ADVERTISEMENT

OECD solutions against dropping out

A plea for greater equity to counter dropping out was recently published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

A plea for greater equity to counter dropping out was recently published by Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

Almost one in five students in OECD member countries does not meet the minimum level of basic knowledge. Those from disadvantaged backgrounds are twice as likely to perform poorly in school. However, the pursuit of studies is a major asset, both for the individual and for society. “Improving the skills of individuals contributes to the emergence of more democratic societies and more sustainable economies, while reducing their dependence on public support structures and their exposure to recessions. Societies with skilled populations are better prepared to face the current crisis and potential future crises, ”the document wrote.

To prevent failure and facilitate school perseverance, the OECD is proposing five measures, some of which have been the subject of debate in Quebec. The first: eliminate repetition. "Repeating a year is not only a costly practice, but also ineffective in improving school performance," the report says. There are alternative strategies, including preventing repetition by filling in gaps as they are identified during the school year; to favor automatic progression to the next level or to limit repetition to subjects or modules in which the pupil has failed while at the same time providing personalized support. "

The second: to postpone the orientation and selection of students to the second cycle of secondary school. The authors note that students "assigned to second-order streams" experience a negative impact and that this worsens inequalities, without improving average performance.

Then, we suggest that parents' choices of establishment be framed to ensure a homogeneous distribution of pupils. It is also mentioned that the funding must guarantee access to quality education structures from early childhood, in particular for disadvantaged families. Finally, the OECD suggests ensuring that general and vocational options are of equal value.

Click here to read the full report.

Read also :

Fight against dropping out: understanding the reality of disadvantaged students

The government wants to train small entrepreneurs

IPads to motivate students

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Les solutions de l’OCDE contre le décrochage

Un plaidoyer en faveur d’une plus grande équité pour contrer le décrochage a été publié récemment par l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDE).

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Un plaidoyer en faveur d’une plus grande équité pour contrer le décrochage a été publié récemment par l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDE).

Près d’un étudiant sur cinq des pays membres de l’OCDE n’atteint pas le niveau minimum de connaissances de base. Ceux issus de milieux défavorisés sont deux fois plus susceptibles d’obtenir de mauvais résultats scolaires. Or, la poursuite des études est un atout majeur, tant pour l’individu que pour la société. « L’amélioration des qualifications des individus contribue à l’émergence de sociétés plus démocratiques et d’économies plus durables, tout en réduisant leur dépendance à l’égard des structures d’aide publique et leur exposition aux récessions. Les sociétés dont la population est qualifiée sont mieux préparées à affronter la crise actuelle et les futures crises potentielles », écrit-on dans le document.

Pour prévenir les échecs et faciliter la persévérance scolaire, l’OCDE propose cinq mesures dont certaines ont fait l’objet de débat au Québec. La première : éliminer le redoublement. « Le redoublement est une pratique non seulement coûteuse, mais également inefficace pour améliorer les résultats scolaires, tranche le rapport. Il existe des stratégies alternatives, consistant notamment à prévenir le redoublement en palliant les lacunes à mesure qu’elles sont identifiées durant l’année scolaire; à privilégier le passage automatique au niveau supérieur ou à limiter le redoublement aux matières ou modules dans lesquels l’élève a échoué en lui assurant parallèlement un soutien personnalisé. »

La seconde : reporter l’orientation et la sélection des élèves au deuxième cycle du secondaire. Les auteurs notent que les élèves « assignés aux filières de second ordre » subissent un impact négatif et que cela aggrave les inégalités, sans pour autant améliorer la performance moyenne.

Ensuite, on suggère d’encadrer les choix d’établissement des parents pour assurer une répartition homogène des élèves. On mentionne aussi que le financement doit garantir l’accès à des structures d’éducation de qualité dès la petite enfance, en particulier pour les familles défavorisées. Enfin, l’OCDE suggère de veiller à ce que les options générales et professionnelles soient de valeur équivalente.

Cliquez ici pour lire le rapport complet (en anglais).

À lire aussi :

Lutte contre le décrochage : comprendre la réalité des élèves défavorisés

Le gouvernement veut former de petits entrepreneurs

Des iPad pour motiver les élèves

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :