When we compare… Canada 22nd in the use of ICT

CEFRIO tells us that according to the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), Canada ranks 22nd in the world in terms of its ICT Development Index (IDI). This is not enough to make the country a leader in the use of ICT, says the Quebec organization.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

CEFRIO tells us that according to the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), Canada arrives at 22e world rank in its ICT Development Index (IDI). It is not enough for make the country a leader in the use of ICT, says the Quebec organization.

This index takes into account the level of access, the level of use and the level of competence in the use of ICT. Moreover, “it does not correspond to the results of rankings produced by the World Wide Web Foundation (and its Web Index), the World Economic Forum or even United Nations, which placed Canada at the top of the ranking in terms of digital use, ”explains CEFRIO in a strategic watch bulletin that we invite you to consult for more details.

“South Korea ranks first in the 2011 IDI index, followed by Sweden, Denmark, Iceland and a good majority of European countries. The United States is ranked 15th, ”says CEFRIO. For the organization, Canada's position is therefore relatively bad. Indeed, he estimates that the number of fixed and mobile Internet subscriptions, as well as the level of speed and equipment, remain insufficient in comparison with certain other developed countries.

At the end of 2011, the world had no less than 2.3 billion Internet users, or nearly one in three people.

 

Mobile telephony is expensive with us!
A little nod to mobile telephony… The study, entitled Measuring the Information Society, the results of which were published in October 2012, made a table of the average monthly costs paid for subscribing to a mobile phone service. Canada leads the world ranking, with an average of 61 US $ per month in 2010. The United States follows, with an average of 50 $. The world average is between 20 and 30 $ per month.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Quand on se compare… Le Canada 22e dans l’utilisation des TIC

Le CEFRIO nous apprend que selon l’Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT), le Canada arrive au 22e rang mondial quant à son Indice de développement des TIC (IDI). Ce n’est pas suffisant pour faire du pays un leader en utilisation des TIC, affirme l’organisme québécois.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Le CEFRIO nous apprend que selon l’Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT), le Canada arrive au 22e rang mondial quant à son Indice de développement des TIC (IDI). Ce n’est pas suffisant pour faire du pays un leader en utilisation des TIC, affirme l’organisme québécois.

Cet indice tient compte du niveau d’accès, du niveau d’utilisation et du niveau de compétence dans l’utilisation des TIC. D’ailleurs, « il ne correspond pas aux résultats des classements produits par la World Wide Web Foundation (et son Web Index), du Forum économique mondial ou encore des Nations Unies, qui plaçaient le Canada dans le haut du classement en terme d’utilisation du numérique », explique le CEFRIO dans un bulletin de veille stratégique que nous vous invitons à consulter pour obtenir plus de détails.

« La Corée du Sud occupe la première place au classement de l’indice IDI 2011, suivie de la Suède, du Danemark, de l’Islande et d’une bonne majorité des pays européens. Les États-Unis sont classés 15e », indique le CEFRIO. Pour l’organisme, la position du Canada est donc relativement mauvaise. En effet, il estime que le nombre d’abonnements à Internet fixe et mobile, ainsi que le niveau de débit et d’équipements, restent insuffisants en comparaison avec certains autres pays développés.

À la fin de l’année 2011, le monde comptait pas moins de 2,3 milliards d’internautes, soit près d’une personne sur 3.

 

La téléphonie mobile, ça coûte cher chez nous!
Petit clin d’œil à la téléphonie mobile… L’étude, intitulée Measuring the Information Society, dont les résultats ont été publiés en octobre 2012, a fait un tableau des coûts mensuels moyens payés pour l’abonnement à un service de téléphonie mobile. Le Canada arrive en tête du classement mondial, avec une moyenne de 61 $ US par mois en 2010. Les Etats-Unis suivent, avec 50 $ en moyenne. La moyenne mondiale se situe entre 20 et 30 $ par mois.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :