ADVERTISEMENT

Music, science and programming at the heart of a multidisciplinary project

A training course introduced the electronic tool Makey Makey to our employee, Guillaume Bilodeau. This will be the centerpiece of the synthesizer produced by the school's third year students (Fernand-Seguin, from the Montreal CS) as part of their technoscientific art project.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Training in SAT in 2018 allowed me to discover the electronic tool Makey Makey. This will be the centerpiece of the synthesizer produced by the third year students of our school (Fernand-Seguin, from the Montreal CS) as part of their technoscientific art project. (Hoping they can finish it this year given the circumstances!)

For the past two years, thanks to financial assistance from the Ministry of Education (measure 15081), CAPI members have been developing a programming curriculum which now extends from kindergarten to grade six. Thus, all the students of our school now have the opportunity to develop their digital skills by handling a new programming tool, each year of their school career. In this sense, the students of the third year are now familiarizing themselves with the software. Scratch in order to add a technological facet to their musical art project. However, the platform Scratch is large and could intimidate our coding apprentices. Fortunately, the latter are found on familiar ground.

Indeed, over the past two years, they have learned the basics of programming through the app. Scratch Jr, designed more specifically for children from 5 to 7 years old. Translated into over 40 languages and used in over 150 countries, the programming language Scratch, developed at MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), allows young and old to code, among other things, interactive stories, games and animations.

At the start of the school year, this musical art project was put forward by Maude, the science resource teacher. In his company, the students made a kalimba and at the same time were able to learn more about certain scientific concepts specific to the propagation of sound such as wavelengths, frequency and amplitude.


The kalimba is an instrument of the idiophone family

At 17e century, scientist Robert Hooke was already interested in the propagation of sound through different materials. His research led him to invent the first corded telephone. Inspired by his work, the students built their own yogurtophone that they used, then, to better understand the concepts taught previously. 

For my part, I had the pleasure of continuing to develop their art project by improvising melodies with them using the application. KEEZY. This digital tool allows young artists to express their creativity. Thus, from various objects in the classroom, the students had fun recording unusual sounds in order to produce a jam musical.

The last step of their project will be to make a synthesizer using recycled material. Basic software learning Scratch allow students to program it through the electronic device Makey makey. This printed circuit makes it possible to concretize the programming and to introduce the pupils to some principles of a simple electrical circuit. Thus, our young coders will have the opportunity, thanks to their instrument, to play some musical pieces learned with their music teacher.  

As part of measure 50767 (special measure for the acquisition of digital assemblies) of the digital action plan (PAN), electronic tools Makey makey and Micro: Bit should be considered since they are inexpensive, durable and require a small work surface. In addition, several technopedagogical activities are available online. 

In addition, Carrefour education offers you resources on the tools presented during this workshop:

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Guillaume Bilodeau
Guillaume Bilodeau
Guillaume is an ICT pedagogical advisor at the Montreal School Services Center (CSSDM). He has a bachelor's degree in preschool and elementary education from UQÀM and a bachelor's degree in secondary mathematics education from UQÀC. In addition, he is completing his DESS in educational management. As part of his graduate studies, he is more specifically interested in the establishment of learning communities in Quebec schools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Musique, sciences et programmation au cœur d’un projet multidisciplinaire

Une formation a fait découvrir l’outil électronique Makey Makey à notre collaborateur, Guillaume Bilodeau. Ce sera la pièce maîtresse du synthétiseur réalisé par les élèves de troisième année de l'école (Fernand-Seguin, de la CS de Montréal) dans le cadre de leur projet d’art technoscientifique.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Une formation à la SAT en 2018 m’a permis de découvrir l’outil électronique Makey Makey. Celui-ci sera la pièce maîtresse du synthétiseur réalisé par les élèves de troisième année de notre école (Fernand-Seguin, de la CS de Montréal) dans le cadre de leur projet d’art technoscientifique. (En espérant qu’ils puissent le terminer cette année vu les circonstances!)

Depuis deux ans, grâce à une aide financière du ministère de l’Éducation (mesure 15081), les membres de la CAPI élaborent un curriculum en programmation qui s’échelonne maintenant de la maternelle à la sixième année. Ainsi, tous les élèves de notre établissement scolaire ont maintenant l’opportunité de développer leur compétence numérique en manipulant un nouvel outil de programmation et ce, à chaque année de leur parcours scolaire. En ce sens, les élèves de la troisième année se familiarisent présentement avec le logiciel Scratch dans l’optique d’ajouter une facette technologique à leur projet d’art musical. Or, la plateforme Scratch est vaste et pourrait intimider nos apprentis codeurs. Heureusement, ces derniers, se retrouvent en terrain connu.

En effet, au cours des deux dernières années, ils ont appris les rudiments de la programmation grâce à l’application Scratch Jr, conçue plus spécifiquement pour des enfants de 5 à 7 ans. Traduit dans plus de 40 langues et utilisé dans plus de 150 pays, le langage de programmation Scratch, développé au MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), permet aux jeunes et moins jeunes de coder, entre autres, des récits interactifs, des jeux et des animations.

En début d’année scolaire, ce projet d’art musical a été mis de l’avant par Maude, l’enseignante ressource en sciences. En sa compagnie, les élèves ont fabriqué un kalimba et ont pu, du même coup, en apprendre davantage au sujet de certains concepts scientifiques propres à la propagation du son tels que les longueurs d’ondes, la fréquence et l’amplitude.


Le kalimba est un instrument de la famille des idiophones

Au 17e siècle, le scientifique Robert Hooke s’intéressait déjà à la propagation du son à travers différents matériaux. Ses recherches l’ont mené à inventer le premier téléphone à corde. Inspirés par ses travaux, les élèves ont construit, à l’aide de simples pots de yaourt et d’une ficelle, leur propre yaourtophone qu’ils ont utilisé, ensuite, pour mieux comprendre les concepts enseignés précédemment. 

De mon côté, j’ai eu le plaisir de poursuivre l’élaboration de leur projet d’art en improvisant avec eux des mélodies à l’aide de l’application KEEZY. Cet outil numérique permet aux jeunes artistes d’exprimer leur créativité. Ainsi, à partir de divers objets de la classe, les élèves se sont amusés à enregistrer des sons inusités afin de produire un jam musical.

La dernière étape de leur projet consistera à fabriquer un synthétiseur à l’aide de matière recyclée. L’apprentissage de base du logiciel Scratch permettra aux élèves de le programmer et ce, par l’entremise du dispositif électronique Makey Makey. Ce circuit imprimé permet de concrétiser la programmation et d’initier les élèves à quelques principes d’un circuit électrique simple. Ainsi, nos jeunes codeurs auront l’occasion, grâce à leur instrument, de jouer quelques pièces musicales apprises avec leur enseignante de musique.  

Dans le cadre de la mesure 50767 (mesure spéciale pour l’acquisition d’ensembles numériques) du plan d’action numérique (PAN), les outils électroniques Makey Makey et Micro:Bit sont à considérer puisqu’ils s’avèrent peu coûteux, durables et requièrent une petite surface de travail. De plus, plusieurs activités technopédagogiques sont disponibles en ligne. 

En complément, Carrefour éducation vous propose des ressources sur les outils présenté lors de cet atelier:

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Guillaume Bilodeau
Guillaume Bilodeau
Guillaume est conseiller pédagogique TIC au Centre de services scolaire de Montréal (CSSDM). Il possède un baccalauréat en éducation préscolaire et enseignement primaire de l’UQÀM et un baccalauréat en enseignement des mathématiques au secondaire de l’UQÀC. De plus, il termine son DESS en gestion de l’éducation. Dans le cadre de ses études de deuxième cycle, il s’intéresse plus spécifiquement à la mise en place de communautés d’apprentissage dans les milieux scolaires québécois.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :