ADVERTISEMENT

A digital experimentation laboratory in physical education (EPS) is born

The Laboratory on the use of digital technology in physical education and sports was created at Laval University. “In our laboratory, we will be able to make concrete and real observations in order to identify the most appropriate uses of technologies for educational purposes. "

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

It may seem paradoxical to integrate technologies into the teaching of physical education. However, some uses can be beneficial for both students and teachers. A new experimental laboratory, set up at Laval University, will push research further.

Inside two PEPS gymnasiums, the sports center of Laval University in Quebec, the Laboratory on the use of digital in physical education and sports (LUNEPS) is now ready to be used. Augmented games, tablets, televisions and smart phones will be added to balls, rackets and nets for teaching physical education. As a bonus, observation windows will allow researchers to follow the action and take notes.

“The objective of LUNEPS is to support research and teaching on the use of digital technology in a school and sports context. There is still little research on the impact of digital technology for students and teachers, and even less in French. In our laboratory, we will be able to make concrete and real observations in order to identify the most appropriate uses of technologies for educational purposes ”, indicates Jonathan Chevrier, assistant professor at Laval University, responsible for LUNEPS.

For example, the same lesson could be offered with and without technology in order to compare student learning, engagement and motivation. The influence of digital technology on the preparation of a course, the management time during the course, the empowerment of students are all other observations that can be made.

The professors and lecturers of the Department of Physical Education at Laval University are the first to have to adapt to the new environment. They themselves will have to use the material and integrate it into their lesson plans in initial and in-service teacher training. The aim is for all the courses to have a digital dimension. Then, it is the students of physical education teaching who will have to use it with primary and secondary students who will be accommodated in the two gymnasiums of the PEPS.

Go beyond preconceptions

“Sometimes teachers see physical education class as the last chance to disconnect from technology. We must go beyond this perception. You have to ask yourself: is it possible to offer an enriched experience to my students, what will digital bring more. For example, if the students film themselves and then observe themselves, will they be able to modify certain movements afterwards to become more effective in the practice of a sport, ”argues Professor Chevrier.

He admits it himself, digital technology can sometimes represent an “educational trick” to get students to become more involved. For example, the use of applications that calculate distance and indicate the route taken can help motivate students, who can compare themselves and challenge each other.

However, if the teacher wants the novelty effect to last over time, the interest to remain and the results to be present, he will still have to be relevant and offer motivating content to his students. “It will never be digital at all costs. It must be used wisely. "

The professor wants the LUNEPS to become the place par excellence to test the use of different technological tools in order to improve their educational potential. He is convinced that the new sporting and techno environment can become a scientific benchmark to help school educators make an adequate and thoughtful digital shift. 

The LUNEPS team is already in contact with that of national service of the RÉCIT of physical education and health, as with the Quebec Federation of Physical Educators. Other partnerships are to be expected in order, in particular, to develop turnkey learning situations or to experiment with uses.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Un laboratoire d’expérimentation du numérique en éducation physique (EPS) voit le jour

Le Laboratoire sur l’usage du numérique en éducation physique et sportive voit le jour à l'Université Laval. « Dans notre laboratoire, nous allons pouvoir faire des observations concrètes et réelles afin d’identifier les utilisations les plus appropriées des technologies à des fins éducatives. »

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Cela peut sembler paradoxal d’intégrer les technologies à l’enseignement de l’éducation physique. Pourtant, certains usages peuvent s’avérer bénéfiques autant pour les élèves que les enseignants. Un nouveau laboratoire d’expérimentation, mis en place à l’Université Laval, poussera la recherche plus loin.

À l’intérieur de deux gymnases du PEPS, le centre sportif de l’Université Laval à Québec, le Laboratoire sur l’usage du numérique en éducation physique et sportive (LUNEPS) est maintenant prêt à être utilisé. Jeux augmentés, tablettes, téléviseurs et téléphones intelligents s’ajouteront aux ballons, raquettes et filets pour l’enseignement de l’éducation physique. En prime, des vitrines d’observation permettront aux chercheurs de suivre l’action et de prendre des notes.

« L’objectif du LUNEPS est de soutenir la recherche et l’enseignement sur l’usage du numérique dans un contexte scolaire et sportif. Il existe encore peu de recherches sur l’impact du numérique pour les élèves et les enseignants, et encore moins en français. Dans notre laboratoire, nous allons pouvoir faire des observations concrètes et réelles afin d’identifier les utilisations les plus appropriées des technologies à des fins éducatives », indique Jonathan Chevrier, professeur adjoint à l’Université Laval, responsable du LUNEPS.

Par exemple, une même leçon pourrait être offerte avec et sans technologie afin de comparer les apprentissages, l’engagement et la motivation des élèves. L’influence du numérique sur la préparation d’un cours, le temps de gestion pendant le cours, l’autonomisation des élèves sont autant d’autres observations qui pourront être faites.

Les professeurs et chargés de cours du Département d’éducation physique de l’Université Laval sont les premiers à devoir s’approprier le nouvel environnement. Ils auront eux-mêmes à utiliser le matériel et à l’intégrer à leurs plans de cours en formation initiale et continue des enseignants. Le but est que l’ensemble des cours comporte une dimension numérique. Ensuite, ce sont les étudiants en enseignement de l’éducation physique qui auront à l’utiliser avec des élèves du primaire et du secondaire qui seront accueillis dans les deux gymnases du PEPS.

Dépasser les idées préconçues

« Parfois, les enseignants voient le cours d’éducation physique comme l’ultime occasion de se déconnecter de la technologie. Il faut passer au-delà de cette perception. Il faut se demander : est-ce que c’est possible d’offrir une expérience enrichie à mes élèves, qu’est-ce que le numérique amènera un plus. Par exemple, si les élèves se filment et s’observent ensuite, pourront-ils modifier certains mouvements par la suite pour devenir plus efficaces dans la pratique d’un sport », fait valoir le professeur Chevrier.

Il l’admet lui-même, le numérique peut parfois représenter une « ruse pédagogique » pour amener les élèves à s’engager davantage. Par exemple, l’utilisation d’applications qui calculent la distance et indiquent le trajet parcouru peut contribuer à la motivation des élèves, qui peuvent ainsi se comparer entre eux et se lancer des défis.

Cependant, si l’enseignant veut que l’effet de nouveauté perdure dans le temps, que l’intérêt demeure et que les résultats soient présents, il devra quand même être pertinent et offrir un contenu motivant à ses élèves. « Ce ne sera jamais le numérique à tout prix. Il faut l’utiliser à bon escient. »

Le professeur souhaite justement que le LUNEPS devienne le lieu par excellence pour tester l’utilisation de différents outils technologiques afin d’en améliorer le potentiel éducatif. Il est convaincu que le nouvel environnement sportif et techno peut devenir une référence scientifique pour aider les éducateurs scolaires à effectuer un virage numérique adéquat et réfléchi. 

L’équipe du LUNEPS est déjà en lien avec celle du service national du RÉCIT de l’éducation physique et à la santé, de même qu’avec la Fédération des éducateurs et éducatrices physiques enseignants du Québec. D’autres partenariats sont à prévoir afin, notamment, de développer des situations d’apprentissages clé en main ou expérimenter des usages.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!