A new interactive projector makes its debut in schools

Chambly - A class at Chambly high school in Montérégie is currently testing an interactive projector from Epson, which has designed the BrightLink especially for teaching rooms.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Chambly - A class at Chambly high school in Montérégie is currently testing an interactive projector from the company Epson, which has designed the BrightLink especially for teaching rooms.

It is Hugo Marois, teacher for 11 years at the high school, who tries it in his third secondary mathematics course. “For the past two years, in the school, we have started using different interactive screens,” he explains. The major problem was that the lights had to be turned off and the curtains lowered so that the students could clearly see the screen. The darkness in the classroom put them to sleep! "

Hugo Marois is delighted with the brightness of the new projector being tested: “In full sun, the image remains vivid,” says the teacher.

He says his health has improved since using interactive screens because the chalk dust has stopped bothering him. But it is the students' response that excites him the most. "They are stimulated, curious, and like to come and use it in front of the class."

All the lessons can be enhanced by the projector, according to him, since many tools are incorporated: compass, spell checker, Internet access, multimedia player… The school uses the ActivInspire software, already used in the ActivBoard and SmartBoard boards. , also compatible with the projector. “It's as easy to use as a home computer,” says the math teacher.

The BrightLink must be installed on the ceiling or on a wall and be connected to a computer running Mac or Windows platforms. You can project your image on a wall, on the floor, or on a whiteboard. A large electronic stylus serves as a mouse. “Our teachers find the pencil rather heavy, this is its main drawback,” explains Jean-Guy Lepage, the school's computer technician.

He is satisfied with the version he is testing in the school, but wants some improvements: “the software only perceives one pencil at a time, whereas for certain exercises, the teachers would like to use the electronic pencil at the same time as 'a student."

The device costs $1,900. Projector lamps cost $170 as a replacement. According to Jean-Guy Lepage, the maintenance of this projector is easier than for interactive whiteboards. “It's out of the reach of the students. These cannot damage it, ”he continues.

The image projected by the BrightLink can reach a diagonal length of 96 inches. It has built-in speakers and does not release heat into the room. It can be connected to the room computer by USB cable or wireless card. Available since April 2010, it is guaranteed for 3 years.

By Viviane De Repentigny

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Un nouveau projecteur interactif fait son entrée dans les écoles

Chambly - Une classe de l’école secondaire de Chambly, en Montérégie, teste présentement un projecteur interactif de l’entreprise Epson, qui a conçu le BrightLink spécialement pour les salles d’enseignement.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Chambly – Une classe de l’école secondaire de Chambly, en Montérégie, teste présentement un projecteur interactif de l’entreprise Epson, qui a conçu le BrightLink spécialement pour les salles d’enseignement.

C’est Hugo Marois, enseignant depuis 11 ans à la polyvalente, qui l’essaie dans son cours de mathématiques de troisième secondaire. « Depuis deux ans, dans l’école, nous avons commencé à nous servir de différents écrans interactifs, explique-t-il. Le problème majeur était qu’il fallait éteindre les lumières et baisser les rideaux pour que les élèves voient clairement l’écran. La noirceur dans la classe les endormait! »

Hugo Marois se réjouit de la luminosité du nouveau projecteur à l’essai : « En plein soleil, l’image reste vive », dit l’enseignant.

Il relate que sa santé s’est améliorée depuis qu’il utilise des écrans interactifs, parce que la poussière de craie a cessé de l’incommoder. Mais c’est la réponse des élèves qui l’enthousiasme le plus. « Ils sont stimulés, curieux, et aiment venir l’utiliser devant la classe ».

Tous les cours peuvent être agrémentés par le projecteur, selon lui, puisque de nombreux outils y sont incorporés : compas, correcteur d’orthographe, accès Internet, lecteur multimédia… L’école emploie le logiciel ActivInspire, déjà utilisé dans les tableaux ActivBoard et SmartBoard, aussi compatible avec le projecteur. « Il est aussi simple à utiliser qu’un ordinateur de maison », précise l’enseignant de mathématiques.

Le BrightLink doit être installé au plafond ou sur un mur et être relié à un ordinateur exploitant les plateformes Mac ou Windows. On peut projeter son image sur un mur, sur le plancher, ou sur un tableau blanc. Un large stylet électronique sert de souris. « Nos enseignants trouvent le crayon plutôt lourd, c’est son principal inconvénient », détaille Jean-Guy Lepage, technicien en informatique de l’école.

Il est satisfait de la version qu’il teste dans l’école, mais souhaite quelques améliorations : « le logiciel ne perçoit qu’un crayon à la fois, alors que pour certains exercices, les professeurs aimeraient utiliser le crayon électronique en même temps qu’un élève.»

Le dispositif coûte $1 900. Les lampes du projecteur coûtent $170 en remplacement. Selon Jean-Guy Lepage, l’entretien de ce projecteur est plus facile que pour les tableaux interactifs. « Il est hors de la portée des élèves. Ceux-ci ne peuvent pas l’endommager », continue-t-il.

L’image projetée par le BrightLink peut atteindre une longueur diagonale de 96 pouces. Il est muni de haut-parleurs intégrés et ne dégage pas de chaleur dans la pièce. On peut le relier à l’ordinateur de la pièce par câble USB ou par carte sans-fil. Disponible depuis avril 2010, celui-ci est garanti pour 3 ans.

Par Viviane De Repentigny

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct