Special Report of the Québec Ombudsman - For services adapted to the needs of students with social maladjustments or learning disabilities

Following an investigation into access to educational services that meet the needs of public school students, the Québec Ombudsman has issued 11 recommendations to the Ministère de l'Éducation du Québec (MÉQ). We present them in this article.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The Ombudsman, Marc-André Dowd, released the investigation report The student comes first, which provides a portrait of the supply, organization, and financing of complementary educational services for elementary school students with social maladjustments or learning disabilities (SED). Following an investigation into access to educational services that meet the needs of students in the public system, the Québec Ombudsman issued the following statement 11 recommendations to the Ministère de l'Éducation du Québec (MÉQ).

The Québec Ombudsman noted a lack of consistency between the real needs of students and the resources available to meet them, as well as a significant risk that students' rights to the complementary educational services they require are not being respected. These services, which include remedial education, psycho-education, speech therapy, special education, and psychology, make it possible to integrate AAC students into regular classes.

For more information, see the Highlights of the report or read the entire investigation report: The student comes first: for services adapted to the needs of students with special needs or learning difficulties.


List of recommendations

The Québec Ombudsman recommends that the Ministère de l'Éducation du Québec :

1- To develop, in collaboration with school organizations, a mechanism for monitoring vacancies for professional and support staff offering complementary educational services, allowing, in particular:

- The development and implementation of measures to enhance and fill these positions;

- The development of a strategy to ensure that students have access to needed services in a timely manner.

2- To prepare, in collaboration with the school community, a guide for the development and implementation of intervention plans that will, among other things, emphasize the various ways in which parents and students can participate in the development and monitoring of their IEP, depending on their particular situation.

3- To develop, with school stakeholders, a national reference framework on the roles and responsibilities of the various positions in educational services, including, among other things, the development and monitoring of intervention plans, multidisciplinary teamwork and the provision of complementary educational services.

4- To develop, in collaboration with its partners in the school network, stakeholders and actors in the school community, an offer of continuing education activities based on the needs of teachers in relation to the needs of ACD students.

5- Determine, in collaboration with its partners in the school network, stakeholders, experts and actors in the school community, the modalities and means of making continuing education activities related to AAC students accessible to teachers, while basing the evaluation of their relevance, timeliness and effectiveness on evidence and on the needs of teachers.

6- Review the funding model for complementary educational services and the accountability procedures, by setting up a working group with experts and stakeholders in the school network. Funding should be based on the real needs of students with special needs.

R-7 To ensure, once the new funding model is adopted :
- Educate school organizations on these directions to ensure understanding of
community;
- To accompany school organizations in the implementation of these new frameworks.

8- When reviewing the funding model, ensure that it meets the needs of students from disadvantaged backgrounds who attend schools in advantaged or less disadvantaged areas.

9- Establish, following consultations with the various players in the educational community, experts and stakeholders and after analysis of the evidence, a minimum threshold of services offered to students with special needs across the province. This threshold should ensure that every elementary school student can receive the services he or she needs at the appropriate time, regardless of the school organization or the school they attend.

10- Ensure that funding for the minimum threshold of services is predictable and sustainable.

11- To ensure that the minimum threshold of services can vary according to the prevalence of students' special needs and be indexed according to system costs, while respecting the evidence and findings from the school environment.


Follow-up of recommendations

The Québec Ombudsman requests that the Ministère de l'Éducation send it, by September 1, 2022, a work plan indicating the actions chosen and the proposed timetable for implementing each of the recommendations in this report.

The Québec Ombudsman also asked the Ministère de l'Éducation to follow up on the status of implementation of the recommendations by January 30, 2023, and thereafter according to a schedule to be agreed upon.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Rapport spécial du Protecteur du citoyen – Pour des services adaptés aux besoins des élèves en difficulté d’adaptation ou d’apprentissage

Au terme d'une enquête portant sur l'accès, pour les élèves du réseau public, à des services éducatifs répondant à leurs besoins, le Protecteur du citoyen émet 11 recommandations à l'intention du ministère de l'Éducation du Québec (MÉQ). Nous vous les présentons dans cet article.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Le protecteur du citoyen, Marc-André Dowd, a rendu public le rapport d’enquête L’élève avant tout, qui brosse un portrait de l’offre, de l’organisation et du financement des services éducatifs complémentaires destinés aux élèves du primaire en difficulté d’adaptation ou d’apprentissage (DAA). Au terme d’une enquête portant sur l’accès, pour les élèves du réseau public, à des services éducatifs répondant à leurs besoins, le Protecteur du citoyen émet 11 recommandations à l’intention du ministère de l’Éducation du Québec (MÉQ).

Le Protecteur du citoyen a constaté un manque d’arrimage entre les besoins réels des élèves et les ressources pour y répondre, ainsi qu’un risque important de non-respect des droits des élèves aux services éducatifs complémentaires qui leur sont nécessaires. Ces services, notamment ceux d’orthopédagogie, de psychoéducation, d’orthophonie, d’éducation spécialisée ou de psychologie, permettent entre autres d’intégrer les élèves DAA en classe ordinaire.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les Faits saillants du rapport ou lisez le rapport d’enquête en entier : L’élève avant tout : pour des services adaptés aux besoins des élèves en difficulté d’adaptation ou d’apprentissage.


Liste des recommandations

Le Protecteur du citoyen recommande au ministère de l’Éducation du Québec :

1- De se doter, en collaboration avec les organismes scolaires, d’un mécanisme de suivi des vacances de postes pour le personnel professionnel et le personnel de soutien offrant des services éducatifs complémentaires permettant notamment :

• Le développement et la mise en place de mesures pour valoriser et pourvoir ces postes;

• L’élaboration d’une stratégie permettant d’assurer que les élèves aient accès aux services requis au moment opportun.

2- De préparer, en collaboration avec les acteurs du milieu scolaire, un guide d’élaboration et de mise en œuvre des plans d’intervention qui devra, notamment, mettre l’accent sur les différentes modalités de participation des parents et des élèves à l’élaboration et au suivi de leur PI, selon leur situation particulière.

3- D’élaborer, avec les acteurs du milieu scolaire, un référentiel national sur les rôles et responsabilités des différents postes en services éducatifs incluant, entre autres, l’élaboration et le suivi des plans d’intervention, le travail en équipe multidisciplinaire et le moment d’offrir des services éducatifs complémentaires.

4- De développer, en collaboration avec ses partenaires du réseau scolaire, des parties prenantes et des acteurs des milieux scolaires, une offre d’activités de formation continue fondée sur les besoins des enseignantes en lien avec les besoins des élèves DAA.

5- De déterminer, en collaboration avec ses partenaires du réseau scolaire, des parties prenantes, des experts et des acteurs du milieu scolaire, les modalités et les moyens de rendre accessibles aux enseignantes les activités de formation continue en lien avec les élèves DAA, tout en basant l’évaluation de leur pertinence, opportunité et efficacité sur des données probantes et sur les besoins des enseignantes.

6- De revoir le modèle de financement des services éducatifs complémentaires et les modalités de reddition de comptes, en composant un groupe de travail avec des expertes et experts et des acteurs du réseau scolaire. Le financement devrait être basé sur les besoins réels des élèves HDAA.

R-7 De s’assurer, une fois le nouveau modèle de financement adopté :
• De former les organismes scolaires sur ces orientations afin d’assurer une compréhension
commune;
• D’accompagner les organismes scolaires pour la mise en place de ces nouveaux encadrements.

8- De s’assurer, lors de la révision du modèle de financement, que celui-ci répond aux besoins des élèves issus de milieux défavorisés qui fréquentent une école dans un milieu favorisé ou moins défavorisé.

9- D’établir, à la suite de consultations des différents acteurs du milieu éducatif, d’experts et de parties prenantes et au terme de l’analyse de données probantes, un seuil minimal de services offerts aux élèves HDAA à travers la province. Ce seuil devrait permettre de garantir que chaque élève de niveau primaire puisse recevoir les services dont il ou elle a besoin au moment opportun, et ce, indépendamment de l’organisme scolaire ou de l’école fréq

10- De s’assurer que le financement du seuil minimal de services soit prévisible et pérenne.

11- De s’assurer que le seuil minimal de services puisse varier selon la prévalence des besoins particuliers des élèves et soit indexé selon les coûts de système et ce, dans le respect des données probantes et des constats issus des milieux scolaires.


Suivi des recommandations

Le Protecteur du citoyen demande au ministère de l’Éducation de lui faire parvenir, au plus tard le 1er septembre 2022, un plan de travail indiquant les actions choisies et l’échéancier proposé pour la mise en œuvre de chacune des recommandations du présent rapport.

De plus, le Protecteur du citoyen demande au ministère de l’Éducation de lui faire un suivi de l’état d’avancement de l’implantation des recommandations au 30 janvier 2023, puis selon un échéancier à convenir.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :