Class management strategies in the anti-COVID-19 response: an experience in Cameroon

Our collaborator testifies to his experience of teaching mathematics at the secondary level in Ngaoundéré, Cameroon, during the resumption of post-containment COVID-19 classes. It appears that distance education efforts during confinement were reinforced by the resumption of the same face-to-face courses. 

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

By Kouakep Tchaptchié Yannick, assistant, PhD, EGCIM / FSE
University of Ngaoundéré, Cameroon

In 190 countries, more than 1.5 billion learners have been impacted by the closure of schools. Refugee and school-going children were hit the hardest, as they were already only 63 % to be enrolled in primary school and 24 % in secondary. Of that number, 20 % girls are at risk of never returning to school after COVID-19. The school response in Cameroon, and especially in Ngaoundéré during confinement, was made through the media and platforms ensuring educational continuity.

Unfortunately, UNESCO estimates that "half of the world's students do not have access to a computer at home" and that "the risk of losing learning during this period [of confinement] is almost inevitable". Hence the reopening observed in nearly 90 countries.

Even if it was done more slowly in certain places and would require unprecedented precautions and means, "we must act differently, but better" by supporting teachers and learners in order to regain the trust of populations and restore the right to education to young citizens of the world. The perception of the usefulness of distance education also remains very mixed.

What educational strategies have been applied during and especially after confinement?

I was a teacher in a benchmark secondary education establishment in Adamaoua, in Terminale D2 class (life and earth sciences, physical and mathematical sciences) of the Lycée Classique de Ngaoundéré in Cameroon. 

A- The strategy put in place by the Administration in agreement with the State

When returning to class, following the recommendations of the hierarchy of the Ministry of Secondary Education of Cameroon, the administration of the classical and modern high school of Ngaoundéré (LCM) divided the students of the examination levels into sub-groups forming new classes with staff respecting ministerial instructions. Only the examination classes were concerned (3rd, 1st and Terminal, approximately equivalent to 2nd cycle of secondary and CEGEP, in Quebec), with supervision groups created during confinement, followed via the WhatsApp application. 

Faced with the multiplication of sub-groups of classes due to instructions on the number of students per space, there has been a strengthening of the teaching team. I was then called to teach a D Series Terminale. 

It should be noted that the school canteens were closed within the school grounds and that water points with soap were created in front of the classes and at the various entrances to the establishment, with temperature tests using thermo-flashes.

Each teacher received a hydro-alcoholic gel, a mask and special instructions. These consisted of keeping a distance from the learners, speaking aloud in the mask, not moving between the benches but calling out to all the learners in order to have their effective participation in the course. The administration received the difficulties encountered and provided advice.

B- The experience of the Mathematics teacher in Terminale D2

I taught two chapters of mathematics (Probability and Statistics) in June 2020. It should be noted that many students had dropped out during confinement. Many reminders were necessary in mathematics. This was felt during the correction of the test on the local test exam. The exercises on the two chapters done after the resumption of lessons were better understood by the learners compared to those relating to the chapters seen before the resumption (any other docimological cause apart).

C- The State's overall strategy in secondary education

Those responsible for secondary education have managed the confinement period closely by emphasizing distance education. In urban areas or accessible by radio waves or the mobile telephone network / Internet, students received digital lessons through social networks, sometimes lessons on physical media, lessons in radio or television broadcasts (especially via CRTV) . This will induce, in future years, an increased work of upgrading on the part of teachers in difficult conditions since the epidemic does not seem ready to end.

The great lesson learned by the educational community from this pandemic has been to understand that “education should make us resilient to situations like the current pandemic and the climate crisis”. 

The overall strategy during the lockdown has been to favor the use of remote digital platforms, broadcasts by television or radio media and social networks, and even WhatsApp.

In secondary school, course materials were also made available to learners in digital or paper form. For classes not presenting national exams (called “intermediate classes”), the Ministry of Secondary Education has decided to stop classes in March 2020 for the 2019-2020 academic year.

I foresee greater difficulty in future years in secondary education as to the handling with upgrading of students from so-called intermediate classes since the hourly volume allocated to each of the subjects may tend to decrease, in view of limited resources (teachers, classrooms, time, etc.) with groups that physically increase the number of classrooms. 

In addition, school dropout is likely to worsen] in secondary education with, for example, a reduction in the number of pupils per class (see, for example, the number of 50 pupils per class selected for the entrance examination for 6th general education and 1sttime year of technical education for this year 2020-2021) and the prevailing poverty due to the slowdown in economic activity.

The state is experimenting in secondary education a remote training and review platform for his students with Zoom groups. The Baccalaureate exams for the 2021 session have seen innovations such as the cancellation of the eliminatory mark system set at 5/20 in the basic subjects of each specialty. It should be noted that private education does not really practice the part-time system with its small numbers. Only the public does it and especially for the so-called intermediate classes.

Bibliographical references

  1. YT. Kouakep et al. COVID-19 modeling and caution in relaxing control measures and possibilities for multi peaks in Cameroon, AAM June 2021, https://www.researchgate.net/publication/342052588_COVID-19_modelling_and_caution_in_relaxing_control_measures_and_possibilities_for_multi_peaks_in_Cameroon, 2021.
  2. LP. Nono and TY Kouakep. Use of the WIMS environment in secondary mathematics education: training issues and perception of utility, Adjective.net, Paris-Descartes University, https://www.adjectif.net/spip/spip.php?article412, 05 December 2016.
  3. Unesco. COVID-19 - Education as the foundation of a just society in the post-COVID world, https://fr.unesco.org/news/covid-19-leducation-fondement-dune-societe-juste-monde-lapres-covid, 09-06-2020, consulted on June 22, 2020.
  4. Unesco. Build back better: after COVID-19: education must change to respond to the crisis, https://fr.unesco.org/news/reconstruire-mieux-apres-covid-19-leducation-doit-changer-repondre-crise-climatique, 26-06-2020, consulted on June 30, 2020.
  5. Unesco. Reopening of schools: when, where and how?, https://fr.unesco.org/news/reouverture-ecoles-quand-ou-comment, 19-05-2020, consulted on 20 May 2020.
  6. Unesco. COVID-19: What you need to know about refugee education, https://fr.unesco.org/news/covid-19-ce-que-vous-devez-savoir-leducation-refugies, 09-07-2020, accessed July 10, 2020.
  7. Vanessa Onana. Entrance examination in 6th, 50 admitted authorized per class, CRTV-NEWS, www.crtv.cm/2020/07/133523 , 08-07-2020, consulted on July 09, 2020.

Dr Kouakep Tchaptchié Yannick is currently Mathematics Assistant at the University of Ngaoundéré since January 2, 2020 and former Educational Inspector. He is also a member of the teaching team of field teacher trainers of the AIMS-TTP project of the Ministry of Secondary Education and author of several articles on mathematics didactics, a book chapter on the promotion of national languages or math work. It promotes many projects to help vulnerable students.

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

Les stratégies de gestion de classes dans la riposte anti-COVID-19 : une expérience au Cameroun

Notre collaborateur témoigne de son expérience d’enseignement des mathématiques au secondaire à Ngaoundéré, au Cameroun, lors de la reprise des cours post-confinement de la COVID-19. Il en ressort que les efforts d’enseignement à distance pendant le confinement ont été renforcés par la reprise des mêmes cours en présentiel. 

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Par Kouakep Tchaptchié Yannick, assistant, PhD, EGCIM/FSE
Université de Ngaoundéré, Cameroun

Dans 190 pays, plus d’un milliard et demi d’apprenants ont été impactés par la fermeture des établissements scolaires. Les enfants réfugiés et scolarisés ont été plus durement touchés puisque ces derniers étaient déjà seulement 63 % à être inscrits à l’école primaire et 24 % au secondaire. De ce nombre, 20 % de filles risquent de ne jamais retourner à l’école après la COVID-19.  La riposte scolaire au Cameroun, et spécialement à Ngaoundéré pendant le confinement, s’est faite à travers les médias et plateformes assurant la continuité pédagogique.

Malheureusement, l’UNESCO estime que « la moitié des élèves dans le monde n’ont pas accès à un ordinateur à la maison » et que « le risque de perte d’apprentissage pendant cette période [de confinement] est presque inévitable ». D’où la réouverture observée dans près de 90 pays.

Même si elle s’est faite plus lentement à certains endroits et demanderait des précautions et des moyens sans précédent, « il faut agir différemment, mais mieux » en soutenant les enseignants et les apprenants afin de regagner la confiance des populations et redonner le droit à l’éducation aux jeunes citoyens du monde. La perception de l’utilité de l’enseignement à distance demeure par ailleurs très mitigée.

Quelles stratégies pédagogiques ont été appliquées pendant et surtout après le confinement?

J’ai été enseignant dans un établissement de référence de l’enseignement secondaire de l’Adamaoua, en classe de Terminale D2 (sciences de la vie et de la terre, sciences physiques et mathématiques) du Lycée Classique de Ngaoundéré au Cameroun. 

A- La stratégie mise en place par l’Administration en accord avec l’État

Lors du retour en classe, à la suite des recommandations de la hiérarchie du Ministère des enseignements secondaires du Cameroun, l’administration du lycée classique et moderne de Ngaoundéré (LCM) a réparti les élèves des niveaux d’examen en sous-groupes formant de nouvelles classes avec des effectifs respectant les consignes ministérielles. Seules les classes d’examen étaient concernées (3èmes, 1ères et Terminales, équivalant environ au 2e cycle du secondaire et au cégep, au Québec), avec des groupes d’encadrement créés pendant le confinement, suivis via l’application WhatsApp. 

Face à la démultiplication des sous-groupes de classes en raison des consignes sur le nombre  d’élèves par espace, il y a eu un renforcement de l’équipe pédagogique. J’ai alors été appelé pour enseigner une Terminale série D. 

Notons que les cantines scolaires ont été fermées dans l’enceinte du lycée et que des points d’eau avec savon ont été créés devant les classes et aux différentes entrées de l’établissement, avec des tests de température aux thermo-flashs.

Chaque enseignant a reçu un gel hydro-alcoolique, un masque et des consignes spéciales. Ces dernières consistaient à se tenir à distance des apprenants, parler à haute voix dans le masque, ne pas circuler entre les bancs mais interpeller tous les apprenants afin d’avoir leur participation effective au cours. L’administration recevait les difficultés rencontrées et prodiguaient des conseils.

B- L’expérience de l’enseignant de mathématiques de la Terminale D2

J’ai enseigné deux chapitres de mathématiques (Probabilités et Statistiques) au mois de juin 2020. Il est à remarquer que nombre d’élèves avaient décroché pendant le confinement. De nombreux rappels ont été nécessaires en mathématiques. Cela s’est ressenti lors de la correction de l’épreuve à l’examen test local. Les exercices sur les deux chapitres faits après la reprise des cours ont été mieux compris par les apprenants comparés à ceux portant sur les chapitres vus avant la reprise (toute autre cause docimologique mise à part).

C- La stratégie globale de l’État dans le secondaire

Les responsables des enseignements du secondaire ont géré la période du confinement de façon proche en insistant sur l’enseignement à distance. Dans les zones urbaines ou accessibles par les ondes hertziennes ou le réseau téléphonique mobile/Internet, les élèves ont reçu des cours numériques par les réseaux sociaux, parfois des cours sur supports physiques, des cours en émissions radiophoniques ou télévisuels (notamment via la CRTV). Ceci induira, dans les années futures, un travail accru de remise à niveau de la part des enseignants dans des conditions délicates puisque l’épidémie ne semble pas prête de s’éteindre.

La grande leçon tirée par la communauté éducative de cette pandémie aura été de comprendre que « l’éducation devrait nous rendre résilients à des situations comme la pandémie actuelle et la crise climatique ». 

La stratégie globale pendant le confinement a été de privilégier l’utilisation des plates-formes numériques à distance, les émissions par médias télévisés ou radios et les réseaux sociaux, et même WhatsApp.

Au secondaire, des supports de cours ont été aussi mis à la disposition des apprenants sous forme numérique ou papier. Pour les classes ne présentant pas d’examens nationaux (appelées « classes intermédiaires »), le ministère des enseignements secondaires a décidé d’arrêter les cours en mars 2020 pour l’année académique 2019-2020.

Je prévois une plus grande difficulté dans les années futures dans l’enseignement secondaire quant à la prise en main avec remise à niveau des élèves venant des classes dites intermédiaires puisque le volume horaire alloué à chacune des matières aura peut­ être  tendance à diminuer, au vue des ressources (enseignants, salles de classes, temps …) limitées avec des groupes qui multiplient physiquement le nombre de salles de classe. 

De plus, la déperdition scolaire risque de s’aggraver] dans le secondaire avec, par exemple, la réduction du nombre d’élèves par classe (voir par exemple le nombre de 50 élèves par classe retenus au concours d’entrée en 6e  de l’enseignement général et en 1ère année de l’enseignement technique pour cette année 2020-2021) et la pauvreté ambiante en raison du ralentissement de l’activité économique.

L’État expérimente dans le secondaire une plate-forme de formation et révision à distance pour ses élèves avec des groupes Zoom. Les examens du Baccalauréat de la session 2021 ont connu des innovations comme l’annulation du système de note éliminatoire fixée à 5/20 dans les matières de base de chaque spécialité. Il faut noter que l’enseignement privé ne pratique pas vraiment le système de mi-temps avec ses effectifs réduits. Seul le public le fait et surtout pour les classes dites intermédiaires.

Références bibliographiques

  1. YT. Kouakep et al. COVID-19 modelling and caution in relaxing control measures and possibilities for multi peaks in Cameroon, AAM june 2021, https://www.researchgate.net/publication/342052588_COVID-19_modelling_and_caution_in_relaxing_control_measures_and_possibilities_for_multi_peaks_in_Cameroon, 2021.
  2. LP. Nono et TY Kouakep. Utilisation de l’environnement WIMS dans l’enseignement des mathématiques au secondaire : problèmes de formation et perception de l’utilité, Adjectif.net, Université Paris-Descartes, https://www.adjectif.net/spip/spip.php?article412, 05 décembre 2016.
  3. Unesco. COVID-19 – L’éducation, fondement d’une société juste dans le monde de l’après-COVID, https://fr.unesco.org/news/covid-19-leducation-fondement-dune-societe-juste-monde-lapres-covid, 09-06-2020, consulté le 22 juin 2020.
  4. Unesco. Reconstruire en mieux : après le COVID-19 : l’éducation doit changer pour répondre à la crise, https://fr.unesco.org/news/reconstruire-mieux-apres-covid-19-leducation-doit-changer-repondre-crise-climatique, 26-06-2020, consulté le 30 juin 2020.
  5. Unesco. Réouverture des écoles : quand, où et comment ?, https://fr.unesco.org/news/reouverture-ecoles-quand-ou-comment, 19-05-2020, consulté le 20 mai 2020.
  6. Unesco. COVID-19 : Ce que vous devez savoir sur l’éducation des réfugiés, https://fr.unesco.org/news/covid-19-ce-que-vous-devez-savoir-leducation-refugies, 09-07-2020, consulté le 10 juillet 2020.
  7. Vanessa Onana. Concours d’entrée en 6è, 50 admis autorisés par classe, CRTV-NEWS, www.crtv.cm/2020/07/133523 , 08-07-2020, consulté le 09 juillet 2020.

Le Dr Kouakep Tchaptchié Yannick  est actuellement Assistant de Mathématiques à l’Université de Ngaoundéré depuis le 2 janvier 2020 et ancien Inspecteur pédagogique. Il est aussi membre de l’équipe pédagogique des formateurs d’enseignants de terrain du projet AIMS-TTP du Ministère des Enseignements Secondaires et auteur de plusieurs articles sur la didactique des mathématiques, d’un chapitre de livre sur la promotion de langues nationales ou de travaux de mathématiques. Il promeut de nombreux projets d’aides aux élèves vulnérables.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct