Financial literacy program for students across the country gets a facelift

In conjunction with Financial Literacy Month, the Canadian Bankers Association is launching the modernized version of its Your Money for Students program, a free financial literacy seminar for students.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

TORONTO, Nov. 14, 2019 / CNW / - In conjunction with Financial Literacy Month, the Canadian Bankers Association (CBA) launches modernized version of its program Your Money-Students, a free, non-commercial financial literacy seminar for Secondary V and CEGEP students.

Here are the main improvements made, including the updating of the design and visual identity in order to make the experience more stimulating and to improve the achievements, the improvement of the modes of presentation, in particular the addition of short videos to increase classroom participation, new web applications for budgeting (Lifestyle Reality Check - the French version will be available soon), modernization of the administration of the program through cloud computing as well as coordination with volunteers and teachers.

“Generation Z, which already wields great purchasing power, will be the largest in Canada. This generation has a strong interest in financial literacy and the effect effective management of funds will have on their overall well-being, ”said Neil Parmenter, President and CEO of the CBA. “The move towards self-service, automation and uninterrupted accessibility to digital banking applications and services makes it essential to deliver financial literacy to young people in a creative, interactive and easy-to-understand way, for may their financial future be bright. "

Designed in collaboration with the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada, Your Money-Students, a program presented in French and English across the country by volunteer bankers, is the cornerstone of the financial literacy action undertaken by the CBA. The seminars are aimed at young students aged between 15 and 18 with the aim of helping them acquire the foundations of responsible financial management before they start their university studies and enter the labor market.

Your Money-Students covers the main themes of financial literacy:

  • Budgeting - set goals and work to achieve them.
  • Savings and investments - advantages of compound interest and savings for the future.
  • Judicious use of credit - how to manage credit and avoid pitfalls.
  • Preservation of funds - recognize and avoid fraud in our increasingly digital world.

Teachers across Canada can access the seminar request form on this website or by writing to this email address.

Retrospective Your Money-Students in numbers*

  • 256,019 participating students
  • 8,534 seminars
  • 1,717 volunteer bankers
  • 1,336 participating establishments

* In Canada, since its launch in 1999 until October 31, 2019.

About the Canadian Bankers Association 
The Canadian Bankers Association is the voice of more than 60 Canadian and foreign banks that contribute to the country's economic growth and prosperity. The CBA advocates for public policies that support the maintenance of a strong and vibrant banking system capable of helping Canadians achieve their financial goals

SOURCE Canadian Bankers Association

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Programme de littératie financière destiné aux élèves partout au pays fait peau neuve

Votre Argent‑Étudiants par l'Association des banquiers Canadiens (Groupe CNW/Association des banquiers canadiens)

TORONTO, le 14 nov. 2019 /CNW/ – Parallèlement au Mois de la littératie financière, l’Association des banquiers canadiens (ABC) lance la version modernisée de son programme Votre Argent‑Étudiants, un séminaire de littératie financière non commercial et gratuit, destiné aux élèves de cinquième secondaire et du cégep.

Voici les principales améliorations apportées, on compte l’actualisation de la conception et l’identité visuelle afin de rendre l’expérience plus stimulante et d’améliorer les acquis, la bonification des modes de présentation, notamment l’ajout de courtes vidéos pour augmenter la participation en salle de classe, de nouvelles applications Web pour établir un budget (Lifestyle Reality Check – la version française sera disponible bientôt), la modernisation de l’administration du programme grâce à technologie infonuagique ainsi que la coordination avec les bénévoles et les enseignants.

« La génération Z, qui exerce déjà un grand pouvoir d’achat, sera la plus large au Canada. Cette génération s’intéresse fortement à la littératie financière et à l’effet qu’aura la gestion efficace des fonds sur son bien‑être général », a déclaré M. Neil Parmenter, président et chef de la direction de l’ABC. « L’évolution vers le libre-service, vers l’automatisation et vers l’accessibilité ininterrompue aux applications et aux services bancaires numériques rend essentielle la transmission de la littératie financière aux jeunes d’une façon créative, interactive et facile à comprendre, pour que leur avenir financier soit radieux. »

Conçu en collaboration avec l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada, Votre Argent-Étudiants, programme présenté en français et en anglais partout au pays par des banquiers bénévoles, est la pierre angulaire de l’action en matière de littératie financière entreprise par l’ABC. Les séminaires s’adressent aux jeunes élèves âgés entre 15 et 18 ans dans l’objectif de les aider à acquérir les fondements d’une gestion financière responsable avant qu’ils entament leurs études universitaires et intègrent le marché du travail.

Votre Argent-Étudiants porte sur les principaux thèmes de la littératie financière :

  • Établissement de budget – fixer des objectifs et travailler à les atteindre.
  • Épargne et placement – avantages de l’intérêt composé et de l’épargne pour l’avenir.
  • Usage judicieux du crédit – comment gérer le crédit et éviter les pièges.
  • Préservation des fonds – reconnaître et éviter la fraude dans notre monde de plus en plus numérisé.

Les enseignants à travers le Canada peuvent accéder au formulaire de demande de séminaire sur ce site Web ou en écrivant à cette adresse courriel.

Rétrospective Votre Argent-Étudiants en chiffres*

  • 256 019 étudiants participants
  • 8 534 séminaires
  • 1 717 banquiers bénévoles
  • 1 336 établissements participants

* Au Canada, depuis son lancement en 1999 jusqu’au 31 octobre 2019.

À propos de l’Association des banquiers canadiens 
L’Association des banquiers canadiens est la voix de plus de 60 banques canadiennes et étrangères qui contribuent à l’essor et à la prospérité économiques du pays. L’ABC préconise l’adoption de politiques publiques favorisant le maintien d’un système bancaire solide et dynamique, capable d’aider les Canadiens à atteindre leurs objectifs financiers

SOURCE Association des banquiers canadiens