ADVERTISEMENT

Return on the Digital Cafés in Atikamekw communities

Press release - The Atikamekw Nation Council (ANC) and the Digital Spring (DS) are continuing their efforts to provide access to new technologies and to make young people aware of the transformative possibilities of digital technology. Report on the second tour of the Digital Cafés held last September.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Communicated -  Our Council of the Atikamekw Nation (NAC) and the Digital spring (FN) are continuing their efforts to provide access to new technologies and raise awareness among youth of the transformative possibilities of digital technology. Following a first tour of Digital Cafés offered in three communities in 2019, a second tour was conducted last September, with the support of the employability sectors of the Atikamekw Councils of Opitciwan and Manawan.

Report on the Digital Café tour in the Atikamekw communities

  • 7 days: September 10 to 17, 2022
  • 1,720 km route
  • 2 communities:
    • Opitciwan
    • Manawan
  • 2 high schools:
    • Mikisiw High School
    • Otapi High School
  • 2 digital cafés
  • 1 coding initiation workshop
  • 288 participants aged 13 to 17

See the photo album of the activities at Mikisiw High School

See the photo album of the activities at Otapi High School

Teens were able to take advantage of experimentation spaces created by the NP to discover and deepen their knowledge of several technologies: 360˚ content projections and video games in a mobile dome, humanoid robot, drones, digital fabrication, and introductory coding workshop.

"The Digital Spring allows young people to see what's going on in the digital fields and to develop an interest in exploring further [...] They are the next leaders, so we hope that they can continue their studies outside to better return to the community and get jobs that are worthy of them," says the Principal of Mikisiw High School in Opitciwan.

"The students were able to see, manipulate and appreciate the tools that were made available to them. Manawan being relatively far from large urban centers, our students do not have the opportunity to be as close to new technologies. The presence of the Digital Spring makes it possible to democratize digital technology, because the proposed activities allow students to see that it is within everyone's reach," says Jacques Gueye, Assistant Principal of Otapi High School in Manawan.

Video of the Digital Café tour in the communities of Opitciwan and Manawan.

During the Digital Cafés, a space to learn about citizenship issues in the digital age was also made available to youth. Many had the chance to express their wishes on the possibilities offered by digital technology for the future.

"This will allow us to stay in touch, because many people have lost friends or family who have moved far away," shares Mikonis Mequish, a student at Mikisiw High School.


Digital Spring and the Atikamekw Nation Council are working together to offer structuring experiences to youth. Thus, a new employability program, allowing the development of skills and opening up to post-secondary training in the fields of digital creativity, will be developed over the next year.


"It is an honor for us to collaborate with the team of the Atikamekw Nation Council so that these activities are offered in the community. We are happy to welcome you. Mikwetc!", thanks Simone Awashish, Director of Social Development and Employment, Conseil des Atikamekw d'Opitciwan.


The Digital Cafés are a component of the Jeunesse QC 2030 project, supported by the Secrétariat à la jeunesse du Québec, which was developed to provide access to technology for young people between the ages of 13 and 29 and to better prevent the emergence of a "digital divide" among different populations.

Since the return of the Digital Spring youth activities in April 2022, a tour of the Digital Cafés in 4 regions of Quebec (Eastern Townships, Montreal, Mauricie and Lanaudière) has reached more than 4,037 youth aged 13 to 29including the Atikamekw youth.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Retour sur les Cafés numériques en communautés Atikamekw

Communiqué -  Le Conseil de la Nation Atikamekw (CNA) et le Printemps numérique (PN) poursuivent leurs efforts pour donner accès aux nouvelles technologies et sensibiliser les jeunes aux possibilités transformatrices du numérique. Bilan de la seconde tournée des Cafés numériques réalisée en septembre dernier.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Communiqué –  Le Conseil de la Nation Atikamekw (CNA) et le Printemps numérique (PN) poursuivent leurs efforts pour donner accès aux nouvelles technologies et sensibiliser les jeunes aux possibilités transformatrices du numérique. Suite à une première tournée de Cafés numériques offerte dans trois communautés en 2019, une seconde tournée a été réalisée en septembre dernier, avec le soutien des secteurs d’employabilité des Conseils Atikamekw d’Opitciwan et de Manawan.

Bilan de la tournée des Cafés numériques dans les communautés Atikamekw

  • 7 jours : du 10 au 17 septembre 2022
  • 1 720 km parcours
  • 2 communautés :
    • Opitciwan
    • Manawan
  • 2 écoles secondaires :
    • École secondaire Mikisiw
    • École secondaire Otapi
  • 2 cafés numériques
  • 1 atelier d’initiation au codage
  • 288 participants âges de 13 à 17 ans

Voir l’album photo des activités à l’École secondaire Mikisiw

Voir l’album photo des activités à l’École secondaire Otapi

Les adolescents ont pu bénéficier d’espaces d’expérimentation créés par le PN pour découvrir et approfondir leurs connaissances de plusieurs technologies : projections de contenu 360˚ et jeux vidéos dans un dôme mobile, robot humanoïde, drones, fabrication numérique et atelier d’initiation au codage.

« Le Printemps numérique permet aux jeunes de voir ce qui se passe dans les domaines du numérique et de développer l’intérêt pour explorer davantage […] Ce sont eux les prochains leaders, alors on souhaite qu’ils puissent poursuivre leurs études à l’extérieur pour mieux revenir dans la communauté et obtenir des emplois à leur hauteur. », affirme la Directrice de l’École secondaire Mikisiw à Opitciwan.

« Les jeunes ont pu voir, manipuler et apprécier les outils qui ont été mis à leur disposition. Manawan étant relativement éloigné de grands centres urbains, nos élèves n’ont pas l’occasion d’être aussi proches des nouvelles technologiques. La présence du Printemps numérique permet de démocratiser le numérique, car les activités proposées permettent aux élèves de voir que c’est à la portée de tous. », affirme Jacques Gueye, directeur adjoint de l’École secondaire Otapi à Manawan.

Vidéo de la tournée des Cafés numériques dans les communautés d’Opitciwan et de Manawan.

Lors des Cafés numériques, un espace pour s’informer sur les enjeux de citoyenneté à l’ère du numérique était également mis à la disposition des jeunes. Plusieurs ont eu la chance d’exprimer leurs souhaits sur les possibilités offertes par le numérique pour l’avenir.

« Cela nous permettra de rester en contact, parce que beaucoup de gens ont perdu des amis ou de la famille qui sont partis vivre très loin. », partage Mikonis Mequish, élève de l’École secondaire Mikisiw.


Le Printemps numérique et le Conseil de la Nation Atikamekw travaillent de concert dans l’objectif d’offrir des expériences structurantes aux jeunes. Ainsi, un nouveau programme en employabilité, permettant de développer des compétences et de s’ouvrir aux formations postsecondaires dans les domaines de la créativité numérique, sera développé au cours de la prochaine année.


« C’est un honneur pour nous de collaborer avec l’équipe du Conseil de la Nation Atikamekw à ce que ces activités soient offertes dans la communauté. Nous sommes heureux de vous accueillir. Mikwetc! », remercie Simone Awashish, Directrice du développement social et de l’emploi, Conseil des Atikamekw dOpitciwan.


Les Cafés numériques sont un volet du projet Jeunesse QC 2030, soutenu par le Secrétariat à la jeunesse du Québec, développé pour donner accès à la technologie aux jeunes entre 13 et 29 ans et mieux prévenir l’apparition d’une « fracture numérique » constatée au sein de différentes populations.

Depuis le retour des activités jeunesse en présentiel du Printemps numérique, en avril 2022, une tournée des Cafés numérique dans 4 régions du Québec (Estrie, Montréal, Mauricie et Lanaudière) a permis de toucher plus 4 037 jeunes âgés de 13 à 29 ans, incluant les jeunes Atikamekw.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :