When the children's album without text leads to the written word

Here is a stimulating project in which digital technology becomes a lever and which offers students the possibility of wandering in the heart of their imagination thanks to children's books without text. At the end of the article, you will find a list of proposed albums to experience it yourself!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Here is a stimulating project in which digital technology becomes a lever and which offers students the possibility of wandering in the heart of their imagination thanks to children's books without text. At the end of the article, you will find a list of proposed albums to experience it yourself!

In the framework of the last meeting Research at a Glancethe École en réseau (ÉER) invited participants to discover the Children's literature: a treasure to exploit. It was presented by Sophie Nadeau-Tremblay, ERA resource teacher, and Pascale Thériault and Stéphane Allaire, both professors at the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC).

Why the children's album without text?

The textless book offers teachers the opportunity to work on visual literacy with students. Since there is no text, the illustration is at the heart of the learning process, offering students the opportunity to wander through their imagination. The absence of text provides an artistic dimension to the session. By looking at the colors, the shapes, the faces of the characters... the students instinctively start to imagine the conversations between the characters.

In addition, the textless album makes the student more active because he is constantly looking for visual clues to understand the story. By opening the conversation, the teacher works with the students on the oral skills to be developed. Students take turns talking about what the pictures mean to them and what they think they can guess about the story. The discussion immediately becomes stimulating in class and everyone gradually works on structuring their thoughts, while expressing themselves more and more clearly.

The children's album without text as a tool for co-elaboration in writing

In the project, the presenters explained that the textless children's book was used as a tool for student co-construction. This means that students worked together to make sense of a story that was only illustrated. The project thus became a springboard to writing as students thought together about the meaning they would give to the story and then write individually.

Contribution to teaching practice

The teachers who participated in the project proposed the software Knowledge Forum as a collaborative platform for student/teacher exchange and work. Indeed, the latter offers a secure access while preserving the discussions and exchanges. Thus, the use of textless albums combined with the Knowledge Forum platform opens up a field of exploration of new proposals. In the classroom, the "we" takes on its full meaning, explained the presenters. This means that after the discussion, students realize that they have understood the story as a group, not on their own. The software allowed the teachers to push the work to the analysis of the texts. This step is often under-exploited due to lack of time.

In this Google Drive documentYou will find a selection of textless books to use with your students.

To review the discussion: 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Fatimazzahra Benchekri
Fatimazzahra is a master's student in educational technology at Laval University. Passionate about reading and writing, she has decided to devote her time to writing in a field in which she feels she is growing, education. With a background in journalism and political science, Fatimazzahra sees education as an ever-changing field where anyone is welcome to share their ideas and motivations.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Quand l’album jeunesse sans texte mène à l’écrit

Voici un projet stimulant dans lequel le numérique devient un levier et qui offre aux élèves la possibilité de se balader au cœur de leur imagination grâce aux albums jeunesse sans texte. Retrouvez à la fin de l’article un répertoire d’albums proposés pour le vivre vous aussi!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Voici un projet stimulant dans lequel le numérique devient un levier et qui offre aux élèves la possibilité de se balader au cœur de leur imagination grâce aux albums jeunesse sans texte. Retrouvez à la fin de l’article un répertoire d’albums proposés pour le vivre vous aussi!

Dans le cadre du dernier rendez-vous Clin d’œil sur la recherche, l’École en réseau (ÉER) avait convié les participants à découvrir le projet Littérature jeunesse : un trésor à exploiter. Il a été présenté par Sophie Nadeau-Tremblay, enseignante ressource de l’ÉER, ainsi que Pascale Thériault et Stéphane Allaire, tous deux professeurs à l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC).

Pourquoi l’album jeunesse sans texte?

L’album sans texte offre aux enseignants la possibilité de travailler la littératie visuelle avec les élèves. Puisqu’il n’y a pas de texte, l’illustration est au cœur des apprentissages, offrant aux élèves la possibilité de se balader au cœur de leur imagination. L’absence de texte offre une dimension artistique à la séance. En regardant les couleurs, les formes, les visages des personnages… les élèves se mettent instinctivement à imaginer les conversations entre les personnages.

De plus, l’album sans texte rend l’élève plus actif car il est perpétuellement à la recherche d’indices visuels pour comprendre l’histoire. En ouvrant la conversation, l’enseignant travaille avec ses élèves sur les compétences orales à développer. Chacun leur tour, les élèves parlent de ce que les images évoquent pour eux et de ce qu’ils pensent deviner de l’histoire. La discussion devient tout de suite stimulante en classe et tous travaillent petit à petit à structurer leur pensée, tout en s’exprimant de plus en plus clairement.

L’album jeunesse sans texte comme outil de coélaboration à l’écrit

Dans le cadre du projet, les présentateurs ont expliqué que l’album jeunesse sans texte avait été utilisé comme outil de coélaboration entre les élèves. Cela signifie que les élèves ont travaillé ensemble pour donner un sens à une histoire uniquement illustrée. Le projet est donc devenu un tremplin vers l’écrit puisque les élèves ont pensé ensemble au sens qu’ils allaient donner à l’histoire et qu’ils devraient ensuite écrire individuellement.

L’apport à la pratique enseignante

Les enseignantes ayant participé au projet ont proposé le logiciel Knowledge Forum comme plateforme collaborative d’échange et de travail élève/enseignant. En effet, ce dernier offre un accès sécurisé tout en gardant précieusement les discussions et les échanges. Ainsi, l’usage des albums sans texte jumelé à la plateforme Knowledge Forum ouvre un champ d’exploration de nouvelles propositions. Au sein de la classe, le « nous » prend tout son sens, ont expliqué les présentateurs. Cela signifie qu’après les échanges, les élèves se rendent compte que c’est en groupe qu’ils ont compris l’histoire, et non chacun de leur côté. Le logiciel a permis aux enseignantes de pousser le travail jusqu’à l’analyse des textes. Une étape souvent sous-exploitée en raison du manque de temps.

Dans ce document Google Drive, vous trouverez tout un choix d’albums sans texte à utiliser avec vos élèves.

Pour revoir la discussion : 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Fatimazzahra Benchekri
Fatimazzahra est étudiante à la maîtrise en technologie éducative à l’université Laval. Passionnée par la lecture et la rédaction, elle a décidé de consacrer son temps à écrire dans un domaine au sein duquel elle se sent grandir, l’éducation. Ayant une expérience dans le journalisme et dans le monde des sciences politiques, Fatimazzahra voit en l’éducation un champ d’action en perpétuelle mouvance où toute personne est la bienvenue à partager ses idées et ses motivations.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :