Split screen: demystifying the world of video games

Founded by young Montreal entrepreneur Marc Shakour, Shared Screen is a bilingual online video game guide that aims to help parents (and educators) better understand the world of video games while guiding their children's and young people's play.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Founded by young Montreal entrepreneur Marc Shakour, Shared Screen is a bilingual online video game guide that aims to help parents (and educators) better understand the world of video games while guiding their children's and young people's play.

"When it comes to movies, there are websites with directories that rank movies based on many criteria. For video games, there was no such directory. I wanted to fill that gap to inform families, because many of my relatives were asking me a lot of questions about it."

It must be said that Marc Shakour knows a lot about video games. He has always been an enthusiast. He has programmed them. He has participated in competitions and written articles about them on Multijoueur.ca and RDS Jeux Vidéo. He now teaches their programming at the School of Digital Arts, Animation and Design (NAD), for the University of Quebec at Chicoutimi (UQAC). Launched in 2021, Écran partagé is a bilingual guide that he developed while training in business start-up.

Better describe the games

On which consoles is a game available? What is the difficulty level? Is there any violence? What level of language is used? "Games may be identified as "for everyone", but do you have to be able to read to play them? If so, the parent should expect to play with their preschooler. But that kind of information is not usually provided."

Marc has set up a real directory of video games. For each game (his site has more than 160 at the moment), a sheet allows you to describe it according to many criteria: release date, developer, type of game, average length of a game, number of players, economic model, etc. It classifies the games by age categories: 3 years old and up, 7 years old and up, 12 years old and up, 16 years old and up, 18 years old and up; and also by type of console.

Example of a game sheet.

It also gives comments to inform the neophytes about the games. The level of difficulty, the violence and nudity, the level of language, the positive message (or not) behind the game, the level of reading, the additional costs, the minimum level of execution on the controller are presented. His goal is to offer the most accurate and complete picture of each game.

To popularize the world of video games

On the site Shared screenHe also presents articles that popularize and explain the world of video games and the associated terms. He has developed a glossary very complete, it proposes interviews with people in the industry to promote different types of careers for youth. He also collaborates with other professionals who present articles on the psychology (e.g., brain development and video games).  
Moreover, a Facebook group has just been created to allow adults to ask their questions, to exchange on their children's screen time, on the video games they play. Marc is present in the group to give advice and recommendations. "It's all about balance. The more adults understand this world, the better equipped they will be to accompany young people."

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Écran partagé : démystifier l’univers du jeu vidéo

Fondé par le jeune entrepreneur de Montréal, Marc Shakour, le site Écran partagé est un guide de jeux vidéo en ligne bilingue qui a pour mission d’aider les parents (et les éducateurs) à mieux comprendre cet univers tout en guidant la pratique de leurs enfants et des jeunes de leur entourage.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Fondé par le jeune entrepreneur de Montréal, Marc Shakour, le site Écran partagé est un guide de jeux vidéo en ligne bilingue qui a pour mission d’aider les parents (et les éducateurs) à mieux comprendre cet univers tout en guidant la pratique de leurs enfants et des jeunes de leur entourage.

« Lorsqu’il est question de films, on retrouve des sites Web avec des répertoires qui classent les films en fonction de nombreux critères. Pour les jeux vidéo, ce type de répertoire était inexistant. J’ai voulu combler cette lacune pour informer les familles, parce que plusieurs de mes proches me posaient beaucoup de questions à ce sujet. »

Il faut dire que Marc Shakour s’y connaît en jeux vidéo. Il est un passionné depuis toujours. Il en a programmé. Il a participé à des compétitions et il a écrit des articles à leurs sujets sur Multijoueur.ca et RDS Jeux Vidéo. Il enseigne aujourd’hui leur programmation à l’École des arts numériques, de l’animation et du design (NAD), pour l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC). Lancé en 2021, Écran partagé est un guide bilingue qu’il a développé alors qu’il suivait une formation en lancement d’entreprise.

Mieux décrire les jeux

Sur quelles consoles un jeu est-il disponible? Quel est le niveau de difficulté? Y a-t-il de la violence? Quel est le niveau de langage utilisé? « Des jeux peuvent être identifiés comme étant “pour tous”, mais faut-il savoir lire pour y jouer? Si oui, le parent doit s’attendre à jouer avec son enfant d’âge préscolaire. Mais ce genre d’information n’est généralement pas fourni. »

Marc a donc mis en place un véritable répertoire de jeux vidéo. Pour chacun (son site en compte plus de 160 en ce moment), une fiche permet de le décrire en fonction de nombreux critères : date de sortie, développeur, type de jeu, durée moyenne d’une partie, nombre de joueurs, modèle économique, etc. Il classe les jeux par catégories d’âges : 3 ans et plus, 7 ans et plus, 12 ans et plus, 16 et plus, 18 ans et plus; et par type de console également.

Exemple de fiche de jeux.

Il donne aussi des commentaires pour renseigner les néophytes au sujet des jeux. Le niveau de difficulté, la violence et la nudité, le niveau de langage, le message positif (ou non) derrière le jeu, le niveau de lecture, les coûts supplémentaires, le niveau d’exécution minimum à la manette sont présentés. Son objectif est d’offrir le portrait le plus juste et complet de chaque jeu.

Vulgariser l’univers du jeu vidéo

Sur le site Écran partagé, il présente aussi des articles qui vulgarisent et expliquent l’univers des jeux vidéo ainsi que les termes associés. Il a développé un glossaire très complet, il propose des entrevues avec des gens de l’industrie afin de faire connaître différents types de carrières possibles pour les jeunes. Il collabore aussi avec d’autres professionnels qui présentent des articles sur la psychologie (ex. développement du cerveau et jeux vidéo).  
Par ailleurs, un groupe Facebook vient tout juste d’être créé afin de permettre aux adultes de poser leurs questions, d’échanger sur les temps d’écran de leurs enfants, sur les jeux vidéo auxquels ils jouent. Marc est présent dans le groupe afin de donner des conseils et recommandations. « Tout est une question d’équilibre. Plus les adultes comprendront cet univers, mieux ils seront outillés pour accompagner les jeunes. »

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :