ADVERTISEMENT

Succeed in your educational video

Whether for entertainment or information, millions of video sequences are viewed every day, via social networks. Education is also no exception to this phenomenon. Indeed, video has become one of the main methods of transmitting learning.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Whether for entertainment or information, millions of video sequences are viewed every day, via social networks. A phenomenon that spread quite quickly after the creation of YouTube in 2005. Indeed, according to recent statistics, it would be 400 hours uploaded every minute and a billion hours of video watched every day. . A disconcerting figure.

By Zohra Abbadi
Master 2 student Training engineering, educational technologies and communication, Mohammed Premier University Oujda-Maroc

Education is also no exception to this phenomenon. Indeed, video has become one of the main methods of transmitting learning objects to pupils and students of all ages. Thus, for the video to be able to be effectively put at the service of a pedagogical intention, a reflection on their development is necessary.

First, studies have shown that the maximum time to maintain learner attention is six minutes. It is therefore essential to produce videos of a shorter duration or to opt for interactive videos that capture the learner's attention beyond the six minutes of discovery, thus creating educational videos of a maximum duration of 15 minutes. In the event of courses requiring more time, the use of professionals is recommended to cut the video content.

Second, and based on the observation that videos for educational purposes allow better retention of information, we must think about maximizing the working memory of the learner, by calling on the two channels responsible for the acquisition and information processing: the visual canal and the auditory canal.

It has been proven, indeed, that using pictures accompanied by suitable sound promotes understanding and commitment to the lesson. A living sound, creating a kind of virtual conversation between teacher and learner.

Finally, in a study entitled "How video production affects student engagement" performed on 862 EdX course videos, Juho Kim emphasizes, among other things, that to design an effective educational video it is necessary that:

  • Videos incorporate the silhouette of the teacher when it comes to PowerPoint slideshows;
  • Videos are produced with a more personal touch;
  • The instructors speak fairly quickly and with great enthusiasm.

Your videos simply need life. Give it to them!

References

  • Mayer, RE (2008). Applying the science of learning: Evidence-based principles for the design of multimedia instruction. American Psychologist, 63 (8), 760-769.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Réussir sa vidéo éducative

Que ce soit pour se divertir ou s’informer, des millions de séquences vidéo sont visionnées chaque jour, via les réseaux sociaux. L’éducation n’échappe également pas à ce phénomène. En effet, la vidéo est devenue l’une des principales méthodes de transmission des apprentissages.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Que ce soit pour se divertir ou s’informer, des millions de séquences vidéo sont visionnées chaque jour, via les réseaux sociaux. Un phénomène qui s’est assez vite répandu après la création de YouTube en 2005. En effet, selon des statistiques récentes, il s’agirait de 400 heures mises en ligne chaque minute et d’un milliard d’heures de vidéo regardées chaque jour. Un chiffre déconcertant.

Par Zohra Abbadi
Étudiante en master 2 Ingénierie de la formation, technologies éducatives et communication, Université Mohammed Premier Oujda-Maroc

L’éducation n’échappe également pas à ce phénomène. En effet, la vidéo est devenue l’une des principales méthodes de transmission d’objets d’apprentissage vers des élèves et étudiants de tout âge. Ainsi, pour que la vidéo puisse être efficacement mise au service d’une intention pédagogique, une réflexion quant à leur élaboration s’avère nécessaire.

En premier lieu, des études ont démontré que la durée maximale pour maintenir l’attention de l’apprenant est de six minutes. Il est alors indispensable de réaliser des vidéos d’une durée qui en est inférieure ou d’opter pour des vidéos interactives qui captent l’attention de l’apprenant au-delà des six minutes de découverte, créant ainsi des vidéos éducatives d’une durée maximale de 15 minutes. En cas de cours nécessitant un temps plus important, le recours à des professionnels est recommandé pour réaliser un découpage du contenu de la vidéo.

En deuxième lieu, et partant du constat que les vidéos à but éducatif permettent une meilleure rétention de l’information, il faut penser à maximiser la mémoire de travail de l’apprenant, en faisant appel aux deux canaux responsables de l’acquisition et du traitement de l’information : le canal visuel et le canal auditif.

Il a été prouvé, en effet, qu’utiliser des images accompagnées d’un son adapté promeut la compréhension et l’engagement envers la leçon. Un son vivant, créant une sorte de conversation virtuelle entre l’enseignant et l’apprenant.

Enfin, dans une étude intitulée « How video production affects student engagement » réalisée sur 862 vidéos de cours EdX, Juho Kim souligne, entre autres, que pour concevoir une vidéo éducative efficace il faut que :

  • Les vidéos incorporent la silhouette de l’enseignant lorsqu’il s’agit de diaporamas PowerPoint;
  • Les vidéos soient produites avec une touche plus personnelle;
  • Les instructeurs parlent assez vite et avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme.

Vos vidéos ont tout simplement, besoin de vie. Donnez-en leur!

Références

  • Mayer, R. E. (2008). Applying the science of learning: Evidence-based principles for the design of multimedia instruction. American Psychologist, 63(8), 760-769.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :