ADVERTISEMENT

Universal design for learning: towards inclusive pedagogy

In October 2017, the Conseil Supérieur de l'Enseignement published the For a Rich School for all its students. A pedagogical posture offering many elements of solution to engage in a process of inclusion of all its students is the Universal Design of Learning (UCL).

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

In October 2017, the Higher Education Council published the opinion For a school rich in all its students. This notice describes the realities, limits and issues to be considered with regard to the diversity of students in classes in Quebec. He then presents inspiring initiatives and suggestions for moving towards inclusive education for all.

By consulting the recommendations issued, it is possible to feel overwhelmed by the scale of the actions to be implemented (especially by being aware of the second principle to be considered, namely to maintain high requirements for each student and to persevere in the search for solutions until 'to its success). Fortunately, there is a pedagogical posture offering many elements of a solution to engage in a process of inclusion of all its students: the Universal Design of Learning (CUA).

Think again, this is not a question of overhauling your practice in its entirety, but of taking the time to plan your learning activities by considering the obstacles to learning that your students might encounter.

AUC training is available through the CADRE21

To help you move towards inclusive teaching, CADRE21, under the good care of expert Cathy Brazeau, has been offering training on the universal design of learning since May 2018.

Thanks to the Digital Action Plan (PAN), teachers in Quebec benefit from CADRE21 and RÉCIT training free of charge. It is therefore the perfect opportunity to embark on a professional development process (at little cost!), To learn more about the AUC and to give yourself the means and the motivation to make changes in your practice according to a progression and a pace that works for you.

Explorer level

The “Explorer” course in the Universal Design for Learning series presents the basics of this teaching posture. It is about its foundations. By watching videos and reading reference texts, you will learn more about this concept which is inspired by the universal design of the field of architecture. At the end of the training, a questionnaire in the form of short answers is proposed in order to be granted the Explorer badge of the AUC.

Architect and Virtuoso level

At the Architect level, it's time to get your hands dirty. You will consult interesting and reliable resources in order to appropriate the guiding principles and the stages of a coherent planning with the AUC. You will then be invited to script and pilot a learning activity that respects these basics.

At the Virtuoso level, the challenge will be to “demonstrate that learning becomes more accessible to all of your students, regardless of their difference (learner variability), thanks to the AUC. In other words, [to] see how the AUC (representation, action / expression and engagement) means enable your students to make choices that help them progress further and become expert learners. »(FRAME21)

In order to receive one of these badges, the process to be followed is more rigorous than at the Explorer level. You will need to illustrate the integration of AUC into your overall planning, present traces of your learners in different contexts and share your reflection on the skills you have developed.

Innovator level

To obtain the last level of badge, you will need to demonstrate your leadership in the educational community in relation to the AUC and present the traces that demonstrate your expertise. At the end of the process, you will be recognized “as a benchmark, because your innovative actions demonstrate your expertise, your leadership, your active participation and your commitment, to your colleagues and your professional network, in the field of universal design for learning. »(FRAME21)

Want to learn more about this training?

Meeting on the CADRE21 website.

For further

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Julie R.-Bordeleau
Julie R.-Bordeleauhttp://apprendre.education
Former teacher and mother of a military family of 4 boys, Julie R-Bordeleau is an alternative learning guide and author. She loves discovering new educational and holistic resources and approaches that allow her clients to learn and develop in different ways, depending on their needs. Its website julierbordeleau.com, its newsletter and its services are dedicated to adults who are changing the world in their own way, whether they are parents-educators, parents or professionals.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

La conception universelle de l’apprentissage : vers une pédagogie inclusive

En octobre 2017, le Conseil Supérieur de l’Enseignement publiait l’avis Pour une école riche de tous ses élèves. Une posture pédagogique offrant de nombreux éléments de solution pour s’engager dans un processus d’inclusion de tous ses élèves est la Conception Universelle de l’Apprentissage (CUA).

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

En octobre 2017, le Conseil Supérieur de l’Éducation publiait l’avis Pour une école riche de tous ses élèves. Cet avis fait état des réalités, des limites et des enjeux à considérer quant à la diversité des élèves dans les classes du Québec. Il y présente ensuite des initiatives inspirantes et des suggestions pour tendre vers une éducation inclusive pour tous.

En consultant les recommandations émises, il est possible de se sentir dépassé devant l’ampleur des actions à mettre en place (surtout en prenant connaissance du deuxième principe à considérer, soit maintenir des exigences élevées pour chaque élève et persévérer dans la recherche de solutions jusqu’à sa réussite). Heureusement, il existe une posture pédagogique offrant de nombreux éléments de solution pour s’engager dans un processus d’inclusion de tous ses élèves : la Conception Universelle de l’Apprentissage (CUA).

Détrompez-vous, il ne s’agit pas là de refondre sa pratique dans sa totalité, mais bien de prendre le temps de planifier ses activités d’apprentissage en considérant les obstacles à l’apprentissage que vos élèves pourraient rencontrer.

Une formation sur la CUA est accessible via le CADRE21

Pour vous aider à évoluer vers un enseignement inclusif, le CADRE21, sous les bons soins de l’experte Cathy Brazeau, offre, depuis mai 2018, une formation sur la conception universelle de l’apprentissage.

Grâce au Plan d’action numérique (PAN), les enseignants du Québec bénéficient gratuitement des formations du CADRE21 et du RÉCIT. C’est donc l’occasion rêvée de se lancer dans un processus de développement professionnel (à peu de frais!), d’en apprendre davantage sur la CUA et de se donner les moyens et la motivation de faire des changements dans sa pratique selon une progression et un rythme qui vous conviennent.

Niveau Explorateur

La formation « Explorateur » de la série sur la conception universelle de l’apprentissage présente les bases de cette posture pédagogique. Il y est question de ses assises. Par le visionnement de vidéos et la lecture de textes de référence, vous en apprendrez davantage sur ce concept qui s’inspire du design universel du domaine de l’architecture. Au terme de la formation, un questionnaire sous forme de courtes réponses est proposé afin de se voir accorder le badge Explorateur de la CUA.

Niveau Architecte et Virtuose

Au niveau Architecte, c’est le moment de mettre la main à la pâte. Vous consulterez des ressources intéressantes et fiables afin de vous approprier les principes directeurs et les étapes d’une planification cohérente avec la CUA. Vous serez alors invités à scénariser et piloter une activité d’apprentissage qui respecte ces bases.

Au niveau Virtuose, le défi sera de « démontrer que l’apprentissage devient plus accessible à l’ensemble de vos élèves, peu importe leur différence (variabilité des apprenants), grâce à la CUA. En d’autres termes, [de] voir comment les moyens CUA (représentation, action/expression et engagement) permettent à vos élèves de faire des choix qui les aident à progresser davantage et à devenir des apprenants experts. » (CADRE21)

Afin de recevoir un de ces badges, le processus à suivre est plus rigoureux qu’au niveau Explorateur. Vous devrez illustrer l’intégration de la CUA à votre planification globale, présenter des traces de vos apprenants dans différents contextes et partager votre réflexion sur les compétences que vous avez développées.

Niveau Innovateur

Pour obtenir le dernier niveau de badge, il vous faudra illustrer votre leadership dans la communauté éducative par rapport à la CUA et présenter les traces qui démontrent votre expertise. Au terme du processus, vous serez reconnu « comme étant une référence, car vos actions innovantes font la démonstration de votre expertise, de votre leadership, de votre participation active et de votre engagement, auprès de vos collègues et de votre réseau professionnel, dans le domaine de la conception universelle de l’apprentissage. » (CADRE21)

Envie d’en apprendre davantage sur cette formation?

Rendez-vous sur le site du CADRE21.

Pour aller plus loin

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!
Avis Facebook pour l’UE! Vous devez vous connecter pour afficher et publier des commentaires FB!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Julie R.-Bordeleauhttp://apprendre.education
Ex-enseignante et maman d'une famille militaire de 4 garçons, Julie R-Bordeleau est accompagnante en apprentissages alternatifs et auteure. Elle adore découvrir de nouvelles ressources et approches pédagogiques et holistiques qui permettent à ses clients d’apprendre et se développer de différentes façons, selon leurs besoins. Son site web julierbordeleau.com, son infolettre et ses services sont dédiés aux adultes qui changent le monde chacun à leur manière, qu’ils soient parents-éducateurs, parents ou professionnels.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct