health

Distance learning: More screen time? Do not panic

With the pandemic, screens have never taken up so much space in our lives (children and adults). Here are some tips for finding a certain balance.

Pupils taking medication at school: an intelligent “pillbox” so they don't forget!

In the era of the smart phone and all these connected objects that make our daily lives easier, our collaborator Marc-André Girard shares one of his recent findings helping to manage students' medication intake when they are at school. school.

Academos shines the spotlight on careers in life sciences and health

Academos launched the third edition of its digital campaign “Vinegar + baking soda, and other more explosive formulas” to demystify careers in life sciences and health while connecting young people with the world of work through virtual mentoring.

Reducing the consumption of candy on Halloween, is it possible?

For children, the Halloween party rhymes with candy picking. However, is it possible to intelligently manage the consumption of candy on this festive day?

A logo to identify unhealthy foods

The Canadian government is considering requiring the food industry to add a logo that clearly indicates whether a product is healthy or not. Could this be the solution to stem the obesity epidemic in North America?

Sugar industry

After tobacco, sugar has become a real scourge in the population. Several diseases and ailments are associated with it such as obesity, diabetes, certain types of cancer, cavities, etc. Since their introduction in the 1970s, sweeteners have never achieved unanimity.

Zika virus spreads quickly

In recent weeks, the media have been talking about the Zika virus which is wreaking havoc in South America. The virus is spreading rapidly and it is now at our doorstep.

Dance like a WIXX is back to make kids aged 9 to 13 dance and move

Montreal, February 27, 2015 - Building on the success of the first two editions, WIXX, Québec en Forme's societal program aimed at ...

Should we doubt the effectiveness of vaccines?

Universal remedy to fight against epidemics, the effectiveness of the vaccine is increasingly questioned. Whether by the WHO itself, or by concerned parents, new vaccines do not always offer the desired protection, and older vaccines are accused of being the source of other infections.

Sow life to give meaning to death

Waiting lists for organ donation are growing in several countries and, with the aging of the population, this situation is likely to continue for a long time to come. Let's see why it is important to be aware of this cause, at any age.

santé

Enseignement à distance : Plus de temps d’écran? Pas de panique

Avec la pandémie, les écrans n’ont jamais pris autant de place dans nos vies (enfant comme adulte). Voici quelques conseils pour trouver un certain équilibre.

Prise de médicaments à l’école par les élèves : un « pilulier » intelligent pour ne pas oublier!

À l’ère du téléphone intelligent et de tous ces objets connectés qui facilitent notre quotidien, notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard partage l'une de ses récentes trouvailles aidant à la gestion de la prise de médicaments des élèves lorsqu'ils sont à l'école.

Academos met en lumière les carrières en sciences de la vie et en santé

Academos a lancé la troisième édition de sa campagne numérique « Vinaigre + bicarbonate, et d’autres formules plus détonantes » pour démystifier les carrières en sciences de la vie et en santé tout en connectant les jeunes avec le monde du travail grâce au mentorat virtuel.

Réduire la consommation de friandises à l’Halloween, est-ce possible?

Pour les enfants, la fête de l'Halloween rime avec cueillette de bonbons. Cependant, est-il possible de gérer intelligemment la consommation de sucrerie lors de cette journée festive?

Un logo pour identifier les aliments malsains

Le gouvernement canadien songe à imposer à l’industrie alimentaire l’ajout d’un logo qui indique clairement si un produit est bon ou non pour la santé. Serait-ce la solution pour enrayer l’épidémie d’obésité en Amérique du Nord?

L’industrie du sucre

Après le tabac, le sucre est devenu un vrai fléau dans la population. Plusieurs maladies et maux lui sont associés comme l’obésité, le diabète, certains types de cancer, la carie, etc. Depuis leur mise en marché dans les années 1970, les édulcorants ne sont jamais parvenus à faire l'unanimité.

Le virus Zika se propage rapidement

Depuis quelques semaines, les médias parlent du virus Zika qui fait des ravages en Amérique du Sud. Le virus se répand rapidement et il est désormais à notre porte.

Danse comme un WIXX revient faire danser et bouger les jeunes de 9 à 13 ans

Montréal, le 27 février 2015 – Fort du succès remporté par les deux premières éditions, WIXX, le programme sociétal de Québec en Forme visant...

Doit-on douter de l’efficacité des vaccins?

Remède universel pour lutter contre les épidémies, l’efficacité du vaccin est de plus en plus remise en question. Que ce soit par l’OMS elle-même, ou encore par des parents concernés, les nouveaux vaccins n’offrent pas toujours la protection désirée, et les plus anciens sont accusés d’être à la source d’autres infections.

Semer la vie pour donner un sens à la mort

Les listes d’attente pour les dons d’organes s’allongent dans plusieurs pays et, avec le vieillissement de la population, cette situation risque de perdurer encore longtemps. Voyons pourquoi il est important d’être sensibilisé à cette cause, et ce, à tout âge.