The educational use of smart phones in my classroom, is it possible?

Although the educational potential may seem promising, there are challenges and issues related to the use of mobile devices in the classroom, particularly with regard to inappropriate use by students. Michelle Deschênes and Séverine Parent discuss the issue in this article.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

By Michelle Deschênes (Professor in educational psychology for vocational education, University of Quebec at Rimouski) and Séverine Parent (Professor in educational technology and digital literacy, University of Quebec at Rimouski, Lévis campus)


This text was first published in the magazine La Foucade (Flight. 20, no 2, June 2020), produced by the Quebec Committee for Young People with Behavior Difficulties (CQJDC). It is reproduced by École branchée with the agreement of the authors and managers of the magazine.


In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the number of students who have a device that can receive and send text messages (Beaumont, Leclerc & Frenette, 2018). At the primary level, there was an increase from 61 % in 2013 to 79 % in 2017. At the secondary level, the rate rose from 76 % in 2013 to 92 % in 2017. Among 12 to 15 year olds, one in two young people own a smartphone. or multifunctional (CEFRIO, 2017).

This use of multifunction telephones by young people raises issues relating to digital citizenship, defined as the fact of “having equipment and skills linked to ICT [information and communication technologies] […] allowing them to participate in digital society ”(UNESCO, 2011, p. 102).

Although this is a widely used expression, we have reservations about the use of the term “intelligent”. We prefer the term "multifunction telephone".

An opportunity to support students

Digital devices in the classroom, whether tablets, laptops or phones, can be used in many ways. They make it possible in particular to do research, answer interactive questionnaires, participate in conversations on educational social networks, access files, take photos and produce video montages.

Beyond the potential of mobile devices to support learning, the use of phones in the classroom makes it possible to tackle topics related to citizenship in the digital age. In its Digital Action Plan, the Ministry of Education and Higher Education (MEES, 2018, p. 34) affirms that “educational establishments must effectively support students […] in their use of digital technology and get them to adopt responsible behavior ”.

Thus, it seems essential to address topics such as digital health, digital identity, image rights, cyberbullying and plagiarism. In addition, “acting as an ethical citizen in the digital age” is at the heart of the Framework.
digital competence benchmark (MEES, 2019).

Although the educational potential may seem promising, there are challenges and issues related to the use of mobile devices in the classroom, particularly with regard to inappropriate use by students. Without addressing cyber addiction, it is clear that the omnipresence of smartphones has repercussions in our real and virtual lives (for more details, see the file "It's time to drop out! " from L'actualité magazine).

Various initiatives have been put in place in schools to support students in the use of their telephone and the various applications to which it gives access. In some schools, teachers use resources such as "Towards a positive identity in the digital age" to animate activities. Teachers use a contract signed by the student and his parents to make them aware of the responsible use of their digital tools. In other schools, a member of the police force meets with students to discuss topics such as cyberbullying and social media. Elsewhere, informal discussions are held when the teacher deems it necessary.

Resources are available to discuss image rights and responsibilities and cyberbullying. The youth section of the Educaloi site has a page on image rights and cyberbullying prohibited by law. The section Digital challenges of the Habilo Médias site also offers various resources.

Strategies for leveraging mobile devices

Efficient use of mobile devices in the classroom is managed like any other behavior in the classroom: preventing indiscipline through effective classroom management (Gaudreau, 2015). Thus, it can be interesting to take advantage of mobile devices in the classroom by putting in place strategies upstream and intervening when the situation requires it. Giving clear benchmarks helps to encourage appropriate use of tools not only in the classroom, but also in
the daily life of students (Moreau and Bigras-Dunberry, 2017).

Work upstream

To ensure the most harmonious pedagogical integration of mobile devices possible, certain reflections are necessary and certain actions should be taken beforehand.

Provide for institutional reflection

As a school team, discuss the pedagogical possibilities and the constraints perceived by each one. Determine what constitutes acceptable behavior in device use, both by students and teachers.

You will thus be able to help promote safe, responsible and healthy use of mobile technologies (UNESCO, 2013). France and Ontario have chosen to ban smartphones in the classroom. In Quebec, some initiatives inspired by BYOD (Bring your own device, a term translated by AVAN for “Bring your digital device” or “Learning with your digital device”) where students are asked to bring a digital device, take place in certain schools or in certain classrooms. However, it seems that the majority of elementary schools ban telephones.

In secondary school, it seems that the supervision is more variable: the management of telephones is sometimes left to the discretion of the teacher, school rules sometimes allow them to be used during breaks. In other establishments, it is prohibited at all times. Classroom bans unfortunately deprive education of new perspectives and can prevent innovation in teaching and learning (UNESCO, 2013).

Numerous testimonials from practitioners in the pages of the École branchée magazine or even sharing of practices at the AQUOPS congress make it possible to testify to a successful integration of the telephone in the classroom, in particular for the integration of virtual reality in the classroom. . The RÉCIT en univers social site offers activities to integrate virtual reality using, in particular, a smart phone.

A reflection on the use of smart phones is also taking place in post-secondary institutions, both college and university. While no policy seems to have completely banned it in postsecondary education, the support needs for the integration of ICT, in particular the development of the skills of students, but also of teachers, in terms of the educational use of mobile devices in the classroom. is identified as an outstanding challenge (Working Group on the Use of Mobile Devices in the Classroom, 2015).

The article "Do tablets and cellphones have a place in CEGEP?" Interview with Nicole Perreault, host of the REPTIC Network ”published in Profweb.ca in February 2018 highlights some challenges of college mobility.

Include students in defining classroom rules

Once the broad outlines have been defined, it is interesting to involve the students in the drafting of rules governing the use of mobile devices in the classroom (Trussart, 2017). It is then possible to take the opportunity to explain your limits. To clearly mark out the times and situations when the use of devices is desired, permitted or prohibited, different strategies are possible: verbal explanations or the use of pictograms. Do not hesitate to remind you of the rules at the start of the day or at the start of class.

Choose times, activities

To maximize the positive impact of using mobile devices in the classroom, plan to use them in activities where the devices will redefine the learning experience. The SAMR model (Puentedura, 2010) proposes for this purpose four levels of pedagogical integration of ICT, moving from transformation to improvement: redefinition, modification, increase and substitution.

Using a multifunction telephone to take notes that could have been taken on paper may be of little interest to students, the device replacing paper with no added value. The possibilities of educational or general public software make it possible, through the functionalities they offer, to improve the activity: for example, the fact of recording the notes online makes them more accessible since it is possible to make research.

A reconfiguration of the task, by having students collaborate in simultaneous and collaborative note-taking, for example, would make it possible to envisage more interesting pedagogical repercussions. In addition, as Stéphanie Lemieux, assistant principal in a secondary school, reminds us: “To integrate technology into the classroom, it is not necessary to be an expert in technology, but in pedagogy”.

Intervene as needed

Even if the rules are defined in collaboration with the students, and even if the times of use of the digital devices are clearly specified, some students may not use the devices in an appropriate way: students who text, who access to social networks which do not support educational activity, which watch videos, which take pictures without being authorized, for example.

If this happens, the same strategies you use when any type of inappropriate behavior can be used: explicitly teaching and reinforcing expected behaviors, intentionally ignoring certain behaviors, applying logical and natural consequences in response misconduct (Webster-Stratton, 1999; WebsterStratton, Reid and Stoolmiller, 2008: cited in Gaudreau, 2015). Your students will be on familiar ground and so will you.

Conclusion

Different development opportunities related to the use of mobile devices are available, including RÉCIT self-study and CADRE21 or workshops at the AQUOPS annual conference. Do not hesitate to be accompanied and to discuss with your colleagues. Interesting discussions are taking place on social networks, especially on the Facebook group ICT in education or by following the hashtag #eduprof on Twitter. You will thus be able to better contribute to preparing students for higher education and, more generally, to being citizens in the digital age.

References
- Beaumont, C., Leclerc, D. and Frenette, E. (2018). Evolution of various aspects associated with violence in Quebec schools 2013-2015-2017. Québec, Qc: Well-being at school and violence prevention research chair, Faculty of Education: Université Laval.
- CEFRIO. (2017). Connected viewing by young people in Quebec. Use of the web, social media and mobility. Montreal, Qc: CEFRIO.
- Gaudreau, N. (2015). Prevent indiscipline through effective classroom management. La Foucade, 15 (2), 3-4.
- Working group on the use of mobile devices in the classroom. (2015). Use of mobile devices in the classroom. Report. Quebec, Qc: Laval University.
- Lemieux, S. (2020, February 5). Integrating digital in class smoothly: discussion with two students.
-Ministry of Education and Higher Education. (MESES). (2018). Digital action plan in education and higher education. Quebec, Qc: Government of Quebec.
- Ministry of Education and Higher Education (MEES). (2019). Reference framework for digital competence. Quebec, Qc: Government of Quebec.
- Moreau, C. and Bigras-Dunberry, C. (2017). Supervision of mobile technologies in the classroom for an active engagement of students. The table, 6 (4), 1-2.
- Puentedura, RR (2010). SAMR and TPCK: Intro to advanced practice.
- Trussart, 2017). Classroom management in the digital age (part 1): Between consistency and tolerance.
- UNESCO. (2011). UNESCO ICT: a competency framework for teachers. Paris, France: Author.
- UNESCO (2013). Guiding Principles of Mobile Learning. Paris, France: Author.

Thanks
The authors of the text sincerely thank the teachers who answered the call to all on the use of the questionnaire in class. A very special thank you to François-Henri Lafarge and Gilbert Olivier who agreed to reread the text and improve it before its publication.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

L’utilisation pédagogique des téléphones intelligents dans ma classe, c’est possible?

Bien que le potentiel pédagogique puisse sembler prometteur, des défis et des enjeux sont reliés à l’utilisation d’appareils mobiles en classe, notamment en ce qui concerne l’utilisation inappropriée par les élèves. Michelle Deschênes et Séverine Parent font le tour de la question dans cet article.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Par Michelle Deschênes (Professeure en psychopédagogie de l’enseignement professionnel, Université du Québec à Rimouski) et Séverine Parent (Professeure en technologie éducative et littératie numérique, Université du Québec à Rimouski, campus de Lévis)


Ce texte a d’abord été publié dans le magazine La Foucade (Vol. 20, no 2, juin 2020), réalisé par le Comité québécois pour les jeunes en difficulté de comportement (CQJDC). Il est reproduit par l’École branchée avec l’accord des auteures et des responsables du magazine.


On constate depuis quelques années une augmentation importante du nombre d’élèves qui possèdent un appareil pouvant recevoir et envoyer des textos (Beaumont, Leclerc et Frenette, 2018). Au primaire, on note une augmentation de 61 % en 2013 à 79 % en 2017. Au secondaire, le taux passe de 76 % en 2013 à 92 % en 2017. Chez les 12 à 15 ans, un jeune sur deux possède un téléphone intelligent ou multifonctions (CEFRIO, 2017).

Cette utilisation des téléphones multifonctions par les jeunes soulève des enjeux qui concernent la citoyenneté numérique, définie comme le fait de « posséder des équipements et des compétences liés aux TIC [technologies de l’information et de la communication] […] permettant de participer à la société numérique » (UNESCO, 2011, p. 102).

Bien que ce soit une expression largement utilisée, nous émettons des réserves quant à l’utilisation du terme « intelligent ». Nous lui préférons le terme « téléphone multifonctions ».

Une occasion d’accompagner les élèves

Les appareils numériques dans la classe, que ce soit les tablettes, les portables ou les téléphones, peuvent être utilisés de multiples façons. Ils permettent notamment de faire des recherches, de répondre à des questionnaires interactifs, de participer aux conversations sur des réseaux sociaux pédagogiques, d’accéder à des fichiers, de prendre de photos et de produire des montages vidéo.

Au-delà du potentiel des appareils mobiles pour soutenir les apprentissages, l’utilisation des téléphones en classe permet d’aborder des sujets liés à la citoyenneté à l’ère du numérique. Dans son Plan d’action numérique, le Ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur (MEES, 2018, p. 34) affirme que « les établissements d’enseignement doivent accompagner efficacement les élèves […] dans leur usage du numérique et les amener à adopter un comportement responsable ».

Ainsi, il semble essentiel d’aborder des sujets comme la saine hygiène numérique, l’identité numérique, le droit à l’image, la cyberintimidation et le plagiat. De plus, « agir en citoyen éthique à l’ère du numérique » est au cœur du Cadre de
référence de la compétence numérique (MEES, 2019).

Bien que le potentiel pédagogique puisse sembler prometteur, des défis et des enjeux sont reliés à l’utilisation d’appareils mobiles en classe, notamment en ce qui concerne l’utilisation inappropriée par les élèves. Sans aborder la cyberdépendance, force est de constater que l’omniprésence des téléphones intelligents a des répercussions dans notre vie réelle et virtuelle (pour plus de détails, consultez le dossier « Il est temps de décrocher ! » du magazine L’actualité).

Différentes initiatives sont mises en place dans les établissements scolaires pour accompagner les élèves dans l’utilisation de leur téléphone et des différentes applications auxquels il donne accès. Dans certaines écoles, des enseignants utilisent des ressources comme « Vers une identité positive à l’ère du numérique » pour animer des activités. Des enseignants utilisent un contrat signé par l’élève et ses parents afin de les sensibiliser à un usage responsable de leurs outils numériques. Dans d’autres écoles, un membre du corps policier rencontre les élèves pour discuter de sujets comme la cyberintimidation et les réseaux sociaux. Ailleurs, des discussions informelles sont tenues lorsque l’enseignant ou l’enseignante le juge nécessaire.

Des ressources sont disponibles pour aborder les droits et responsabilités en matière de droit à l’image et de cyberintimidation. La section jeunesse du site Educaloi propose une page sur le droit à l’image et les gestes interdits par la loi en matière de cyberintimidation. La section Enjeux numériques du site Habilo Médias propose également différentes ressources.

Des stratégies pour tirer profit des appareils mobiles

Une utilisation efficace des appareil mobiles en classe se gère comme tout comportement en classe : prévenir l’indiscipline par une gestion de classe efficace (Gaudreau, 2015). Ainsi, il peut être intéressant de tirer profit des appareils mobiles en classe en mettant en place des stratégies en amont et en intervenant lorsque la situation le nécessite. Donner des repères clairs permet d’encourager une utilisation appropriée des outils non seulement en classe, mais aussi dans
le quotidien des élèves (Moreau et Bigras-Dunberry, 2017).

Travailler en amont

Pour s’assurer d’une intégration pédagogique des appareils mobiles le plus harmonieuse possible, certaines réflexions sont nécessaires et certaines actions devraient être posées préalablement.

Prévoir une réflexion institutionnelle

En équipe-école, discutez des possibilités pédagogiques et des contraintes perçues par chacun. Déterminez ce qui représente des comportements acceptables en matière d’utilisation des appareils, à la fois par les élèves et le personnel enseignant.

Vous pourrez ainsi contribuer à promouvoir un usage sécuritaire, responsable et sain des technologies mobiles (UNESCO, 2013). La France et l’Ontario ont fait le choix d’interdire les téléphones intelligents en classe. Au Québec, certaines initiatives inspirées du BYOD (Bring your own device, un terme traduit par AVAN pour « Apportez votre appareil numérique » ou « Apprendre avec votre appareil numérique ») où les élèves sont invités à apporter un appareil numérique, ont lieu dans certains établissements ou dans certaines classes. Toutefois, il semble que la majorité des écoles primaires interdise les téléphones.

Au secondaire, il semble que l’encadrement soit plus variable : la gestion des téléphones est parfois laissée à la discrétion de l’enseignant, les règles de l’école en permettent parfois l’utilisation durant les pauses. Dans d’autres établissements, il est interdit en tout temps. L’interdiction en classe prive malheureusement l’éducation de nouvelles perspectives et peut empêcher l’innovation dans l’enseignement et l’apprentissage (UNESCO, 2013).

De nombreux témoignages de praticiens dans les pages du magazine de l’École branchée ou encore des partages de pratique au congrès de l’AQUOPS permettent de témoigner d’une intégration réussie du téléphone en classe, notamment pour l’intégration de la réalité virtuelle en classe. Le site du RÉCIT en univers social propose des activités pour intégrer la réalité virtuelle à l’aide notamment d’un téléphone intelligent.

Une réflexion quant à l’utilisation des téléphones intelligents a aussi lieu dans les institutions postsecondaires, tant au collégial qu’à l’université. Si aucune politique ne semble l’avoir complètement interdit au postsecondaire, les besoins d’accompagnement quant à l’intégration des TIC, notamment le développement des compétences des étudiants, mais aussi des professeurs, en matière d’utilisation pédagogique des appareils mobiles en classe est identifié comme un défi qui reste à relever (Groupe de travail sur l’utilisation des appareils mobiles en classe, 2015).

L’article « Tablettes et cellulaires ont-ils leur place au cégep? Entretien avec Nicole Perreault, animatrice du Réseau des REPTIC » paru dans Profweb.ca en février 2018 souligne quelques défis de la mobilité au collégial.

Inclure les élèves dans la définition des règles de classe

Une fois les grandes lignes définies, il est intéressant d’impliquer les élèves dans la rédaction de règles encadrant l’utilisation des appareils mobiles dans la classe (Trussart, 2017). Il est alors possible de profiter de l’occasion pour expliciter vos limites. Pour bien baliser les moments et les situations où l’utilisation des appareils est souhaitée, permise ou proscrite, différentes stratégies sont possibles : explications verbales ou utilisation de pictogrammes. N’hésitez pas à rappeler les règles en début de journée ou en début de cours.

Choisir les moments, les activités

Pour optimiser les répercussions positives de l’utilisation des appareils mobiles en classe, prévoyez les utiliser dans des activités où les appareils permettront de redéfinir l’expérience d’apprentissage. Le modèle SAMR (Puentedura, 2010) propose à cet effet quatre niveaux d’intégration pédagogique des TIC, passant de la transformation à l’amélioration : redéfinition, modification, augmentation et substitution.

Utiliser un téléphone multifonctions pour prendre des notes qui auraient pu être prises sur papier pourrait n’avoir qu’un faible intérêt pour les élèves, l’appareil se substituant au papier sans valeur ajoutée. Les possibilités des logiciels éducatifs ou grand public permettent, par les fonctionnalités qu’ils offrent, de bonifier l’activité : par exemple, le fait d’enregistrer les notes en ligne les rend plus accessibles puisqu’il est possible d’y faire des recherches.

Une reconfiguration de la tâche, en faisant collaborer les élèves à la prise de note simultanée et collaborative par exemple, permettrait d’envisager des répercussions pédagogiques plus intéressantes. Par ailleurs, comme le rappelle Stéphanie Lemieux, directrice adjointe dans une école secondaire : « Pour intégrer la technologie en classe, il n’est pas nécessaire d’être un expert de la technologie, mais bien de la pédagogie ».

Intervenir au besoin

Même si les règles sont définies en collaboration avec les élèves, et même si les moments d’utilisation des appareils numériques sont clairement précisés, il se peut que des élèves n’utilisent pas les appareils de façon appropriée : des élèves qui textent, qui accèdent à des réseaux sociaux qui ne soutiennent pas l’activité pédagogique, qui visionnent des vidéos, qui prennent des photos sans y être autorisés, par exemple.

Si cela se produit, les mêmes stratégies que celles que vous utilisez lorsque tout type de comportements inappropriés peuvent être utilisées : enseignement explicite des comportements attendus et renforcements fréquents de ceux-ci, ignorance intentionnelle de certains comportements, application de conséquences logiques et naturelles en réponse aux écarts de conduite (Webster-Stratton, 1999; WebsterStratton, Reid et Stoolmiller, 2008 : cités dans Gaudreau, 2015). Vos élèves seront en terrain connu et vous aussi.

Conclusion

Différentes opportunités de perfectionnement en lien avec l’utilisation des appareils mobiles sont accessibles, notamment les autoformations du RÉCIT et de CADRE21 ou les ateliers au colloque annuel de l’AQUOPS. N’hésitez pas à vous faire accompagner et à échanger avec vos collègues. D’intéressantes discussions ont lieu les réseaux sociaux, notamment sur le groupe Facebook Les TIC en éducation ou en suivant le motclic #eduprof sur Twitter. Vous pourrez ainsi mieux contribuer à préparer les élèves aux études supérieures et plus globalement, à être des citoyens à l’ère du numérique.

Références
– Beaumont, C., Leclerc, D. et Frenette, E. (2018). Évolution de divers aspects associés à la violence dans les écoles québécoises 2013-2015-2017. Québec, Qc : Chaire de recherche Bien-être à l’école et prévention de la violence, Faculté des sciences de l’éducation: Université Laval.
– CEFRIO. (2017). Visionnement connecté par les jeunes au Québec. Usage du Web, médias sociaux et mobilité. Montréal, Qc : CEFRIO.
– Gaudreau, N. (2015). Prévenir l’indiscipline par une gestion de classe efficace. La Foucade, 15(2), 3-4.
– Groupe de travail sur l’utilisation des appareils mobiles en classe. (2015). L’utilisation des appareils mobiles en classe. Rapport. Québec, Qc : Université Laval.
– Lemieux, S. (2020, 5 février). Intégrer le numérique en classe en douceur : échange avec deux élèves.
-Ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur. (MÉES). (2018). Plan d’action numérique en éducation et en enseignement supérieur. Québec, Qc : Gouvernement du Québec.
– Ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur (MEES). (2019). Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique. Québec, Qc : Gouvernement du Québec.
– Moreau, C. et Bigras-Dunberry, C. (2017). De l’encadrement des technologies mobiles en classe pour un engagement actif des étudiants. Le tableau, 6(4), 1-2.
– Puentedura, R. R. (2010). SAMR and TPCK: Intro to advanced practice.
– Trussart, 2017). La gestion de classe à l’ère du numérique (partie 1) : Entre cohérence et tolérance.
– UNESCO. (2011). TIC UNESCO : un référentiel de compétences pour les enseignants. Paris, France : Auteur.
– UNESCO (2013). Principes directeurs de l’apprentissage mobile. Paris, France : Auteur.

Remerciements
Les auteures du texte remercient sincèrement les enseignantes et enseignants qui ont répondu à l’appel à tous sur l’utilisation du questionnaire en classe. Un remerciement tout spécial à François-Henri Lafarge et Gilbert Olivier qui ont accepté de relire le texte et de le bonifier avant sa parution.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct