ADVERTISEMENT

Minister Roberge unveils his Recovery Plan for Educational Success 2021-2022

Following the Rendezvous for Educational Success held at the end of April, Quebec's Minister of Education, Jean-François Roberge, unveiled a Recovery Plan for Educational Success. Here is the report École branchée has prepared for you.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Following the Rendezvous for Educational Success held at the end of April, Quebec's Minister of Education, Jean-François Roberge, unveiled a Recovery Plan for Educational Success. This aims to quickly put in place measures to reduce learning gaps, while laying the foundations for the functioning of the next school year.

Our Recovery plan for educational success will be implemented from the summer of 2021. According to the Minister, it was built around three guiding principles: predictability (to help the environments to prepare now for the future), flexibility (to give the environments the latitude necessary to meet their needs) and equal opportunities (to promote the success of the greatest number).

At a press conference, Minister Roberge acknowledged that the current school year had been a real obstacle course. He also mentioned that gaps had widened between the students, in particular according to their places of residence. “In some regions, there has been almost no distance education, apart from the period after the holiday break. Teaching continued normally. In other regions, distance education has been a reality for much of the year. Just think of the young people in the Quebec City region who have been learning at home for over a month. It is certain that it is not equal for all the pupils. "

Towards a return to normal?

With his Plan, he said he wanted to give schools the tools to allow them to consider a gradual return to normalcy. Without wishing to qualify it as such, the year 2021-2022 could practically be considered as a transitional year.

Thus, the Minister confirmed that the next year, like the current year, will be divided into two stages. However, the following weighting will be in effect for next year: 40 % for the first stage (from August 2021 to January 2022) and 60 % for the second (from February 2022 to June 2022). Communications to parents should be made halfway through each stage to keep them informed of their child's progress. 

In addition, the mandatory ministerial exams, which have been canceled for 2021, will be back in June 2022 with an adjusted weighting of 10 % instead of 20 % and a weighting of 20 % instead of 50 % for the unique 4th year exams. and Secondary V. 

10 priorities

More precisely, the Recovery plan for educational success is structured around three axes and contains ten objectives with a budget of $ 110 million.

Success and Gap Reduction

In order to promote educational success and reduce learning gaps, the ministry intends to pursue measures of mutual educational assistance and pedagogical support, offer support and guidance during the summer period and strengthen the school-family bond. in some circles. 

Thus, the tutoring already started will continue, with specific sums for students enrolled in adult education and vocational training centers, as well as native students. Summer educational activities will be put in place to mitigate “the summer slippage”, with specific amounts for immigrant and allophone students. The hiring of support agents dedicated to strengthening the link between school and family is also planned in disadvantaged areas.

The Minister is also deploying a specific measure to “maximize the digital skills of students, staff and parents”. This measure, estimated at 15M$, provides for a range of actions to maintain and promote digital development in general education for young people, general education for adults and vocational training: 

• training and support for school personnel; 

• tools and activities for the development of digital skills; 

• national platform for digital educational resources; 

• acquisition of digital educational resources; 

• support for parents; 

• audiovisual solutions and pilot projects to promote alternative teaching methods.

Well-being and mental health

In order to promote the well-being and mental health of students and staff, schools will receive sums that must be dedicated to the development of prevention activities or projects. 

In addition, since recent consultations clearly highlighted the importance of maintaining extracurricular activities for students, of encouraging regular physical activity and learning outdoors, investments are planned in this regard. Moreover, in order to increase the opportunities for going out, moving and enjoying the outdoors, educational outings in nature and discovery classes for each elementary school student will be planned in particular. The establishment of a research chair on teaching and learning outside in a school context was also announced.

School organization and pedagogical supervision

With regard to school organization, in addition to the elements mentioned above on the stages and their weighting, the Minister will publish, once again next year, documents presenting the knowledge to be prioritized at the primary and secondary levels; “Essential knowledge”. Measures to facilitate the transition of students between levels of education (elementary-secondary, secondary-college, etc.) are also included in the Plan.

Finally, the Minister announced the establishment of a pilot project aimed at creating positions for primary school teachers. These will have the role of supporting teachers in the performance of their teaching task or other non-teaching tasks (assistance to a student, personal care, behavior management under the supervision of the teacher or the teacher). teacher, etc.). The pilot project will be detailed in another strategy to be published in the fall of 2021. This recommendation had been made by certain groups during the Rendezvous for Educational Success.

Professional autonomy

To those who would have liked more precision concerning the teaching and assessment practices to be adopted in the current context, Minister Roberge recalled, during the question period following his press briefing, that he recognizes the professional autonomy of teachers and that he had complete confidence in their professional judgment with regard to student practice and assessment.

Extract from the Recovery Plan for Educational Success

In addition: 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le ministre Roberge dévoile son Plan de relance pour la réussite éducative 2021-2022

À la suite du Rendez-vous pour la réussite éducative qui s’est tenu à la fin avril, le ministre de l’Éducation du Québec, Jean-François Roberge, a dévoilé un Plan de relance pour la réussite éducative. Voici le compte-rendu que l'École branchée a préparé pour vous.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

À la suite du Rendez-vous pour la réussite éducative qui s’est tenu à la fin avril, le ministre de l’Éducation du Québec, Jean-François Roberge, a dévoilé un Plan de relance pour la réussite éducative. Celui-ci vise à mettre rapidement en place des mesures pour réduire les écarts d’apprentissage, tout en jetant les bases du fonctionnement de la prochaine année scolaire.

Le Plan de relance pour la réussite éducative sera mis en application dès l’été 2021. Selon le ministre, il a été construit autour de trois principes directeurs: la prévisibilité (pour aider les milieux à se préparer dès maintenant pour la suite), la flexibilité (pour donner aux milieux la latitude nécessaire pour répondre à leurs besoins) et l’égalité des chances (pour favoriser la réussite du plus grand nombre).

En conférence de presse, le ministre Roberge a reconnu que l’année scolaire en cours avait été une véritable course à obstacles. Il a également mentionné que des écarts s’étaient creusés entre les élèves, notamment selon leurs lieux de résidence. « Dans certaines régions, il n’y a presque pas eu d’enseignement à distance, mis à part la période au retour du congé des fêtes. L’enseignement s’est poursuivi normalement. Dans d’autres régions, l’enseignement à distance a fait partie de la réalité pour une grande partie de l’année. Il suffit de penser aux jeunes de la région de Québec qui sont en apprentissage à la maison depuis plus d’un mois. C’est certain que ce n’est pas égal pour tous les élèves. »

Vers un retour à la normale?

Avec son Plan, il a dit vouloir donner aux écoles des outils pour leur permettre d’envisager un retour progressif à la normale. Sans vouloir la qualifier ainsi, l’année 2021-2022 pourrait pratiquement être considérée comme une année transitoire.

Ainsi, le ministre a confirmé que la prochaine année, tout comme l’année en cours, sera divisée en deux étapes. Cependant, la pondération suivante sera en vigueur pour l’an prochain : 40 % pour la première étape (de août 2021 à janvier 2022) et 60 % pour la deuxième (de février 2022 à juin 2022). Des communications aux parents devront être faites à la moitié de chaque étape pour les tenir informés de la progression de leur enfant. 

De plus, les examens ministériels obligatoires, qui ont été annulés pour 2021, seront de retour en juin 2022 avec une pondération ajustée à 10 % au lieu de 20 % et une pondération de 20 % au lieu de 50 % pour les épreuves uniques de 4e et 5e secondaire. 

10 priorités

Plus précisément, le Plan de relance pour la réussite éducative s’articule autour de trois axes et contient dix objectifs dotés d’une enveloppe budgétaire de 110 millions de dollars.

Réussite et réduction des écarts

Afin de favoriser la réussite éducative et de réduire les écarts d’apprentissage, le ministère entend poursuivre les mesures d’entraide éducative et d’accompagnement pédagogique, offrir du soutien et de l’accompagnement durant la période estivale et renforcer le lien école-famille dans certains milieux. 

Ainsi, le tutorat déjà amorcé se poursuivra, avec des sommes spécifiques pour les élèves inscrits dans les centres d’éducation des adultes et de formation professionnelle, ainsi que les élèves autochtones. Des activités estivales pédagogiques seront mises en place afin d’atténuer « la glissade de l’été », avec des montants spécifiques pour les élèves immigrants et allophones. L’embauche d’agents de soutien consacrés au renforcement du lien entre l’école et la famille est aussi prévue dans les milieux défavorisés.

Le ministre déploie également une mesure spécifique pour « maximiser la compétence numérique des élèves, du personnel et des parents ». Cette mesure, estimée à 15M$, prévoit un éventail d’actions pour maintenir et favoriser le développement du numérique à la formation générale des jeunes, à la formation générale des adultes et à la formation professionnelle : 

• formation et accompagnement pour le personnel scolaire ; 

• outils et activités pour le développement de la compétence numérique ; 

• plateforme nationale de ressources éducatives numériques ; 

• acquisition de ressources éducatives numériques ; 

• accompagnement pour les parents ; 

• solutions audiovisuelles et projets pilotes pour favoriser les modes alternatifs d’enseignement.

Bien-être et santé mentale

Afin de favoriser le bien-être et la santé mentale des élèves et du personnel, les écoles recevront des sommes qui devront être dédiées au développement d’activités ou de projets de prévention. 

De plus, comme les récentes consultations ont clairement fait ressortir l’importance de maintenir les activités parascolaires pour les élèves, d’encourager l’activité physique régulière et les apprentissages à l’extérieur, des investissements sont prévus en ce sens. D’ailleurs, afin d’augmenter les occasions de sortir, de bouger et de profiter du plein air, des sorties éducatives en classe nature et en classe découverte pour chaque élève du primaire seront notamment prévues. La mise en place d’une chaire de recherche sur l’enseignement et l’apprentissage à l’extérieur en contexte scolaire a aussi été annoncée.

Organisation scolaire et encadrements pédagogiques

En ce qui concerne l’organisation scolaire, outre les éléments mentionnés ci-haut sur les étapes et leur pondération, le ministre publiera, encore une fois l’année prochaine, des documents présentant les savoirs à prioriser au primaire et au secondaire; « les savoirs essentiels ». Des mesures pour faciliter la transition des élèves entre les niveaux d’enseignement (primaire-secondaire, secondaire-collégial, etc.) sont aussi inscrites dans le Plan.

Finalement, le ministre a annoncé la mise en place d’un projet-pilote visant à créer des postes d’aides-enseignants au primaire. Ceux-ci auront comme rôle de soutenir les enseignants dans l’exécution de leur tâche d’enseignement ou d’autres tâches non pédagogiques (aide à un élève, soins personnels, gestion du comportement sous la supervision de l’enseignante ou de l’enseignant, etc.). Le projet-pilote sera détaillé dans une autre stratégie à paraître à l’automne 2021. Cette recommandation avait été faite par certains groupes lors du Rendez-vous pour la réussite éducative.

Autonomie professionnelle

À ceux qui auraient voulu plus de précision concernant des pratiques d’enseignement et d’évaluation à adopter dans le contexte actuel, le ministre Roberge a rappelé, au cours de la période de questions suivant son point de presse, qu’il reconnaît l’autonomie professionnelle des enseignants et qu’il faisait entièrement confiance leur jugement professionnel en ce qui concerne les pratiques et l’évaluation des élèves.

Extrait du Plan de relance pour la réussite éducative

En complément: 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct