“Serious games” taken… seriously!

Not all games are created equal, both from an educational and entertainment standpoint. That said, several "serious" quality games have emerged and this would only be the beginning, according to Emmanuel Mandart, who is currently writing his master's thesis on the subject at the University of Montreal.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Not all games are created equal, both from an educational and entertainment standpoint. That said, several quality "serious" games have emerged and this would only be the beginning, according to Emmanuel Mandart, who is currently writing his master's thesis on the subject at the University of Montreal.

In 2010, the global turnover in this sector was $ 1.5 billion and it is estimated that it could reach $ 10 billion by 2015, he mentioned in a recently offered workshop. From the flu pandemic and running a business to raising awareness about poverty and using the web responsibly, there really is something for everyone.

According to a researcher from the American University Carnegie Mellon, 21-year-olds living in a country with a strong gaming culture like the United States spent an average of 10,000 hours playing video games. By comparison, a young person spends 10,080 hours on school benches between the age of 10 and 18! So there is a lot of potential there.

In Quebec, Science in play started about fifteen years ago in the world of serious games. Three researchers looked at one of them: Mechanika. According to their research, the Mécanika game allows adolescents to retain the different concepts better than with traditional teaching!

Mr. Mandart is also interested in young people who play Mécanika. For his research, he selected 350 which were divided into two groups. The former play the usual game. Instead, the latter use a version in which the pedagogical scenario has been removed. The idea is to verify the advantage of the scenario in terms of learning. These results will be presented a little later.

Read also :

Classroom games are serious business!

Mobile devices for a life-size educational game

Fighting privacy hackers

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les « jeux sérieux » pris… au sérieux!

Tous les jeux ne sont pas égaux, tant du point de vue éducatif que de celui du divertissement. Cela dit, plusieurs jeux « sérieux » de qualité ont vu le jour et ce ne serait qu’un début, selon Emmanuel Mandart, qui rédige actuellement son mémoire de maîtrise sur le sujet à l’Université de Montréal.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Tous les jeux ne sont pas égaux, tant du point de vue éducatif que de celui du divertissement. Cela dit, plusieurs jeux « sérieux » de qualité ont vu le jour et ce ne serait qu’un début, selon Emmanuel Mandart, qui rédige actuellement son mémoire de maîtrise sur le sujet à l’Université de Montréal.

En 2010, le chiffre d’affaires mondial dans ce secteur s’élevait à 1,5 milliard de dollars et on estime qu’il pourrait atteindre 10 milliards de dollars d’ici 2015, a-t-il mentionné dans un atelier offert récemment. De la pandémie de grippe à la gestion d’entreprise en passant par la sensibilisation à la pauvreté et à l’utilisation responsable du Web, il y en a vraiment pour tous les goûts.

Selon un chercheur de l’université américaine Carnegie Mellon, les jeunes de 21 ans habitant dans un pays où l’on retrouve une forte culture du jeu comme les États-Unis ont passé en moyenne 10 000 heures à jouer à des jeux vidéo. À titre comparaison, un jeune passe 10 080 heures sur les bancs d’école entre l’âge de 10 ans et de 18 ans! Il y a donc là tout un potentiel.

Au Québec, Science en jeu s’est lancé il y a une quinzaine d’années dans l’univers des jeux sérieux. Trois chercheurs se sont penchés sur l’un d’entre eux : Mécanika. Selon leurs recherches, le jeu Mécanika permet aux adolescents de mieux retenir les différentes notions qu’avec l’enseignement traditionnel!

M. Mandart s’intéresse lui aussi aux jeunes qui jouent à Mécanika. Pour ses recherches, il en a sélectionné 350 qui ont été divisés en deux groupes. Les premiers jouent au jeu habituel. Les seconds utilisent plutôt une version à laquelle le scénario pédagogique a été supprimé. L’idée est de vérifier l’avantage du scénario quant aux apprentissages. Ces résultats seront présentés un peu plus tard.

À lire aussi :

Les jeux en classe, c’est du sérieux!

Des appareils mobiles pour un jeu éducatif grandeur nature

Combattre les pirates de la vie privée

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :