Posted in:

When the pyramid of the RAI model ends up upside down

Marie-Ève Gagnon, project manager for the deployment of the Digital Action Plan, presents her team's experience in developing teachers' digital skills. This is inspired by the Response to Intervention (RAI) model.
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

You might also like:



The response to intervention model (RAI) is an approach intended to counter the phenomenon of late intervention with students in difficulty, as reported by the RIRE thematic dossier.

By Marie-Ève Gagnon
Director - project manager for the deployment of the PAN
Navigators School Board

Short summary of the RAI model

This approach has been used for several years now and is based on various components such as effective teaching, early intervention, screening and monitoring, intensification of intervention and problem solving. 

Whether in terms of learning or behavior, the pyramid that illustrates this model aims to describe the strategies, means and interventions that best meet the needs of students and promote their success. 

  • Level 1, the base of the pyramid, wants to meet about 80% of needs. These are universal measures to be put in place to ensure the progress of each student.
  • Level 2, the central part wishes to offer targeted education according to more specific needs not met by the universal measures put in place beforehand. About 15% of students have this type of need.
  • Level 3, the top of the pyramid, aims to put in place directed and intensive measures, adapted to the persistent needs of approximately 5% of the pupils.

In short, this approach implies that for all students, we start from the base of the pyramid, from the implementation of universal methods to promote success, and that, if the student is making little or no progress, we climbs to the top, planning specific and adapted measures.

The RAI model and the development of digital competence for teachers

As project manager for the deployment of the Digital Action Plan in Education, two theoretical frameworks mainly guided me to think about the support of the exploratory project with teachers. 

  • First, the Coherence framework proposed by Fullan and Quinn which presents the effective drivers to be put into action for effective change in education.
  • My second reference was from the start to try to stick to the RAI model. On the other hand, if the coherence framework could be transposed practically as it is, this second referent had to be explored, tested, rethought and finally reversed 180 degrees. Let me explain…

The exploratory project carried out with a network of primary and secondary schools (a 2nd cycle secondary school and all primary and secondary schools that share the same client base), during the 2018-2019 school year allowed explore the best avenues to support teachers in integrating digital technology into their teaching. It was before the arrival of the Reference framework for digital competence. So, in addition to seeking to develop the ease of using the various tools technically, we sought to identify, my team of pedagogical advisers and I, the best avenues of intervention to support both the development of this technical skill while putting this know-how for the benefit of teaching practice (added value). 

We wanted to explore avenues of intervention and we had the RAI model as a watermark. Our goal was to find the most universal measures possible, those that would be able to help the greatest number of teachers to put digital technology at the service of their students' success.

The observation, after the first year of the project, was that to act in universal measures, in an area where the gaps are so enormous between individuals, amounts to throwing a sword in the water. The realities are so different from one school to another and even between classes in the same environment that by offering training that is too broad, in premises that are not laid out like classes, without the students, it is difficult to explicitly model facilitating strategies. In a real context, in the school and even the class, we get much closer to the daily life of the teacher and the modeling becomes easier to reproduce.

As we want digital technology to be a vector of added value in daily teaching, the strategy for the new school year has been to "turn the RAI pyramid upside down" and to first support teachers in directed measures based on their individual needs, one goal at a time.

Rotate the RAI pyramid 180 degrees!

Although new technological tools have been appearing in schools for several years, they have increased tenfold with the launch of the Ministerial digital action plan and especially with the measure of digital combos. This enabled schools to acquire various tools for the start of the 2018 school year. 

To draw a summary portrait of the teachers in the networks we support, we can say that we end up with an inverted version of the RAI model that we know:

  • 80% teachers express the need to be supported to develop their technical ease and integrate new tools into their teaching;
  • 15% of teachers have a fairly developed level of technical mastery, sometimes need a little support, but also need help to plan the integration of digital technology in the service of student learning;
  • 5% teachers have a high level of technical proficiency or are comfortable in self-training. They need to receive information on new features, self-training offered or sometimes, for more advanced features of the tools.

Following this observation, to be facilitators in the appropriation of this equipment, it is necessary to find a coherent, benevolent and adapted way of supporting each teacher in his professional development in connection with his digital competence. To do this, we must start by personalizing our approach, while respecting guidelines common to all.

Our professional development portfolio (to be published in the winter 2020 issue of École branchée) that we have implemented is a good tool to keep the focus on the personal objectives pursued. 

The common guidelines that all the schools in the exploratory project apply for the 2019-2020 school year: 

  • the Coherence Framework;
  • the ministerial digital action plan and more particularly the 3 orientations;
  • the Digital Competence Reference Framework;
  • the Outline of the digital school action plan which respects the 3 orientations of the MÉES;
  • the fact that digital technology must support what is already being done very well in the teaching practice of each teacher.

How does one manage to apply the inverted pyramid?

The above mentioned guidelines must first be presented to the supported teams and they must be constantly referred to. For our part, this is done once per cycle, during community of practice (CoP) meetings for which two teacher leaders from each school supported are released. They then develop with the team of educational advisers (Squad Network-TIC) two aspects related to their role: the development of their leadership and the different dimensions of their digital competence. They become our allies (or tentacles) in their school to support their colleagues. The pineapple charter used in several of the schools also makes it possible to share the expertise of internal staff.

It is necessary to plan to visit each school on a frequent basis by offering flexible support methods to teachers. One visit per two weeks is planned per school. We have chosen to set aside traditional front-end training to offer more support in meaningful situations (in school or even in the classroom) and thus promote reinvestment. This is how competence develops.

The keys to the success of such a strategy are essential. First, effective communication channels must be established and collaboration facilitated (collection of needs, type of support desired, physical and material organization, etc.). In addition, pedagogical advisers (PAs) must themselves change their posture and demonstrate agility, flexibility and be in problem-solving mode. New Referential for competent action in educational counseling was a good resource to define the role of the PNs in this project.

Very often, an accompaniment will start with a technical part, the teacher wants to know how to use the new tool. Then, a discussion will follow to clarify the pedagogical intention, to make a link with the progression of learning and the disciplinary notions in the program. All of this requires a lot of customization and modeling. Ideally, we meet a few teachers from the same school together (by degree, cycle, interest, with the leader, etc.) so that they can then help each other. 

We may believe that these individualized or sub-group accompaniments are not profitable, since we do not see a large mass of people at the same time. We claim the opposite.

Starting from real contexts and expressed needs, support is much more meaningful, because it applies directly to the planning or even to the conduct of a class activity. With the recurrence of the practice, people will have developed their ease in integrating digital technology into their daily lives, and thus, the proportion of 80% teachers needing technical support will tend to decrease. 

In the end, by adopting this strategy, reversing the pyramid and starting by offering support in the form of measures directed according to the needs and realities of teachers, the integration of new tools is done in a much more harmonious way. While very general training, of the universal measurement type at level 1 of the traditional pyramid, is rarely reinvested, because it is too far from everyone's reality, "tailor-made" training makes it possible to include, in existing practice, the use digital resources for teaching and learning. 

Digital level 3 makes it easier for us to support teachers in order to create real added value!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Some announcements

Publish a text too!

Our readers love to read about what's going on in the lives of teachers (and us too!)! Take the keyboard and publicize your educational project or share your ideas, tips and tricks via our Opinion and Testimonials sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Quand la pyramide du modèle RAI se retrouve la tête en bas

Le modèle réponse à l’intervention (RAI) est une approche destinée à contrer le phénomène de l’intervention tardive auprès des élèves en difficulté, comme le rapporte le dossier thématique du RIRE.

Par Marie-Ève Gagnon
Directrice – chargée de projet du déploiement du PAN
Commission scolaire des Navigateurs

Court résumé du modèle RAI

Cette approche est utilisée depuis plusieurs années déjà et elle est basée sur diverses composantes telles l’enseignement efficace, l’intervention précoce, le dépistage et le monitorage, l’intensification de l’intervention et la résolution de problèmes. 

Que ce soit sur le plan des apprentissages ou des comportements, la pyramide qui illustre ce modèle vise à décrire les stratégies, moyens et interventions qui répondent le mieux aux besoins des élèves et favorisent leur réussite. 

  • Le niveau 1, la base de la pyramide, veut répondre à environ 80% des besoins. Il s’agit de mesures universelles à mettre en place pour assurer la progression de chaque élève.
  • Le niveau 2, la partie centrale, souhaite offrir un enseignement ciblé en fonction des besoins plus spécifiques non répondus par les mesures universelles mises en place au préalable. Environ 15% des élèves éprouvent ce type de besoin.
  • Le niveau 3, le sommet de la pyramide, vise à mettre en place des mesures dirigées et intensives, adaptées aux besoins persistants d’environ 5% des élèves.

En bref, cette approche sous-entend que pour tous les élèves, on part de la base de la pyramide, de la mise en place de méthodes universelles pour favoriser la réussite, et que, si l’élève ne progresse pas ou peu, on monte vers le sommet, en planifiant des mesures spécifiques et adaptées.

Le modèle RAI et le développement de la compétence numérique des enseignants

Comme chargée de projet du déploiement du Plan d’action numérique en éducation, deux cadres théoriques m’ont principalement guidée pour penser l’accompagnement du projet exploratoire auprès des enseignants. 

  • D’abord, le Cadre de cohérence proposé par Fullan et Quinn qui présente les moteurs efficaces à mettre en action pour un changement efficace en éducation.
  • Ma deuxième référence a été d’emblée de tenter de me coller au modèle RAI. Par contre, si le cadre de cohérence a pu être transposé pratiquement tel quel, ce second référent a dû être exploré, testé, repensé et finalement renversé de 180 degrés. Je m’explique…

Le projet exploratoire mené auprès d’un réseau d’écoles primaires et secondaires (une école secondaire de 2e cycle et toutes les écoles primaires et secondaires qui partagent le même bassin de clientèle), au cours de l’année scolaire 2018-2019 a permis d’explorer les meilleures avenues pour accompagner les enseignants dans l’intégration du numérique à leur pédagogie. C’était avant l’arrivée du Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique. Donc, en plus de chercher à développer l’aisance à utiliser techniquement les différents outils, nous cherchions à dégager, mon équipe de conseillers pédagogiques et moi, les meilleures pistes d’intervention pour soutenir à la fois le développement de cette habileté technique tout en mettant ce savoir-faire au profit de la pratique pédagogique (valeur ajoutée). 

Nous voulions explorer des pistes d’intervention et nous avions en filigrane le modèle RAI. Notre objectif était de trouver les mesures les plus universelles possibles, celles qui allaient pouvoir aider le plus grand nombre d’enseignants à mettre le numérique au service de la réussite de leurs élèves.

Le constat, après la première année du projet, a été qu’agir en mesures universelles, dans un domaine où les écarts sont tellement énormes entre les individus, revient à donner un coup d’épée dans l’eau. Les réalités sont tellement différentes d’une école à l’autre et même entre les classes d’un même milieu qu’en offrant des formations trop larges, dans des locaux qui ne sont pas aménagés comme des classes, sans les élèves, il est difficile de modéliser de façon explicite les stratégies facilitantes. En contexte réel, dans l’école et même la classe, on s’approche beaucoup plus du quotidien de l’enseignant et la modélisation devient plus facile à reproduire.

Comme nous voulons que le numérique soit un vecteur de valeur ajoutée à l’enseignement quotidien, la stratégie pour la nouvelle année scolaire a été de « tourner la pyramide RAI la tête en bas » et d’accompagner d’abord les enseignants en mesures dirigées en fonction de leurs besoins individuels et ce, un objectif à la fois.

Tourner la pyramide RAI de 180 degrés!

Bien que de nouveaux outils technologiques apparaissent depuis plusieurs  années dans les écoles, ils se sont décuplés avec le lancement du Plan d’action numérique ministériel et surtout avec la mesure des combos numériques. Celle-ci a permis aux écoles de se munir d’outils variés pour la rentrée 2018. 

Pour dresser un portrait sommaire des enseignants des réseaux que nous accompagnons, on peut dire qu’on se retrouve avec une version inversée du modèle RAI que l’on connaît :

  • 80% des enseignants expriment le besoin d’être accompagnés pour développer leur aisance technique et intégrer les nouveaux outils à leur pédagogie;
  • 15% des enseignants ont un niveau de maîtrise technique assez développé, ont parfois besoin d’un peu de soutien, mais ont aussi besoin d’aide pour planifier l’intégration du numérique au service des apprentissages des élèves;
  • 5% des enseignants ont un niveau de maîtrise élevé au niveau technique ou sont à l’aise de s’autoformer. Ils ont besoin de recevoir des informations sur les nouveautés, les autoformations offertes ou parfois, pour des fonctionnalités plus avancées des outils.

Suite à ce constat, pour être des facilitateurs dans l’appropriation de ces équipements, il faut trouver une façon cohérente, bienveillante et adaptée d’accompagner chaque enseignant dans son développement professionnel en lien avec sa compétence numérique. Pour ce, il faut commencer par personnaliser notre approche, tout en respectant des balises communes à tous.

Le portfolio de valorisation professionnelle (à paraître dans le numéro hiver 2020 de l’École branchée) que nous avons implanté est un bon outil pour garder le cap sur les objectifs personnels poursuivis. 

Les balises communes que toutes les écoles du projet exploratoires appliquent pour l’année scolaire 2019-2020 : 

  • le Cadre de cohérence;
  • le Plan d’action numérique ministériel et plus particulièrement les 3 orientations;
  • le Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique;
  • le Canevas du plan d’action numérique école qui respecte les 3 orientations du MÉES;
  • le fait que le numérique doit venir soutenir ce qui se fait déjà de très bien dans la pratique pédagogique de chaque enseignant.

Comment arrive-t-on à appliquer la pyramide inversée?

Les balises ci-haut mentionnées doivent d’abord être présentées aux équipes accompagnées et on doit constamment s’y référer. Pour notre part, cela se fait une fois par cycle, lors des rencontres de communauté de pratique (CoP) pour lesquelles deux enseignants leaders de chaque école accompagnée sont libérés. Ils développent alors avec l’équipe de conseillers pédagogiques (Escouade Réseau-TIC) deux aspects liés à leur rôle : le développement de leur leadership et les différentes dimensions de leur compétence numérique. Ils deviennent nos alliés (ou tentacules) dans leur école pour soutenir leurs collègues. La charte de l’ananas utilisée dans plusieurs des écoles permet aussi de partager l’expertise du personnel à l’interne.

Il faut prévoir aller visiter chaque école de façon fréquente en offrant des modalités d’accompagnement souples aux enseignants. Une visite par deux semaines est prévue par école. Nous avons choisi de mettre de côté les formations frontales traditionnelles pour offrir davantage de soutien en situation signifiante (dans l’école ou même en classe) et ainsi, favoriser le réinvestissement. C’est d’ailleurs ainsi que la compétence se développe, comme le mentionne Thierry Karsenti.

Des clés de succès d’une telle stratégie sont essentielles. D’abord il faut établir des canaux de communication efficaces et faciliter la collaboration (collecte des besoins, type d’accompagnement souhaité, organisation physique et matérielle, etc.). De plus, les conseillers pédagogiques (CP) doivent eux-mêmes changer leur posture et faire preuve d’agilité, de flexibilité et être en mode résolution de problèmes. Le nouveau Référentiel de l’agir compétent en conseillance pédagogique a été une bonne ressource pour définir le rôle des CP dans ce projet.

Bien souvent, un accompagnement va débuter par une partie technique, l’enseignant veut savoir comment utiliser le nouvel outil. Ensuite, une discussion suivra pour préciser l’intention pédagogique, faire un lien avec la progression des apprentissages et  les notions disciplinaires au programme. Tout ça demande une bonne part de personnalisation et de modélisation. Idéalement, on rencontre quelques enseignants d’une même école ensemble (par degré, cycle, intérêt, avec le leader. etc.) et ce, afin qu’ensuite ils puissent s’entraider. 

On peut croire que ces accompagnements individualisés ou en sous-groupes ne sont pas rentables, puisqu’on ne voit pas une grande masse de gens en même temps. Nous prétendons le contraire.

En partant des contextes réels et des besoins exprimés, l’accompagnement est beaucoup plus significatif, car il s’applique directement à la planification ou même au déroulement d’une activité de classe. Avec la récurrence de la pratique, les gens auront développé leur aisance à intégrer le numérique à leur quotidien, et ainsi, la proportion de 80% d’enseignants ayant besoin de soutien technique tendra à diminuer. 

Au final, en adoptant cette stratégie, en renversant la pyramide et en commençant par offrir des accompagnements sous forme de mesures dirigées en fonctions des besoins et réalités des enseignants, l’intégration des nouveaux outils se fait de façon beaucoup plus harmonieuse. Alors que les formations très générales, de type mesures universelles du niveau 1 de la pyramide traditionnelle, sont rarement réinvesties, car trop loin de la réalité de chacun, le « sur mesure » permet d’inclure, dans la pratique existante, l’utilisation de ressources numériques au service de l’enseignement et de l’apprentissage. 

Le niveau 3 en numérique nous permet plus facilement de soutenir les enseignants afin de créer une véritable valeur ajoutée!


Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :