ADVERTISEMENT

Turn a flat screen into an Android tablet

Touchjet announces the launch of its Wave application

Tablets and interactive whiteboards have made their way into education. However, their acquisition and maintenance cost poses challenges in certain environments. Many will therefore be happy to know about this new possibility of transforming a television or a flat screen monitor into a tablet or interactive whiteboard!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Tablets and interactive whiteboards have made their way into education. However, their acquisition and maintenance cost poses challenges in certain environments. Many will therefore be happy to know about this new possibility of transforming a television or a flat screen monitor into a tablet or interactive whiteboard!

American company Touchjet recently announced the upcoming release of Wave, a device that transforms a 20- to 65-inch diagonal flat screen TV or monitor into an Android tablet or interactive whiteboard. All of this simply requires the installation of a sensor at the top of the device, connected to it by an HDMI wire. Thanks to the functionality of the sensor, the television becomes a touch screen.

Because of its Wi-Fi capabilities, Wave also connects the TV to the Internet. It then becomes possible to download applications easily. Features allow you to configure a phone or other smart device to act as a remote control. Optional items are available, such as a microphone and camera system, to turn the screen into a video conferencing tool.

Applications like Wave are likely to have significant repercussions on the education community. Indeed, by transforming a simple television into a smart device equipped with a touch screen and connected to the Internet, they allow easier access to educational applications, formerly accessible only on portable devices.

During a recent Quebec study, several primary and secondary teachers mentioned that constraints relating to training, support and logistics explained their reduced use of the interactive digital whiteboard in the classroom. Applications like Wave could help simplify use and logistics, in addition to reducing costs to democratize access to technology in the classroom. And that's without counting the possibility of reviving old televisions or monitors!

It is a safe bet that this "craft" will certainly interest the students too!

The introductory price is 299 $US and the first shipments are scheduled for October 2016. To complete this, schools in Quebec can purchase flat screens of 20 inches or more from 65 $CAN with OPEQ.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Dominic Leblanc
Dominic leblanc
A graduate in sociology, Dominic Leblanc is an educational advisor in the Programs and Educational Development Department of the Cégep régional de Lanaudière in L'Assomption.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Transformez un écran plat en tablette Android

Touchjet annonce le lancement de son application Wave

Les tablettes et les tableaux interactifs ont fait leur place en éducation. Leur cout d’acquisition et d’entretien pose cependant des défis dans certains milieux. Plusieurs seront donc heureux de connaitre cette nouvelle possibilité de transformer un téléviseur ou un moniteur à écran plat en tablette ou tableau interactif!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Les tablettes et les tableaux interactifs ont fait leur place en éducation. Leur cout d’acquisition et d’entretien pose cependant des défis dans certains milieux. Plusieurs seront donc heureux de connaitre cette nouvelle possibilité de transformer un téléviseur ou un moniteur à écran plat en tablette ou tableau interactif!

L’entreprise américaine Touchjet a récemment annoncé la sortie prochaine de Wave, un dispositif qui permet de transformer un téléviseur ou un moniteur à écran plat de 20 à 65 pouces de diagonale en une tablette ou un tableau interactif fonctionnant sous Android. Le tout nécessite simplement l’installation d’un capteur au sommet de l’appareil, relié à ce dernier par un fil HDMI. Grâce aux fonctionnalités du capteur, le téléviseur devient un écran tactile.

En raison de ses capacités Wi-Fi, Wave relie du même coup le téléviseur à Internet. Il devient alors possible de télécharger des applications facilement. Des fonctionnalités permettent de configurer un téléphone ou autre appareil intelligent afin qu’il fasse office de télécommande. Des items sont disponibles en option, comme un système de microphone et de caméra, pour faire de l’écran un outil de vidéoconférence.

Des applications comme Wave sont susceptibles d’avoir des retombées importantes sur le milieu de l’éducation. En effet, en transformant un simple téléviseur en appareil intelligent doté d’un écran tactile et branché à Internet, elles permettent d’avoir accès plus aisément à des applications pédagogiques, autrefois accessibles uniquement sur des appareils portables.

Lors d’une récente étude québécoise, plusieurs enseignants du primaire et du secondaire ont mentionné que des contraintes relatives à la formation, à l’accompagnement et à la logistique expliquaient leur utilisation réduite du tableau numérique interactif en classe. Des applications comme Wave pourraient aider à simplifier l’utilisation et la logistique, en plus de réduire les couts afin de démocratiser l’accès aux technologies dans la classe. Et c’est sans compter la possibilité de redonner vie à de vieux téléviseurs ou moniteurs!

Il est fort à parier que ce « bricolage » intéressera aussi certainement les élèves!

Le prix de lancement est de 299 $US et les premiers envois sont prévus pour octobre 2016. Pour compléter, les écoles du Québec peuvent se procurer des écrans plats de 20 pouces et plus à partir de 65 $CAN auprès d’OPEQ.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Dominic Leblanc
Dominic Leblanc
Diplômé en sociologie, Dominic Leblanc est conseiller pédagogique au Service des programmes et du développement pédagogique du Cégep régional de Lanaudière à L'Assomption.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :