Educational Leadership in a Pandemic Time: Turning Discomfort into Opportunity

For school administrators, the opportunity is unique to place people at the heart of the processes and to review certain practices.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

With the rapid and widespread establishment of distance education over the past year, the school world has been completely turned upside down. Yes, technology was already present in classrooms, but deploying e-learning comes with its fair share of challenges. For managers, the opportunity is unique to place people at the heart of the processes and to review certain practices.

“Many of us lost our footing in March. Over the months, we find a certain stability, we create new benchmarks. In education, we often refer to the Bloom's taxonomy. At the moment, it is the maslow pyramid which must prevail ”, maintains Marius Bourgeoys, co-founder of EDU squad and host of the podcast Everyone is a leader.

Benoît Petit, responsible for national RÉCIT service for school administrators, which already supported them in the appropriation of digital technology before the pandemic, agrees. “Even if we feel in the urgency of everyday life, we must take a time out, recognize that we cannot control everything at the moment and choose to place our energy in the elements within our reach. There is no magic recipe, but generally it starts with welcoming the emotions we are experiencing ”.

Resilience above all

Benevolence and resilience are terms heard over and over again in recent months. They are also found abundantly in the speeches of the two men. In the workplace, while we were more focused on performance, efficiency and the achievement of predefined objectives, we must now learn to make room for the socio-emotional dimension.

“As a manager, you have to learn to recognize feelings, to name them in order to be able to rationalize them. In my opinion, this is the first step. Afterwards, we can think of adopting a strategy to tackle the rest, ”says Benoît Petit.

In fact, he offers a three-step approach to the school administrators he is currently supporting:

1- Resilience above all : Promote the emotional well-being of your teams

2- The learner's posture : Get out of the myth that you have to be an expert in everything (especially in technology) and give yourself the right to make mistakes

3- The common vision : Develop a vision to look to the future (transform your practices in a sustainable way)

“Switching to distance learning can be both an opportunity and a source of anxiety. By giving yourself a vision, it will be easier to see the possibilities offered by the crisis. We can ask ourselves: How can we mobilize our team so that this digital shift is not only technological, but educational? How to equip our teachers so that they support our young people to become ethical citizens in the digital age? In short, let's take advantage of the situation to transform our practices for the benefit of young people, ”argues Mr. Petit.

Being CAPAB

For his part, Marius Bourgeoys offers managers a five-step model, which also leaves a lot of room for humans and which joins Mr. Petit's three steps in several respects.

Clarity : The more one succeeds in being clear about what is expected of everyone, the more the feeling of being able to act on one's reality increases. 

“Don't hesitate to create consistency. People need predictability, especially now. Always communicate the same way, at the same times. Bet on the things you have control over and be transparent. "

Home : Here, we welcome the other (the colleague, the parent, the student) and we become aware of their emotions.

“There is no point in resisting reality. You have to live it. This then allows you to use the right words to describe the situation and to project yourself into the future ”.

Posture : The learner posture is currently required. No one has to know, understand, master everything.

“We must ask for everyone's commitment, because we need everyone to do their part and make their contribution. We can talk about the school of before together, but let us rather focus on creating the school of now together. "

Action : The important thing is to take action, to give yourself a game plan. It will not be perfect, we can see it, everything can change almost every day. So we lay the foundations on how we will approach each situation.

“Again, let's accept the imperfection, but at least try something. Let us be constant, reassuring, facilitating. This is a good example to show our young people. "

Benevolence : We want to create a positive school climate. It also means a climate of sharing that allows you to feel free to name the adjustments that would be necessary and to be constructive in the way of putting them in place.

“Be present, accessible, encourage. Sometimes it just means asking How are you? or Do you need something? to a colleague. "

Beyond the discomfort in which the pandemic places us, the opportunity is indeed real to give new meaning to the “digital shift” in education. We see that it is not a question of simply deploying technologies, acquiring new software or equipping students with computers or tablets. It is in fact about rethinking certain practices, adapting and shaping them so that they offer young people the opportunity to take off in our changing world, today and tomorrow.

As an educational leader, do not hesitate to be visible on the Web, on social networks. Share your successes publicly. Your testimonials could contribute to the resilience of some colleagues.

In addition :

* This text was first published in the magazine Le Point en santé, services sociaux, education, volume 16, no 1, published in February 2021. 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Leadership pédagogique en temps de pandémie : Transformer l’inconfort en opportunité

Pour les gestionnaires du monde scolaire, l’occasion est unique de placer l’Humain au cœur des processus et de revoir certaines pratiques.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Avec la mise en place rapide et généralisée de l’enseignement à distance au cours de la dernière année, le monde scolaire a été complètement bouleversé. Oui, les technologies étaient déjà présentes dans les salles de classe, mais déployer l’apprentissage en ligne comporte son lot de défis. Pour les gestionnaires, l’occasion est unique de placer l’Humain au cœur des processus et de revoir certaines pratiques.

« Plusieurs d’entre nous ont perdu pied en mars dernier. Au fil des mois, nous retrouvons une certaine stabilité, nous nous créons de nouveaux repères. En éducation, on se réfère souvent à la taxonomie de Bloom. En ce moment, c’est la pyramide de Maslow qui doit primer », soutient Marius Bourgeoys, cofondateur d’escouadeÉDU et animateur du balado Tout le monde est un leader.

Benoît Petit, responsable du service national du RÉCIT pour les gestionnaires scolaires, qui accompagnait déjà ceux-ci dans l’appropriation du numérique avant la pandémie, abonde dans le même sens. « Même si on se sent dans l’urgence du quotidien, il faut prendre un temps d’arrêt, reconnaître qu’on ne peut pas tout contrôler en ce moment et choisir de placer notre énergie dans les éléments à notre portée. Il n’y a pas de recette magique, mais généralement, ça commence par le fait d’accueillir les émotions que nous vivons ».

La résilience avant tout

La bienveillance et la résilience sont des termes maintes fois entendus au cours des derniers mois. Ils se retrouvent aussi abondamment dans le discours des deux hommes. Dans les milieux de travail, alors que l’on était plutôt centré sur la performance, l’efficacité et l’atteinte d’objectifs prédéfinis, il faut désormais apprendre à faire place à la dimension socio-affective.

« Comme gestionnaire, il faut apprendre à reconnaître les sentiments, à les nommer afin de pouvoir les rationaliser. Selon moi, il s’agit de la première étape. Après, on pourra penser se doter d’une stratégie pour aborder la suite », dit Benoît Petit.

En fait, il propose une démarche en trois temps aux gestionnaires scolaires qu’il accompagne en ce moment :

1- La résilience avant tout : Favoriser le bien-être émotionnel de vos équipes

2- La posture de l’apprenant : Sortir du mythe qu’il faut être un expert en tout (surtout en technologie) et se donner le droit de faire des erreurs

3- La vision commune : Développer une vision pour regarder vers l’avenir (transformer vos pratiques de façon durable)

« Le fait de basculer en enseignement à distance peut représenter à la fois une opportunité et une source d’anxiété. En se donnant une vision, il sera plus facile de voir les possibilités offertes par la crise. On peut se demander : Comment mobiliser notre équipe pour que ce virage numérique ne soit pas que technologique, mais bien pédagogique? Comment outiller nos enseignants pour qu’ils accompagnent nos jeunes à devenir des citoyens éthiques à l’ère du numérique? Bref, faisons en sorte de tirer profit de la situation pour transformer nos pratiques au bénéfice des jeunes », fait valoir M. Petit.

Être CAPAB

Pour sa part, Marius Bourgeoys propose aux gestionnaires un modèle en cinq étapes, qui fait également beaucoup de place à l’Humain et qui rejoint les trois étapes de M. Petit sur plusieurs aspects.

Clarté : Plus on réussit à être clair sur ce qui est attendu de tous, plus le sentiment d’être capable d’agir sur sa réalité augmente. 

« N’hésitez pas à créer de la constance. Les gens ont besoin de prévisibilité, surtout en ce moment. Communiquez toujours de la même façon, aux mêmes moments. Misez sur les éléments sur lesquels vous avez le contrôle et faites preuve de transparence. »

Accueil : Ici, on accueille l’autre (le collègue, le parent, l’élève) et on prend conscience de ses émotions.

« Il ne sert à rien de résister à la réalité. Il faut la vivre. Cela permet ensuite d’utiliser les bons mots pour décrire la situation et de se projeter vers l’avenir ».

Posture : La posture d’apprenant est requise présentement. Personne n’a à tout connaître, comprendre, maîtriser.

« On doit demander l’engagement de tous, parce qu’on a besoin que chacun fasse sa part et apporte sa contribution. On peut parler de l’école d’avant ensemble, mais attardons-nous plutôt à créer ensemble l’école de maintenant. »

Action : L’important, c’est de passer à l’action, de se donner un plan de match. Il ne sera pas parfait, on le voit, tout peut changer presque tous les jours. Alors, on jette les bases sur la façon dont on abordera chaque situation.

« Encore une fois, acceptons l’imperfection, mais essayons au moins quelque chose. Soyons constant, sécurisant, facilitant. Il s’agit d’un bel exemple à montrer à nos jeunes. »

Bienveillance : On souhaite créer un climat scolaire positif. Ça veut aussi dire un climat de partage qui permet de se sentir libre de nommer les ajustements qui seraient nécessaires et d’être constructif dans la façon de les mettre en place.

« Soyez présent, accessible, encouragez. Parfois, ça veut simplement dire de demander Comment ça va? ou As-tu besoin de quelque chose? à un collègue. »

Au-delà de l’inconfort dans lequel nous place la pandémie, l’occasion est bel et bien réelle de donner un nouveau sens au « virage numérique » en éducation. On voit qu’il ne s’agit pas de simplement déployer des technologies, d’acquérir de nouveaux logiciels ou d’équiper les élèves en ordinateurs ou tablettes. Il s’agit en fait de repenser certaines pratiques, de les adapter et de les modeler pour qu’elles offrent aux jeunes l’occasion de prendre leur envol un notre monde changeant, aujourd’hui et demain.

Comme leader pédagogique, n’hésitez pas à être visible sur le Web, sur les réseaux sociaux. Partagez vos bons coups publiquement. Vos témoignages pourraient contribuer à la résilience de certains collègues.

En complément :

*Ce texte a d’abord été publié dans le magazine Le Point en santé, services sociaux, éducation, volume 16, no 1, paru en février 2021. 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!