ADVERTISEMENT

Pupils taking medication at school: an intelligent “pillbox” so they don't forget!

In the era of the smart phone and all these connected objects that make our daily lives easier, our collaborator Marc-André Girard shares one of his recent findings helping to manage students' medication intake when they are at school. school.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

As a principal, for a while now, I have been racking my brains for our elementary school students who have health problems and who have to take medication at regular times, which fall during the school day.

In collaboration with parents, teachers and sometimes even with students, we have put in place various means to ensure that they can take them at the right time: alarms on the watch, reminders on the iPad, texting of parents in class, etc.

For the teacher, this situation is complex since he must already deal with the urgency and the madness of everyday life. Managing each other's pill jars can be a stressful headache. What if the teacher forgot or gave the wrong medicine to the wrong person?

These are legitimate fears, neglecting the student's medication is not an option of course. 

In the era of the smart phone and all these connected objects that make our daily lives easier, I was happy to find a technological solution to this problem. Who would have thought that someone could have invented a smart pill organizer? This is not an infomercial: I wanted to share this find with you!

This is EllieGrid, a little pill box that doesn't have anything from your grandmother's pill box. It's a go-anywhere accessory that looks more like a jewelry box. Already, we are avoiding the stigma of the drugged student, with all that that can imply at school. I like the idea of diverting the original function of a technological tool to support teachers in the management of requests for medical follow-up. We have more and more students with special conditions requiring medication to be taken during school hours (with the parents' signature, of course): hyperactive students, cases of diabetes or cystic fibrosis, painkillers (menstrual cramps, for example). ), heart failure, etc. 

There are two ways to use EllieGrid to make sure students are taking their medication at the scheduled times. Depending on how many tablets to take, the parent can schedule two things:

  • an audible alarm in a chosen interval;
  • a light identifying the compartment in which the student should draw and the quantity of tablets to take.

When the lid is opened within the preprogrammed interval, EllieGrid recognizes that the medication has been taken. This turns off the light and, if necessary, avoids the audible alarm.

Note that EllieGrid must come home to be filled by parents when needed. It can be recharged and reprogrammed as needed. The device is supplied with a carrying bag, but can very well be slipped directly into the school bag. The cover, when closed, is held in place by magnets.

EllieGrid can also be helpful when several students in the class need to take medication at specific times.

In either case, it is important to have the written permission of a parent for the medication to be given by an educational professional, which is part of a process for communicating health problems. target student health. 

The pill organizer works in conjunction with the application which is free and available for both Apple and Google. Unfortunately, the app is only available in English. 

Have you ever used it? Or have you found other solutions for this kind of situation?

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in humanities education (1999), a master's degree in history teaching (2003) and a master's degree in educational management (2013). He is currently a doctoral student in school administration. He specializes in change management in schools as well as in educational leadership. He is also interested in 21st century skills to be developed in education. He holds a managerial position in a public primary school and gives lectures on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in the school environment as well as on the professionalization of teaching. He took part in educational expeditions to France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book “Le change en milieu scolaire québécois” with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the school of the 21st century with the same publisher. He frequently collaborates with L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and school administrators as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Prise de médicaments à l’école par les élèves : un « pilulier » intelligent pour ne pas oublier!

À l’ère du téléphone intelligent et de tous ces objets connectés qui facilitent notre quotidien, notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard partage l'une de ses récentes trouvailles aidant à la gestion de la prise de médicaments des élèves lorsqu'ils sont à l'école.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

En tant que directeur, depuis un bout de temps, je me creuse la tête pour nos élèves du primaire qui ont des problèmes de santé et qui doivent prendre une médication à des moments réguliers, lesquels tombent pendant le quotidien scolaire.

En collaboration avec les parents, les enseignants et parfois même avec les élèves, nous avons mis en place divers moyens pour nous assurer qu’ils puissent les prendre au bon moment : alarmes sur la montre, rappels sur l’iPad, textos des parents en classe, etc.

Pour l’enseignant, cette situation est complexe puisqu’il doit déjà composer avec l’urgence et la folie du quotidien. La gestion du pot de pilules de l’un et de l’autre peut être un casse-tête stressant. Et si l’enseignant oubliait ou donnait le mauvais médicament à la mauvaise personne?

Ce sont des craintes légitimes, négliger la médication de l’élève n’est pas une option bien entendu. 

À l’ère du téléphone intelligent et de tous ces objets connectés qui facilitent notre quotidien, j’ai été heureux de trouver une solution technologique à ce problème. Qui aurait cru que quelqu’un puisse avoir inventé un pilulier intelligent? Ce n’est pas un publireportage : j’avais le goût de vous partager cette trouvaille!

C’est EllieGrid, une petite boîte à pilule qui n’a rien du pilulier de votre grand-mère. C’est un accessoire passe-partout qui ressemble davantage à une boîte à bijou. Déjà, on évite le stigma de l’élève médicamenté, avec tout ce que cela peut impliquer à l’école. J’aime l’idée de détourner la fonction originale d’un outil technologique pour soutenir les enseignants dans la gestion des demandes de suivi médical. Nous avons de plus en plus d’élèves avec des conditions particulières nécessitant la prise de médicaments pendant les heures scolaires (avec la signature des parents, évidemment) : élèves hyperactifs, cas de diabète ou de fibrose kystique, antidouleurs (crampes menstruelles, par exemple), insuffisance cardiaque, etc. 

Il y a deux façons d’utiliser EllieGrid pour s’assurer que les élèves prennent leur médication aux heures prévues. Dépendamment de la quantité de comprimés à prendre, le parent peut programmer deux choses :

  • une alarme sonore dans un intervalle choisi;
  • une lumière identifiant le compartiment dans lequel l’élève doit piger et la quantité de comprimés à prendre.

Lorsque le couvercle est ouvert dans l’intervalle préprogrammé, EllieGrid reconnaît que la médication a été prise. Cela éteint la lumière et évite, le cas échéant, l’alarme sonore.

À noter qu’EllieGrid doit revenir à la maison pour être rempli par les parents au moment nécessaire. Il pourra être rechargé et reprogrammé au besoin. L’appareil est fourni avec un sac de transport, mais peut très bien être glissé directement dans le sac d’école. Le couvercle, une fois fermé, est tenu en place par des aimants.

EllieGrid peut aussi être utile quand plusieurs élèves de la classe doivent prendre des médicaments à des heures précises.

Dans un cas comme dans l’autre, il est important d’avoir l’autorisation écrite d’un parent pour que la médication soit donnée par un professionnel de l’éducation, ce qui s’intègre dans une démarche de communication des problèmes de santé des élèves ciblés. 

Le pilulier fonctionne en duo avec l’application qui est gratuite et disponible autant pour Apple que Google. Malheureusement, l’application n’est disponible qu’en anglais. 

L’avez-vous déjà utilisé? Ou avez-vous trouvé d’autres solutions pour ce genre de situation?

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!