ADVERTISEMENT

The CréaCamp experience: through the eyes of a participant

"I have never experienced such a positive atmosphere in any of my training days" ... here is the enthusiastic testimony of a teacher who participated in the last CréaCamp of the École branchée in Montreal. And you? Have you ever participated in a CréaCamp ?!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

By Kevin Pye

November 1, 2018 ... I'm heading towards my first CréaCamp of theTrendy School. I get in my car and, of course, I enter my destination in my Google map because I have no sense of direction! I hit the road with a mixture of nervousness and excitement. After 1h30 of driving, I arrive at my destination. Before I head inside I take a selfie for my manager who gave me the day to attend the CréaCamp in Montreal.

There is a line at the reception table. I go there quietly while exploring the place. A beautiful energy reigns there and is felt from the first minutes. When you arrive somewhere and are greeted by Julie Chandonnet, Audrey Miller, Julie Chamberland and Stéphanie Dionne, you know you've come to the right place! I walk to the main room and sit at a random table. The crowd is cheerful and dynamic. I join in a conversation with the people at the table as if we have known each other forever.

1st observation: I have never experienced such a positive atmosphere in any of my training days ... most of the time, negative comments surface ...

At 9 a.m., the starting shot was given. The facilitators come before us to convince us to choose their workshop. I am torn because everything interests me. After several minutes of reflection, I manage to limit myself to two options: entrepreneurial pedagogy and pedagogical robotics. I am in the room and realize that while the entrepreneurial model is very interesting, it would be difficult for me to integrate it with my busy schedule, my creative labs and my science program. I start… I decide to change workshop and I am welcomed with open arms.

2nd observation: It has happened to me on more than one occasion to be in a formation which did not suit my needs and to be obliged to stay until the end.

At noon, we are greeted with a 5 star dinner. In addition to being surrounded by captivating and motivated educators, we feast like royalty.

3rd observation: I never had a training or we were received for dinner. Most of the time, we have to leave around noon or bring a lunch.

At the end of the day, we meet to close the activity and make connections between what we discovered in each of the workshops and share what we want to reinvest in our classes.

One word: WOW!

I will end this report by giving you two predictions for the 2018-2019 school year: I will be a VIP CréaCampeur and a facilitator for an upcoming edition of a CréaCamp… if they want me to!

But what could I talk to you about? @crealabos

   

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

L’expérience CréaCamp : dans les yeux d’un participant

"Je n'ai jamais vécu une atmosphère aussi positive dans aucune de mes journées de formation"... voici le témoignage enthousiaste d'un enseignant ayant participé au dernier CréaCamp de l'École branchée à Montréal. Et vous? Avez-vous déjà participé à un CréaCamp?!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Par Kevin Pye

1er novembre 2018… je me dirige vers mon premier CréaCamp de l’École Branchée. J’embarque dans ma voiture et, bien entendu, j’entre ma destination dans mon Google map car je n’ai aucun sens d’orientation! Je prends la route avec un mélange de nervosité et d’excitation. Après 1h30 de conduite, j’arrive à destination. Avant de me diriger à l’intérieur, je prends un selfie pour mon directeur qui m’a accordé la journée pour assister au CréaCamp de Montréal.

Il y a une file à la table d’accueil. Je m’y dirige tranquillement tout en explorant les lieux. Une belle énergie y règne et se fait sentir dès les premières minutes. Lorsque tu arrives quelque part et que tu es accueilli par Julie Chandonnet, Audrey Miller, Julie Chamberland et Stéphanie Dionne, tu sais que tu es au bon endroit! Je me dirige vers la salle principale et je m’assois à une table au hasard. La foule est enjouée et dynamique. Je me joins à une conversation avec les personnes à la table comme si nous nous connaissions depuis toujours.

1ère observation : je n’ai jamais vécu une atmosphère aussi positive dans aucune de mes journées de formation… la plupart du temps, les commentaires négatifs font surface…

À 9h, le coup de départ est donné. Les facilitateurs se présentent devant nous afin de nous convaincre de choisir leur atelier. Je suis déchiré car tout m’intéresse. Après plusieurs minutes de réflexion, je parviens à me limiter à deux options : la pédagogie entrepreneuriale et la robotique pédagogique. Je suis dans la salle et je me rends compte que, même si le modèle entrepreneurial est très intéressant, il me serait difficile de l’intégrer avec mon horaire chargé, mes laboratoires créatifs et mon programme de sciences. Je me lance… je décide de changer d’atelier et je suis accueilli à bras ouverts.

2ème observation : Il m’est arrivé à plus d’une reprise d’être dans une formation qui ne convenait pas à mes besoins et d’être obligé de rester jusqu’à la fin.

Sur l’heure du midi, nous sommes accueillis avec un dîner 5 étoiles. En plus d’être entouré de pédagogues captivants et motivés, nous festoyons comme des rois.

3ème observation : Je n’ai jamais eu une formation ou nous étions reçu pour le dîner. La plupart du temps, nous devons quitter sur l’heure du midi ou apporter un lunch.

À la fin de la journée, nous nous réunissions pour clôturer l’activité et faire des liens entre ce que nous avons découvert dans chacun des ateliers et partager ce que nous souhaitons réinvestir dans nos classes.

Un mot : WOW!

Je termine ce compte-rendu en vous donnant deux prédictions pour l’année scolaire 2018-2019 : Je serai un CréaCampeur VIP et un facilitateur pour une édition d’un CréaCamp à venir… si on veut bien de moi!

Mais de quoi pourrais-je vous entretenir? @crealabos

   

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :