School-community partnership: online tutoring during class hours

Since last fall, teachers at the Deux-Rives school in Saint-Georges have benefited from the support of volunteers from the Mouvement des Aidants scolaire in order to offer personalized tutoring to their students. A service that is available everywhere in Quebec for schools that request it.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Since last fall, teachers at the Deux-Rives school in Saint-Georges have benefited from the support of volunteers from the Mouvement des Aidants scolaire in order to offer personalized tutoring to their students. A service that is available everywhere in Quebec for schools that request it.

“Our organization has been providing help to school staff for several years, but this is the first time that our tutoring service has been offered during class time, and especially in virtual mode. This project came to fruition at the initiative of the school administration ”, rejoices Lise Allard, founder of the School Caregivers Movement.

The tutoring service is offered to both elementary and secondary students, and even francization. Teachers or schools can simply apply to the organization. The service is then deployed at the rate of two half-hours of support per week per student. Coaching can take place in different subjects, but Ms. Allard indicates that reading and writing are the skills most in demand.

One of the peculiarities of the tutoring offered by the volunteers of School Aid workers is that the tutor accompanies the child in accordance with the directives he has previously received from the teacher and that the accompaniment can be done during the time of class.

According to the founder, it is thus a real school-community partnership, since the volunteers act in concert with the teachers. Parents are also informed and involved in the process.

A new platform

Active in the school environment since 2007, the School Aid Movement did not want to be stopped by the pandemic. This is how the organization acquired a remote assistance platform and was able to quickly resume its activities during the year 2020.

“I am pleasantly surprised by the results of the online support. Everything is going well. Even virtually, bonds are forged between students and caregivers. In addition, since the support is now virtual, we can match tutors and young people who do not live in the same region, ”says Ms. Allard.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Partenariat école-communauté : du tutorat en ligne pendant les heures de classe

Depuis l’automne dernier, les enseignants de l’école des Deux-Rives de Saint-Georges bénéficient du soutien de bénévoles du Mouvement des Aidants scolaires afin d’offrir du tutorat personnalisé à leurs élèves. Un service qui est disponible partout au Québec pour les écoles qui en font la demande.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Depuis l’automne dernier, les enseignants de l’école des Deux-Rives de Saint-Georges bénéficient du soutien de bénévoles du Mouvement des Aidants scolaires afin d’offrir du tutorat personnalisé à leurs élèves. Un service qui est disponible partout au Québec pour les écoles qui en font la demande.

« Notre organisme offre de l’aide au personnel des écoles depuis plusieurs années, mais c’est la première fois que notre service de tutorat est offert pendant le temps de classe, et surtout en mode virtuel. Ce projet s’est concrétisé à l’initiative de la direction de l’école », se réjouit Lise Allard, fondatrice du Mouvement des Aidants scolaires.

Le service de tutorat est offert autant aux élèves du primaire que du secondaire, et même de la francisation. Les enseignants ou les écoles peuvent simplement faire une demande auprès de l’organisme. Le service se déploie ensuite à raison de deux demi-heures d’accompagnement par semaine par élève. L’accompagnement peut se faire dans différentes matières, mais Mme Allard indique que la lecture et l’écriture sont les compétences les plus en demande.

L’une des particularités du tutorat offert par les bénévoles des Aidants scolaires est que le tuteur accompagne l’enfant conformément aux directives qu’il a préalablement reçues de la part de l’enseignant et que l’accompagnement peut se faire pendant le temps de classe.

Selon la fondatrice, il s’agit ainsi d’un véritable partenariat école-communauté, puisque les bénévoles agissent de concert avec les enseignants. Les parents sont également informés et impliqués dans la démarche.

Une nouvelle plateforme

Actif dans le milieu scolaire depuis 2007, le Mouvement des Aidants scolaires ne voulait pas se laisser arrêter par la pandémie. C’est ainsi que l’organisme s’est doté d’une plateforme d’aide à distance et qu’il a pu rapidement reprendre ses activités au cours de l’année 2020.

« Je suis agréablement surprise par les résultats de l’accompagnement en ligne. Tout se passe bien. Même virtuellement, les liens se tissent entre les élèves et les aidants. De plus, puisque l’accompagnement est maintenant virtuel, nous pouvons jumeler des tuteurs et des jeunes qui n’habitent pas la même région », dit Mme Allard.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!