abord au bien-être des enseignants et des élèves ». Après tout, le bien-être est la base de la célèbre « pyramide de Maslow », qui établit une hiérarchie de besoins que tout humain aurait besoin de combler. Une fois le bien-être atteint, la disposition à l’apprentissage serait favorisée. Pour les enseignants, les chercheurs ont relevé que le bien-être s’instaurait lorsqu’ils se faisaient poser régulièrement ces deux questions : « Comment vas-tu? » et « De quoi as-tu besoin? ».

Engagement 

« Les élèves n’apprennent pas s’ils ne sont pas motivés ». En effet, les chercheurs ont identifié ce qu’ils appellent les 4C de la motivation scolaire : contenu, collaboration, compétition et création. Nous aurons l’occasion de les détailler dans un prochain article.

Bien utilisés, divers outils numériques peuvent stimuler l’engagement et la motivation (par exemple Nearpod et Pear Deck, qui permettent entre autres d’ajouter de l’interaction dans une présentation en ligne ou de conduire des activités brise-glace).

Rétroaction

L’amélioration passe par la pratique, mais aussi par les commentaires constructifs. De nombreux outils qui visent l’augmentation de l’engagement des élèves offrent aussi de la rétroaction immédiate. Quelle que soit l’application, on recommande aux enseignants d’établir les critères de réussite d’une tâche avec les élèves. Pour être efficaces, ces critères comprennent des exemples de ce qui sera considéré comme une réussite, ainsi que des raisons pour lesquels les élèves auraient le goût de réussir ou de s’améliorer.

Pour en savoir plus, on peut lire l’article original de Jonathan Becker, professeur à l’Université Baylor, sur le site d’Edutopia.

Au final, ces clés devraient aussi inspirer le quotidien de la classe, qu’elle ait lieu à l’école ou à distance!

D’autres outils numériques gratuits qui stimulent l’interaction et l’engagement sont également disponibles, dont Edpuzzle, Thinglink, Genially. Consultez aussi le guide Des outils accessibles pour la formation à distance, de Carrefour Éducation.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :