The #Édubrèves - June 21, 2022 edition

Here are the #Edubrèves of the week. In this edition: the 4th Digital Literacy Day, the winners of the Canadian Financial Literacy Challenge, the new Canadian Network of Playful Schools, an Aboriginal escape game, a series of podcasts on sexuality in the digital age, and much more!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Happy Tuesday! Here are the #Edubrèves of the week. Feel free to share them or write to me if you have any news to share.

In this issue: the 4th Digital Literacy Day, the winners of the Canadian Financial Literacy Challenge, the new Canadian Network of Playful Schools, an Aboriginal Escape Game, a series of podcasts on sexuality in the digital age, and much more!

Good reading.

Please note that the use of animated GIFs in this short news digest is for entertainment purposes only!


4th Digital Education Day

Mark your calendars! The fourth edition of Digital Education Day will take place on November 4, 2022. This event is primarily intended for teachers, educational consultants and school administrators from public and private networks, as well as Aboriginal education organizations.

Learn more about the previous editions.


Winners of the Canadian Financial Literacy Challenge

The Canadian Foundation for Economic Education and its partner, CIBC, announced the winners of the My Money Matters Canadian Financial Literacy Challenge. High school students, aged 14 to 18, were challenged to create new tools and resources to help young Canadians improve their financial knowledge and skills.

The first place winners are Laïla Lescot, Sarah Leshob and Elena Feddog from Montreal, Quebec. They share a 10 000 $ scholarship.

Listen to them talk about their project.

Check out their final project: a magazine on financial education (in English).

Second place goes to Dayna Xiao of Kanata, Ontario. She received a scholarship of 5,000 $. Danika Nell from Boissevain, Manitoba received the 3rd place award of 2,500 $.

The winning designs and those of the regional candidates are presented on the website mymoneymyfuturechallenge.ca (in English). Some resources are available in French on this site moneyforsake.ca. It also provides teachers, parents and youth with the opportunity to learn about money issues, develop financial skills and become better equipped to build a successful financial future.


Call for papers launched for the 5th Symposium

The 5th Symposium on Knowledge Transfer in Education will be held on April 19, 2023 at Laval University and online. The theme will be adaptation. A call for papers has just been launched for practitioners and researchers who wish to share their experiences or knowledge related to this topic.

The theme of adaptation will be addressed from three perspectives: Adaptation in a time of pandemic: what do we want to keep, Adaptation at the heart of health and wellness, Adaptation in the information and data age.  

Discover the call for papers. The call is open until the fall, but space is limited. 


The New Canadian Play School Network (CPNS)

Funded by a grant of the LEGO Foundation and led by education researchers at the University of Ottawa, the RCÉL is a newly established network of English- and French-language public schools across Canada that promote learning through play for students in the middle grades - Grades 2 and 3 and Secondary 1 in Quebec, and Grades 4 to 8 in the other Canadian provinces.

The new network is currently recruiting schools to join its ranks. The deadline to submit your application is July 8, 2022. Full details can be found at : https://playjouer.ca/fr/.


Agribusiness comes to school

The Agri-Foods Goes to School (AAIE) educational project will be rolled out to nine additional schools. The AAIE program aims to awaken children to the reality of the agricultural world. It allows them to become aware of the importance of eating better while helping them discover Quebec products and the importance of consuming locally.

Read the press release.


In bulk

To read

  • A Native Escape Game to Raise Awareness of the Sixties Roundup A virtual escape game developed by an Alberta team features a survivor of the 1960s roundup to educate players about the realities of this chapter of Canadian history.
  • Garneau school vibrates with robots: For the past few years, all the students at Garneau Elementary School have been doing robotics. 

To listen

Know yourself

To discover

  • UQAT training on Aboriginal issues open to all The Continuing Education Department of the Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue (UQAT) is now offering Aboriginal Peoples 101: Nita kikenimicinam, or "Get to know us" in Anicinapemowin.

In closing, enjoy the summer!

If you want even more, you can (re)see last week's #Édubrèves.

See you soon! Don't hesitate to tag us on Twitter (@millaudrey or @riomarti) so we can talk about your project/resource in an upcoming review of the week! Have a great week.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les #Édubrèves – édition du 21 juin 2022

Voici les #Édubrèves de la semaine. Dans cette édition : la 4e Journée du numérique en éducation, les gagnants du Défi canadien de l'éducation financières, le nouveau Réseau canadien des écoles ludiques, un jeu d'évasion autochtone, une série de balado sur la sexualité à l'ère du numérique, et bien plus!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Bon mardi! Voici les #Édubrèves de la semaine. N’hésitez pas à les partager ou à m’écrire si vous avez des nouvelles à faire circuler.

Dans cette édition : la 4e Journée du numérique en éducation, les gagnants du Défi canadien de l’éducation financières, le nouveau Réseau canadien des écoles ludiques, un jeu d’évasion autochtone, une série de balado sur la sexualité à l’ère du numérique, et bien plus!

Bonne lecture.

Attention, l’usage de GIF animés dans ce condensé de nouvelles brèves est à des fins de divertissement seulement!


4e Journée du numérique en éducation

À vos agendas! La quatrième édition de la Journée du numérique en éducation se déroulera le 4 novembre 2022. Cet événement est destiné principalement aux enseignantes et enseignants, aux conseillères et conseillers pédagogiques et aux gestionnaires scolaires des réseaux publics et privés, ainsi qu’à ceux des organisations autochtones en éducation.

En savoir plus sur les éditions précédentes.


Les gagnants du Défi canadien de l’éducation financière

La Fondation canadienne d’éducation économique et son partenaire, la Banque CIBC, ont annoncé les gagnants du Défi canadien de l’éducation financière Mon argent, mon avenir. Ce sont des étudiants du secondaire, âgés de 14 à 18 ans, qui ont été mis au défi de créer de nouveaux outils et ressources pour aider les jeunes Canadiens à améliorer leurs connaissances et leurs capacités financières.

Les gagnantes de la première place sont Laïla Lescot, Sarah Leshob et Elena Feddog de Montréal (Québec). Elles se partagent une bourse de 10 000 $.

Écoutez-les parler de leur projet (en anglais).

Regardez leur projet final : un magazine sur l’éducation financière (en anglais).

La deuxième place revient à Dayna Xiao de Kanata (Ontario). Elle reçoit une bourse de 5 000 $. Danika Nell de Boissevain (Manitoba) a reçu le 3e prix et reçoit 2 500 $.

Les créations gagnantes et celles des candidats régionaux sont présentées sur le site Web mymoneymyfuturechallenge.ca (en anglais). Certaines ressources sont disponibles en français sur ce site defimonargentmonavenir.ca. À l’intention des enseignants, des parents et des jeunes, il permet aussi de se renseigner sur les questions d’argent, d’acquérir des compétences financières et d’être mieux à même de se bâtir un bel avenir financier.


Lancement de l’appel à communications pour le 5e Symposium

Le 5e Symposium sur le transfert de connaissances en éducation se tiendra le 19 avril 2023 à l’Université Laval et en ligne. La thématique abordée sera celle de l’adaptation. Un appel à communications vient d’être lancé pour les praticiens et chercheurs qui souhaitent partager leurs expériences ou leurs connaissances en lien avec ce sujet.

Le thème de l’adaptation sera traité sous trois angles : L’adaptation en temps de pandémie : que voulons-nous garder?, L’adaptation au cœur de la santé et du bien-être, L’adaptation à l’ère de l’information et des données.  

Découvrez l’appel à communications. L’appel est ouvert jusqu’à l’automne, mais les places sont limitées. 


Le nouveau Réseau canadien des écoles ludiques (RCÉL)

Financé par une subvention de la Fondation LEGO et dirigé par des chercheures et chercheurs en éducation de l’Université d’Ottawa, le RCÉL est un réseau nouvellement établi d’écoles publiques de langue française et anglaise de partout au Canada qui favorisent l’apprentissage par le jeu pour les élèves des années intermédiaires, soient les 2e et 3e cycles du primaire et le 1er cycle du secondaire au Québec, et la 4e à la 8e année dans les autres provinces canadiennes.

Le nouveau réseau est actuellement en recrutement d’écoles pour rejoindre ses rangs. La date limite pour soumettre votre demande est le 8 juillet 2022. Tous les détails se trouvent sur le site : https://playjouer.ca/fr/.


L’agroalimentaire s’invite à l’école

Le projet éducatif L’agroalimentaire s’invite à l’école (AAIE) sera déployé dans neuf établissements scolaires supplémentaires. Le programme AAIE vise à éveiller les enfants à la réalité du monde de l’agriculture. Ainsi, il leur permet de prendre conscience de l’importance de mieux se nourrir tout en leur faisant découvrir les produits québécois et l’importance de consommer localement.

Lire le communiqué de presse.


En vrac

À lire

  • Un jeu d’évasion autochtone pour sensibiliser à la rafle des années soixante : Un jeu d’évasion virtuel conceptualisé par une équipe albertaine met en scène une survivante de la rafle des années soixante pour sensibiliser les joueurs aux réalités de ce chapitre de l’histoire canadienne.
  • L’école Garneau vibre avec les robots : Depuis quelques années, tous les élèves de l’école primaire Garneau font de la robotique. 

À écouter

Se connaître

À découvrir


En terminant, profitez bien de l’été!

Si vous en voulez encore plus, vous pouvez (re)voir les #Édubrèves de la semaine dernière.

On se retrouve bientôt! N’hésitez pas d’ici là à nous « tagguer » (en bon français…) sur Twitter (@millaudrey ou @riomarti) pour que nous parlions de votre projet/ressource dans une prochaine revue de la semaine! Passez une excellente semaine.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :