The ABCs of SCOOP!

Add to favorites (0)

One of the first questions I ask teachers when I give a training workshop on SCOOP! is: "WHY should we use current events in the classroom?" ". Several answers emerge and then dictate the tangent that the session will take: 

  • increase student motivation through varied content;
  • provide meaningful learning opportunities;
  • make learners aware of what is happening in the world;
  • allow students to form an opinion on various realities;
  • foster a rich general culture;
  • focus on a specialized lexicon;
  • Etc.

We then take the time to construct a statement that puts forward our common vision and guides our educational intention. It looks like this:

"The news offers engaging contexts to train the citizens of tomorrow through a concrete reflective approach, all in  mobilizing their resources for imagine real solutions to the proposed challenges. "

From there, we are able to move on to the next step: HOW to use current events in the classroom to achieve our educational intentions? Educational activity guides SCOOP! make this HOW possible. Indeed, every week, new meaningful learning situations are made available to primary and secondary teachers to enable them to teach with current events, to develop the digital skills of their students and to do media education.

Let's analyze together the structure of SCOOP! and let's see how to take full advantage of this digital resource.

Activity guides

The formatting proposed in each of the SCOOP! is still the same. We can therefore navigate easily and take full advantage of the content offered.

SCOOP! Express: Each guide begins with the Express, an introductory text intended for students, which provides a popular summary of the current topic. There are also several quotes from the main players involved that put the issue in question into context.

SCOOP! Teacher's guide: Then, a grid gives indications to teachers concerning the didactic and pedagogical concepts to be used. Targeted skills, suggested digital tools, targeted pedagogical intention, etc. Everything is there to properly plan the learning sequence that the students will experience.

There follow 2-3 activities which describe, step by step, the roles of the learners and the teacher in the development of the tasks to be accomplished. Each proposed action will find its purpose in one or more dimensions of digital competence, in addition to stimulating the development of skills aimed at decoding information and media codes. 

In addition, there is the section “To go further” which provides an enrichment activity to offer to students who would like to deepen the current subject or who would like to explore another digital tool to complete a new task.

Finally, the section “Learn More” concludes the guide by providing several web resources that document the topic highlighted in the guide. Articles, videos, podcasts, infographics, everything is there so that both teachers and their students find as much reliable information as possible to use in a media education process.

Media education

Media literacy is a process that enables learners to develop a critical view and form an opinion about what they see and hear in the media sphere. The pupils therefore learn to decipher information and images to enable them to be more aware of the increasingly complex landscape which surrounds them. SCOOP! facilitates questioning and dialogue around media issues. The learning situations contained in the guides place the learners in a concrete, creative and reflective context that mobilizes their resources to imagine real solutions to the challenges of the 21st century.

Digital competence

Since April 2019, the MEES has made a reference framework for digital competence available. This includes 12 dimensions that allow the development of skills relating to a confident, critical and creative use of digital technology and thus achieve objectives related to various aspects of the learner's life:

  1. act as an ethical citizen in the digital age;
  2. develop and mobilize their technological skills;
  3. harness the potential of digital technology for learning;
  4. develop and mobilize its information culture;
  5. collaborate digitally;
  6. communicate digitally;
  7. produce content with digital;
  8. take advantage of digital technology as a vector of inclusion and to meet diverse needs;
  9. adopt a perspective of personal and professional development with digital technology in a position of empowerment;
  10. solve a variety of digital issues;
  11. develop critical thinking with regard to digital technology;
  12. innovate and be creative with digital technology.

Educational activity guides SCOOP! target one or more of these dimensions through the achievement of educational intentions. Learners, in concrete and meaningful learning situations, will be able, for example, to produce an interactive video, communicate using a podcast or collaborate on a virtual wall.

Student notebooks

Some special editions of SCOOP! include a notebook for the use of the student. These accompanying documents promote empowerment and allow the learner to have access to all the resources to carry out the proposed activities. These notebooks, easy to share (PDF format) or to print, can be used alone or in addition to the teacher's guides.

From 9 to 16 years old

The guides SCOOP! are intended for levels from the 3rd year of primary to the 5th secondary. Each week new guides are made available and the archive includes more than 600 for reuse.

60

60 new authentic guides are created between September and May. They cover all national and international news with subjects motivating young people in the development of their disciplinary and digital skills, in addition to promoting media education.

more than 600

This is the number of educational guides on the platform, sorted by field of education and by school discipline. These guides are also accessible by performing a keyword search, for example by entering a theme (climate, politics, space, sport, etc.) or an expected form of production (quiz, podcast, sketch-notes, video, etc.). etc.). 

15082

Subscription to educational guides SCOOP! is eligible in Quebec for budget measure 15082 for the subscription to digital educational resources.

3 guides to try

Receive our selection of 3 free educational guides by registering on our page. Good discovery and we look forward to counting you among our subscribers!


Go to the www.ecolebranchee.com/guides-pedagogiques to visit the platform SCOOP! and have access to the summary of guides.

Maxime Laflamme is an educational advisor and project manager at École branchée. He is also editor-in-chief of the SCOOP! Educational guides. He has a bachelor's degree in preschool education and elementary education from the University of Sherbrooke and is pursuing a graduate degree in school management at Laval University. He transmits his passion for digital education and innovative practices through CréaCamps, conferences and workshops throughout the French-speaking world.

L’ABC de SCOOP!

L’une des premières questions que je pose aux enseignants lorsque je donne un atelier de formation sur SCOOP! est : « POURQUOI devrait-on se servir de l’actualité en classe? ». Plusieurs réponses émergent et dictent alors la tangente que prendra la séance : 

  • accroître la motivation des élèves par des contenus variés;
  • fournir des occasions signifiantes d’apprentissage;
  • conscientiser les apprenants à ce qui se passe dans le monde;
  • permettre aux élèves de se façonner une opinion sur diverses réalités;
  • favoriser une culture générale riche;
  • s’attarder à un lexique spécialisé;
  • Etc.

Nous prenons ensuite le temps de construire un énoncé qui met de l’avant notre vision commune et qui guide notre intention pédagogique. Ça ressemble à ceci :

« L’actualité propose des contextes engageants pour former les citoyens de demain à travers une démarche réflexive concrète, tout en  mobilisant leurs ressources pour imaginer des solutions réelles aux défis proposés. »

À partir de là, nous sommes en mesure de passer à la prochaine étape : COMMENT utiliser l’actualité en classe pour atteindre nos intentions pédagogiques? Les guides d’activités pédagogiques SCOOP! rendent possible ce COMMENT. En effet, toutes les semaines, de nouvelles situations d’apprentissage signifiantes sont mises à disposition des enseignants du primaire et du secondaire pour leur permettre d’enseigner avec l’actualité, de développer la compétence numérique de leurs élèves et de faire de l’éducation aux médias.

Décortiquons ensemble la structure de SCOOP! et voyons comment tirer pleinement profit de cette ressource numérique.

Les guides d’activités

La mise en forme proposée dans chacun des SCOOP! est toujours la même. On peut donc s’y retrouver facilement et profiter pleinement du contenu proposé.

SCOOP! Express : Chaque guide débute par l’Express, un texte d’introduction destiné aux élèves, qui fournit un résumé vulgarisé du sujet d’actualité. On y trouve aussi plusieurs citations des principaux acteurs concernés qui mettent en contexte l’enjeu dont il est question.

SCOOP! Guide du prof : Ensuite, une grille donne des indications aux enseignants concernant les notions didactiques et pédagogiques à exploiter. Compétences visées, outils numériques suggérés, intention pédagogique ciblée, etc. Tout y est pour bien planifier la séquence d’apprentissage que vivront les élèves.

Suivent 2-3 activités qui décrivent, étape par étape, les rôles des apprenants et de l’enseignant dans l’élaboration des tâches à accomplir. Chaque action proposée trouvera sa finalité dans une ou plusieurs dimensions de la compétence numérique, en plus de stimuler le développement d’habileté visant à décoder l’information et les codes médiatiques. 

À cela s’ajoute la section « Pour aller plus loin » qui fournit une activité d’enrichissement à proposer aux élèves qui voudraient approfondir davantage le sujet d’actualité ou qui désireraient explorer un autre outil numérique pour mener à terme une nouvelle tâche.

Finalement, la section « En savoir plus » conclut le guide en proposant plusieurs ressources Web qui documentent le sujet mis de l’avant dans le guide. Articles, vidéos, balados, infographies, tout y est pour qu’autant la personne enseignante que ses élèves y retrouvent un maximum d’informations fiables à utiliser dans une démarche d’éducation aux médias.

L’éducation aux médias

L’éducation aux médias est un processus qui permet aux apprenants d’acquérir une vision critique et de se forger une opinion sur ce qu’ils voient et entendent dans la sphère médiatique. Les élèves apprennent donc à décrypter l’information et l’image pour leur permettre d’être plus conscients du paysage de plus en plus complexe qui les entoure. SCOOP! facilite les questionnements et le dialogue autour des enjeux médiatiques. Les situations d’apprentissages contenues dans les guides placent les apprenants dans un contexte concret, créatif et réflexif mobilisant leurs ressources à imaginer des solutions réelles aux défis du 21e siècle.

La compétence numérique

Depuis avril 2019, le MEES rend disponible un cadre de référence de la compétence numérique. Celle-ci comprend 12 dimensions qui permettent le développement d’aptitudes relatives à une utilisation confiante, critique et créative du numérique et ainsi atteindre des objectifs liés à divers aspects de la vie de l’apprenant :

  1. agir en citoyen éthique à l’ère du numérique;
  2. développer et mobiliser ses habiletés technologiques;
  3. exploiter le potentiel du numérique pour l’apprentissage;
  4. développer et mobiliser sa culture informationnelle;
  5. collaborer à l’aide du numérique;
  6. communiquer à l’aide du numérique;
  7. produire du contenu avec le numérique;
  8. mettre à profit le numérique en tant que vecteur d’inclusion et pour répondre à des besoins diversifiés;
  9. adopter une perspective de développement personnel et professionnel avec le numérique dans une posture d’autonomisation;
  10. résoudre une variété de problèmes avec le numérique;
  11. développer sa pensée critique à l’égard du numérique;
  12. innover et faire preuve de créativité avec le numérique.

Les guides d’activités pédagogiques SCOOP! visent une ou plusieurs de ces dimensions à travers l’atteinte des intentions pédagogiques. Les apprenants, dans des situations d’apprentissage concrètes et signifiantes, pourront, par exemple, produire une vidéo interactive, communiquer à l’aide d’un balado ou collaborer sur un mur virtuel.

Les cahiers de l’élève

Certaines éditions spéciales de SCOOP! comprennent un cahier à l’usage de l’élève. Ces documents d’accompagnement favorisent l’autonomisation et permettent à l’apprenant d’avoir accès à l’ensemble des ressources pour mener à terme les activités proposées. Ces cahiers, faciles à partager (format PDF) ou à imprimer, peuvent être utilisés seuls ou en complément des guides de l’enseignant.

De 9 à 16 ans

Les guides SCOOP! sont destinés aux niveaux allant de la 3e année du primaire jusqu’à la 5e secondaire. Chaque semaine, de nouveaux guides sont rendus disponibles et les archives en comprennent plus de 600 à réutiliser.

60

Ce sont 60 nouveaux guides authentiques qui sont créés entre septembre et mai. Ils couvrent l’ensemble de l’actualité nationale et internationale avec des sujets motivant les jeunes dans le développement de leurs compétences disciplinaires et numériques, en plus de favoriser l’éducation aux médias.

+ de 600

C’est le nombre de guides pédagogiques sur la plateforme, triés par champ d’enseignement et par discipline scolaire. Ces guides sont également accessibles en effectuant une recherche par mots-clés, en y inscrivant par exemple une thématique (climat, politique, espace, sport, etc.) ou une forme de production attendue (quiz, balado, croquis-note, vidéo, etc.). 

15082

L’abonnement aux guides pédagogiques SCOOP! est admissible au Québec à la mesure budgétaire 15082 pour l’abonnement à des ressources éducatives numériques.

3 guides à essayer

Recevez notre sélection de 3 guides pédagogiques gratuits en vous inscrivant sur notre page.  Bonne découverte et au plaisir de vous compter parmi nos abonnés!


Rendez-vous sur le www.ecolebranchee.com/guides-pedagogiques pour visiter la plateforme SCOOP! et avoir accès au résumé des guides.