ADVERTISEMENT

Guide dog for social media education

Mervill is a royal poodle who acts as a guide dog for his “daddy”, who is both deaf and blind. Together and with the support of the school telecollaboration site Prof-inet, they wish to develop a project combining, among other things, social media education and psychoeducation.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Mervill is a royal poodle who acts as a guide dog for his “daddy”, who is both deaf and blind. Together and with the support of the school telecollaboration site Prof-inet, they wish to develop a project combining, among other things, social media education and psychoeducation.

As part of this interview, I had the joy of chatting directly with Mervill (in addition to being a guide dog, he can write on the computer, brilliant!), Whose comments were validated by his "daddy". », Donald Pinet.

“Dad has always worked with the poor,” Mervill explains to us first. Indeed, Mr. Pinet first worked with children with intellectual and physical disabilities, in contact with whom he developed his own observation grid for inadequate behavior. Later, because of his loss of vision, his intervention shifted to street youth. For 20 years, he has been involved in solving problems arising from conflicts of all kinds: domestic violence, sexual assault, alcoholism, illiteracy, etc. "This step led him to understand this: a conflict arises from a very bad interpretation of an answer", specifies Mervill.

Later, it was on the phone that he offered to help. However, his severe deafness made it difficult and exhausting for him. New alternatives then surfaced, such as Skype, email, Facebook (Mervill has his own account!) And Edmodo.

It is also around this last secure social network platform that the project in preparation revolves. “The Mervill project will begin in January with a 3rd year class from the Commission scolaire de Laval,” explains Ms. Céline Loslier, from Prof-inet. The experiment targets 3 components: educational, relational and social.

Concretely, it is a virtual exchange service with the pupils of a class, which will aim in particular to make young people aware of the importance of hindsight before starting or participating in a conversation on the Web. "Misspelled words, typos, mismatched verbs, and the quality of the content are sometimes confusing," recalls Mervill. In addition, “in a conversation on Social Network, the content changes at the speed of my yelp. It goes fast and hard! Who is not tempted to take like butter a content or a subject found online? "The project will therefore also guide the students in a process of research and validation of content found from a social network, while making them aware of the absence of" non-verbal "codes that allow, in" real "mode , to detect additional information in a conversation. "How can you verify, behind the screen, that the person you are talking to does not have his hands closed with… rage!" Mervill asks.

In summary, the student will discover the limits of two networks: the RSV (virtual social network) and the RSR (real social network).

As a royal poodle, Mervill considers that he has the key role: “I will have some responsibilities: to hold the conversation, to question, to answer, to help, etc. And the greatest challenge will remain to maintain the interest of the student. Donald Pinet (Prof Pinet), for his part, will analyze the conversations, pick up the important things and pass them on to Mervill. He will have the right, on occasion and with the agreement of the group, to intervene to transmit important learning.

A third speaker, really virtual this one, Pépère Pinducket, will be put on occasion to solve a big problem or to explain something difficult. “Pépère, by his very great experience of life, will produce a tale, a story, drawn from the universe of animals. Thus, the affected pupil will find his consolation, his answer, without the others knowing to whom this story is addressed. However, all will also learn a lesson. "

As Pépère Pinducket said: “It's hard to predict the fallout from stormy weather! When the storm has passed, the sun shines in all its glory and the animals are reborn in the forest. Every little action can give hope to someone who seems to have lost confidence. Donald Pinet and Mervill hope to promote mutual aid while having fun.

Moreover, with the approach of the Holidays, Pépère Pinducket offers us a Christmas fable!
Click here to download!

Update January 31, 2014: here is a message I received from Mervill!

Hello Mrs. Audrey,

Woof! Woof! Since January 28, 2014, the Mervill Chien-Guide project has taken off. First day, more than 240 messages between 12:30 p.m. and 2 p.m. It is sport for my paws to answer the various questions of the students. But, fantastic, that is saying so little.

And since then, the students have continued to write to me. I really think everything is going to go wonderfully. As a bonus, Pinducket has yet to participate. He is waiting!

Here. Thank you! Woof! Woof!
Have a good day,
Mervill, Pinducket and Prof Pinet

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Un chien guide pour faire de l’éducation aux médias sociaux

Mervill est un caniche royal qui agit comme chien guide pour son « papa », atteint à la fois de surdité et de cécité. Ensemble et avec le soutien du site de télécollaboration scolaire Prof-inet, ils souhaitent développer un projet mariant, entre autres, éducation aux médias sociaux et psychoéducation.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Mervill est un caniche royal qui agit comme chien guide pour son « papa », atteint à la fois de surdité et de cécité. Ensemble et avec le soutien du site de télécollaboration scolaire Prof-inet, ils souhaitent développer un projet mariant, entre autres, éducation aux médias sociaux et psychoéducation.

Dans le cadre de cette entrevue, j’ai eu la joie de discuter directement avec Mervill (en plus d’être chien-guide, il sait écrire à l’ordinateur, génial!), dont les propos ont été validés par son « papa », Donald Pinet.

« Papa a toujours travaillé auprès des personnes démunies », nous explique d’abord Mervill. En effet, M. Pinet a d’abord été intervenant auprès d’enfants ayant des déficiences intellectuelles et physiques, au contact desquels il a développé sa propre grille d’observation des comportements inadéquats. Plus tard, à cause de sa perte de vision, son intervention s’est déplacée auprès des jeunes de la rue. Pendant 20 ans, il est intervenu dans des résolutions de problèmes issus des conflits de tous genres : violence conjugale, agression sexuelle, alcoolisme, analphabétisme, etc. « Cette étape l’a amené à comprendre ceci : un conflit prend naissance par une très mauvaise interprétation d’une réponse », nous précise Mervill.

Plus tard, c’est au téléphone qu’il a proposé son aide. Cependant, sa surdité sévère lui rendait la tâche ardue et épuisante. De nouvelles alternatives ont alors fait surface, comme Skype, le courrier électronique, Facebook (Mervill a son propre compte!) et Edmodo.

C’est d’ailleurs autour de cette dernière plateforme de réseau social sécurisé que s’articule le projet en préparation. « Le projet de Mervill débutera en janvier avec une classe de 3e année de la Commission scolaire de Laval », nous explique Mme Céline Loslier, de Prof-inet. L’expérimentation cible 3 volets : éducatif, relationnel et social.

Concrètement, il s’agit d’un service d’échange virtuel avec les élèves d’une classe, qui visera notamment à faire prendre conscience aux jeunes de l’importance du recul avant de démarrer ou de participer à une conversation sur le Web. « Des mots mal orthographiés, des fautes de frappe, des verbes mal accordés et la qualité du contenu portent, parfois, à la confusion », rappelle Mervill. De plus, « dans une conversation en Réseau Social, le contenu change à la vitesse de mon jappement. Ça va vite et fort! Qui n’est pas tenté de prendre comme du beurre un contenu ou un propos trouvé en ligne? » Le projet guidera donc aussi les élèves dans une démarche de recherche et de validation de contenu trouvé à partir d’un réseau social, tout en les sensibilisant à l’absence des codes « non-verbaux » qui permettent, en mode « réel », de détecter des informations supplémentaires dans une conversation. « Comment vérifier, derrière l’écran, que la personne avec qui on discute n’a pas les mains refermées de… rage! », questionne Mervill.

En résumé, l’élève va découvrir les limites de deux réseaux : le RSV (réseau social virtuel) et le RSR (réseau social réel).

En tant que caniche royal, Mervill considère que le rôle clé lui revient : « J’en aurai, des responsabilités : tenir la conversation, questionner, répondre, aider, etc. Et le plus haut défi demeurera de maintenir l’intérêt de l’élève. » Donald Pinet (Prof Pinet), pour sa part, analysera les conversations, relèvera les choses importantes et les transmettra à Mervill. Il aura le droit, à l’occasion et suivant l’accord du groupe, d’intervenir pour transmettre des apprentissages importants.

Un troisième intervenant, vraiment virtuel celui-là, Pépère Pinducket, sera mis en scène  à l’occasion pour résoudre un gros problème ou pour expliquer quelque chose de difficile. « Pépère, par sa très grande expérience de la vie, va produire un conte, une histoire, tirée de l’univers des animaux. Ainsi, l’élève touché trouvera sa consolation, sa réponse, sans que les autres ne sache à qui s’adresse cette histoire. Pourtant, tous en tireront aussi une leçon. »

Comme Pépère Pinducket l’a dit : « Difficile de prédire les retombés d’un temps orageux! Lorsque la tempête a passé, le soleil reluit dans toute sa splendeur et les animaux renaissent dans la forêt. » Chaque petite action est susceptible de redonner espoir à quelqu’un qui semble avoir perdu confiance. Donald Pinet et Mervill espèrent ainsi favoriser l’entraide tout en s’amusant.

D’ailleurs, à l’approche des Fêtes, Pépère Pinducket nous offre une fable de Noël!
Cliquez ici pour la télécharger!

Mise à jour du 31 janvier 2014 : voici un message que j’ai reçu de Mervill!

Bonjour Mme Audrey,

Wouf! Wouf! Depuis le 28 janvier 2014, le projet Mervill Chien-Guide a pris son envol. Première journée, plus de 240 messages entre 12 h 30 et 14 h. C’est du sport pour mes pattes de répondre aux diverses questions des élèves. Mais, fantastique, c’est si peu dire.

Et depuis, les élèves continuent de m’écrire. Je pense vraiment que tout va se dérouler à merveille. En prime, Pinducket n’a pas encore participé. Il attend!

Voilà. Merci! Wouf! Wouf!
Bonne journée,
Mervill, Pinducket et Prof Pinet

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Éditrice du magazine École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ), elle s'intéresse particulièrement l'actualité liée au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias. Elle s'active à créer des ponts dans l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. En 2021, elle est reçue à l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!