Posted in:

Educational continuity in the digital age

The Le Sommet high school of the Commission scolaire des Premieres-Seigneuries has, like the entire school system, been plunged into a roller coaster of emotions, but above all of possibilities since last March. Its management team tells us about the challenges that the entire school team takes up with passion!
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

You might also like:

🚀
Add to favorites (0)

by the management team of Le Sommet school (CS des Premieres-Seigneuries)
Sonie Boulet, Maryse Desroches, Annie Gosselin and Stéphanie Lemieux
@DesrochesMarys1 @Gosselin_a @SLemieuxCP 

The Le Sommet high school of the Commission scolaire des Premieres-Seigneuries has, like the entire school system, been plunged into a roller coaster of emotions, but above all of possibilities since last March. In 2014, the school embarked on a digital shift in order to offer a technopedagogical environment in the service of student success. At that time, we knew that the integration of technological tools offered new educational horizons, made it possible to motivate and engage students, but we can now say that in the context of a pandemic, this shift will have enabled us to facilitate the 'emergence of new learning and communication strategies.

The number ONE is too small to perform well

Since the integration of the iPad in 2014, the Summit team has made great strides. Note, for example, the development of collaborative practices and increased pedagogical flexibility. Although all students and teachers at the school own an iPad, the arrival of Covid-19 has prompted the team to unlearn several well-established practices to relearn new ways of communicating and working together.

I work a lot, but it's really stimulating! I feel that something positive is happening! I rub my hands with pleasure!

- JULIE BÉLISLE, SCHOOL TECHNOPEDAGOGIST

The higher the goal, the more teamwork is needed. In this case, the vision was clear and shared: to stay in touch with all our students and to offer pedagogical continuity to each of them by taking them where they are. 

When you realize that others can help you do a better job than you could on your own, you take a big step forward.

- Quote from ANDREW CARNEGIE

Quickly, working groups focusing on the strengths of each were formed: a team of speakers to reflect on the follow-up of vulnerable students and communications with each of them and a second team made up of teachers in each subject to reflect on an online teaching schedule supported by techno-pedagogues. In the face of the unknown, everyone's knowledge, expertise and previous experiences had to be put to use in order to limit missteps.

Remote office of Stéphane Valois, teacher of the drama and media arts concentration

The mobilization of staff, their commitment and motivation to be part of the parade rather than adopting the spectator posture, despite not having all the information, demonstrate a great team maturity. Since the integration of digital in the community, we have witnessed this tolerance for ambiguity, risk taking and innovation. We can now say that this paradigm shift over the past few years has greatly helped the team to continue to grow at an exponential rate.

A place for all

Obviously, although the iPad has been integrated into school for several years, not everyone had the same ease in using it. In the last few weeks, great solidarity initiatives have emerged: teachers who record and share capsules, “tests” of lessons between adults, teachers who participate in the lessons of their colleagues who were already experimenting with teaching in the classroom. distance, virtual educational discussions. Teachers less tech-savvy have teamed up with other colleagues to be ready to launch into distance education on May 11. The school team has transformed into a professional learning community at high speed!

Humanize social distancing

Despite the distance, the members of the Le Sommet school team have never been so close to each other. Benevolence and mutual aid are palpable. All of them are keen to help despite being learners themselves. Rational thinking is great for making a decision, but the heart is just as important for reaching the desired destination.

“I feel super ready for next week and it's thanks to my amazing colleagues! Help, support, advice… We are a great team of fire! "

- MARIE-FRANCE GIROUX, TEACHER

Several actions were put in place, in addition to those intended to structure the ministry's requests: telephone chain to ensure that everyone was in good shape, virtual coffee shops to mark important weeks such as those for support staff and secretaries experienced during confinement, videos of staff and students, virtual meetings for new teachers led by mentors from the school and 5 to 6 virtual ones to keep in touch and meet, sometimes, the family of colleagues.

In addition, great initiatives are still to come for graduating students and recipients of the meritas gala, for whom we have great surprises in store in the weeks to come. A sub-working group is thinking about a 2.0 concept, while waiting for the real ball which has been moved to next fall. 

For a team to reach the top, it is not enough that they have a good start

The next few weeks will be just as important as those which led to the establishment of this new distance education structure. Regulation and adjustments will be necessary. Thanks to the maturity of the team, these regulatory meetings will make it possible to realize that it is more important to take an imperfect first step than not to move forward. This change in practice initiated in 2014 will undoubtedly have contributed to the successful implementation of distance education forced by the context of the pandemic.

Success will not be having thought about a perfect plan from day one, but having done collective learning which will propel us towards a 2.0 education during the next school year. This is how we will have the feeling of having done our duty.

“We have just opened the door for a new way of working in education. We will not be able to go back in time for certain things. "

- STÉPHANE VALOIS, TEACHER

Let it be said, we have no control over events, but we do have control over our attitude and reactions. After a first roller coaster ride, passengers were able to experience certain emotions, share them and can now take another ride while savoring the frenzy and pleasure that this ride provides. For passengers who are still to be convinced to experience these strong emotions, they will be able to sit in a basket next to a more confident passenger who will know how to reassure them. We are sure that everyone will take a liking to this collective merry-go-round, even if it is a bit mind-blowing at times!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Some announcements

Publish a text too!

Our readers love to read about what's going on in the lives of teachers (and us too!)! Take the keyboard and publicize your educational project or share your ideas, tips and tricks via our Opinion and Testimonials sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

La continuité pédagogique à l’ère du numérique

mis à jour le :

par l’équipe de direction de l’école Le Sommet (CS des Premières-Seigneuries)
Sonie Boulet, Maryse Desroches, Annie Gosselin et Stéphanie Lemieux
@DesrochesMarys1 @Gosselin_a @SLemieuxCP 

L’école secondaire Le Sommet de la Commission scolaire des Premières-Seigneuries a, comme tout le système scolaire, été plongée dans une montagne russe d’émotions, mais surtout de possibilités depuis mars dernier. En 2014, l’école s’est lancée dans un virage numérique afin d’offrir un environnement technopédagogique au service de la réussite des élèves. À ce moment, nous savions que l’intégration d’outils technologiques offrait de nouveaux horizons pédagogiques, permettait de motiver et d’engager les élèves, mais nous pouvons maintenant dire qu’en contexte de pandémie, ce virage nous aura permis de faciliter l’émergence de nouvelles stratégies d’apprentissage et de communication.

Le chiffre UN est trop petit pour faire des exploits

Depuis l’intégration de l’iPad en 2014, l’équipe du Sommet a fait de grands pas. Notons, par exemple, le développement de pratiques collaboratives et une flexibilité pédagogique accrue. Bien que tous les élèves et les enseignants de l’école possèdent un iPad, l’arrivée de la Covid-19 a poussé l’équipe à désapprendre plusieurs pratiques bien établies pour réapprendre de nouvelles façons de communiquer et de travailler ensemble.

Je travaille énormément, mais c’est vraiment stimulant! Je sens que quelque chose de positif se passe! Je me frotte les mains de plaisir!

– JULIE BÉLISLE, TECHNOPÉDAGOGUE DE L’ÉCOLE

Plus l’objectif est élevé, plus le travail d’équipe est nécessaire. Dans ce cas-ci, la vision était claire et partagée : rester en contact avec tous nos élèves et offrir une continuité pédagogique à chacun d’eux en les prenant là où ils sont. 

Quand vous réalisez que les autres peuvent vous aider à accomplir un meilleur travail que vous l’auriez fait seul, vous franchissez un grand pas.

– Citation d’ANDREW CARNEGIE

Rapidement, des groupes de travail misant sur les forces de chacun ont été formés : une équipe d’intervenants pour réfléchir aux suivis des élèves vulnérables et aux communications avec chacun d’eux et une seconde équipe composée d’enseignants de chaque matière pour réfléchir à un horaire d’enseignement en ligne supporté par des technopédagogues. Devant l’inconnu, les connaissances de tous, l’expertise et les expériences antérieures devaient être mises à contribution dans le but de limiter les faux pas.

Bureau à distance de Stéphane Valois, enseignant de la concentration art dramatique et médiatique

La mobilisation du personnel, son engagement et sa motivation à faire partie de la parade plutôt que d’adopter la posture de spectateur, et ce, malgré le fait de ne pas posséder toutes les informations, démontrent une grande maturité d’équipe. Depuis l’intégration du numérique dans le milieu, nous avions été témoin de cette tolérance à l’ambiguïté, de la prise de risques et de l’innovation. Nous pouvons maintenant affirmer que ce changement de paradigme depuis les dernières années a grandement aidé l’équipe à poursuivre sa croissance à une vitesse exponentielle.

Une place pour tous

Évidemment, bien que l’iPad soit intégré depuis plusieurs années à l’école, tous n’avaient pas la même aisance à l’utiliser. Dans les dernières semaines, de belles initiatives de solidarité ont vu le jour : des enseignants qui enregistrent des capsules et les partagent, des « tests » de cours entre adultes, des enseignants qui participent aux cours de leurs collègues qui expérimentaient déjà l’enseignement à distance, des discussions pédagogiques virtuelles. Les enseignants maîtrisant moins les outils technologiques se sont associés à d’autres collègues afin d’être fins prêts à se lancer dans l’enseignement à distance le 11 mai. L’équipe-école s’est transformée en une communauté d’apprentissage professionnelle à la vitesse grand V!

Humaniser la distanciation sociale

Malgré la distance, les membres de l’équipe de l’école Le Sommet n’auront jamais été aussi proches les uns des autres. La bienveillance et l’entraide sont palpables. Tous ont le souci d’aider malgré qu’ils soient eux-mêmes des apprenants.  La pensée rationnelle est parfaite pour prendre une décision, mais le coeur est tout aussi important pour atteindre la destination souhaitée.

« Je me sens super prête pour la semaine prochaine et c’est grâce à mes incroyables collègues!  De l’aide, du support, des conseils… On est une super équipe de feu! »

– MARIE-FRANCE GIROUX, ENSEIGNANTE

Plusieurs actions ont été mises en place, en plus de celles destinées à structurer les demandes du ministère : chaîne téléphonique pour s’assurer que tous étaient dans de bonne dispositions, cafés rencontres virtuels pour souligner les semaines importantes comme celles du personnel de soutien et des secrétaires vécues lors du confinement, vidéos du personnel et des élèves, rencontres virtuelles pour les nouveaux enseignants animées par les mentors de l’école et 5 à 6 virtuels pour garder le contact et rencontrer, parfois, la famille des collègues.

De plus, de belles initiatives sont encore à venir pour les élèves finissants et les récipiendaires du gala méritas, à qui nous réservons de belles surprises dans les semaines à venir. Un sous-groupe de travail est à réfléchir à un concept 2.0, en attendant le réel bal qui a été déplacé à l’automne prochain. 

Pour qu’une équipe parviennent au sommet, il ne suffit pas qu’elle prenne un bon départ

Les prochaines semaines seront tout aussi importantes que celles qui ont mené à la mise en place de cette nouvelle structure d’enseignement à distance. De la régulation et des ajustements seront nécessaires. Grâce à la maturité de l’équipe, ces rencontres de régulation permettront de réaliser qu’il est plus important de faire un premier pas imparfait que de ne pas avancer. Ce changement de pratique amorcé depuis 2014 aura assurément contribué à la réussite de la mise en oeuvre de l’enseignement à distance forcé par le contexte de la pandémie.

La réussite ne sera pas d’avoir réfléchi à un plan parfait dès le jour un, mais bien d’avoir fait des apprentissages collectifs qui nous propulseront vers un enseignement 2.0 lors de la prochaine rentrée scolaire. C’est ainsi que nous aurons le sentiment du devoir accompli.

« On vient d’ouvrir la porte pour une nouvelle manière de travailler en éducation. On ne pourra plus revenir en arrière pour certaines choses. »

– STÉPHANE VALOIS, ENSEIGNANT

Qu’on se le dise, nous n’avons aucun contrôle sur les événements, mais nous avons un contrôle sur notre attitude et nos réactions. Après un premier tour de montagne russe, les passagers ont pu vivre certaines émotions, les partager et peuvent maintenant refaire un nouveau tour en savourant la frénésie et le plaisir que ce manège procure. Pour les passagers qui sont toujours à convaincre de vivre ces émotions fortes, ils pourront s’asseoir dans une nacelle à côté d’un passager plus confiant qui saura les rassurer. Nous sommes certains que tous prendront goût à ce tour de manège collectif, même s’il est un peu décoiffant par moments!



ANNONCE FOURNIE PAR GOOGLE
NOTE : Nos abonnés connectés ne voient pas ces annonces!