Are any of your favorite apps in English only? If so, read this!

On the eve of the start of the new school year, discussions are circulating on social networks to the effect that school service centers (CSS) in Quebec will prohibit the use of certain applications by their teachers when they are only available in English. The École branchée presents you with an update.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

On the eve of the start of the new school year, discussions are circulating on social networks to the effect that school service centers (CSS) in Quebec will prohibit the use of certain applications by their teachers when they are only available in English. The Seesaw communication platform is particularly targeted.

Over the past year, teachers have had no choice but to turn massively to digital tools in order to maintain distance student learning and communications with parents. However, some of the applications designed for this are only available in English. However, some teachers choose to use them because of their pedagogical potential and their ease of use.

On Facebook, we noticed that several teachers are looking for alternatives; this is particularly the case for Seesaw, an application widely used in Quebec, which allows quick and easy communication with families of young students, but whose interface and the automated communications that it sends to parents and young people are not not available in French for the moment. 

A complaint to the OQLF

After checking with the Office québécois de la langue française (OQLF), the organization confirms that it received two complaints regarding the use of the Seesaw platform in the fall of 2020 at the Center de services scolaire Marie-Victorin (CSSMV). "Administration organizations, such as school service centers, must ensure that the texts and publications they write and publish are in French," we were told by email in response to our questions. .

“The Office contacted the school service center targeted by the complaint to inform it of the situation and assist it in finding solutions that respect the right of individuals to receive communications in French. The decision as to the measures to be implemented to correct this situation rests with the school service center. In this case, following the intervention of the Office, the school service center chose to stop using this platform and identified other platforms, available in French, to replace it. The complaint file could therefore be closed ”, indicates the spokesperson for the OQLF.

Alexandre Kozminski Martin, communication and media relations advisor at the CSSMV, indicates that at the end of this intervention, "the schools concerned were invited not to retain the services of Seesaw for the next school year". He adds that "steps are being taken with the supplier of the Seesaw application in order to obtain an entirely French version". Right now, CSS Marie-Victorin schools "are exploring other means to communicate with parents, according to their needs, while respecting the Charter of the French language".

Options to overcome the inconvenience

Primary school teacher Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette has been using Seesaw for several years to keep track of her students' productions and communicate with parents. She tells us that, even if the application is unilingual English, it contains very little text. Since it is mainly aimed at elementary school students, its interface is made up of many pictograms. In addition, the teacher indicates that “many of the communications can be translated into French, directly in the application”. Likewise, the procedure for parents to register at the start of the school year is available in French. Some automated notifications can also be disabled. 

“The idea is not to promote English-speaking applications, but rather to highlight applications that have real potential to meet the needs of the school world,” she says.

As for them, the teachers affected by the ban on using Seesaw must nevertheless turn now to other applications. Among those, ClassDojo and My Blue Print space are suggested. Others are simply turning to Google Classroom features they were already using.

On the CSSMV side, Alexandre Kozminski Martin indicates: "We are currently thinking about proposing alternatives to our schools and we will be inspired by the work of the national service of the RÉCIT to preschool education to choose the best" portfolio "application".

What does the Quebec Charter of the French language say?

In Quebec, the public administration, which includes school service centers, must comply with the Charter of the French language which “makes French the language of the State, of education, of commerce and of business as well as the normal and usual language of work”. 

As stipulated in the Charter, offenders are liable to fines. Thus, anyone who considers that their language rights have not been respected can submit a complaint to the Office québécois de la langue française, which will then carry out the necessary verifications. If a Charter violation is found, the Office will contact the organization to correct the situation. The process is part of a collaborative approach.

When it receives a complaint, the Office works with the entity concerned to find solutions for the situation to be corrected. If the entity refuses to make the necessary corrections, the case can be referred to the Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions (DPCP) who determines whether to initiate a criminal prosecution relating to the Charter. Only a court can then impose a fine. 

In this case, no fine has been imposed on the CSS.

A translation coming soon?

In addition to the CSSMV, some teachers who use Seesaw have contacted the California company directly on social networks. The representatives answer that they are aware of the problem, that the French translation is foreseen in their future developments, but that they cannot put forward a completion date for the moment. In short, nothing suggests a version in French in the short term.

We reproduce here, with her permission, the response sent privately on Twitter to Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette: “This has been shared with Carl, one of the co-founders at Seesaw. This topic has been discussed and we want to share a few updates with you. First of all, we want to make sure you know we hear you. We know how devastating this can be. We wish this was an easy, overnight fix but it's not. We appreciate your feedback and our team views it as very important. It's on our product roadmap and we will have more info to share with you next year. ”

Some teachers now hope that Quebec developers will be asked to contribute to a French version or that a Quebec company will take the opportunity to develop a new application that will meet Quebec needs and standards.

At the time of publishing this article, we had placed a request for information with the Quebec Ministry of Education, but we had not received an answer to our questions. We will update this text as soon as we have new information.

Update: Since the publication of the article, we have learned that the Trois-Lacs School Service Center and the English Montreal School Board are also banning the use of Seesaw by their staff.

Have you experienced a similar situation in your CSS? Write to info@ecolebranchee.com

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

L’une de vos apps préférées est-elle uniquement en anglais? Si oui, lisez ceci!

À l’aube de la rentrée scolaire, des discussions circulent sur les réseaux sociaux à l’effet que des centres de services scolaires (CSS) du Québec interdiront l’usage de certaines applications par leurs enseignants lorsqu’elles sont uniquement disponibles en anglais. L'École branchée vous présente un état de la situation.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

À l’aube de la rentrée scolaire, des discussions circulent sur les réseaux sociaux à l’effet que des centres de services scolaires (CSS) du Québec interdiront l’usage de certaines applications par leurs enseignants lorsqu’elles sont uniquement disponibles en anglais. La plateforme de communication Seesaw est notamment visée.

Au cours de la dernière année, les enseignants n’ont eu d’autre choix que de se tourner massivement vers les outils numériques afin de maintenir l’apprentissage des élèves à distance et les communications avec les parents. Or, certaines des applications conçues pour cela ne sont disponibles qu’en anglais. Certains enseignants choisissent néanmoins de les utiliser en raison de leur potentiel pédagogique et de leur simplicité d’utilisation.

Sur Facebook, nous avons remarqué que plusieurs enseignants cherchent des alternatives; c’est particulièrement le cas pour Seesaw, une application très répandue au Québec, qui permet une communication rapide et facile avec les familles de jeunes élèves, mais dont l’interface et les communications automatisées qu’elle émet aux parents et aux jeunes ne sont pas disponibles en français pour le moment. 

Une plainte à l’OQLF

Après vérification auprès de l’Office québécois de la langue française (OQLF), l’organisation confirme avoir reçu deux plaintes concernant l’utilisation de la plateforme Seesaw à l’automne 2020 au Centre de services scolaire Marie-Victorin (CSSMV). « Les organismes de l’Administration, comme les centres de services scolaires, doivent s’assurer que les textes et les publications qu’ils rédigent et publient sont en français », nous a-t-on expliqué par courriel en réponse à nos questions.

« L’Office a communiqué avec le centre de services scolaire visé par la plainte afin de lui faire part de la situation et l’accompagner dans la recherche de solutions qui respectent le droit des personnes de recevoir des communications en français. La décision quant aux mesures à mettre en œuvre pour que cette situation soit corrigée revient au centre de services scolaire. Dans le cas présent, suite à l’intervention de l’Office, le centre de services scolaire a choisi d’arrêter d’utiliser cette plateforme et a identifié d’autres plateformes, disponibles en français, pour la remplacer. Le dossier de plainte a donc pu être fermé », indique la porte-parole de l’OQLF.

Alexandre Kozminski Martin, conseiller en communication et relations médias au CSSMV, indique qu’à l’issue de cette intervention, « les écoles concernées ont été invitées à ne pas retenir les services de Seesaw pour la prochaine année scolaire ». Il ajoute que « des démarches sont effectuées auprès du fournisseur de l’application Seesaw afin d’en obtenir une version entièrement française ». Dans l’immédiat, les écoles du CSS Marie-Victorin  « explorent d’autres moyens afin de communiquer avec les parents, en fonction de leurs besoins, en tout respect de la Charte de la langue française ».

Des options pour pallier l’inconvénient

Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette, enseignante au primaire, utilise Seesaw depuis plusieurs années pour garder des traces des productions de ses élèves et communiquer avec les parents. Elle nous précise que, même si l’application est unilingue anglaise, elle contient très peu de texte. Puisqu’elle s’adresse principalement aux élèves du primaire, son interface est composée de nombreux pictogrammes. De plus, l’enseignante indique que « plusieurs des communications peuvent être traduites en français, directement dans l’application ». De même, la marche à suivre pour que les parents s’inscrivent en début d’année scolaire est disponible en français. Certaines notifications automatisées peuvent par ailleurs être désactivées. 

« L’idée n’est pas de promouvoir les applications anglophones, mais plutôt de mettre en valeur les applications qui ont un réel potentiel pour répondre aux besoins du monde scolaire », dit-elle.

Quant à eux, les enseignants touchés par l’interdiction d’utiliser Seesaw doivent néanmoins se tourner dès maintenant vers d’autres applications. Parmi celles-ci, ClassDojo et Espace de My Blue Print sont suggérées. D’autres se tournent tout simplement vers des fonctionnalités de Google Classroom qu’ils utilisaient déjà.

Du côté du CSSMV, Alexandre Kozminski Martin indique : « Nous sommes en réflexion actuellement pour proposer des alternatives à nos écoles et nous nous inspirerons des travaux du service national du RÉCIT à l’éducation préscolaire pour choisir la meilleure application « portfolio » ».

Que dit la Charte québécoise de la langue française?

Au Québec, l’Administration publique, qui inclut les centres de services scolaires, doit se soumettre à la Charte de la langue française qui « fait du français la langue de l’État, de l’enseignement, du commerce et des affaires ainsi que la langue normale et habituelle du travail ». 

Comme stipulé dans la Charte, les contrevenants sont passibles d’amendes. Ainsi, toute personne qui considère que ses droits linguistiques n’ont pas été respectés peut soumettre une plainte à l’Office québécois de la langue française, qui fera par la suite les vérifications nécessaires. Si une contravention à la Charte est constatée, l’Office communiquera avec l’organisme afin qu’il corrige la situation. Le processus s’inscrit dans une approche de collaboration.

Lorsqu’il reçoit une plainte, l’Office collabore avec l’entité visée afin de trouver des solutions pour que la situation soit corrigée. Si l’entité refuse d’apporter les corrections nécessaires, le dossier peut être transmis au Directeur des poursuites criminelles et pénales (DPCP) qui détermine s’il y a lieu d’intenter une poursuite pénale relative à la Charte. Seul un tribunal peut alors imposer une amende. 

En ce qui concerne le cas présent, aucune amende n’a été imposée au CSS.

Une traduction à venir?

En plus du CSSMV, certains enseignants utilisateurs de Seesaw ont interpellé directement l’entreprise de la Californie sur les réseaux sociaux. Les représentants répondent qu’ils sont au courant de la problématique, que la traduction en français est prévue dans leurs développements futurs, mais qu’ils ne peuvent pas avancer de date de réalisation pour le moment. Bref, rien ne laisse présager une version en français à court terme.

Nous reproduisons ici, avec sa permission, la réponse envoyée en privé sur Twitter à Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette : “This has been shared with Carl, one of the co-founders at Seesaw. This topic has been discussed and we want to share a few updates with you. First of all, we want to make sure you know we hear you. We know how devastating this can be. We wish this was an easy, overnight fix but it’s not. We appreciate your feedback and our team views it as very important. It’s on our product roadmap and we will have more info to share with you next year.”

Certains enseignants espèrent maintenant que des développeurs québécois seront sollicités pour contribuer à une version française ou qu’une entreprise québécoise se saisira de l’occasion pour développer une nouvelle application qui répondra aux besoins et aux normes québécoises.

Au moment de publier cet article, nous avions placé une demande d’information au ministère de l’Éducation du Québec, mais nous n’avions pas obtenu de réponse à nos questions. Nous mettrons ce texte à jour dès que nous aurons de nouvelles informations.

Mise à jour : Depuis la parution de l’article, nous avons appris que le Centre de services scolaire des Trois-Lacs et la commission scolaire English Montréal interdisent aussi l’utilisation de Seesaw par leur personnel.

Avez-vous vécu une situation semblable dans votre CSS? Écrivez à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!