3D modeling for the study of volumes? " Yes we can! "

4th year (CM1) primary school students identify 3D printing as the ideal solution to their educational approach… and build their own printer!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Students of 4e year (CM1) of elementary school identify 3D printing as the ideal solution to their educational approach ... and build their own printer!

At École branchée, we often receive emails from teachers inviting us to find out about the projects they have carried out in class. Sometimes, the high volume of requests does not allow our small team to follow up as we would like ... In the following case, I must admit that I am particularly delighted that this professor has agreed to describe to us in more detail his process, because it turns out to be a truly exceptional experience! We are particularly happy to share it with you today!

Students identify 3D printing as the ideal process

During the last school year, CM1 students (class of 4e elementary school) of the Roche des Grées elementary school, in Méssac in Brittany (France) have embarked on a vast transdisciplinary project crossing mathematics, plastic arts and technology. They have indeed enriched their study of volumes in mathematics with a work of 3D modeling, which gradually led them to design their own chess pieces by themselves.

"The innovative aspect in this project is that a project approach that wants to be exhaustive leads students to identify the needs, the necessary tools, to imagine how to design the objects they have modeled in 3D ”, estimates the professor, Mr. Erwan Vappreau. Indeed, they went through clay, fimo, plaster, but research carried out in parallel quickly highlighted 3D printing as an ideal process. But now, the class did not have access to a 3D printer ...

“No 3D printer? What if we made one? "

In the category There are no problems! : "What if we made one?" »Spontaneously suggested the pupils. The feasibility study showed that it was a very delicate adventure. In fact, self-assembly machines require a good basic knowledge, the associated educational tools are non-existent, and they are generally machines whose assembly cannot be left in the hands of children… No?

Never mind… this machine had to be reinvented, and the associated tools, designed. This is exactly what they did.

To achieve this, Mr. Vappreau has partnered with the fablab of the Planète Sciences association, focused on actions in education and scientific culture, the " Plascilab », To Ris-Orangis. Several months of work later, the "WW" was born, the WONDER WOODEN (a "wooden wonder" that they all find very pretty!).

Thanks to it, the students were able to design their chess pieces from A to Z by assembling their own 3D printer from the prototype, both surprisingly in its simplicity and in its performance. The assembly in elementary class of a 3D printer prototype is therefore a first, which the students were perfectly able to appropriate through the implementation of a project methodology and elaborate teamwork. to make them as independent as possible.

A machine open source, simple, affordable and efficient, expected to evolve

“My students, after this first experience, contribute to the development of a version 2 of the machine, which will be installed again in my class next year to develop a similar project, but more oriented towards geography, the architecture and art, themes proposed by the pupils themselves who have become familiar with this universe ”. It is therefore to be continued ...

This machine was designed to be very economical (less than 450 €) and adapted to the capacities of the pupils within the framework of the construction of a technological object (integrated into the programs). It therefore has a strong educational potential while being reliable, robust and of a very respectable size. It is also accompanied by a whole educational documentation tested in class for those who would like to know more about this adventure and maybe even get started.

The device (printer and associated educational resources) is in open source. Its creator hopes that it will be quickly developed and adapted to other classes, including high school, and not only in France! For more information, you can contact Mr. Erwan VAPPREAU, school teacher, specializing in scientific projects: spiderwan@free.fr

Student project site

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Google advertising


About the Author

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Editor of École branchée magazine, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technology and a bachelor's degree in public communication. A member of the Professional Federation of Quebec Journalists (FPJQ), she is particularly interested in news related to the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education. She has been active in building bridges in the educational ecosystem since 1999. These days she is particularly involved in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. In 2021, she was awarded the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, rabbits, horses, good wine and ... web programming!

You might also like:

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive news from École branchée

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

La modélisation 3D pour l’étude des volumes? « Oui on peut! »

Publié le :

Des élèves de 4e année (CM1) du primaire identifient l’impression 3D comme la solution idéale à leur démarche pédagogique… et fabriquent leur propre imprimante!
Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Des élèves de 4e année (CM1) du primaire identifient l’impression 3D comme la solution idéale à leur démarche pédagogique… et fabriquent leur propre imprimante!

À l’École branchée, on reçoit souvent des courriels d’enseignants qui nous invitent à découvrir les projets qu’ils ont réalisés en classe. Parfois, l’important volume de demandes ne permet pas à notre petite équipe de faire les suivis comme on le souhaiterait… Dans le cas qui suit, je dois admettre que je suis particulièrement ravie que ce professeur ait accepté de nous décrire plus en détails sa démarche, car elle se révèle être une expérience tout à fait exceptionnelle! Nous sommes particulièrement heureux de vous la faire découvrir aujourd’hui!

Les élèves identifient l’impression 3D comme procédé idéal

Lors de la dernière année scolaire, des élèves de CM1 (classe de 4e année du primaire) de l’école élémentaire la Roche des Grées, à Méssac en Bretagne (France) se sont lancés dans un vaste projet transdisciplinaire croisant les mathématiques, les arts plastiques et la technologie. Ils ont en effet enrichi leur étude des volumes en mathématiques d’un travail de modélisation 3D, qui les a progressivement amenés à concevoir par eux-mêmes leurs propres pièces de jeu d’échecs.

« L’aspect innovant dans ce projet est qu’une démarche de projet se voulant exhaustive amène les élèves à identifier les besoins, les outils nécessaires, pour imaginer comment concevoir les objets qu’ils ont modélisés en 3D », estime le professeur, M. Erwan Vappreau. En effet, ils sont passés par l’argile, la pâte fimo, le plâtre, mais les recherches menées en parallèle ont vite mis en évidence l’impression 3D comme un procédé idéal. Mais voilà, la classe n’avait pas accès à une imprimante 3D…

« Pas d’imprimante 3D? Et si on en fabriquait une? »

Dans la catégorie Y’en n’a pas, de problèmes! : « et si on en fabriquait une? » ont alors spontanément proposé les élèves. L’étude de faisabilité a montré que c’était une aventure très délicate. En effet, les machines à monter soi-même impliquent de bonnes connaissances de base, les outils pédagogiques associés sont inexistants, et ce sont généralement des machines dont le montage ne peut être laissé entre les mains d’enfants… Non?

Qu’à cela ne tienne… cette machine, il fallait la réinventer, et les outils associés, les concevoir. C’est exactement ce qu’ils ont fait.

Pour y parvenir, M. Vappreau s’est associé avec le fablab de l’association Planète Sciences, tourné vers les actions en éducation et en culture scientifique, le « Plascilab », à Ris-Orangis. Plusieurs mois de boulot plus tard, la « WW » est née, la WONDER WOODEN (une « merveille en bois » qu’ils trouvent tous bien jolie!).

Grâce à elle, les élèves ont pu concevoir de A à Z leurs pièces d’échecs en assemblant eux-mêmes leur propre imprimante 3D à partir du prototype, à la fois étonnant par sa simplicité et par ses performances. Le montage en classe élémentaire d’un prototype d’imprimante 3D est donc une première, que les élèves ont parfaitement été capables de s’approprier à travers la mise en œuvre d’une méthodologie de projet et d’un travail d’équipe élaboré pour les rendre les plus autonomes possible.

Une machine open source, simple, abordable et performante, appelée à évoluer

« Mes élèves, après cette première expérience, contribuent à l’élaboration d’une version 2 de la machine, qui sera de nouveau montée dans ma classe l’année prochaine pour développer un projet similaire, mais plus orienté vers la géographie, l’architecture et l’art, des thématiques proposées par les élèves eux-mêmes devenus familiers avec cet univers ». C’est donc à suivre…

Cette machine fut pensée pour être très économique (moins de 450 €) et adaptée aux capacités des élèves dans le cadre de la construction d’un objet technologique (intégré aux programmes). Elle a donc un fort potentiel pédagogique tout en étant fiable, robuste et d’une taille très respectable. Elle s’accompagne également de toute une documentation pédagogique testée en classe pour ceux qui souhaiteraient en savoir plus sur cette aventure et peut-être même s’y lancer.

Le dispositif (imprimante et ressources pédagogiques associées) est en open source. Son créateur espère qu’il sera vite développé et adapté à d’autres classes, y compris du secondaire, et pas seulement en France! Pour en savoir plus, on peut communiquer avec M. Erwan VAPPREAU, professeur des écoles, spécialisé dans les projets scientifiques : spiderwan@free.fr

Site du projet des élèves

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Éditrice du magazine École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ), elle s'intéresse particulièrement l'actualité liée au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias. Elle s'active à créer des ponts dans l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'AQUOPS, Edteq et en tant que membre du comité #Francosphère de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!