Timeline and ArchéoBazar: two new digital tools to make archeology more accessible

Pointe-à-Callière, city of archeology and history of Montreal, is launching two digital tools on the Archéolab.Québec platform. The ArchéoBazar educational tool and a new interactive timeline will help showcase Quebec's archaeological heritage.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Montreal, October 14, 2020 - Pointe-à-Callière, city of archeology and history of Montreal, launches two digital tools on the platform Archéolab.Quebec, which make it possible to highlight the archaeological heritage. In addition to the resources already available to help people discover Quebec archeology, the platform now offers the educational tool ArcheoBazaar and a new one Timeline interactive.

ArchéoBazar: a fun tool for teachers

ArchéoBazar is a tool designed to discover the collection offered in Archéolab in a fun and educational way. It presents a selection of artefacts directly associated with the specific themes and subjects that make up the “Social Universe” school program and provides access to content specially adapted to the needs of a school clientele. This tool is an access portal to be used in addition to the content seen in class, but it can just as easily be used by anyone interested in material witnesses of the past, from the first occupants who set foot on the territory to the contemporary period!

From the four main themes of departure (First occupants of the territory, New France, British Conquest and change of Empire, Contemporary period and industrialization of Canada), it is possible to explore “star artifacts” through stories audio, short texts and animations.

To know more : https://www.archeolab.quebec/archeobazar

The timeline: chronology of the occupation of Quebec territory

The timeline exhibits a selection of artefacts which, placed across five major divisions in the history of present-day Quebec, reveals the archaeological imprint of the First Nations, Euro-Canadians and Inuit who occupied it. This is a new tool for discovering the Reference archaeological collection of Quebec which bears witness to eras, lifestyles and significant events in Quebec history.

Various interactive options are offered to take the exploration further: access the artefact data sheets, obtain targeted groups of artefacts associated with specific periods, sites or archaeological contexts.

To know more : https://www.archeolab.quebec/ligne-du-temps

Partners

Funded under the Quebec Digital Cultural Plan and the Cultural Development Agreement between the City of Montreal and the Government of Quebec, the Archéolab.Québec platform was designed by Pointe-à-Callière. Developed with the contribution of ten emeritus researchers in Quebec archeology and a scientific committee, the collection has also been able to count on the collaboration of several institutional partners, in particular the Center de conservation du Québec, Laval University, the City of of Quebec, the City of Montreal, Parks Canada and several museums.

Archéolab.Quebec is an essential reference in Quebec archeology, a crossroads that brings together a panoply of resources offering direct access to artefacts as well as to the archaeological discipline itself. The portal brings together representative bodies of all cultural occupations in Quebec and their regional variants. The collection has an informative, scientific, heritage, identity and educational value in addition to making Quebec know-how in North American archeology accessible to the entire community. This documentation is at the cutting edge of current knowledge. Note that Archéolab.Québec received the Excellence Award from the Canadian Museums Association in 2019, in the New Media category.

About Pointe-à-Callière, city of archeology and history of Montreal : Pointe-à-Callière, where Montreal was founded, is Montreal's largest history museum. Built on a concentration of historical and archaeological sites of national scope, the museum complex's mission is to make known and love the history of the metropolis of Quebec and to forge links with regional, national and international networks. Pointe-à-Callière is subsidized by the City of Montreal.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Ligne du temps et ArchéoBazar : deux nouveaux outils numériques pour rendre l’archéologie plus accessible

Pointe-à-Callière, cité d’archéologie et d’histoire de Montréal, lance deux outils numériques sur la plateforme Archéolab.Québec. L’outil pédagogique ArchéoBazar et une nouvelle Ligne du temps interactive permettront de mettre en valeur le patrimoine archéologique québécois.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Montréal, le 14 octobre 2020 – Pointe-à-Callière, cité d’archéologie et d’histoire de Montréal, lance deux outils numériques sur la plateforme Archéolab.Québec, qui permettent de mettre en valeur le patrimoine archéologique. En plus des ressources déjà disponibles pour faire découvrir l’archéologie québécoise, la plateforme offre maintenant l’outil pédagogique ArchéoBazar et une nouvelle Ligne du temps interactive.

ArchéoBazar : un outil ludique pour les enseignants

ArchéoBazar est un outil conçu pour découvrir la collection offerte dans Archéolab de manière ludique et pédagogique. Il présente une sélection d’artéfacts directement associée aux thèmes et aux sujets spécifiques qui composent le programme scolaire « Univers social » et permet d’accéder à des contenus spécialement adaptés aux besoins d’une clientèle scolaire. Cet outil est un portail d’accès à utiliser en complément des contenus vus en classe, mais il peut tout aussi bien être utilisé par quiconque s’intéresse aux témoins matériels du passé, à partir des premiers occupants ayant foulé le territoire jusqu’à la période contemporaine!

À partir des quatre grands thèmes de départ (Premiers occupants du territoire, Nouvelle-France, Conquête britannique et changement d’Empire, Période contemporaine et industrialisation du Canada), il est possible d’explorer des « artéfacts-vedettes » grâce à des récits audio, de courts textes et des animations.

Pour en savoir plus : https://www.archeolab.quebec/archeobazar

La ligne du temps : chronologie de l’occupation du territoire québécois

La ligne du temps expose une sélection d’artéfacts qui, replacés à travers cinq grandes divisions de l’histoire du territoire du Québec actuel, dévoile l’empreinte archéologique des Premières nations, des Euro-canadiens et des Inuits qui l’ont occupé. Il s’agit d’un nouvel outil pour découvrir autrement la Collection archéologique de référence du Québec qui témoigne d’époques, de modes de vie et d’événements marquants de l’histoire du Québec.

Différentes options interactives sont offertes pour pousser l’exploration plus loin : accéder aux fiches techniques des artéfacts, obtenir des regroupements ciblés d’artéfacts associés à des périodes, des sites ou des contextes archéologiques spécifiques.

Pour en savoir plus : https://www.archeolab.quebec/ligne-du-temps

Partenaires

Financée dans le cadre du Plan culturel numérique du Québec et de l’Entente sur le développement culturel entre la Ville de Montréal et le gouvernement du Québec, la plateforme Archéolab.Québec a été conçue par Pointe-à-Callière. Développée avec la contribution d’une dizaine de chercheurs émérites en archéologie québécoise et d’un comité scientifique, la collection a également pu compter sur la collaboration de plusieurs partenaires institutionnels, notamment le Centre de conservation du Québec, l’Université Laval, la Ville de Québec, la Ville de Montréal, Parcs Canada et plusieurs musées.

Archéolab.Québec se veut une référence incontournable en matière d’archéologie québécoise, un carrefour qui regroupe une panoplie de ressources offrant un accès direct aux artéfacts ainsi qu’à la discipline archéologique elle-même. Le portail rassemble des corpus représentatifs de l’ensemble des occupations culturelles du Québec et de leurs variantes régionales. La collection possède une valeur informative, scientifique, patrimoniale, identitaire et éducative en plus de rendre accessible le savoir-faire québécois en matière d’archéologie nord-américaine à toute la communauté. Cette documentation est à la fine pointe du savoir actuel. Soulignons qu’Archéolab.Québec a reçu le prix d’Excellence de l’Association des musées canadiens en 2019, dans la catégorie Nouveaux Médias.

À propos de Pointe-à-Callière, cité d’archéologie et d’histoire de Montréal : Pointe-à-Callière, lieu de fondation de Montréal, est le plus grand musée d’histoire de Montréal. Érigé sur une concentration de sites historiques et archéologiques d’envergure nationale, le complexe muséal a pour mission de faire connaître et aimer l’histoire de la métropole du Québec et de tisser des liens avec les réseaux régionaux, nationaux et internationaux. Pointe-à-Callière est subventionné par la Ville de Montréal.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :