MOOZOOM, a platform that helps young people develop socio-emotional skills

  • Sponsored report
Partner | Moozoom offers an explicit teaching approach that immerses students in a fictional universe from which they can create their own story and make connections with their everyday issues.
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Advertorial - Summary of the study surrounding the testing of Moozoom by the Saint-Hyacinthe School Service Center (CSSSH).

The learning and mastery of socio-emotional skills is not only decisive for the academic success of students, but also for the development of their full potential and their socialization. It is in this perspective that a collaborative approach between the CSSSH, moozoom, the CTREQ, and the researchers - Claire Beaumont, full professor at Laval University, and Line Massé, full professor at the University of Quebec in Trois- Rivers, took shape in September 2020 with the objective of testing the moozoom platform in 3 schools.

A year later, a report emerges for school staff who wish to explore a way to optimize socio-emotional learning in their environment. Consult the full version of the report.

Moozoom facilitates the implementation of socio-emotional learning

The first stage of the testing was to develop the conditions of implementation favorable to the development of socio-emotional skills in the school environment. Among these, it was judged that a demonstration of moozoom to the school team was essential to promote the adhesion of staff members. In terms of learning, the modeling videos and other activities available on moozoom, as well as the ease of use of the platform, have helped to support the explicit teaching of socio-emotional skills to students. For a successful systemic implementation, the collaboration between the various members of the school staff (professionals, teachers, educators in the daycare) was essential.

Management leadership: a must.

Management leadership quickly appeared to be essential in the smooth running and success of the implementation of socio-emotional learning. In this regard, a school administration emphasizes the consistency of the moozoom platform with their success plan. Schools that carried out the testing universally (involving all staff) were able to see a greater overall positive impact on student well-being and behavior management. . Insofar as the objective is to develop a common language among the pupils, it is to the advantage of the staff of a school to act in a concerted manner. The videos and moozoom activities have proven to be a binding agent between everything that happens in the classroom, while the flexibility and ease of use offered by the platform have facilitated its implementation at school level.

A teacher from the Roger LaBrèque school of the CSSSH mentioned: “The use of videos makes everything more concrete than just using the discussion. The moozoom platform allowed me to see an impact in students who were more capable of introspection. "

Young people talking to young people

To date, more than 700 schools have seen moozoom as a tool that can make a positive impact on the well-being of their students. This study highlights the potential of a platform whose mission is to simplify socio-emotional learning in schools by building on a solution from which young people talk to young people.

Schools can get a demonstration by clicking here.

Your comments on this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

You might also like:

MOOZOOM, une plateforme qui aide les jeunes à développer les compétences socio-émotionnelles

  • Reportage commandité
Partenaire | Moozoom offre une approche d'enseignement explicite qui plonge les élèves dans un univers fictif à partir duquel ils peuvent créer leur propre histoire et faire des liens avec leur enjeux de tous les jours.
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Publireportage - Sommaire de l’étude entourant la mise à l’essai de Moozoom par le Centre de services scolaire de Saint-Hyacinthe (CSSSH).

L’apprentissage et la maîtrise de compétences socio-émotionnelles est non seulement déterminante pour la réussite scolaire des élèves, mais également pour le développement de leur plein potentiel et de leur socialisation. C’est dans cette perspective qu’une démarche collaborative entre le CSSSH, moozoom, le CTREQ, et les chercheuses – Claire Beaumont, professeure titulaire à l’Université Laval, et Line Massé, professeure titulaire à l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, a pris forme en septembre 2020 avec comme objectif la mise à l’essai de la plateforme moozoom dans 3 écoles.

Un an plus tard, il en ressort un rapport destiné au personnel des écoles qui désire explorer une manière d’optimiser l’apprentissage socio-émotionnel dans leur milieu. Consultez la version intégrale du rapport.

Moozoom facilite l’implantation de l’apprentissage socio-émotionnel

La première étape de la mise à l’essai fut à l’élaboration des conditions d’implantation favorables au développement des compétences socio-émotionnelles en milieu scolaire. Parmi celles-ci, il a été jugé qu’une démonstration de moozoom à l’équipe-école était essentielle pour favoriser l’adhésion des membres du personnel. Au niveau des apprentissages, les vidéos de modélisation et autres activités disponibles sur moozoom, ainsi que la simplicité d’utilisation de la plateforme, ont contribué à soutenir l’enseignement explicite des compétences socio-émotionnelles aux élèves. Pour une implantation systémique réussie, la collaboration entre les différents membres du personnels de l’école (professionnels, enseignants, éducateurs au service de garde) a été primordiale.

Le leadership de la direction : un incontournable.

Le leadership de la direction est rapidement apparu comme un incontournable dans le bon déroulement et la réussite de l’implantation de l’apprentissage socio-émotionnel. Une direction d’école souligne à ce titre la cohérence de la plateforme moozoom avec leur plan de réussite. Les écoles quant à elles qui ont réalisé la mise à l’essai de manière universelle (en impliquant l’ensemble du personnel) ont été en mesure de constater un impact positif global plus important sur le bien-être des élèves et la gestion des comportements. Dans la mesure où l’objectif est de développer un langage commun auprès des élèves, il est tout à l’avantage du personnel d’une école d’agir de manière concertée. Les vidéos et les activités de moozoom se sont révélées être un agent liant entre tout ce qui se passe dans la classe, tandis que la flexibilité et la simplicité d’utilisation offerte par la plateforme ont facilité son implantation à l’échelle école.

Une enseignante de l’école Roger LaBrèque du CSSSH a mentionné : « L’utilisation des vidéos rend le tout plus concret que seulement en utilisant la discussion. La plateforme moozoom m’a permis de constater un impact chez les élèves qui étaient plus capables d’introspection. »

Des jeunes qui parlent aux jeunes

À ce jour, ce sont plus de 700 écoles qui ont vu en moozoom un outil pouvant permettre de créer un impact positif sur le mieux-être de leurs élèves. Cette étude met en évidence le potentiel d’une plateforme dont la mission est de simplifier l’apprentissage socio-émotionnel dans les écoles en misant sur une solution à partir de laquelle des jeunes parlent aux jeunes.

Les écoles peuvent obtenir une démonstration en cliquant ici.

Vos commentaires sur cet article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :